We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

El Carmen Hotel

3 Avenida Norte No. 9, Antigua 03001 Guatemala
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (123)
Room & Suite (28)
Dining (21)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#29 of 91 hotels in Antigua
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
3.9
Service
4.2
Value
3.8

El Carmen Hotel is an excellent choice for travelers visiting Antigua, offering a quaint environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

As your “home away from home,” the hotel rooms offer a flat screen TV, and getting online is easy, with free wifi available.

Guests have access to a 24 hour front desk, a concierge, and a rooftop terrace while staying at El Carmen Hotel. In addition, El Carmen Hotel offers breakfast, which will help make your Antigua trip additionally gratifying.

Close to some of Antigua's most popular landmarks, such as Cathedral de Santiago (0.1 mi) and Convento de las Capuchinas (0.1 mi), El Carmen Hotel is a great destination for tourists.

Antigua has plenty of seafood restaurants. So when you’re here, be sure to check out popular spots like La Gastroteca, Hugo's Ceviches, and Guatelaria, which are serving up some great dishes.

If you’re looking for things to do, you can check out Cerro de la Cruz (0.4 mi), Caoba Farms (0.9 mi), or Casa Santo Domingo Museums (0.3 mi), which are popular attractions amongst tourists, and they are all within walking distance.

Enjoy your stay in Antigua!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Wifi
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
336Reviews9Q+A39Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 145
  • 94
  • 54
  • 25
  • 18
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
sdigian wrote a review Jan 2024
Toronto, Canada134 contributions89 helpful votes
A friend recommended this place and really it was a great place to stay and would recommend it. It has a stunning view on its terrace and offers a wide range of breakfast options that are included. Easily walking distance to all main attractions and the staff are friendly. The bathroom is great and i loved the rain shower. The only down side that I experienced was that the wifi connection in my room was poor and often there wasn't any unless I went outside.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Let the water run a couple of minutes in the shower unless you like cool showers
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from El Carmen Hotels, General Manager at El Carmen Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your great review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback helps us improve.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sarah K wrote a review Dec 2023
2 contributions
Strong recommendation!!!!! The hotel and the rooms are wonderful, but the best about this hotel are the people working here. Everyone is so nice and helpful and friendly. I have never ever before seen such professional and excellent staff. Thank you so much for the great experience! ❤️ Also highly recommended: the rooftop-terrace-restaurant: amazing view pf the vulcanos and top kitchen !!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from El Carmen Hotels, General Manager at El Carmen Hotel
Responded Dec 30, 2023
Thank you for your great review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again very soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rob M wrote a review Nov 2023
Roatan, Honduras1 contribution
Centrally located close to the City Square so walking to all the attractions was very easy. Room was clean and quiet and very comfortable and cozy. The rooftop restaurant where breakfast was included had stunning views of the surrounding area. I had the ham and cheese omelette, it went above and beyond a normal included breakfast. A wonderful experience, would stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Guatemala can be hit or miss with travel times in general. No different in Antigua. This is a...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from El Carmen Hotels, General Manager at El Carmen Hotel
Responded Dec 30, 2023
Thank you for your great review, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed our location and our breakfast.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Maria wrote a review Sep 2023
3 contributions
We love that place! It is close to everything, super clean. We were 8 people and we all agreed that we will return to the same hotel, for cleanliness, safety and service. The kindest people in the world.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: If you bring dollars make sure that they are new without stains or wrinkles because they are not...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from El Carmen Hotels, General Manager at El Carmen Hotel
Responded Sep 8, 2023
We appreciate your review and look forward to having you back!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Maria M wrote a review Jul 2023
Tampa, Florida310 contributions84 helpful votes
What a lovely hotel. Right in the middle of Antigua and it was perfect! Stayed there only one night as a stop over to Pana, but highly recommend this hotel to anyone. What I loved the most was the rooftop bar and resturnant! Not only did it provide stunning views of Antigua and the volcanos, but the food was very good as well. Hotel arranged a transfer both from GUA airport and also from the hotel to Pana. Very helpful and wonderful staff!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Please dine at the hotel resturant. You will not be disappointed and the service was wonderful.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from El Carmen Hotels, General Manager at El Carmen Hotel
Responded Aug 10, 2023
Thank you for your great review, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
TMamad1931 wrote a review May 2023
Wisconsin104 contributions48 helpful votes
The hotel is very clean. It is in a great location. The food in the hotel is good. The rooftop is great. It has a wonderful panoramic view of the two volcanoes. The rooftop is the dining location. The beds are very comfortable. We felt very safe.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: We did not have a vehicle. GREAT LOCATION.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from El Carmen Hotels, General Manager at El Carmen Hotel
Responded May 30, 2023
Thank you for your great review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location in Antigua and our rooftop views.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Byron B wrote a review May 2023
3 contributions
Great hotel, awesome service, warm people and always looking forward to help you. Clean rooms, delicious food and drinks. A downside that didn’t bother me was the hot water in the shower that took a little bit to get to the temperature I like (no biggie). They have several tours and transportation options.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Careful with the transportation, you could be stranded several miles away if you don’t ask the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from El Carmen Hotels, General Manager at El Carmen Hotel
