We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Faraway Nantucket

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (113)
Room & Suite (72)
Dining (8)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#6 of 15 inns in Nantucket
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.0
Value
3.8
Travelers' Choice
Faraway Nantucket is a luxury lifestyle hotel located in the heart of Nantucket's historic downtown. Offering 80 accommodations across 6 historic homes, Faraway is also home to the award winning Sister Ship Restaurant and Courtyard.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Coffee shop
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Highchairs available
Car hire
Baggage storage
Wifi
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Patio
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Taxi service
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Croatian and 2 more
379Reviews5Q+A67Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 171
  • 94
  • 54
  • 29
  • 31
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
George D wrote a review Oct 2023
Boston, Massachusetts1 contribution2 helpful votes
We have stayed here for several years even during the last two years when the property was sold. The last two years they have held private events excluding their patrons and this year have closed a local next door bar for one of their events . The rooms are charged in the $1000.0 area. Unfortunately we we will never stay here again. Their one time events supersede the client base that supports them.. DO NOT STAY HERE!.! Find another location .
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Find some where else to stay’
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
herodkeithd wrote a review Oct 2023
Dallas, Texas4 contributions
The reason for the 5 star review is because of one person, Veniece. We had a minor issue with our original room, so after we returned to the hotel after, Veniece was working the front desk. We brought our issue to her attention and immediately she picked up her iPad and started looking for another room for us. She wanted us comfortable first and foremost. This was our first trip to Nantucket and it will not be our last!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: This hotel is centrally located in the town. East to walk anywhere for shopping and dining.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Flyer694325 wrote a review Sep 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Very overpriced, weak service. Told us we were upgraded to a delux King but a very small room, that was converted to a bedroom. It had a very small Bathroom and a ridiculously tiny shower with black mold between the tiles The sink was so small you could only use it to brush your teeth. You had to pay for your coffee and we had to lug our luggage up stairs to our room. Convenient but that was the only positive.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Look over the room before you accept it.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Clifton R wrote a review Sep 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
This place isn’t luxury at all. No gym, doesn’t serve breakfast, no elevators so drag your luggage up stairs, bath towels are paper thin. Our bathroom had lights out and was never repaired. Very limited and unexpected staff. Would avoid
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
cara b wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution3 helpful votes
Overpriced, hit or miss with customer service, rooms not functional, for $$$$ a night not even comp coffee in the morning. In summary you will find better deals, better service and nicer amineties for much less on the island.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from LeighAnne McDonald, General Manager at Faraway Nantucket
Responded Sep 16, 2023
Dear Cara, We regret to hear that you were disappointed with the value of your stay. Reviews like these give us an opportunity to address areas of improvement as we aim to provide all of our guests with a high-quality experience. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back again for an improved stay. Do not hesitate to contact me at gm@farawayhotels.com and it would be such a pleasure to personally welcome you back. Sincerely, LeighAnne | Assistant General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
David Silen wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution
This hotel in incredible, it’s like staying in a Hallmark movie. It’s in the center of town and everything is right there, easy walk from the ferry. The staff members are extremely friendly and accommodating. The rooms are beyond clean and modern with a sophisticated eclectic touch. Must have a drink, appetizer or dinner at the attached Sister Ship restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sam M wrote a review Dec 2022
Newburyport, Massachusetts9 contributions2 helpful votes
At this time of year I think about the Christmas Stroll which kicked of today on downtown Nantucket. Christmas is a very special time of year on the island and the Stroll brings out the Best of this holiday season! For this review I am thinking back to my stay at the Faraway in August 2022. In my view the hotel complex is well situated in the center of town, so this provides for an intown Nantucket location and experience for restaurants and shopping. At the time of our stay, the hotel was undergoing some restoration, but is spite of that the hotel staff was very accomodating to our needs and provided some special attention. I look forward to returning to Nantucket in 2023 and staying at the Faraway.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: I stayed in a free standing 19th Century Building that was undergoing restoration a The room was...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Olivia wrote a review Nov 2022
New York City, New York3 contributions2 helpful votes
Don't be fooled by the Instagrammable exterior. The customer service is so poor, $800+ per night is highway robbery. There are MANY better hotels on Nantucket, do not stay here! We tried to reschedule our dates due to a medical issue and I could not get through to anyone at the hotel, only could get through to what sounded like a third-party, offshore customer service provider. Once I finally got through to someone at the hotel after calling back several times, they not only refused to accommodate our request to modify our dates, the man on the phone was so condescending, confrontational, and lacking in human decency...he even raised his voice with me. Not 4 star, $800 per night service at all. Such a horrible experience and money down the drain!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from LeighAnne McDonald, General Manager at Faraway Nantucket
Responded Nov 28, 2022
Dear Olivia, Thank you again for your feedback on your recent experience with Faraway. We are saddened to read this review after working so hard to resolve your scheduling conflict. Having never been a guest at our hotel, its disappointing to be reviewed on our service when you have yet to give us the opportunity to actually come in person. I followed up with you regarding your current reservation at Faraway Nantucket for Thursday December 1st for 3 nights which we spoke in person. Your original reservation was booked for an arrival on Thursday September 29th 2022 with a scheduled departure date of Sunday October 2nd. When you called in September to inform us that you wanted to cancel your reservation, we explained our cancellation policy based on the terms that you agreed upon. In the end, we made a one time exception to move the reservation to your new arrival date of December 1st. You called the hotel again and spoke to the Hotel Manager to make another change to your reservation and have it moved into the new year. As explained, we are unable to make any additional changes to your booking. Like the Airlines, travelers are given options at the time of booking to select rates and reservations that best fit their itinerary. Unfortunately you did not select a flexible cancellation and chose to select a room that was non-cancellable and non-refundable. This includes modifications. You requested a copy of our policies which I sent you shortly after our call. The online policy does outline and detail the 2 flexible cancellation policies that you can select, each with their own benefits. Both Flexible Cancellation Policies indicate that modifications are possible if made within a certain time frame. We were happy to work with you in September and understand that sometimes plans can change. We made a one time exception. Unfortunately we will be unable to resell this room at this time which will be a loss of revenue for the hotel. As a seasonal hotel, we need to achieve our revenue goals to sustain us during the winter months when we are closed. We truly hope you can make the trip this December. As I mentioned to you on the phone and in my followup email, the reservation is fully transferable. If you would like to send someone in your place, we are happy to add them to the reservation record. In the end, we hope you can make it to Nantucket before the years end. Best, MarcAnthony
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Andrew W wrote a review Oct 2022
Kent, United Kingdom82 contributions91 helpful votes
Overall our experience was average, the plus points were location, we were upgraded and the staff were friendly. The overwhelming downside was the distinct lack of house keeping, we were staying 6 nights, we had to ask for clean towels. When housekeeping finally arrived it was late in the afternoon and we had returned from days out and were hoping to relax, when we said that the housekeeper seemed pleased that we didn't want to vacate the room and in her words said "thats great it saves me a job". House keeping in any hotel and the Faraway was not busy during the week, should be an easy win, early action - beds made, rooms tidied and fresh water provided - sadly the easy win was not achieved and it was a massive own goal! Great shame!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Michele wrote a review Oct 2022
Bradford, Massachusetts11 contributions2 helpful votes
Visited the Faraway and cannot say enough about the staff, especially Leighanne and General Manager, MarcAnthony. My time was beyond my expectations having stayed throughout the island, the Faraway is located in the center of Nantucket, the check in process was quick and efficient with touch screen counters easy to use and our room was overlooking the garden and restaurant, was quiet and well kept (one would expect some noise being in the center of town :) . Leighanne was so understanding and accommodating during our stay I simply could not rave enough on her experience and assuring the time at Faraway was one of the best from greeting upon arrival for early check in, upgrading our accommodations, and providing meeting space in Sistership their signature restaurant. She was extremely informative. Even when the airport and boats stopped running, and we were stranded on the island due to a severe storm after checkout the staff continued to be accommodating to our needs. The price is so reasonable for Nantucket and the location is hard to beat. I would recommend the Faraway to others looking to stay in he downtown area. Thank you for being so accommodating.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor Overlooking the Garden Space
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Nantucket area.
PRICE RANGE
$180 - $587 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
roberts house hotel nantucket
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Roberts Collection
LOCATION
United StatesMassachusettsNantucket
NUMBER OF ROOMS
79
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

FARAWAY NANTUCKET $160 ($̶1̶8̶8̶) - Prices & Inn Reviews - MA

Frequently Asked Questions about Faraway Nantucket
Which popular attractions are close to Faraway Nantucket?
Nearby attractions include Whaling Museum (0.1 miles), First Congregational Church (0.2 miles), and Nantucket Lightship Basket Museum (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Faraway Nantucket?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, facilities for disabled guests, and baggage storage.
Which room amenities are available at Faraway Nantucket?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Faraway Nantucket?
Guests can enjoy an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Faraway Nantucket?
Yes, street parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Faraway Nantucket?
Conveniently located restaurants include b-ACK Yard BBQ, The Juice Bar Homemade Ice Cream, and Ships Inn Restaurant.
Is Faraway Nantucket located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.09 miles away from the center of Nantucket.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Faraway Nantucket?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Croatian, Serbian, and Slovak.
Are there any historical sites close to Faraway Nantucket?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Oldest House (Jethro Coffin House) and Kitchen Garden (0.4 miles), Greater Light (0.3 miles), and Hadwen House (0.2 miles).
Is Faraway Nantucket accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.