We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
50 Easton St, Nantucket, MA 02554-2258
Lowest prices for your stay
Only 1 left at
$825
View deal
Travelocity
Expedia.com
Only 1 left at
$825
View deal
Official Hotel
Hotels.com$825
Trip.com$1,042
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (215)
Room & Suite (108)
Dining (12)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#6 of 12 hotels in Nantucket
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.6
Value
4.0
Travelers' Choice
An island landmark, the iconic White Elephant, has been named among the finest luxury hotels on Nantucket Island for decades. Steeped in island charm, surrounded by the natural beauty of Nantucket's timeless surroundings, our waterfront resort has grown to include chic rooms with abundant natural light, spacious suites many with balconies and magnificent harbor views, garden cottages, luxurious residences and downtown lofts. Edging the harbor, White Elephant is steps from Children's Beach, the Brant Point Lighthouse, and Nantucket Town. Relax by the outdoor heated pool in a private cabana or hop on a bike and explore the area. Enjoy steaks and seafood, sip cocktails on the Harborside Lawn, or rejuvenate in our spa. Take in the sights of Nantucket Harbor and experience the beauty, serenity, and romantic nature of Nantucket Island.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Children's playground
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Highchairs available
Strollers
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air purifier
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English
555Reviews5Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 397
  • 77
  • 36
  • 28
  • 17
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Pandabear1966 wrote a review Sep 22
Carnoustie, United Kingdom68 contributions86 helpful votes
My husband and I have been coming to Nantucket…and this hotel for years and have seen a bit of a decline at the White Elephant. On our arrival we had to go looking for The White Elephant transport as the driver was happily sitting in the minibus knowing that guests would be disembarking. The staff pre covid would be there to greet you and help with luggage. Not on this occasion I’m afraid! Check in was fine and our room was adequate initially. After a short period of time you begin to realise that many things don’t work…the door didn’t lock at night…the screen door didn’t work, the plug in the sink wouldn’t hold water…sockets for electrical devices either were few and far between…or didn’t work. It was all small things that niggled for the price. Lip service was paid to the Port and cheese hour as it consisted of 1 triangle of bree and a small square of cranberry cheddar…oh plus some grapes! Pitiful! I did object to 3 staff members discussing the football on the television behind us for a period of time whilst we were sitting at the bar…then was shocked to see them going behind the bar and helping themselves to a beer from the fridge before going in to the kitchens. Staff training was very poor and this was demonstrated to me whilst I sat outside my room in the morning having coffee. I would say ‘Good morning’ to staff members who’s replies ranged from a surly mumble to …lady..which was one staff member.’. Honestly….who says that as a salutation? This is meant to be a luxury hotel. Please train your staff. A ‘good morning’ would suffice! In all honesty there are better places to stay on Nantucket at a fraction of the price.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
yourtrainer wrote a review Aug 2022
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania33 contributions28 helpful votes
Love everything about this hotel. The rooms are amazingly comfortable. The service and food-5 stars! Location is perfect. If you can, try to get a room on the Harbor side with beautiful views. You can walk to the water and to the downtown stores.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
IFDtravel wrote a review Aug 2022
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg20 contributions36 helpful votes
White Elephant is an emblematic property of Nantucket; the location is perfect overlooking the harbor and the building is gorgeous keeping sigh the classic Nantucket style. We were lucky to have room with a balcony overlooking the harbor (although there was construction right in front of us)• you really can’t beat the location if you’re looking to be conveniently next to downtown while still having a more relaxing atmosphere. Service was 50/50. The person in charge of the bikes was extremely helpful even sharing itinerary tips’ the cleaning lady was also very accommodating and the concierge went above and beyond to help book our day trip to Martha’s Vineyard. However we had an awful experience with one of the front desk people; upon our checkout who was very aggressive as we had not understood checkout was at 11 - she got extremely angry and was very rude which is not normal given we spent a week in this establishment and checked out 30 min late. Other more minor hiccups: 1) another front desk worker (Night Shift) said she would book our taxi for the airport but did not and she did come across as a bit weird (?) 2) the pre arrival concierge booked our reservation for Topper’s but failed to book or let us know about the boat to get there… besides the unequal service we did have a great time and definitely recommend for a family!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
MPKC wrote a review Jul 2022
Nyack, New York244 contributions87 helpful votes
While my family and I enjoyed staying here and we would likely stay again…an incident around the complimentary coffee and complimentary pastries has left a bad residue (no pun intended, lol). So, early in the morning (7am) when the service was put out in a lobby area I inquired about possible gluten free options (I have celiac)… a worker responded with exasperation “ of course we have gluten free options!” I asked if I could have a piece of gf toast or granola bar, whatever there was…I waited for a few minutes and then was told I would have to wait for room service to open at 8 am and order from them. Two issues with this- 1) the worker’s attitude was rude and uncalled for, I felt embarrassed, 2) if they wouldn’t supply a gf complimentary item I do want to ask why? Later at dinner I also asked for gf bread- I did receive one piece of gf bread and the charge was $5… I mean come on! We were spending lots of money for the suite as it was but I did feel offended by the charge ( on top of the earlier attitude)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bettina Landt, General Manager at White Elephant
Responded Jul 21, 2022
Dear MPKC; Thank you for posting your review. I will follow up with the team. I couldn't agree more that the experience with the GF bread should have been handled differently on both occasions! If you would like me to refund you for the room service charge, please reach out to me at blandt@whiteelephantnantucket.com so we can get it done correctly. I am glad you had a wonderful time otherwise! Sincerely, Bettina
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John S. wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Hi, I recently stayed here in Room 11 and we had a wonderful stay. David in particular was tremendously attentive. We were in town for a wedding and we had some pregnant women in the group and he went out of his way to ensure everyone was comfortable. We appreciated it! John S.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bettina Landt, General Manager at White Elephant
Responded Jul 21, 2022
Hi John S. Thank you for hosting such a wonderful review. I am glad that David was able to make your time on island even more memorable by taking extra care with some of your group! Sincerely, Bettina
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ms8wotw wrote a review Jun 2022
Jacksonville, Florida179 contributions107 helpful votes
The management and staff at the White Elephant are absolutely top notch. The courtesy and care of their guests is what sets them apart! Every part of the trip was easily arranged, with the help of Patty, and some suggestions from the concierge!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bettina Landt, General Manager at White Elephant
Responded Jun 4, 2022
Thank you for your wonderful review. Patty is doing an excellent job as are our delightful group of concierges! We are off to a great start to the season!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kate wrote a review Feb 2022
Bloomington, Indiana23 contributions10 helpful votes
Best service we've ever experienced. We're world travelers and there isn't a single property that comes close to the white elephant. We stayed in June 2021. We checked in the day of our wedding and got to enjoy several days of wedded bliss. The customer service here is absolutely insane. They have thought of everything to make your stay the best it can possibly be. They even transported some of our wedding guests to the venue on their own shuttle! The rooms are clean, spacious, and quiet from neighbors. I cannot rave enough how lovely the staff is. They knew us by name and made us feel special. Brant Point is fantastic for on-property dinner as well. You can't beat the location. Thank you for making our stay so memorable.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bettina Landt, General Manager at White Elephant
Responded Jun 4, 2022
Thank you for your glowing review! We are so excited to be off to another great season! Have a wonderful summer!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pfoley52 wrote a review Oct 2021
Scottsdale, Arizona37 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
We stayed in room 154 and loved every minute of our stay. We were greeted at the ferry and shuttled to the hotel. The check-in process was friendly and efficient. Our room was not yet available and we were upgraded to a beautiful room on the water with a private deck. We needed ice before dinner and a bucket was delivered within minutes. We needed a ride to and from our restaurant which was timely and friendly. We enjoyed a perfect breakfast on the water. (Loved hearing the ferry horn in the fog). This is clearly a first class hotel with a well trained staff every aspect of the service from reservations, housekeeping, food and beverages was perfect. Thanks for your efforts.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bettina Landt, General Manager at White Elephant
Responded Nov 29, 2021
Dear Pfoley52; Thank you for taking the time to review us. It sounds like you had a wonderful time. Happy Holidays and we hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Bettina Landt
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
beav wrote a review Oct 2021
Boston, Massachusetts398 contributions201 helpful votes
For many years I've been an "inn" person. Quaint surroundings, great breakfasts, easy conversations with owners and other guests... But for our 37th anniversary, I wanted a room that had a closet (many don't on Nantucket) and a king bed (many don't on Nantucket). I was a bit nervous given other reviews about the White Elephant saying "dated" and "unfriendly staff" but I have to disagree with them. Our room (and I didn't even book a harbor view) was lovely, large, had a very comfortable king bed AND a little porch out back which I didn't expect. The furniture was really nice and the room was super clean. I could go on and on, the bar is beautiful, the Manhattans first class, the included coffee and pastries in the morning a bonus, the drive to the Island Kitchen for dinner one night, the drive with my bike and our luggage back to the ferry... Honestly, I am a picky traveler and this one checked all the boxes and more.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: You honestly don't need to pay for a harbor-view room when they have dining and lounge chairs...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bettina Landt, General Manager at White Elephant
Responded Nov 29, 2021
Dear beav; Thank you for taking the time to review us. We do have so many offerings for our guests, such as the complimentary bikes, the courtesy cars, the availability of room service, the seasonal pool, the complimentary coffee and pastries as well as port and cheese daily... the list goes on. We do love our neighborhood of Bed and Breakfasts too. They are such an integral part of the island. We are glad you treated yourselves. Congratulations on your anniversary and we hope to see you again for your 38th! Sincerely, Bettina Landt
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CloudyDae wrote a review Sep 2021
Ocean County, NJ322 contributions27 helpful votes
Our stay at The White Elephant was perfect in every way. We stayed at the Inn (room 35) and at first sight it looked a bit tight but was sufficient with an amazing bed and bedding and a huge bathroom equipped with every amenity you can imagine. My favorite part of the room was hearing the ferries horn roll! The customer service was top notch, kudos to Sherry and Orise (sorry for the spelling!) There is a complimentary BMW that there are 2 drawings for (9am and 4pm) every day to use for 4 hours, which was awesome! The staff was always ready with any request, be it a ride to the beach, with chairs, towels and umbrellas to a bucket of ice to restaurant recommendations and reservations. We both agree that our visit next September wouldn't be the same without a repeat stay. Looking so forward to our next visit! Nantucket and the White Elephant are truly magical!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$363 - $1,343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
white elephant nantucket
LOCATION
United StatesMassachusettsNantucket
NUMBER OF ROOMS
117
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about White Elephant
Which popular attractions are close to White Elephant?
Nearby attractions include Whaling Museum (0.2 miles), Brant Point Lighthouse (0.04 miles), and Nantucket Dreamland Theater (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at White Elephant?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at White Elephant?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at White Elephant?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at White Elephant?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to White Elephant?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Juice Bar Homemade Ice Cream, Dune, and Oran Mor.
Are there opportunities to exercise at White Elephant?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center and a heated pool during their stay.
Is White Elephant located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Nantucket.
Are any cleaning services offered at White Elephant?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does White Elephant offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to White Elephant?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Oldest House (Jethro Coffin House) and Kitchen Garden (0.5 miles), Greater Light (0.6 miles), and Hadwen House (0.6 miles).