Responded May 30, 2023
Thank you for your excellent review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jackie G wrote a review May 2023
1 contribution
I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel and would definitely come back. Upon arrival we were greeted with a drink (non alcoholic ) which gave it a nice touch. The room was very clean and as pictured and the bed and pillows were very comfy. The Air conditioner worked great also. The front desk staff was very welcoming, professional, and friendly. Overall, the customer service was excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from El Carmen Hotels, General Manager at El Carmen Hotel
Responded May 30, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
JamesSPCummins wrote a review May 2023
Halifax, Canada213 contributions123 helpful votes
Very central location and clean room; DO NOT book tours or transfers through them. The airport pick up was a van with a single bench with no seatbelts weaving speedily through the glutted Guatemala City traffic. The tour we took to Chichicastenago crammed us like sardines into an overheated van, with a bag lunch that included a sandwich of blue-green moldy bread. The departure transfer to another city was seven hours late, and we missed an entire day having to wait around on only a two week trip. The hotel also tried its very hardest to find anything they could charge us for at the end. But it is a very central location with a clean room and free breakfast on a rooftop terrace overlooking the mountains. Just don't give them a dime outside your booking fee. You will regret it.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Again, avoid their tours and transfers!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from El Carmen Hotels, General Manager at El Carmen Hotel
Responded May 2, 2023
We value your comments and appreciate you taking the time to review your experience. We are sorry to hear about your experience with the tours, we would appreciate it if you could contact us and provide more information about where you booked each tour so we can take a deeper look at the situation. We take these comments very seriously and we are constantly working hard to improve every service we provide.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kayla U wrote a review Apr 2023
3 contributions
The service was great, the workers were friendly, and the location was perfect! The hotel was close to many restaurants, shops, bars and the city center. The food at the hotel was great, as I enjoyed their breakfast every morning. The problem was the ants. The first room we were giving seemed fine. I was a little taken aback by the beds/ mattresses being against the wall without head boards. Only 15 mins passed and we notice things crawling in the bed. We took a closer look and saw it was small ants. I notified the front desk and the manager came upstairs’ to investigate. Once he was upstairs my friend and I noticed there was an entire army of ants crawling up the wall Lamont the base boards (I have pictures and videos). The manager moved us rooms and I thought that was it. Well, it wasn’t. That night I saw more ants in my bed which caused me to loos sleep all night. In the morning I told the front desk and they said they would spray and take care of it. I went back to my room after breakfast and the smell of raid (the bug spray) was unbearable. We looked to find other hotels and everywhere was sold out with it being around the Easter celebration. My friend didn’t have any ants in her bed so I stayed in her bed which was very uncomfortable and annoying. The bed was empty and we continued to see ants around and on the bed. I felt uncomfortable and I didn’t even unpack because I was so afraid of ants crawling in my luggage or on my belongs. Throughout our 3 might stay we smelled raid all throughout the hotel. It was terrible. I got home and left my bags in my garage for 4 days and bought it inside my house and my luggage smelled like raid, so disgusting. I inspected and washed all my belongings and didnt see any ants. Thank god. The walls are paper thin. We heard people showering, flushing the toilet, clearly hear conversations, music, and having intercourse. The walls make it so there’s no privacy. The toilets smelled so bad at night. All and all I wasn’t comfortable sleeping bc I was constantly looking for bugs or afraid there was more than just ants. The workers were kind and sprayed daily as I would see house keepers with raid spray in there hand or in their cart. It was really frustrating because we constantly saw people cleaning but they ants were still there. They really need to get more than just raid because the raid spray didn’t kill the ants. They need to fill the holes and cracks in the wall and the base boards. The front desk told me that the there were ants in the city especially after a rain. I just can not understand why they were crawling in the bed and why the mattresses didn’t have head boards or base boards on them. Just made it extremely easy for ants to crawl into. I poster picture with the times stamps on them so you can see. The ants or spiders were in my bed all night even after moving us rooms after seeing the ants in the bed and walls.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from El Carmen Hotels, General Manager at El Carmen Hotel
Responded Apr 5, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location in Antigua and our food. While we wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Antigua area.
PRICE RANGE
$81 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel el carmen
LOCATION
GuatemalaSacatepequez DepartmentAntigua
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

EL CARMEN HOTEL $61 ($̶8̶3̶) - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews - Antigua, Guatemala

Frequently Asked Questions about El Carmen Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to El Carmen Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Casa del Jade (0.04 miles), Casa Santo Domingo Museums (0.3 miles), and Antigua Foodie Tours (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at El Carmen Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and airport transportation.
What food & drink options are available at El Carmen Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to El Carmen Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Adra Kitchen, El Criollo, and La Bruja Vegan Foods.
Does El Carmen Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, El Carmen Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is El Carmen Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the center of Antigua.
Are pets allowed at El Carmen Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at El Carmen Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to El Carmen Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Iglesia de San Francisco El Grande (0.3 miles), Real Palacio (0.08 miles), and Casa Popenoe (0.2 miles).
Is El Carmen Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.