We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
120 Wauwinet Rd P.O. Box 2580, Nantucket, MA 02554-4213
Expedia.com
StayForLong
Algotels
Booking.com
Travelocity
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (204)
Pool & Beach (31)
Dining (27)

About

#8 of 12 hotels in Nantucket
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.5
Value
4.0
THE WAUWINET is situated in between the Atlantic Ocean and Nantucket Bay, The Wauwinet is the island's only Relais & Châteaux hotel. An adults-only escape, it is the stuff of storybook romance. Its grounds are beautifully landscaped, with unmatched views and access to two beaches - one on the ocean and one on the bay. The 33-room inn is a study in luxe comfort, from Pratesi linens to antique furnishings and private sundecks. TOPPER'S, its New American cuisine restaurant, is consistently ranked one of the top in New England. A continual recipient of Wine Spectator's "Grand Award," the restaurant features over 1,400 American and international wine vintages. Guests who want a casual open-air lunch can linger on TOPPER's Deck before ambling out to the beach for sunbathing, a little fishing, or a boat trip. The relaxing and effective menu of treatments features therapies using locally-sourced ingredients.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycles available
Free shuttle or taxi services
Business Center with Internet Access
Banquet room
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Tennis court
Shuttle bus service
Spa
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English
304Reviews5Q+A58Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 211
  • 42
  • 27
  • 10
  • 14
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
jenellyn wrote a review Aug 2022
Simsbury, Connecticut11 contributions11 helpful votes
If you want to relax and step back in time, The Wauwinet is the perfect summer getaway. I waitressed at Toppers Restaurant 30 years ago and for my 50th birthday we returned and aside from newer homes toward Great Point, updated decor and some changes in the room appointments- the property is as gorgeous as I remembered! There are beautiful flowers throughout and the expansive back lawn provides the ideal setting to enjoy postcard sunsets. Each morning I would walk the footpath over the dunes to the Atlantic to watch the sunrise. While I was there I enjoyed my alone time watching “Sammy” the seal swim by. The staff is so courteous and helpful. Whatever your request, they are happy to help!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Book a lower floor if stairs are an issue.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Eric Landt, General Manager at The Wauwinet
Responded Aug 8, 2022
Dear jenellyn, Thank you for visiting again. We love it when Alumni come back as a guest! Always The Wauwinet!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah Leddy wrote a review Jun 2022
New York City, New York12 contributions4 helpful votes
My husband and I spent a long Memorial Day weekend here before the arrival of our first child. The entire stay was perfection. The staff were incredibly kind and attentive. Food on the deck as well as inside for the pre fixe menu was fabulous. The beds in the rooms are unbelievable. I am 8 months pregnant and got the best sleep I have had in months. It’s like sleeping on a cloud. The entire property is beautiful and romantic. We loved that it felt so remote but was easy to get into town with the free shuttle. We can’t wait to visit again!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Eric Landt, General Manager at The Wauwinet
Responded Jun 5, 2022
Dear nycsarahlu, Thanks for visiting! We also enjoyed having you over Memorial day weekend! Come back anytime and we look forward to meeting the little one in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
patricia h wrote a review May 2022
3 contributions4 helpful votes
I decided to take my husband to Wauwinet for his birthday in May. The attention to detail by the staff was amazing. Everyone in the hotel wished him Happy Birthday. we were served bubbles in the living room and given a welcome gift. We had the most lovely room overlooking the bay with a terrace. we took long walks on the nearly empty beach with big waves. After dinner we sat in front of the fire in the well appointed parlor, had port and played backgammon. It was so peaceful. Our room was made up 3 times a day. Many small touches in the room to make us feel at home. The front desk, especially Patrice , was so helpful. The grounds are meticulous and the flowers and cherry trees in bloom. I agree with a former reviewer that the menu should reflect some more casual and less complicated lunch items. Frankly, I wished we could have stayed longer and cannot wait to return off season again for the tranquility and beauty of this side of the Island. Impeccable service by all and all so very friendly. Thank you Wauwinet!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Eric Landt, General Manager at The Wauwinet
Responded May 15, 2022
Dear Patricia h, Thanks for the amazing feedback! As always we will look forward to your return!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steven160 wrote a review Oct 2021
Miami, Florida9 contributions18 helpful votes
The location is beautiful and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. The building is tired and, although the rooms are clean and comfortable, they are nothing special. We have stayed at many Relais & Chateaux properties which were much more luxurious than the Wauwinet. The highly rated restaurant, Toppers was a big disappointment for dinner and breakfast due to the food quality and service. Perhaps some of the issues have to do with Covid related staffing problems and this not being peak season. If that's the case, they should have lowered their prices.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Eric Landt, General Manager at The Wauwinet
Responded Oct 19, 2021
Dear Steven160, Thanks for the feedback sorry you did not enjoy your visit! Seems like you are well traveled and may have experienced better places that are handling Covid better than Nantucket and The Wauwinet? We are open for suggestions and any feedback that will help us improve. The hospitality industry was hit hard by Covid but we persevered and thank you for your business! We hope you have a change of heart and decide to come back to Nantucket when Covid is a thing of the past! .
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bragghouse wrote a review Aug 2021
Montclair, New Jersey173 contributions142 helpful votes
The lawn, food and service were highlights. The cottage was disappointing in some ways, especially lack of light blocking curtains. They are small cottages and not in top maintenance shape. Bed was incredibly comfortable! Shuttle service to town was packed full and this was pre season, we skipped it a few times and took Uber when we could. Loved the opportunity to drive the courtesy car out to Millies for lunch! If we were making a second visit we would stay closer to town given the challenges of using the shuttle, but would come out for a day trip to enjoy the food and lawn.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Eric Landt, General Manager at The Wauwinet
Responded Sep 24, 2021
Dear bragghouse, Thanks for the visit! Glad you enjoyed the use of our BMW such a great amenity! Hope to see you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jcveit wrote a review Aug 2021
New York City, New York109 contributions99 helpful votes
+1
The Wauwinet has a fantastic view and its own private beach. We spent about a week there. Apron arrival we were offered Champagne and our bags were brought to our room. Our room on the second floor was fine, with a nice view of the lawn and bay. The bathroom was well appointed and recently updated. The port and cheese each night setup in the library was another great benefit. We booked through AMEX Fine Hotels & Resorts, that got us a complimentary breakfast each morning and a resort credit. The breakfast at Toppers each morning was delicious, one of the best omelettes I’ve ever had. Declan, our server a few mornings was excellent. We also had room service one night from Toppers and the food was delicious and service was prompt. The burger and lobster roll from Toppers was delicious. For inn guests there is also a bar right next to Toppers that was setup like a speakeasy and a fun spot to have a drink. Anyone who complains about the location clearly didn’t do their research. Yes, the hotel is on the other side of the island. But the family that owns the hotel owns six properties on the island, so if you want to stay in town stay at the White Elephant or the Jared Coffin house. The Wauwinet makes it very easy to get into town, there’s shuttles every hour as well as their own private ferry that drops you at the White Elephant and the ferry even include cocktails. If you’re looking for peace and tranquillity the Wauwinet is perfect for you, if you want the hustle and bustle either the White Elephant or Jared Coffin house is great for you. Personally, we live in NYC so for us we welcomed the tranquility of the Wauwinet. We found the staff at the hotel willing to go above and beyond. James and Richard two of the shuttle drivers were two of the most friendly people I’ve met. Alex and Kathryn on the lawn were fantastic and really worked hard. Captain Rob for the Wauwinet Lady boat was a wealth of information and expertly guided us into town each night. Talia at the front desk was so friendly and welcoming. So why not five stars? The AC in our room only goes as low as 68, despite setting it at that temperature it regularly showed the room temperature at 70 or 71. We informed the front desk twice and they said it was fixed but we regularly experienced the same issue, eventually we gave up asking to have someone look at the AC. We found the pre-arrival concierge useless. I emailed them twice prior to our arrival and got no response, thankfully I’ve been to Nantucket before and knew to make reservations in advance when the concierge didn’t respond. One night we asked them to try to get us a reservation at Lola 41 (they only do same day reservations starting at 4PM), the concierge suggested that my wife and I both call and made no attempt to help. I get that restaurant reservations on Nantucket is difficult, especially with the current situation, but not even making an attempt to help us when it’s one of the restaurants you recommend is disappointing. The servers on the lawn are overworked and having one server in the peak of the summer doesn’t cut it. lt is unreasonable to have one server attend to the patio, the lawn, and the beach sitting area. Let me be clear the servers were fantastic and went above and beyond, but the area is too much for one server. Finally, the lunch menu on the lawn that is also the dinner menu does not fit with a beach feel. I mean over five days, I never saw anyone order the $63 black pepper cavatelli. The burger, lobster roll, and oysters make sense. I visited the lawn for lunch for a one night stay back in 2016 and the menu was much better suited for a beach. Would I return? Yes, absolutely. We enjoyed the tranquility and being outside of the hustle and bustle of town. The private beach is fantastic and is a great walking beach. I know we visited the hotel in a time when COVID-19 cases put the island into the red zone and additional restrictions were in place, but using one menu for lunch and dinner is a bit short-sighted in my opinion. The majority of the staff is fantastic and so friendly, they clearly love their jobs as James was telling us he’s worked there during the season for the last 30 years. If the hotel can clean up the pre-arrival concierge and get some additional staff for the lawn as well as fixing some of the AC in rooms, the Wauwinet is easily a five star resort.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Eric Landt, General Manager at The Wauwinet
Responded Aug 16, 2021
Dear jcvei. Intent to recommend and intent to return is our goal! Thanks for all the great feedback. I will make sure we let our long standing team members know about all the mentions in your review for delivering outstanding service! I will look forward to your return and hopefully we can improve our rating with the next visit! Thanks again for staying with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mila wrote a review Aug 2021
New York City, New York2 contributions
+1
We booked this hotel for a week and left early The room was clean but super small. It is also far from downtown approximately 25 min via shuttle. You can’t really walk anywhere for anything. Good place for people who just want to go somewhere and stay in one place and veg out. Staff is friendly and the place is clean and very well maintained. The restaurant associated with this place “Toppers” is good but very expensive and frankly restaurant staff needs training. The prices they charge should be comparable with the service.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Eric Landt, General Manager at The Wauwinet
Responded Aug 12, 2021
Dear Oermila, I am so happy to hear that you found our little paradise! The Wauwinet is a unique place especially the location. The staff is genuine and always has an upbeat attitude! The restaurant industry on a whole is facing very unique circumstances and I believe we are offering an amazing experience related to all the challenges Covid-19 has presented. I do appreciate your feedback. We consider ourselves very fortunate to be open and welcome all!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steve S wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution3 helpful votes
The hotel is very pretty and I like the redesign they did a few years ago. Access to the beach is convenient for a hotel on Nantucket, when so many hotels are located in town. Our room was above the entrance and I was concerned it might be loud, but it was quiet enough. That being said, there were many little things about service that don’t make this a 4-star hotel. Perhaps it’s because they’re seasonal; I’m sure keeping experienced, quality staff is harder when you’re not operational year round. Nothing was egregious, but all the little things that were wrong add up, and we came to expect that everything would somehow be a hassle rather than seamless, which is what you want at a $800+ night hotel. Here are just a few incidents we had: —A friend sent a bottle of champagne to our room, but there wasn’t a corkscrew. We were Told it was supposed to be in the nightstand, which it wasn’t. They did deliver one quickly. —Turn down didn’t happen one night even though we went into dinner in town, so there was plenty of time. —At check in, we were told there would be water bottles and we were welcome to refill them from the filtered water station but there were in fact cans of water, so refills weren’t possible. —We wanted to play tennis, and there was confusion over whether they had rackets there. Then there was confusion over getting tennis balls. —Our dinner reservations the concierge made were for the wrong night, and it took several emails, conversations with the front desk, and we finally kindly received a phone call from the GM to get it straightened out. (I understand that mistakes happen, but it should have only been one conversation to get it fixed, not three.) —the QR code to the room service menu linked to an old menu —I ordered a cake for my partner’s birthday and received someone else’s 50th anniversary cake! The list goes on… everyone who worked there was perfectly friendly and polite, but the service was neither polished nor up to luxury hotel standards. . We kept saying to ourselves, it’s no Four Seasons, which is where we’ll be booking our next vacation instead.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Eric Landt, General Manager at The Wauwinet
Responded Jul 1, 2021
Dear W981WVsteves, Thanks for you feedback! My apologies for the missed details during your stay. The island is so lucky to be so busy in June and we appreciate your business. The staff of the hotel including myself take feedback seriously. We hope to welcome you back and know that we can deliver the service and hospitality your expect.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ncinaz wrote a review Jun 2021
Tucson, Arizona71 contributions151 helpful votes
The Wauwinet is far from town, which I found to be a positive rather than a negative, and while the rooms are small the property itself does not feel small. The hotel faces the harbor and has a glorious lawn facing the water. Just a few hundred feet in the other direction is a pristine ocean beach with few beachgoers other than the seals who cruise up and down the beach. Food and service were excellent, and the regular shuttles to town made that trip easy and stress-free. Looking forward to staying again next summer!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: I thought it was worth it to book one of the better rooms on a high floor facing the lawn and...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Eric Landt, General Manager at The Wauwinet
Responded Jul 1, 2021
Dear ncinaz, Thanks for the very nice review! We love to hear about how much you loved the island and hotel. Stress free is our secret recipe! See you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mgal2494 wrote a review Jun 2021
Washington DC, District of Columbia4 contributions2 helpful votes
The Wauwinet is close to perfection. The location is amazing and the people are kind and attentive, but new. I hope to come back soon to see if they have fixed the small issues remaining. The sheets are amazingThe pillows are old moldy and lumpy, we asked for a down pillow and got one old feather pillow. The blankets are thick and hot for the summer, we asked for a lighter one and got two tiny throws. You can't order breakfast the night before, we tried twice. Once we didn't get silverware. The next day we thought to just do coffee as that was easier, but they forgot about it so we almost missed the strict 10:30 am cut off. The best hotels show their people what luxury is, thoughtfulness goes a long way. If they fix these small issues the hotel will be magical. I look forward to returning and seeing what these wonderful people can do!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Eric Landt, General Manager at The Wauwinet
Responded Jun 27, 2021
Dear Mgal2494, Close to perfection is nice feedback but agreed but thoughtfulness does go a long way! I hope you have a chance to revisit perfection again! We would love to show you our hospitality over and over again! Bliss that is Wauwinet & Nantucket provide. Repeat as often as necessary! Believe me we can do!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$373 - $1,592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the wauwinet hotel nantucket, wauwinet hotel nantucket, wauwinet nantucket
LOCATION
United StatesMassachusettsNantucket
NUMBER OF ROOMS
33
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE WAUWINET - Updated 2022 Prices & Hotel Reviews (Nantucket, MA)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Wauwinet
Which popular attractions are close to The Wauwinet?
Nearby attractions include Great Point Light (0.1 miles), Sankaty Head Lighthouse (4.1 miles), and Nantucket Shipwreck & Lifesaving Museum (3.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Wauwinet?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Wauwinet?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Wauwinet?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Wauwinet?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Chanticleer, Topper's, and Claudette's Sandwich Shop.
Does The Wauwinet have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Wauwinet offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Wauwinet?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Wauwinet offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Wauwinet?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Wauwinet (0.07 miles).
Does The Wauwinet have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.
Is The Wauwinet accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.