We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Ulica Verudella 6/B, Pula 52100 Croatia
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (229)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (6)

About

#16 of 32 hotels in Pula
Location
3.9
Cleanliness
3.7
Service
3.3
Value
3.7
The surrounding rocky coast is on agentle incline to the sea, and many of the apartments at the Splendid Golden Rocks Istria afford spectacular views over the Adriatic Sea, as well as over Pula's charming seafront promenade - Lungomare. The Splendid Golden Rocks resort is idyllically situated in the popular area generally known as 'Podstinje' or 'Golden Rocks' in Croatia. The Splendid Golden Rocks Croatia resort attracts families in particular, because of its child-friendly policies, and perfect seaside location. At the hilltop of the tourist complex is Fort Bourgignon, which dates back to the Austro-Hungarian period, and is a magnificent example of architecture and history which guests find fascinating.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Saltwater pool
Restaurant
Poolside bar
Mini golf
Tennis court
Table tennis
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Massage
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Safe
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, Croatian, German, Italian
224Reviews22Q+A30Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 32
  • 86
  • 53
  • 25
  • 28
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
JH08031984 wrote a review Aug 2020
28 contributions54 helpful votes
+1
We travelled during the COVID-19 pandemic and unfortunately had to quarantine when we returned home but I would not let that put be off going back to Pula or another area of Croatia. The hotel staff were amazing and looked after all guest well. We felt safe and comfortable with what the hotel had put in place. Location: the setting of the hotel is out of this world. The views over the sea are something out of a travel book. The hotel is a bit way out but you can easily walk to a few bars and restaurants within 20-25 minutes. Pool: beautiful, warm, spotlessly clean. Downside you do have to pay for the sun beds. It’s between 35-40 kuna per bed. Pool bar: great food, great service and reasonably priced. Room: decent size, spotlessly clean on arrival, amazing views. Downside, there was no cleaning for the week we were there. We did get clean towels but the rest of the cleaning was down to us which is something you don’t really want to do on holiday. The balcony did get dirty with pigeon/seagull droppings which we had to clean ourselves. Air con is extra but worth the cost. The resort is a little dated but it adds to its charm and it fits in well with the area. I would definitely return and recommend to others. All in all we had a great time.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Arena Hospitality Group, Owner at Splendid Resort
Responded Sep 1, 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding to your recent stay with us. We are happy to read that you spent a lovely time at our resort and enjoyed especially our location by the beach and the sea views. We are very happy that our valuable team members contributed even to a more pleasant stay. Due to the corona virus, we do not offer daily cleaning as in previous years. If you need cleaning or fresh bed linen, you need to contact the reception. After you leave the apartment, our team can enter the apartment and clean it or change the bed linen. We are sorry if there has been a misunderstanding on this matter. We would love to get another opportunity to welcome you. Best regards, Splendid Resort Management Team
Read more
Katie H wrote a review Aug 2020
Chester, United Kingdom38 contributions67 helpful votes
We stayed at the hotel splendid for a week August 2020. The first thing you need to understand about this resort is that it isn’t your standard hotel accommodation. I would liken it to booking centre parcs or Haven in the UK. It is very much designed to be self catering in every sense of the word. You wouldn’t expect the cleaner to come in an clean your lodge at centre parcs and it is the same here. Many tourists drive here and come with everything they need for a self catering holiday. Us brits on a package holiday don’t come prepared for that. The resort does supply washing up liquid, towels, and toilet roll but once this runs out you go buy your own - just as you would in the UK. The apartments / chalets are clean, basic and roomy. Some minor points, batteries didn’t work in the air con, batteries didn’t work in the safe but these are minor things that are easily resolved if visitors inform the resort staff. The resort is tired, we are in the midst of a global pandemic and hasn’t really opened for the summer so it isn’t shown in its full potential. Saying that the pool is excellent, the pool restaurant superb, as to is the additional restaurant near the supermarket. The supermarket whilst small has the necessities. I would recommend a car, we got by without one but if you did want to do a full shop you will need a car or a taxi. Car hire is significantly cheap at 300kn per day. Return taxi to Pula was 200. The restaurants outside the resort are all fantastic. The food is divine, we never had a bad meal and a family of 4 cost £50 to feed most nights with drinks and puddings. The coast line is beyond beautiful and you will be treated to stunning sun sets. Bring rock shoes for the beach and we invested in beach cushions as it’s uncomfortable without them. These were also very cheap. There is so much to do, we did the inflatable aqua park, pedalo’s, jet skiing, snorkelling, Pula adventure park, Pula town is beautiful. We could go on and on. The Kn to the £ is pretty good so for the Brits this is working out to be a cheap break. We have travelled the world and stayed on some amazing hotels, I am a self confessed holiday snob and I have to say this has been one of our best holidays. We had a wonderful time.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Arena Hospitality Group, Owner at Splendid Resort
Responded Aug 26, 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor; it was our pleasure to read your kind review. It is wonderful to know that you have spent one of your best holidays at our resort and that you have enjoyed your time in Pula. We are glad to learn that you were satisfied with the size and cleanliness of your apartment, the pool and the restaurant, as well as various entertainment and sports activities available in the surroundings. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again on your next trip to Pula. Best regards, Splendid Resort Management Team
Read more
Shaw1840 wrote a review Sep 2019
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom22 contributions14 helpful votes
+1
Me, my husband and 5 year old visited for 11 nights with Jet2 holidays, reading the reviews I nearly cancelled--so glad we didn't. The apartment was spacious, well equipped and reasonably cool even without aircon. There was a kettle, coffee maker, TV and hairdryer along with free safe. Fresh towels every 3 days, no actual cleaning. The apartment was a walk from reception but they brought cases on a buggy and collected on way home. Kids club and mini disco enjoyed by my daughter, the pole dancing practice directly adjacent enjoyed by my husband! The restaurants all much of a muchness, we found the best one to be near the shop, reasonably priced good portion sizes. Shop quite expensive but open till 2100 in summer, fresh bread daily. We did a big shop at supermarket near Lidl, £10 in taxi, bus available outside reception but a fair walk and supermarkets not in Pula centre. The reception were very helpful they even ordered us takeaway pizza one evening. The pool area reasonably clean, activities all day for all ages, music played. The entertainment team worked hard. Steps down to the sea, loads of free areas to place towels down by sea, but beds by pool do cost. Read previous reviews for some info on bars, we found them, they were great - you will need antihistamines if you react to bites as forest areas to get to both. All in all a fab holiday, probably not suitable if you are keen on lots of bars, restaurants or if your mobility is an issue but we were pleasantly surprised with the splendid resort. We also visited the aquarium, walked from splendid, quite expensive but worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Arena_Hospitality, Manager at Splendid Resort
Responded Sep 30, 2019
Dear Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to share your impressions regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know your family and you had such a wonderful stay and that we managed to meet your expectations. Thank you for your kind words regarding the resort, the apartment, our team members, the entertainment, the facilities. the location and the surroundings. It would be a pleasure to get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Best regards, Splendid Golden Rocks Resort Management Team
Read more
Dick Phelps wrote a review Sep 2019
Cork, Ireland2 contributions2 helpful votes
Room was ok and clean, you definitely need a car as this resort is miles away from city or attractions. View from pool is stunning, The female poolbar staff very unpleasant and need to recognise that they work in a complex that cater for tourists. Food was not that good and not many people eating at poolbar, for a reason!!!!. Overall other staff pleasant. Try get a room close to pool as its a good walk if you are down near reception. Check out time is very early 10am, our flight was 2300hours. Had to pay extra day rate to keep room until 6pm. Unfortunately I will not be returning or recommending this resort to anyone
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Near the pool its a good walk to if you are at reception end of complex
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Arena_Hospitality, Manager at Splendid Resort
Responded Sep 30, 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It makes us happy to know your stay was pleasant and that we managed to meet your expectations regarding the room, the cleanliness, our team members and the view. However, we are very sad to know some aspects of your stay left you disappointed. We sincerely appreciate our guests feedback as it helps us identify the areas for improvement. Your comments and remarks will be shared within our management team and will be discussed in order to improve our resort. With hope to get another opportunity to welcome you, we are sending you our best regards. Splendid Golden Rocks Resort Management Team
Read more
Kitty wrote a review Sep 2019
1 contribution
We visited Splendid as a family. We stayed a week. The views were stunning, the sea is beautiful to swim in, there are lots of things yo do. There is a charge for sunbeds round the pool which I knew before I went, but as we spent most days out exploring, visiting the ruins when we returned we sat on the chairs available or went to the sea which is just down the steps from the pool. The water activities are very reasonably priced. The bus is reliable and takes you to the centre. The kitchen had everything needed and more and the supermarket next to Mystic Bar is very reasonable. The room was adequate and veranda and views beautiful. Only reason I haven't given full stars was I didn't think reception were very engaging nor good at giving information other than to circle places on a map. They didn't appear very friendly at all.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Arena_Hospitality, Manager at Splendid Resort
Responded Sep 6, 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions regarding your recent stay with us. It makes us very happy to know your family and you had such a wonderful stay and that you truly enjoyed. Thank you for your kind words regarding the resort, the accommodation, the activities offered, the amenities and facilities. However, we are sad to know you were left disappointed with the service at the front office, your comments will be forwarded to the relevant department in order to prevent such cases in the future. With hope to get another opportunity to welcome you, we are sending you our best regards. Splendid Golden Rocks Resort Management Team
Read more
Wanderer505090 wrote a review Aug 2019
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Where to start with this place, I have never written a bad review on trip advisor but after being left in tears of frustration and exhausted by my experience at this resort I felt it was necessary to leave a review so other people don’t get mislead and ripped off. When we arrived at 12.30 at night my friend and I were shocked at how misleading the photographs and information provided of hotel were on booking.com. The resort was the equivalent of a run down butlins, lots of apartments cramped together on top of each other cars everywhere due to it being only accessible by car. Our apartment was very outdated, dark and not clean. There was mould in various parts of all the rooms and it smelt musty. The living area was not nice to relax in as it contained brown 70s style furniture that were far too big for the size of the room. The ‘sofa bed’ was old and uncomfortable; we barely wanted to sit on it let alone sleep on it. The sheets on the bed had a damp feeling and were itchy. On arrival we were charged over £50 more than advertised at a rate of £100 per night. Air conditioning was also available at an extra charge of 5 euros a day. The order confirmation doesn’t say how much, just that there’ll be a fee and it also doesn’t specifically state a charge applies on booking. The WiFi doesn’t work properly and chucks you off all the time. We were also made aware by another guest of more extra charges for sunbeds and parasols and were then left worried that we would be hit with hidden charges at check out. This place is the worst accommodation my friend and I have ever stayed in and I can’t help but think someone higher up the food chain is making very good money ripping off tourists to stay here. It was so bad that we requested a refund after one night, this took from 9am to get authorised, then on checking out the receptionist told us we had to pay an extra day rate charge as it took so long for booking.com and the Splendid resort to resolve our refund. We actually that time back and forth from the reception and on our own phones to booking.com trying to get answers. As a result we then spent a further 4 hours in the reception with very unhelpful staff arguing the additional cost as they refused to liaise directly (by liaise I mean call them and discuss once to resolve!) with booking.com and as the customers we just ended up being the negotiators between booking.com and Splendid resort staff, at 2pm we were told the matter could only be resolved by their manager and that we would have to wait there until 7pm if we wanted to speak with her. If you want ‘splendid’ accommodation don’t stay here. It’s not splendid in any way shape or form and anyone that says it is at the cost of £100 a night is deluded.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Arena_Hospitality, Manager at Splendid Resort
Responded Sep 6, 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions regarding your recent stay with us. We are very sorry to read your stay with us haven't been gratifying and that the accommodation wasn't in line with your expectations. We would like to point out that while booking your stay the pictures and the description of the resort is available, as we want our guests to be informed about all aspects of their upcoming stay and we are very sorry to know there has been a misunderstanding regarding some aspects. Our main aim is to provide our guests with an exceptional and memorable stay and we are very sad to know you declined our offer to provide you with another apartment. We hope that despite the negatives encountered, we will have the opportunity to welcome you back for a more memorable experience. Best regards, Splendid Golden Rocks Resort Management Team
Read more
Tijana Medic wrote a review Aug 2019
Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina40 contributions22 helpful votes
This is a wonderful place, it is so great to see a piece of Adriatic coast that is not over-developed. The resort is comfortable, the beach is spectacular, and a pleasant walks through lovely nature take you to the center of Pula, where there is so much to see, or to their fabulous aquarium. Exploring the tiny fortresses on the hills overlooking the coast was especially fun.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Value
Location
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Arena_Hospitality, Manager at Splendid Resort
Responded Aug 27, 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Splendid Golden Rocks Resort for your recent stay in Pula. It makes us more than happy to know you had such a wonderful stay and that we managed to exceed your expectations. Our guest satisfaction is the most important thing for us and to know that our hard work and effort is recognized by our guests, makes us extremely happy. We are looking forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay in the near future. Kind regards, Splendid Golden Rocks Resort Management Team
Read more
JaneP wrote a review Aug 2019
9 contributions
+1
We have just come back from 8 nights at the Splendid Resort and my advice to anyone reading the negative reviews on here is to take them with a pinch of salt and make your own mind up..It all depends what you are looking for. There were 5 of us ranging in age from 2 to 55. The location is amazing with fantastic views of the sea. We had a one bedroom apartment which was very comfortable and clean..towels were changed twice when we were there and the bedding once. The pool is very clean (salt water)..and can get very busy but it is a good size. Down some steps from the pool area is the sea, which is ideal for swimming or snorkeling. A short walk along one of the many paths takes you to a water sports area.. large inflatable for kids, kyacking, pedalos and loads more, all very cheap. Beautiful coves are dotted all along the coastline. We hired a car, but it was not really necessary as we enjoyed the walk out to restaurants on an evening (about 2k)..taxis are also cheap enough. The hotel is well lit. There are lots of steps and hills, but these did not bother us. We ate at the pool restaurant once, it is very over priced and we felt that there were far better places to eat, but the staff were friendly enough. On one night they had an acoustic band playing who were very good, so we did sit again and have an over priced drink. The tour of Pula is worth doing (100kn for 24 hour ticket) headphones allow you to listen to the interesting history of Croatia. The market in Pula is worth a visit as are some of the lovely restaurants. If you like pizza, you will be in your element ..so cheap and absolutely fab! So make your own minds up..we will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Arena_Hospitality, Manager at Splendid Resort
Responded Aug 27, 2019
Dear Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. It was a pleasure to read your wonderful feedback and to know you truly enjoyed every moment of your stay with us. Thank you for all of your kind words, they are highly appreciated. We are more than happy to know you would like to return for another memorable stay and we are looking forward to welcoming you for one. Kind regards, Splendid Golden Rocks Resort Management Team
Read more
Julian Baker wrote a review Aug 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
After reading a few negative reviews, we were anxious. On arriving at the reception of the complex, paying the local tax, we were given the necessary keys and card for the air conditioner. On entering the apartment we were impressed with the standard of decor and cleanliness. The kitchen area was well kitted with all that was required to prepare and cook a main meal for our family of four. The whole complex including the pool was of high standard and it's location excellent. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend Splendid Resort to our friends and family..
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Arena_Hospitality, Manager at Splendid Resort
Responded Aug 14, 2019
Dear Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to share your impressions regarding your recent say at Splendid Golden Rocks Resort. We are more than happy to know you truly enjoyed your stay and that we managed to meet your expectations. Thank you for your kind words regarding the location, the resort, the apartment, the cleanliness, the amenities provided and the pool area. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again on your next visit to Pula. Kind regards, Splendid Golden Rocks Resort Management Team
Read more
Andrea Italia wrote a review Aug 2019
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Upon arrival the receptionist insisted in speaking with us in Italian and her Italian was very poor and the information were not clear and not correct, she didn't know the opening and closing hours of the pool, the restaurants, the minimarket and all the other services and venues. She just gave us a map, got the full payment and that's all. I told that we could speak in English but she carried on with a sort of Italian. In the apartment the telephone didn't work from the first moment. We told the reception and nobody fixed it in 10 days. There was a problem with the toilet too (a noise every 2 minutes) we told the reception and nobody fixed it. I was calling the reception with my mobile phone because the phone in the apartment was not repaired. On the 8th day nobody came to clean the apartment. Someone left a plastic bag with sheets, towels and pillow cases and the lady said: " This is for you". So we had to clean the apartment (living room, bedroom, terrace, kitchen and bathroom and make the beds). On the forth night there was a storm and there was water coming from the ceiling in different parts of the apartment, from the chandelier (so very dangerous) and on the bed too. I tried to call the reception but the telephone didn't work so I called with my cellphone. I told to the receptionist that the phone was not working and there was water coming from the ceiling in different points and above all from the chandelier. The receptionist said that he was going to send someone from the maintenance and someone from housekeeping. After a long long time nobody came from the maintenance and a person came and left two sheets and we had to dry the floor. We had to use the pans for the water. The food was terrible at breakfast, we also tried the dinner (very poor). The Gym was awful, very old and rusty. It has been a disaster. We paid almost 2 thousands euro and there was no assistance, no consideration, no service at all. I asked to talk to the General Manager but he never showed up. Very very disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Molto costoso, non c'è servizio, non c'è attenzione al cliente. Completamente abbandonati
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Arena_Hospitality, Manager at Splendid Resort
Responded Aug 22, 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us. We are very sad to hear about the inconvenience experienced. What you experienced is not acceptable and not in line with our standards. We are inspecting this situation with our management team at the moment. Therefore, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience which diminished your overall experience. We would like to use this opportunity to apologize for all the inconveniences occurred during your stay. We sincerely hope that you will reconsider visiting us again so that we can give you the exceptional experience that you should have received on your first visit. Best regards, Splendid Golden Rocks Resort Management Team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$55 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
resort splendid hotel pula
LOCATION
CroatiaIstriaPula
NUMBER OF ROOMS
218
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Splendid Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Splendid Resort?
Nearby attractions include Beach Bar La Playa (0.2 miles), Saccorgiana Cove (0.2 miles), and Vinoteka Kalavojna (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Splendid Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Splendid Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Splendid Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Splendid Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Splendid Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Farabuto, Ribarska koliba restaurant, and Konoba Topaz.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Splendid Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Splendid Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Splendid Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Italian, and Croatian.
Are there any historical sites close to Splendid Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Kastel (1.7 miles), Small Roman Theatre (1.7 miles), and Venetian Fortress (1.7 miles).
Does Splendid Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.