We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hotel Vis

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Vis
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

540 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 342: English reviews
Thessaloniki
Reviewed October 31, 2016 via mobile

Not good at all.It needs totally renovating and redecorating since the rooms look like 30-40 years old.It looks like one star hotel.Not recommended at all.The food is poor,no elevators.The staff in the reception is polite.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vassilis K
General M, General Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this review

Dear Madam / Sir, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. First and foremost, I apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We are taking steps to remedy your concerns for yourself and other guests in the future. We would be pleased if you choose to visit us again. Best regards, Hotel Manager

Drogheda, Louth, Ireland
Reviewed October 24, 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights on the 3rd floor with my two adult children. Positives:- The location as the hotel is directly on a stony beach on a beautiful bay with wonderful sea views. Shops and bars are close by. There is a bus stop directly outside with buses running every 15 minutes into the old town of wonderful Dubrovnik which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara22_12
General M, General Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this review

Dear Madam / Sir, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are pleased to hear you found our location ideal for all your needs. We are looking forward to your next visit. Best regards, Hotel Manager

The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed October 18, 2016

The hotel was 'ok' considering the price we paid. However, the rooms were very small and not cleaned properly, the balcony had a lot of ants on it and the view was very limited (view on the park means no view at all), very unfriendly personnel and very outdated building. However the breakfast was ok, the location was good (15...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martinoostenbrink
General M, General Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this review

Dear Madam / Sir, Thank you for choosing Hotel Vis for your recent stay. We are sincerely sorry to hear we have not met your expectations. Your comments have been documented and taken into the consideration. We would be pleased if you choose to visit us again. Best regards, Hotel Manager

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 14, 2016

I read the very poor reviews for this hotel so we were worried about our weeks holiday We found the hotel to be clean friendly with good food & in a lovely setting. It's perfect for walking or just sitting on the lovely terrace watching the beautiful sunsets

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cat7772013
General M, General Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this review

Dear Madam / Sir, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hotel Vis and for sharing your kind review. We are so happy you enjoyed your time here. We hope to see you again in the future and we are honored to have served you. Best regards, Hotel Manager

Bridlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 13, 2016

We had previously stayed at Hotel Vis in June 2015 half board for the first time and we booked again to stay October 2016 bed and breakfast. It is always a gamble to return back to a previous hotel for a holiday as to whether it is as good as the last time and so our expectations were high as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Whackend
General M, General Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this review

Dear Madam / Sir, Your detailed description of our hotel is truly amazing. We are thankful for many positive comments you indicated in your review which will surely be useful to other potential guests. Hope to see you again. Best regards, Hotel Manager

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 12, 2016

Located about 15 mins away by bus from the Old City, the Hotel Vis has seen better days. Looks a little tired and in need of a refurbishment. Rooms are ok, standard issue en-suite. Bathroom was fine though the step in height of the bath was quite high, might be an issue for someone elderly or impaired. Shower fine, towels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jabberwocky7
General M, General Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this review

Dear Madam / Sir, Thank you for staying at our hotel and writing a review. All your observations will be taken into the consideration. We would be pleased if you choose to visit us again. Best regards, Hotel Manager

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 9, 2016

This hotel is clean in a good location for the beach, unfortunately that's all it really has going for it. The beds were uncomfortable, breakfast was basic and I didn't trust the look of the eggs, the wifi was terrible, the whole place needed redecorating and most of all it was expensive! I would highly recommend Dubrovnik, but not while...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlie B
General M, General Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this review

Dear Madam / Sir, We thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We love hearing back from our guests about what they enjoyed and what we can improve on. We have taken note on the information that you have given and will take action to correct. We hope you will give us another opportunity to...

Reviewed October 9, 2016

Hotel Vis has a wonderful location - on the beach, where you can use the sun loungers and umberellas free of charge as a guest of the hotel. There are no roads to cross to the beach, straight from the little bistro attached to the hotel, so safe for kids. The beach is stony but it's quite easy to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
General M, General Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this review

Dear Madam / Sir, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We would be pleased if you choose to visit us again. Best regards, Hotel Manager

Reviewed October 6, 2016

Terrible. Met by the smell of a sewer and then unfriendly reception. The booking was messed up for my group and we didn't get what had been booked. The wifi wasn't working, everything is old and tatty and the food is average.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephen A
General M, General Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this review

Dear Madam / Sir, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy staying with us and that you left the hotel with bad impression. Your review will undoubtedly help us to improve our services. We hope you will give us another chance in the future. Best regards, Hotel Manager

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 1, 2016

We have just returned from a week at this hotel & it was fine,basically you get what you pay for & I thought overall it was good value for money.Yes,it's dated,but it's clean & staff were friendly & helpful,The food was adequate but we ate out most nights,there are excellent restaurants on the boulevard down the hill.My bugbear was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jean s
General M, General Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this review

Dear Madam / Sir, I am pleased to see you had a very enjoyable visit. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your return visit in the future. Kind regards, Hotel Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

492 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (338)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (81)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (35)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Other (112)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (145)
Viewed
Beach (6)
Viewed
Double Sea View Room (27)
Viewed
Double Twin Room (27)
Viewed
Double Twin Sea View Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)
Viewed
Triple Sea View Room (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#35 of 66 in Dubrovnik
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#38 of 66 in Dubrovnik
320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#60 of 66 in Dubrovnik
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Uvala
Hotel Uvala
#29 of 66 in Dubrovnik
395 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#50 of 66 in Dubrovnik
36 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#24 of 66 in Dubrovnik
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The charming and comfortable hotel Vis is ideal for family vacation and for all those who like to relax on the beach as it is located directly on the clear blue Adriatic Sea in the Bay of Lapad. The view of Elafiti Islands at sunset will most definitely become one of the most cherished images of your vacation. The cozy and comfortable, pleasantly equipped and air-conditioned rooms open onto balconies with views of the pine tree forest or the beautiful blue sea. You can enjoy your complimentary breakfast in our main restaurant featuring one of Dubrovnik's most beautiful terraces with magnificent sea view. You can also enjoy light Mediterranean meals or just have a cold drink in our Lido beach bar. The popular Lapad Bay promenade with numerous restaurants and cafes is in walking distance, and a bus stop to the Old town is just in front of the hotel. A regular bus line will get you there in 10 minutes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Vis

Address: Masarykov Put 4 | Lapad Bay, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Price Range: $50 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vis 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Vis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vis Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Vis Dubrovnik
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel Vis staff and other travelers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Vis staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for a room with a view at the sea”
 of 5 bubbles martinoostenbrink, Oct 18, 2016 | Read review
“Book early to get a beach/view”
  • View of a local island
 of 5 bubbles Cat7772013, Oct 14, 2016 | Read review
“Sea views rooms overlook Lapad Bay.”
  • Hotel Vis Croatia view from the room early morning
  • Hotel Vis Croatia view from balcony
  • Hotel Vis double room 2nd floor view from balcony
  • Hotel Vis Croatia bathroom
  • Hotel Vis Bathroom
  • Hotel Vis Croatia double room
  • Hotel Vis double room 205
  • Hotel Vis double room 205
 of 5 bubbles Whackend, Oct 13, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the bar terrace for fantastic views of the bay.”
 of 5 bubbles 265carolc, Oct 9, 2016 | Read review
“don't book this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles stephena398, Oct 6, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay