We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hostal San Nicolas

Orbitz.com$54*
View Deal
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$73*
$54*
$73*
$73*
$54*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hostal San Nicolas
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 28: English reviews
Start your review of Hostal San Nicolas
 Click to rate
Splendora, Texas
Reviewed March 28, 2017

I just took a quick spur of the moment trip to Guatemala. I ended up at Hotel San Nicolas for three nights. I booked through the internet at the airport, but when I arrived my reservation had not gone through. The desk person, Anna, gave me the room at the advertised rate and helped with all the details of taking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _mjay4travel
HSNAntigua, Administrador at Hostal San Nicolas, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your visit and for share your opinion with us, we are glad to know that you've enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you soon. Best regards,

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewed March 1, 2017

Helpful and friendly staff. They were very accommodating. Lovely courtyard and room. Delicious breakfast served elegantly in a beautiful dining room. The hotel was a little out of the way and streets nearby were very dark at night. My other complaint was that the bed was too hard and I woke each day with a backache. I loved the Jacuzzi...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna G
HSNAntigua, Administrador at Hostal San Nicolas, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Donna G, good afternoon. Thank you so much for your feedback. We were happy to have you here. I'm really sorry about the bed that you felt it too hard, we would have liked to know it during your stay in order to try to change you the room; but we are going to take note about it....

Reviewed February 11, 2017

A wonderful little hotel, quiet, clean, lovely, with a happy helpful staff. Full breakfast. I loved this place, just four rooms on a garden courtyard. It was late January and the nights were cold so it was chilly in my room but I was prepared with proper clothing. Locals burn candles in their rooms in January. Only complain was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jack F
HSNAntigua, Administración at Hostal San Nicolas, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Foard, thank you so much for your opinion. We were pleased to have you with us and we are really happy that you liked so much our Hotel. I'm really sorry about the coffee, please next time let us know about it so we can improve while you are here; but for now I can promise you we...

Reviewed November 29, 2016

Went to Antigua for the first time with a friend and stayed here because of some of the tripadvisor reviews, they were spot on. You are always greeted with a smile from the staff no matter how late and/or early you see them. We had to leave the hotel very early in the am many, many times during our trip...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ryan K
Weehawken, New Jersey
Reviewed September 19, 2016 via mobile

My fiancé are marrying in Antigua next spring and were in town for the wedding preparation. We are on a budget so decided to give this place a try. At first we said even if this place isn't good it doesn't matter Bc we will not be spending too much time in the hotel. Well we were so so wrong!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cristina P
Sn Nicolas H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal San Nicolas, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice comment. We are glad to have exceeded your explectations, pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you are recommending our hotel. It will always be a pleasure to have you and your friends stay with us. Team San Nicolas

Boston
Reviewed September 8, 2016

We had a great, although brief, stay at the Hostal San Nicolas in July 2016. We were two families, each with two parents and two older children. The accommodations were very comfortable. The rooms were adequate in size, but the accessible courtyard allowed us to be comfortable outside of the room, as well. Breakfast was wonderful. We felt like very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven K
Sn Nicolas H, Director de Recepción at Hostal San Nicolas, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comment. We are pleased that you were comfortable and enjoy your stay with us. We hope that in your next trip to Antigua, we will have the pleasure of your visit. Regards, Team San Nicolas

Reviewed August 29, 2016 via mobile

I came to Antigua Guatemala for 2 nights. The person in charge was really nice, hotel is beautiful, super clean, with a good size room. I stayed in room #3. This hotel has 4 rooms only with a beautiful garden. Its located around 7 blocks from the main park. I think it could use a fan because it could get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carlos P
Sn Nicolas H, Director de Recepción at Hostal San Nicolas, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment, we will take into consideration placing fans in the rooms. Our pleasure to have you stay with us, and hope to see you soon. Regards, Team San Nicolas

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed August 19, 2016

A friend recommended this hotel to me and I was not disappointed! The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff was very helpful, friendly and spoke English. There was wifi and a few English TV channels (CNN). The showers always had hot water and there were several amenities including a hair dryer! The location was excellent - just outside...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JulianaHongKong
Sn Nicolas H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal San Nicolas, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit. We appreciate your comments. Team San Nicolas

Reviewed August 16, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here with my sister and father. The lobby is dark wood an ancient stone, which opens to a lush courtyard. There are very few rooms which makes it feel very personal and cozy. They didn't have breakfast which would've been nice, but it makes sense because there are so few guests at a time and yet the price...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liv S
Sn Nicolas H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal San Nicolas, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at San Nicolas. We will take into consideration to offer breakfast. Regards, Team San Nicolas

West Bloomfield, Michigan
Reviewed March 28, 2016

We stayed in Hotel San Nicolas for a weekend and immediately noticed the amazing rather older lady who was apparently in charge there. Servicing customers is her mother tongue and we were delighted by the amount of goodwill and courtesy which that Senora showed to us and to other guests. As for the place - it is very quiet and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Soulsurfer88
Sn Nicolas H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal San Nicolas, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. We are glad you had a nice time while staying in Hostal San Nicolas. We are pleased that you had a great time while staying with us. Regards, Team San Nicolas

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (19)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#27 of 82 in Antigua
183 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Florencia Hotel
Casa Florencia Hotel
#30 of 82 in Antigua
407 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#59 of 82 in Antigua
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#28 of 82 in Antigua
413 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Jorge Hotel
San Jorge Hotel
#40 of 82 in Antigua
91 reviews
0.4 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#16 of 82 in Antigua
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a small hotel, located at quiet southeast part of Antigua located just a few minutes from the famous San Francisco Church, where Saint Hermano Pedro rests. At "Hostal San Nicolas" you can enjoy a unique atmosphere. We only have four comfortable rooms and a staff that will treat you as family. Hostal San Nicolas is a 5 minute walk to Central Plaza it is close enough to allow you to explore the main tourist spots but also enjoy the ambience of the local streets and people. Has a lovely sitting room with fireplace, gorgeous courtyard, you can spend the day enjoying the garden courtyard before joining a tour or leave for your meeting. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostal San Nicolas

Address: Calle de los Pasos # 20 y 9a. calle., Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Price Range: $64 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal San Nicolas 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hostal San Nicolas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hostal San Nicolas staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hostal San Nicolas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“I stayed in room 4, kingsize bed and tube.”
_mjay4travel, Mar 28, 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a jacuzzi! See if you can get a softer bed.”
DonnaG943, Mar 1, 2017 | Read review
“Room 4 has traffic noise.”
wordlover17, Apr 23, 2014 | Read review
“All four rooms face the courtyard”
Bob_Croxford, Mar 20, 2013 | Read review
4 of 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Orbitz.com
$54* /night
View Deal
Booking.com$73
TripAdvisor$54
Priceline$73
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates