Geneva Beach Resort

Geneva Beach Resort

Traveler (30)
Pool & Beach (17)
Room & Suite (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

5.0
#1 of 1 cottage in Alexandria
Location
5.0
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
5.0
Value
4.4
We are proud to offer one of the finest resorts in the Alexandria area. Located on Lake Geneva and the famous Chain of Lakes, we cater to families and fishing enthusiasts. The spacious, flat sand beach is an absolute favorite among guests & includes complimentary use of stand up paddle boards, paddle boats, and kayaks. Two Aqua Jumps & a Water Whoosh keeps kids of all ages busy during the day, while free firewood and campfire pits offer the opportunity to settle in each night with your favorite people. Parents appreciate the wide open spaces that provide a safe, carefree environment (with two swing-sets to burn off some of that never-ending energy). Many of our guests never leave the resort, but if you do feel like getting out during your stay we are just minutes from local breweries, wineries, shopping destinations, and golf courses. Located directly on the Central Lakes Trail, you will be just steps away from 55 miles of walking, biking, and snowmobiling opportunities! Geneva Beach is located on Lake Geneva, part of the chain of lakes that wraps around the city of Alexandria. Fish for bass, pan, walleye and northern & clean your daily catch in our fish cleaning house located close to the docks and cabins. Kids love fishing right off our docks -- the clear water of Lake Geneva makes it possible to watch the fish bite your hook! Dock space is available for rent if you bring your own watercraft - or you can rent a fishing boat or pontoon from us! Our Lund fishing boats are PERFECT for exploring the chain of lakes, while our pontoons allow you to spend a relaxing day fishing and swimming on Lake Geneva! Sugarbush Lodge is our largest cabin boasting 8 bedrooms, 5 bathrooms, 2 kitchens, and a private game room with pool table, ping pong, and foosball! At just under 6,000 square feet, the Sugarbush makes a perfect year-round destination for families, businesses, and friends! We have 16 additional cabins open May through August ranging in size from Lakeside Studios (sleeps 2-4) to our 4 bedroom Pineview Cottage (sleeps up to 14). Whichever cabin selected for your stay you will appreciate the fully equipped kitchen, Weber gas grill and picnic table for outdoor meals, A/C, free wifi, extended cable, and clean accommodations. Grab your favorite crew or come out on your own - every summer new friendships are formed at Geneva Beach sitting around the campfire. Geneva Beach Resort has been a vacation destination since 1883, and is the 2nd oldest summer resort in Minnesota. Craig and Cami Calhoun purchased the resort in 2019 after staying at the resort for many years as guests (Cami's family has spent a week at the resort every summer for over 30 years). Craig, Cami, and their two children loved their week at the cabin so much, they couldn't pass up the opportunity to make the resort their own. Book your stay now to experience a Geneva Beach summer for yourself!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Vending machine
Beach
Bicycle rental
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's playground
BBQ facilities
Wifi
Boating
Game room
Skiing
Billiards
Bowling offsite
Fishing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Quaint
26Reviews2Q+A4Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 23
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jay & Mary Russell wrote a review Sep 2020
Aledo, Texas
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Geneva Beach Resorts Sugarbush Lodge was perfect for our parents 50th wedding anniversary celebration. (4 days) Everyone was there and the lodge had accommodations for all (34). Both kitchens provided ample room for food and drinks. There was more than enough space inside and out for seating to eat, visit or just enjoy the perfect weather.

Each bedroom had at least a queen size bed and either bunk beds, twin bed or a futon. There were at least 5 bathrooms with showers, one on the ground floor being perfect size for our handicapped mother. One of the bathrooms even had a tub and located with the laundry room.

The basement floor accommodated one of the full kitchens along with a game room that had a pool table and ping pong table. A foosball table was located in the large living room that also had a fireplace.

The resort has a beach with two water trampolines, paddle boats, kayaks, paddle boards and pontoon boat for rent which came in handy for cruising the lake. Several sizes of life jackets are located in the very clean two car garage. There are swing sets, grass volleyball court and a couple frisbee golf nets for outdoor activities.

The owners were very accommodating making sure we had what we needed including firewood. The lodge looks like a house and has up to date decor, very clean and in great condition.

If you are looking for a place for a family get together in the Alexandria area you really need to check out this place. You will feel right at home.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cami Calhoun, Owner at Geneva Beach Resort
Responded Sep 11, 2020
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Sugarbush Lodge! Thanks for your kind words!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kim E wrote a review Jun 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I love everything about this resort. It has everything we love to do: fishing, beach, kayaks, trail access for biking and walking. Besides the actual boats, everything comes with the basic lodging fee, so there aren't all these add-on costs. Owners Craig and Cami are friendly, helpful, and easily accessible. The property is kept up well, with potted flowers all over.

We like being out of a city but still nearby restaurants, shops, and other activities.

Our kids and grandchildren joined us for a few days, and they loved this resort as well. This is our second year coming here, and we already booked for next year.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cami Calhoun, Owner at Geneva Beach Resort
Responded Sep 11, 2020
Thanks, Kim! We always enjoy having you at the resort. See you next summer!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mathew V wrote a review Jun 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our second year here and we loved every moment of it. From the cleanliness of the cabin upon arrival to well maintained grounds, the place is set up so perfectly for families to have a nice, safe environment for children of all ages. The water toys are plenty and the lake is beautiful.

If you stay here, we recommend watching the sun set or even being on a kayak while it sets. (: the owners are so kind and keep the beach area clean daily and full of toys for all ages.

The check in process was simple and so was checking out. We look forward to our next stay. It can’t come soon enough. (:
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cami Calhoun, Owner at Geneva Beach Resort
Responded Jun 12, 2021
Thank you for the feedback, as well as the suggestions for guests! We agree that watching the sunset from the water is a fabulous end to the day at Lake Geneva. We always enjoy having your family here at the resort.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Linda T wrote a review Jun 2022
Overland Park, Kansas
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cami and Craig were the best hosts for our recent fishing trip. They take such great care of the resort to make your stay special and make you feel like you are their only guests. Our cabin was so awesome with beautiful views of the lake and grounds. Although the weather began stormy, it turned out great and we had the best time fishing! We can't wait to come back next year! We would definitely recommend Geneva Beach Resort to families with children or anyone just wanting a relaxing vacation! Cami and Craig are the best!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: This is a resort with cabins of all sizes not a hotel...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
H Haden H wrote a review Nov 2023
Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Geneva Beach Resort is (hands down) a 10 out of 10 recommend! This place was an oasis of bonding and relaxation for my friends and family this past summer. We thoroughly enjoyed all of the many amenities and amazing people staying at the resort. The game room was a fun way to bond with the kids and get some nostalgia at the same time. All the watercraft was fun and available whenever we wanted to put them to use. Cami and Craig are a seriously a couple of the warmest and welcoming folks I’ve met in my entire life. They were fully accommodating; you could tell they were 100% invested in us having a great time, and we did for sure!! We built memories to last a lifetime and had lots of fun during our stay. You won’t regret booking some time to put your toes in the sand at this joyful spot on the edge of a beautiful lake in Minnesota!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Book it early.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cami Calhoun, Owner at Geneva Beach Resort
Responded Nov 10, 2023
Thank you SO much for taking the time to leave this kind review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your time here at Geneva Beach Resort!!!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Julie S wrote a review Jun 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed here many times and it never disappoints. The owners do everything they can to ensure you have a wonderful stay! This year we had 15 family member from 9 months old to 85! There is literally something for everyone. Our kids can play on the beach, jump on the water trampoline, kayak, paddle board, or play yard games. There is never a dull moment!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cami Calhoun, Owner at Geneva Beach Resort
Responded Jun 14, 2021
Glad you had a great stay at Geneva Beach! Love that you are able to get together across the generations. Hope you were able to get a photo of your crew!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
L2358SLtimb wrote a review Jun 2021
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is the perfect mix of nostalgic resort meets modern conveniences.
Completely exceeded all our expectations.

Awesome lakeside fire pits with comfy quality furniture
Each room has its OWN Weber gas grill, picnic table, and adorondack chairs
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cami Calhoun, Owner at Geneva Beach Resort
Responded Jun 12, 2021
Thanks for the kind words and thank you for choosing Geneva Beach Resort! We are glad you enjoyed your stay & hope to see you again in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lori D wrote a review Jul 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent a week in the Sugarbush Lodge with 6 families celebrating our parents’ 50th wedding anniversary. We had ages 6-76, and it was the perfect place for us to go. Amazing accommodations with something for everyone to do whenever they wanted. The house itself had so many things to do. The kids and teens loved the game room! They have all the water toys and vessels you could ask for. The family also enjoyed the sand volleyball court and fire pit. We had good luck fishing and had too much for our fish fry. The owners are wonderful! So knowledgeable and helpful. We also enjoyed going in to town to the shops, breweries and winery. We could not have imagined a better vacation! Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cami Calhoun, Owner at Geneva Beach Resort
Responded Aug 2, 2021
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Sugarbush Lodge! We agree that it is a great lake house for large families & are glad you were able to all get together to celebrate the occasion. Thanks for pointing out all there is to do here in Alexandria as well -- so many fun places to visit when you want a little break from the lake!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Megan W wrote a review Jun 2021
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved our stay at Geneva Beach Resort. Plenty for our whole family to do, sand toys for the baby and kayaks, paddle boats and water trampolines for the big kids. We rented a pontoon from the resort and had a blast. Rooms were clean and WiFi was great, highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cami Calhoun, Owner at Geneva Beach Resort
Responded Jun 22, 2021
Glad you enjoyed your stay!! We had fun getting to know your family!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kimberly J wrote a review May 2022
Little Falls, Minnesota
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cami and Craig always make our stays the best. Beautiful resort with amazing views. We love the courtyard and beach area. Everything is very clean and well kept. Our kids love the floating trampolines, water toys and kayaks. Can’t wait to return in July!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cami Calhoun, Owner at Geneva Beach Resort
Responded May 26, 2022
Thank you!! Glad you enjoyed your stay & we look forward to seeing you again in July:-).
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Minntravelmom
Kasson, Minnesota30 contributions14 helpful votes
Also, are you smoke free and pet free? My daughter has allergies to animals so we can definitely not have something that has had animals. Thanks.
H Haden H wrote a tip Nov 2023
Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania13 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book it early."
Read full review
Linda T wrote a tip Jun 2022
Overland Park, Kansas1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"This is a resort with cabins of all sizes not a hotel..."
Read full review
SBHappyTraveler wrote a tip Jun 2015
Solana Beach, California2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Layout of buildings gives every "cabin" lovely views of the lake. We took up the 8 bedroom house and several of the suites and studios."
Read full review
Tommeg09 wrote a tip May 2013
Savage, Minnesota1 contribution3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We stayed in the pine view lodge. It was newly remodeled and beautiful."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Alexandria area.
LOCATION
United StatesMinnesotaAlexandria
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GENEVA BEACH RESORT

Frequently Asked Questions about Geneva Beach Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Geneva Beach Resort?
Nearby attractions include Runestone Museum (2.2 miles), Escape Room Alexandria (2.1 miles), and Big Ole Viking Statue (3.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Geneva Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and kids activities.
Which room amenities are available at Geneva Beach Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Geneva Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Geneva Beach Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Geneva Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Ferme, Pike and Pint Grill, and DJ's Tap House & Grill.
Does Geneva Beach Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.
All Alexandria HotelsAlexandria Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in AlexandriaHotels near Geneva Beach Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars