We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Afton House Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Afton House Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

276 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 275: English reviews
Hudson, Wisconsin
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Been coming here many years for Valentines dinner with my wife. ALWAYS a great atmosphere, dinner and service!! Can't talk high enough about this restaurant!! I ask for a dozen roses, chocolates and a particular bottle of wine table side, and again a PERFECT show! Bravo Dan and crew! Food is 5 +1 Star. A must if ever in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dirksjj14
Hudson, Wisconsin
Reviewed December 28, 2016

Started with an appetizer of crab cakes, they were really different and very good. Had the walleye, had to send it back because it was so dry. Second piece was much better but the almond coating was not evenly dispersed, it was not good. My wife had the filet, good, but not great with chunks of pepper on the coating....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mainsailhr
Kathy J, Owner at Afton House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we also are disappointed that your food was not up to our standards that evening. We did have a change of staff recently in our kitchen and have now replaced with a quality staff. I am sorry you had to experience that and assure you that your next visit will be awesome. We look...

Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed December 8, 2016 via mobile

Our family of 8 attended the Thanksgiving buffet. It was lovely. A very popular place for folks to celebrate but even though it was crowded we had a wonderful time. The food was fresh and the staff was tireless in changing it out. One of our party uses a wheelchair and when making the reservation the staff discussed accessibility options...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renee W
Kathy J, Manager at Afton House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for dining with us and taking the time to give us a great review. Our staff appreciates your comments. Happy New Year

Rush City, Minnesota
Reviewed December 6, 2016

Just got back home from one-night stay at Afton House Inn. Wife and I had a half-price coupon from St. Paul paper. The Inn was fascinating, the oldest hotel in Minnesota, remarkable ambience from that, long narrow hallways, many views of St. Croix River Marina, cries of seagulls. On the first Monday night in December, we were the only guests...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank paul w
Kathy J, Owner at Afton House Inn, responded to this review

We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward in seeing you again

Reviewed December 2, 2016 via mobile

RM 7. I brought my wife to celebrate her birthday. Jacuzzi did not work ever after troubleshooting with staff. Since the price of the room is really Justified because there is a two-person jacuzzi, and the jacuzzi did not work, I asked to be compensated and requested a discount on the room. I thought that was a very reasonable and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank terry c
Kathy J, Owner at Afton House Inn, responded to this review

Dear Terry I did respond to you and you would not let anyone come to your room that night to check the jacuzzi and we did not find anything wrong with the jacuzzi the next day. I am sorry that you could not figure out how to use it and I did offer you a discount on your next stay....

Reviewed November 12, 2016

As we visited in the late fall of November, the Inn was quiet, with one a couple other guests apparent to us. The desk staff was perhaps a little reserved, but overall friendly, skilled and professional. We had one of the Riverview rooms, with a comfortable bed and room size. The fireplace is a cozy touch, but doesn't add heat....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank McKimi
Kathy J, Owner at Afton House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review so we can share with our staff your comments to ensure your next stay will be even more enjoyable. Check out our specials and events on AftonHouseInn.com We look forward to your next visit

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed October 17, 2016 via mobile

The gluten free pizza was fabulous. Try the Stella gluten free Apple cider. Great bartender and service. Good lighting and friendly staff! The walking paths near the Inn made for a nice after dinner stroll along the river.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Trish G
Delano, Minnesota
Reviewed October 16, 2016

we specifically mentioned it was our anniversary, and were looking for romantic & elegant. Far from it!! Hot tub took 40 mins. to fill, and sounded like an old Harley. Also chunks of dirt kept coming out of the faucets. Very small, cramped room. Not the cleanest. For $360 we could have stayed in a luxury hotel with amenities. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gablauway3
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Reviewed October 12, 2016

Over the past several years, we have enjoyed a late lunch at The Current (and prior to that, The Catfish Saloon) following our annual apple-picking event with family and grandchildren. This year 7 of us came for a late lunch. After calling ahead, we were immediately seated, and that's the best thing I can say about our experience. Service was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joan2br
Moorhead, Minnesota
Reviewed October 10, 2016

We stayed at the Afton Inn Sept 30 to Oct 2nd 2016, with 7 other couples. We stayed in room # 4 the room was not clean, we had bugs coming in the window where there was an open area at the bottom of window. The other side of the window had been taped for the same issue. We called...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank greg775
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
1:59
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afton
10.8 mi away
Water Street Inn
Water Street Inn
#6 of 7 in Stillwater
312 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hudson
4.8 mi away
Royal Inn - Hudson
Royal Inn - Hudson
#3 of 8 in Hudson
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Paul East
8.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Paul/Oakdale
8.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Paul NE - Lake Elmo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Afton House Inn

Address: 3291 Saint Croix Trail South, Afton, MN 55001
Location: United States > Minnesota > Afton
Price Range: $127 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Afton House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Afton House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afton House Hotel Afton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Afton House Inn staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Afton House Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“This review is for the restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles Mainsailhr, Dec 28, 2016 | Read review
“The rooms are described individually at their website-- be sure to get what you want, from basic to deluxe.”
 of 5 bubbles 55paulw, Dec 6, 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room far from the lobby for best views and quietness.”
 of 5 bubbles juliannlyonsf, Sep 18, 2016 | Read review
“I wouldn't even attempt to go.”
  • Even the table was deteriorating and had wood pieces sticking out.
 of 5 bubbles peace4just, Jul 17, 2016 | Read review
“Room 44 has a nice high ceiling and plenty of light”
  • Room 44
 of 5 bubbles pauldG5541MX, Jun 7, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question