We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Elephant - Hotel - Garden Cottages - Lofts

Save
Share
50 Easton St PO Box 2580, Nantucket, MA 02554-2258
Official Hotel
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (194)
Room & Suite (83)
Dining (12)

About

#6 of 13 hotels in Nantucket
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
The White Elephant has been an exclusive summertime retreat since the 1920s. The height of preppy New England elegance, this is the place where brides dream of being married and families come for generations. A stone's throw from the center of town, this 67-room island treasure has accommodations ranging from rooms and suites in the iconic Harborside Hotel to sweet Garden Cottages as well as luxurious downtown Lofts. Under a separate listing you will find the White Elephant Residences and Inn. The hotel's mascot, a white elephant named Trunket, presides over its greener than green lawn. Set with plush lounge chairs, it overlooks bustling Nantucket Harbor and calm Children's Beach. Brant Point Grill serves up a famed Sunday brunch, with their signature Lobster Bloody Mary.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Spa
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Bay View
519Reviews5Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 369
  • 75
  • 36
  • 25
  • 14
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
VinoVeritasZZ wrote a review Sep 2020
Califon, New Jersey317 contributions110 helpful votes
I guess when you're pretty much the only game in town, you can set the pricing as high as you'd like. Don't get me wrong, the White Elephant is a very nice hotel in a convenient location with decent amenities, however, $2,200/night for a small suite on the first floor isn't exactly my idea of a five-star experience. Service was adequate but not exemplary. I really didn't get "wowed" by anything here which is unfortunate given the price of admission.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Request a second floor room in this two-story hotel.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bettina Landt, General Manager at White Elephant - Hotel - Garden Cottages - Lofts
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear VinoVeritasZZ; Thank you for coming to the White Elephant. You bring up an important point. In season (which is about 5-6 weeks), our pricing is at it's peak. If you are at all flexible, our pricing in the remaining months is much more affordable. I would also recommend our Summer for Less promotion, which highlights lower priced days of the week, even in season. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again next year. Sincerely, Bettina Landt General Manager
Read more
traveldoc_13 wrote a review Sep 2020
Pittsfield, Massachusetts15 contributions12 helpful votes
This is the rare occasion when five stars are not enough. The customer service, facilities and ambience here are truly above and beyond. Currently my husband and I are enjoying a cocktail on our own balcony overlooking the water and contemplating what sort of night cap we will enjoy before bed while gazing into the fire of our fireplace. For those who sometimes wonder whether or not travel is worth it, as home is usually so much nicer, yes, this place is worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Bettina Landt, General Manager at White Elephant - Hotel - Garden Cottages - Lofts
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear cassandra s; Thank you very much for posting your review. I love that you were still on property while posting it! It is a big decision today as to whether or not to travel. I am glad you did! We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Bettina Landt General Manager
Read more
Empty Nester wrote a review Aug 2020
Boston, Massachusetts110 contributions32 helpful votes
Spent a 4 day weekend with my wife based at White Elephant. Great spot in Nantucket. Walkable to everything, beautiful setting, quality restaurant and very friendly staff. We had a small suite with a partial harbor view from a second story deck. Room was comfortable for the two of us. Bed was comfy too. We will be back, highly recommend if can get in. Need to make reservations early.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Bettina Landt, General Manager at White Elephant - Hotel - Garden Cottages - Lofts
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear FrequentTravel24; Thank you very much for posting your review. We do have a wonderful location, right on the harbor. During these unusual times, we have the great fortune of a wonderful, awning covered, heated terrace overlooking the water. It has helped us create an even more safe and enjoyable experience for our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Bettina Landt General Manager
Read more
Meredith wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
Don't be fooled by the marketing and the BMW shuttle cars. They have put their money in the wrong places. The "cottage" we stayed just this last week was a complete dump. Outdated (yellow painted 1950's type feel) furniture. Gross dirty feeling upholstered couch and chair. Uncomfortable pull out couch. You can hear every word from the guests staying next door to you in the "other side of the cottage"- aka same room. The bathroom was from a different era and quaint is not cutting it here. Tiny little corner sink that clogs. Gross dark old fashioned tub/shower with a cloth shower curtain/plastic liner ewww- we were lucky enough to have some kind of bodily fluid stains on ours just to make it even more disgusting. The bathroom door did not close properly and was loud and impossible to lock. There was a closet that was gag worthy smelly/moldy- unfortunately the safe was in there so I had to hold my breath a couple times a day for that. No private place to sit outside for our cottage- maybe others had something? The food at the restaurant is mediocre at best. Only positives- the pool is nice and the actual bed was comfy. WE PAID $1,100 a night for this!!!?? We were made absolute fools of. Never will go again. Can't understand the other good reviews...
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Avoid the cottages- maybe the rooms are nicer???
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Bettina Landt, General Manager at White Elephant - Hotel - Garden Cottages - Lofts
Responded Sep 15, 2020
Dear merandrews; Thank you for posting your review. The Garden Cottages are simple beach cottages. I do wish you had asked our team if there were other rooms available if you were uncomfortable. It is always better that way. I prefer to address issues that are present at the time and not later on. We have taken your observations to the different departments and taken care of the issues at hand. I am glad that you enjoyed the pool and the bed. We do have amazing bedding and mattresses. I can be reached at blandt@whiteelephantnantucket.com anytime. I would love to hear from you. Sincerely, Bettina Landt General Manager
Read more
Sanjiv M wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
Paid $1700 a night for an awful experience. To be fair good location and Sheila the concierge was super helpful. Other than that terrible - the rooms were more run down than a motel six, frayed carpets and shabby furniture and broken toilets. Front desk service was rude and condescending- never staying there again ever!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Bettina Landt, General Manager at White Elephant - Hotel - Garden Cottages - Lofts
Responded Aug 23, 2020
Dear 300sanjivm; Thank you for staying with us this summer. We have included your feedback into our weekly training with the Front Desk agents to ensure that they are doing their very best at this difficult time. I can be reached anytime at blandt@whiteelephantnantucket.com to review the details of your stay and make things right. Sincerely, Bettina Landt General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$218 - $1,168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
white elephant nantucket
LOCATION
United StatesMassachusettsNantucket
NUMBER OF ROOMS
67
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about White Elephant - Hotel - Garden Cottages - Lofts
Which popular attractions are close to White Elephant - Hotel - Garden Cottages - Lofts?
Nearby attractions include Whaling Museum (0.2 miles), Brant Point Lighthouse (0.04 miles), and Children's Beach (0.06 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at White Elephant - Hotel - Garden Cottages - Lofts?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at White Elephant - Hotel - Garden Cottages - Lofts?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at White Elephant - Hotel - Garden Cottages - Lofts?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to White Elephant - Hotel - Garden Cottages - Lofts?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Juice Bar Homemade Ice Cream, Dune, and Oran Mor.
Are there opportunities to exercise at White Elephant - Hotel - Garden Cottages - Lofts?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is White Elephant - Hotel - Garden Cottages - Lofts located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Nantucket.
Are any cleaning services offered at White Elephant - Hotel - Garden Cottages - Lofts?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does White Elephant - Hotel - Garden Cottages - Lofts offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to White Elephant - Hotel - Garden Cottages - Lofts?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Oldest House (Jethro Coffin House) and Kitchen Garden (0.5 miles), Greater Light (0.6 miles), and Old Gaol (0.7 miles).
Does White Elephant - Hotel - Garden Cottages - Lofts have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.