We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Vanessa Noel Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Vanessa Noel Hotel
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 58: English reviews
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was booking a room at 76 Main in Nantucket and after I confirmed the reservation, I saw that the Hotel was Vanessa Noel. I hadn't even looked at that hotel and as an experienced TripAdvisor user, I would never book there with as many poor reviews as it has. As others said, booking.com states there is a 10% charge... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sophieSanJose
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So disappointing. I booked a room in the VNH for over $1000 for 2 nights which is pretty expensive so you expect a little bit of service and a clean and well appointed room. We arrived and no one was there to check us in. After 30 minutes wait, we were escorted to the Hotel Green, a much older version... More 

Helpful?
Thank justinebarry
Vanessa N, Owner at Vanessa Noel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Justine, You reviewed the WRONG hotel. You booked your reservation for HOTEL GREEN through Booking.com. You did not make a reservation at the VANESSA NOEL HOTEL, which is a completely separate building and separate hotel next door to HOTEL GREEN. HOTEL GREEN is located in the center of the Nantucket historic district. Built in 1847, many buildings in Nantucket... More 

Travelers are raving about these Nantucket hotels

Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel provides a room that is in an old building, with a shared bathroom, no desk, a 120 decibel A/C unit, flimsy curtains, a tired old mattress, thin walls and no insulation. Reception is often unattended and it is difficult to find anyone who works there. This makes checking in hard. The location is OK, and central to the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JAOXON
Vanessa N, Owner at Vanessa Noel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jaoxon, First let me point out that you actually stayed in HOTEL GREEN, located next door to the VANESSA NOEL HOTEL. HOTEL GREEN is located in the center of the Nantucket historic district. Built in 1847, many buildings in Nantucket town are from this period, if not older. Vanessa Noel carefully restored the property updating plumbing and electric while... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016

Our stay at the VNH was great! The hotel called us the day we were checking in to confirm what ferry we would arrive on. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room was well appointed and clean. The bed was very comfortable. Well maintained property in the heart of town, will stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Joseph R
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

Great location and it looks great from the facade but the interior is dirty and old. Our room was falling apart literally. Paint chips hang from the ceiling, the walls are filthy, the trim is falling apart and even the sheets are old! A total rip off. They could clean the carpets, repair the trim, scrape the ceiling and paint... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Kimhermitcrab
Vanessa N, Owner at Vanessa Noel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kimberly, First let me point out that you actually stayed in HOTEL GREEN, located next door to the VANESSA NOEL HOTEL. HOTEL GREEN is located in the center of the Nantucket historic district. Built in 1847, many buildings in Nantucket town are from this period, if not older. Vanessa Noel carefully restored the property updating plumbing and electric while... More 

Bethesda, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2016

I booked a hotel on the hotel's website. When I finished my booking there was a message on the confirmation page that says "no children under 12 years of age". I had booked the room with the child and then I see a term and condition that says "no children under 12 years of age". I called the hotels phone... More 

Helpful?
9 Thank Steve R
Vanessa N, Owner at Vanessa Noel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steven, We are so greatly disappointed when people use Trip Advisor to misguide other users about their experience. You booked the two-bedroom Ginger Suite on our website, which is described as "Located on the 1st floor of Hotel Green this two-bedroom suite shares a large bathroom with a Jacuzzi and a large living area..." On the same web page... More 

Nantucket, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2016 via mobile

I've stayed here since 2008. The decor is understated boutique elegance with a soft beige on creme color palette--and signature baby blue sky ceilings like a porch ceiling. The greatest part of all of our stats has been the caring welcomes and assistance from inn keeper Maydene. Want to know the local secrets? Maydene will steer you straight, with hints... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leighton C
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2015 via mobile

This hotel was incredibly disappointing. We had booked for a get-away weekend, and this hotel really brought down the experience. Our room was small, and it had window air conditioners that let in a terrible draft. The hotel hallway had dirty carpet. Our bathroom was so small that you couldn't sit on the toilet without smacking your elbow on the... More 

Helpful?
10 Thank LillyandChappy
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015 via mobile

Perfect location only a very short walk from the HYline right smack in the middle of town - yet nice and quiet. Bathroom was luxurious. Gorgeous linens and lovely bed. My room was beautiful and I had a wonderful night's sleep. Perfect weekend. 😍

Helpful?
Thank lardass1
Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2015

On Tuesday November 3rd I booked a room at the Vanessa Noel Hotel, not realizing the room only had one bed. I held the reservation for about five minutes before I realized that the room only had one bed and I am in need of two for this particular trip. I immediately cancelled the reservation and received a cancellation email... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank maryanne630
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

573 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (561)
Viewed
Amenities (31)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Room 1 (71)
Viewed
Room 2 (69)
Viewed
Room 3 (48)
Viewed
Room 4 (60)
Viewed
Room 5 (57)
Viewed
Room 6 (58)
Viewed
Room 7 (53)
Viewed
Room 8 (63)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.2 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#1 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 stars 396 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 stars 239 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#5 of 13 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#9 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
0.1 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#3 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

In your room
  • Air Conditioning

Additional Information about Vanessa Noel Hotel

Address: 5 Chestnut St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3506
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Price Range: $195 - $536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Vanessa Noel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanessa Noel Hotel Vnh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay