We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Mananas Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Mananas Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

316 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mananas Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 269: English reviews
New York City, New York
Reviewed June 3, 2011

I traveled to Antigua solo to study at a Spanish school for a week...Holistico is a perfect location with many restaurants and stores around. The staff was very helpful...and would even practice spanish with me. The rooftop patio is a bonus esp. at night taking in the beautiful stars. I will def stay at Holistico again when i return to...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank FrankGasca
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed June 2, 2011

The staff was friendly and helpful and prepared a good breakfast. The pineapple was the best I have had. There was a good dynamic felt here. Rooms were clean, the terrace was a nice place to relax, and I enjoyed the ability to watch a movie on the T.V.

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank jace_david
San Diego, California
Reviewed June 2, 2011

I was backpacking through Guatemala and it was suggested that I stay here...let me just say I ended up changing my plans several times so that I could spend as much time as possible staying at Holistico! The owner (Cesar) is amazing and does everything for the travelers. He arranges plans for you, can help you figure out where to...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank phoenixdowling
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Our first impression of holistico was good, the courtyard is cosy and would be a perfect place to relax. the communal tv and dvds are also a nice addition for a relaxing night in. however, our room was unfortunately not up to standard. a hole in the wall that was stuffed with a dirty rag and taped into place revealed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daveandrol
holisticoantigua, Owner at Mananas Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review my hostel and thankyou for choosing us, im sorry your experience whith us was not what you expected but i want to take this opportunity to state my opinion about some of the points you mentioned. you where charge $20 for 2 personas in a private room, this is a GREAT PRICE...

Guatemala City, Guatemala
Reviewed May 31, 2011

An experience like non other, the lounge area has a great view, I was able to sit there with my laptop and didn't even realize I was working! The atmosphere is surreal! Clean and comfortable. The owner makes you feel like family :) WILL DEFINITELY RETURN!

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Telvs
Oslo, Norway
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Holistico is a quite new hostal in Antigua, and a great place to stay. Its located right next to nightlife and restaurants, but in a quiet zone. The owner is extremely friendly, and the ecclectic design is fun and cozy. I especially liked the small roof terrace and the free wifi. Considering the price, the hostal is also very good...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank GardRam
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed May 25, 2011

It was a great experience for me. I loved the friendly and charming staff , i am going to go back again!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank nazgol
Cordoba, Argentina
Reviewed May 4, 2011

This was a good place to come to as a solo traveler, because it was so easy to meet people. It is the perfect place, if you want to get a little away from the Lonely Planet crowd and meet a greater variety of people. The place has a nice and relaxed atmosphere.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank JakobFStamm
Cuenca, Ecuador
Reviewed April 29, 2011

I have been traveling alone and looking for a hostel with a good mix of atmosphere to meet people and clean/safe place. This place has good rooms - singles and shared, great terrace with a view of the volcanoes, and a hot manager. One of the best hostels in Antigua. I can't say enough good things about it!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank record123
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Let me start with a disclosure: I am friends with the proprietor of this hostel, and would consider the staff here friends as well. Now a caveat to my disclosure: I count these people among my friends because they have spent the past 7 weeks giving me a home in Antigua. Holistico is less a hostel than it is an...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank James98102
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (59)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#22 of 80 in Antigua
392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#6 of 80 in Antigua
546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#25 of 80 in Antigua
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Yellow House
The Yellow House
#11 of 92 in Antigua
485 reviews
0.4 mi away
Three Monkeys Hostel
Three Monkeys Hostel
#2 of 92 in Antigua
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada de San Carlos
Posada de San Carlos
#3 of 92 in Antigua
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Mananas Hotel

Address: 7a Avenida Sur 10, Antigua, Guatemala (Formerly Holistico Hostal)
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Price Range: $10 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mananas Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The first room in the front by the street is very loud and in the middle of everything. Try to go to the back.”
 of 5 bubbles Megwynne, Jan 3, 2015 | Read review
“Rooms at the back of the hostel are probably quieter. But unless you're wanting to sleep in every day, it is fine anywhere.”
 of 5 bubbles 880linsayd, Dec 20, 2014 | Read review
“The room close to the entrance is noisy. If that is something that could disturb you, choose another room inside the hostal.”
 of 5 bubbles StefanLindqvist, Dec 7, 2014 | Read review
“not a quiet room in the place due to bathroom/shower facilities and front desk and entry. Either hear shower, toilet or people knocking and buzzing for entrance”
 of 5 bubbles Suzathomefd, Aug 11, 2014 | Read review
“Kept awake from loud music at all times of day.”
 of 5 bubbles 729stans, Aug 9, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question