We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Vestibul Palace

Iza Vestibula 4a, Split 21000 Croatia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (207)
360
Panoramas (7)
Room & Suite (161)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#18 of 85 hotels in Split
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.7
Value
4.2
Travelers' Choice
Small luxury boutique hotel in the heart of 1700 year old Diocletian's palace. 11 Unique rooms will give you a one of a kind experience of sleeping in the emperor's chambers! City Center, City Hotel, Luxury Hotel, Boutique Hotel, Luxury Boutique Hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Children's television networks
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Car hire
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Croatian, German, Italian
530Reviews13Q+A96Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 368
  • 107
  • 34
  • 14
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Christy Y wrote a review Jan 2024
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Very clean and cozy boutique hotel. The rooms are on the smaller side but the bathroom is spacious. The location is great although was a bit hard to find. What we really loved about this place was the amazing service from all of the staff there, especially Dom!! We felt like we were staying at someone's house. Welcome drinks were offered. Amazing big breakfast in the morning. Love, love, love this hotel and all the staff! Would definitely come back if given the chance to visit Split again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Len Watkins wrote a review Jan 2024
Usa River, Tanzania6 contributions
The staff were not just efficient, but also extremely helpful and friendly. They made us feel like we had family in the center of Split, and all their recommendations and directions were spot-on. The hotel is right in the center of everything, and a marvel in itself. Five solid stars.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Call the hotel for directions to it. The gps takes you close, but Roman palaces can be tricky to...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sungirlxxxx wrote a review Aug 2023
Waterloo, Canada824 contributions225 helpful votes
+1
Wonderful location. Rooms are very comfortable but tend to be small. Bathrooms well appointed and spacious. Lovely included breakfast. Staff are very personable and professional. Ivan is a a tremendous asset to the hotel. He should be on track to make manager.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mija Medić, General Manager at Hotel Vestibul Palace
Responded Aug 26, 2023
Dear guest, Thank You for Your detailed review. It means a great deal to us to see that You mostly enjoyed Your stay at our hotel. We will inform our colleague Ivan about Your impressions. He will be thrilled! Have a nice day and best regards!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Departure43780151565 wrote a review Jul 2023
1 contribution
We recently spent 4 nights at the Villa Dobric. The location in the old town was excellent and although there are many restaurants and bars nearby, at nighttime we didn't hear a thing. The bed was super comfy, room and bathroom were spotlessly clean and the air con was a godsend in the very high temperatures. There was a short but pretty walk to the main hotel for breakfast which was very good. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very small but we didn't spend too long in it as there was so many great places to explore.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mija Medić, General Manager at Hotel Vestibul Palace
Responded Jul 27, 2023
Dear guest, Thank You for Your kind review. We are happy to see that You enjoyed our property and Split in general. Villa Dobrić indeed has a specific location, close to Riva promenade and Diocletian Palace, and yet very peaceful, since it is situated between two bigger streets in a narrow area which is very quiet. Room size is standard, just like in other hotels in the old town. It would be our pleasure to accommodate You again in our charming property and Mediterranean jewel, city of Split. Have a wonderful day and best regards!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Dingo_6152 wrote a review Jul 2023
Fremantle, Australia2040 contributions1398 helpful votes
This was simply an amazing luxury boutique hotel. It is located in the heart of Diocletian's Palace and is centrally located to all the major attractions within the old town. It can be difficult to locate (no thanks to Google Maps) if it is your first time in Split. The Diocletian's Palace precinct or the old part of Split is not accessible by vehicles so you will need to walk to the hotel. In hindsight we probably should have contacted the hotel before we arrived and had someone assist with our luggage. They did help us with our luggage when we left. The hotel is located immediately adjacent to the ancient roman vestibule, a circular stone hall, and opposite the Ethnographic Museum. The internal lobby is light and airy with a glass roof - the area also doubles as the hotel's dining area. In there is an outdoor dining area on a cobbled courtyard at the hotel entrance. Each of the eleven rooms are unique as they have had to fit them within the heritage listed Roman and Medieval walls of the buildings. I just loved the historic character of the hotel and how they had managed to fit it out with modern furnishings without compromising the building's heritage. We were lucky in that we had a standard double room on the lower floor so wasn't much of a staircase to climb but I would probably splurge next time and get the junior suite. The bed was very comfortable, and the room was well laid out. We even overlooked the vestibule and could listen to the singers performing there. The staff were extremely helpful, providing us with great recommendations on where to eat, a pre-packed breakfast for when we were heading off on an early morning boat cruise, assisting us with dealing with a parking infringement we incurred earlier in our travels. The service the hotel provided was outstanding.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mija Medić, General Manager at Hotel Vestibul Palace
Responded Jul 20, 2023
Dear Sir, Thank You for Your kind and detailed review! We are thrilled to see that Your stay was satisfying and memorable. It is nice to see that people recognize our concept and hard work. We can only confirm that all You have mentioned is correct and hope to meet You again as our dear guest. Have a wonderful day and best regards!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
zardie t wrote a review Jul 2023
2 contributions
Amazing hotel, location and staff. Beautiful hotel. Staff went above and beyond to help us especially Vana, Tony and Zara. It’s minutes walk to water and the character of the palace is second to none. Breakfast was fantastic. Definitely recommend!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mija Medić, General Manager at Hotel Vestibul Palace
Responded Jul 8, 2023
Dear Zardie, Thank You for Your kind review. We are happy to see that You enjoyed Your stay l and our service. Vana, Tonči and Zara will be thrilled to see that You remebered them and mentioned in Your feedback. We hope to see You again as our dear guest. Have a wonderful Sunday and best regards!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Discover103891 wrote a review Jul 2023
24 contributions21 helpful votes
Stay away from the "Villa" rooms. The main hotel may be nice with decent rooms, but their "villa" location is worse than a studio apartment. The location is fantastic (for both the hotel and the villa rooms), but in the Villa, the air conditioner barely works, the wifi is terrible, and the bathrooms are small and cheap. We felt like we were in a college dormitory. As to the service, when I mentioned our issues, I got a perfunctory 'sorry' but that's all. Very disappointed, and will look for another hotel next time.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Do NOT stay in the villa rooms
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Mija Medić, General Manager at Hotel Vestibul Palace
Responded Jul 8, 2023
Dear guest, Thank You for Your review. We are happy to see that You were satisfied with location of both Villa Dobrić and hotel Vestibul Palace. We are sorry that Villa Dobrić did not meet Your expectations. Your whole feedback is greatly appreciated, although mainteance is done regularly, we will recheck everything You mentioned at Villa Dobrić and make sure everything works in order. We have to disagree on the comment about ''college dormitory'', rooms have modern design with antique touch, respecting the building and its history. We hope You will give us a chance to meet Your expectations, we understand Your situation, but in case You would like to try to stay at our main building, hotel Vestibul Palace, You are welcome to contact us, we believe that You have our e-mail. Have a nice day and best regards!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
kevin wrote a review Jun 2023
New York City, New York14 contributions6 helpful votes
The good: The location cannot be beat - just on the other side of the vestibule of Diocletian’s Palace. The rooms all have exposed Roman-sea brick walls. The room was modern and clean. The staff was small but very friendly and accommodating. The less good: Tiny bathrooms made the mornings difficult for a couple. Our two story room (bed in loft) had a treacherous stair that we stumbled on at least once in the night. Conclusion: it’s worth a stay but it’s not a “palace”.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mija Medić, General Manager at Hotel Vestibul Palace
Responded Jun 18, 2023
Dear Kevin, thank You for Your kind review. We are happy to see that You enjoyed our location and generally enjoyed our hotel and service, it means a great deal to us! We assume that You are reffering to our Luxury Suite, with bed on the gallery reachable by stairs. At our hotel, we have two types of bathrooms and this is the bigger option, with a bathub. The other one is just with walk-in shower. We are sorry that You were having difficulties with the access to the bedroom. Regarding Your conclusion, we believe hotel's name is justified. Our understanding of the word ''palace'' is very historic. Hotel is actually not one, but three palaces connected to a modern hotel with seven rooms. Original building is very old (Romanesque, Renaissance and Gothic period) and to have big/surface area of our best room distinctive and comfortable enough, architects decided that this is the best way to have the best of the given space. Lot of people like to be in hotel's best and biggest room and do not mind the stairs. If You decide to visit us again, taking into account Your preferences, we suggest You to book our Junior Suite, which is our second room by size, but without stairs to the bedroom. Thank You for understanding. Have a wonderful day and best regards!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
boundary wrote a review May 2023
Ontario's Thousand Islands, Canada364 contributions324 helpful votes
This is one of the most interesting hotels we’ve ever stayed in. It is built into the walls of the ancient palace so the rooms have exposed stone walls. Our room was a deluxe double and it was a good size. Everything was modern and up to date. The staff were all extremely helpful and knowledgeable. Tronci who met us in the parking lot gave us a lot of information about the history of the area. Breakfast is more than you could possibly need. Unless you have mobility issues, this is a must see hotel. There’s a bit of climbing required to access the hotel. But well worth it if you can manage it.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mija Medić, General Manager at Hotel Vestibul Palace
Responded May 26, 2023
Dear guest, Thank You for Your kind review. It means a great deal to us that You enjoyed hotel's facilites, design and breakfast, but also our staff. Tonči will be thrilled to hear that he was helpful to You and with the fact that You remembered him. Regarding the stairs, unfortunately old town was built 2000 years ago and city authorities still have to adapt lot of stairs, but we as a hotel always assist our guests with luggage and also suggest the fastest way, or other route which is least harmful for guests with mobility issues. Guests only need to contact us, and we will take care of the rest. We hope to see You again as our dear guest and wish You a wonderful weekend!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mark M wrote a review Dec 2022
4 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel Vestibule Palace charged me for a room when the hotel was closed. After a 30-hour flight delay, I arrived at Hotel Vestibul at 11:00 PM on a rainy night in the off-season to find the hotel locked, with no one inside to let me in. I called both phone numbers (and even sent a text) provided to me with my reservation confirmation. No one answered. I was forced to drag my luggage up and down the streets of the old city of Split at near midnight, in the rain, until I found a hotel (Heritage Hotel Santa Lucia) in the main square that would take me that night. The next morning I received a message from the hotel manager of Hotel Vestibul explaining that as I was the only guest that night, and no one knew when I would be arriving, all staff had been sent home at 10:00 PM and instructed to leave their portable business phones behind the desk. Essentially, the manager had shut the hotel down without informing me. I cancelled the remainder of my stay there, opting to continue with the Santa Lucia, whose staff had treated me with exceptional warmth and kindness. Hotel Vestibul Palace actually charged me for the night the hotel was closed (in addition to the first night that I missed due to flight delays). This hotel advertises as a "small luxury hotel" with prices triple that of a typical hotel (such as the lovely Santa Lucia) yet shuts down at will and refuses to refund its guests for a stay and service that was not provided. In 30 years of international travel, I have NEVER seen anything like this.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mija Medić, General Manager at Hotel Vestibul Palace
Responded Dec 7, 2022
Dear Mark D, thank you for your review and the time to write it. Unfortunately, we have to say that this review contains incorrect information and that we have emails that support all of our claims below, that are not in accordance with your review. Your reservation was from November 13 to November 18. You sent us an email on Sunday, November 13 at 9:45 pm where you informed us that you will not come to Split that day, we quote: " Arrival time at the Split airport is now 10:00pm Tuesday.", because of the inconvenience you experienced. The day you arrived and unfortunately found the hotel closed was Monday, November 14 (quoted from your agent's email: "He finally arrived at the property today, November 14 at 22:30 hours..."). This means that you arrived a day earlier, on November 14, than the scheduled day of arrival, i.e. the day you officially informed us that you would come (Tuesday -15th of November). The policy of our hotel is that if we have no guests or arrivals for that day, the hotel is open until 10:00 pm (regarding to hotel's size). Regardless of that, and the fact that you informed us about the wrong day of arrival, we are very sorry for all the inconveniences you experienced, as we wrote you in the apology email and offered you to return to our hotel as soon as we saw the problem in early morning. Unfortunately, you rejected us. Regarding billing, the standard cancellation policy is 7 days prior to arrival with a full refund. Within 7 days and in case of no-show, 100% of the reservation is charged. The customer service of the channel trough which you booked got insight into all our emails and agreed that we should make a decision of the payment. Which means that they also approved a 100% payment considering that it was your fault, if we decide so. Considering that the mistakes happen and that we are aware of the inconvenience you experienced, and that you also paid for the other accommodation, we decided to meet you and charge only the first two days for which you informed us that you would not be on time (you informed us on Sunday, which is not included in uncollectible ), even though we as a hotel have to pay a commission for your entire reservation in our hotel (5 nights). As we stated above, we have emails to back up all our claims. We didn't publish the screenshoot to protect your data, but with your permission we can publish it. Correct us if we are wrong. Or support Your claims with our conversation emails. Once again, we are sorry for all the inconveniences you experienced on your trip, but considering your review, we had to tell our side of the story. Thank you for your time to potentially read this answer and have a nice day.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Split area.
PRICE RANGE
$101 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
vestibul palace hotel, vestibul palace split
LOCATION
CroatiaDalmatiaSplit-Dalmatia CountySplit
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL VESTIBUL PALACE $171 ($̶2̶3̶0̶) - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews - Split, Croatia

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Vestibul Palace
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Vestibul Palace?
Nearby attractions include Diocletians Dream (0.2 miles), Jaman Art (0.1 miles), and Charlie's Bar Split (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Vestibul Palace?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Vestibul Palace?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Vestibul Palace?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Vestibul Palace?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Vestibul Palace?
Conveniently located restaurants include Laganini, Adriatic Sushi & Oyster Bar Split, and FANTAŽIJA kitchen & wine.
Does Hotel Vestibul Palace have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Vestibul Palace offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel Vestibul Palace located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Split.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Vestibul Palace?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Vestibul Palace?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Italian, and Croatian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Vestibul Palace?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Palazzo di Diocleziano (0.06 miles), Old Split (0.1 miles), and Cathedral of Saint Domnius (0.03 miles).