We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Chestnut House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Chestnut House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

32 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 31: English reviews
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I've stayed at this inn two times this year in the off season. February and November 2016. The rates around $100 per night or so for Nantucket are absolutely amazing! With no minimum stay in the offseason either. Definitely a bare bones type accommodation - no real living room or area to sit and relax or breakfast as others have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara P
Management response:

Sara, thanks for your review and for returning to Chestnut House. You described Room 2, our smallest room because it has no sitting room. It is our most popular during the year because of it's affordability particularly for guests booking a short business stay. The rest of the suites in the house have sitting rooms. Heating a 163 year old...

Midwest City, Oklahoma
Reviewed November 2, 2016

Absolutely loved staying here -- the room was quiet and comfortable, the decor unique and intriguing and very Nantucket feeling. This is a low-key guest house, affordably priced, and with just enough amenities to make a visit very easy (fridge, TV, toiletries, and coupons to a local coffee shop). The staff is friendly and genuine, the bed comfortable, everything clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Whaler007
Management response:

Thank you for choosing Chestnut House and your kind comments. We truly appreciate the recognition that we are a guest house with the feel of home. Ian, Jennifer, and Christa

Lamoine, Maine
Reviewed October 3, 2016

Chestnut House is conveniently located, the bed in the Willow Cottage was very comfortable, and the staff very friendly. We were provided with a breakfast coupon for a great little place around the corner that served great coffee. They could use a repeater in the cottage as the wifi was in and out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank live&learn
Management response:

Thanks for the repeater advice, I'll have Ian look into it. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing Chestnut House. Christa

new york
Reviewed August 18, 2016 via mobile

We were fortunate to get a last minute reservation for a busy summer weekend. We found the accommodations to be comfortable, reasonable for the price, and located in a very convenient spot for getting around, both by foot and to connect to shuttles. The place is a little quirky but has its charm. It could probably use a refresh but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ellen5181
Management response:

Those cobwebs remind me of a children's book called The Very Busy Spider. We will get to them all! We do have a great location though and thank you for advising folks to call ahead. Emailing works well too. Our website does mention the amenities such as bath toiletries and hair dryers so they can definitely be left at home.

plymouth, ma
Reviewed August 16, 2016

Location is great, right near everything downtown. However, other travelers noted the 'quaintness' of this place, I found it to be dirty and run down. Our bathroom seemed cleaned, and the sheets smelled fine, however there were cobwebs that seem as if they have been there for quite sometime. They covered the lampshades and extended up to the ceiling, as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank harpduke
Management response:

It's a difficult start to the day when one must face the fact that we have done less than our best for a guest who chose Chestnut House but left feeling disappointed. For that you have our apologies. But at the end of the day I would also wish to say thank you for your review because we have been...

Greenwich, Connecticut
Reviewed August 13, 2016

If you are expecting a 4 or 5 star experience, this is not what you want. If you are looking for a reasonably priced option right in the middle of everything(which is pretty much non existent on Nantucket), this is a win-win. While the decor is a bit dated, you actually get the feeling that you are stating in someone's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BHTravelbug
Management response:

Thank you for staying at Chestnut House! You're right about the inn being reasonably priced for the location. So many of our guests have been coming to the island for many years and they appreciate the fact that we continue to offer such an affordable and comfortable accommodation within the Town core district.

Chicago
Reviewed July 18, 2016 via mobile

I don't usually pan places on TripAdvisor, but this one is an exception, for it would be unconscionable for me not to warn prospective visitors about this place. Luckily, we still got the off-season rate of $100/night in early June, because this place was barely worth that. First of all, we didn't have maid service for the first two days....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James S
Management response:

Thank you for your review as it affords us greater insight into the experiences had by our guests. The Chestnut House was built in 1850. It is a typical New England house with small rooms and steep stairs. Within these confines, we strive to outfit our rooms with as many modern conveniences as possible. We are NOT a bed and...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed May 17, 2016

What was great: price, location, it reminded me of grandma's. Not great: no breakfast, outdated (see previous comment), no real amenities. We went with a couple of other couples who stayed at a much fancier place and spent a ton more. Our room was large, clean, and comfortable. It also didn't set us back two months salary. I probably would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alfiemp
Lynn, Massachusetts
Reviewed February 16, 2016

For over twenty years we have been going to the island in April before it gets crazy.About 5 years ago we started staying at Chestnut House.It is very quiet and private. We love this place because the owners are so kind and the decor is unique. The room we stay in on the second floor has a queen size bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MacTheWife1979
Athol
Reviewed October 27, 2015

very nice room good for a couple of people. close to town. we felt safe walking around near the inn. the walk from the ferry took only 5 minutes. but we had to pull our suitcases on a cobble stone walkway that was a little hard.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaja392
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.3 mi away
Hawthorn House
Hawthorn House
#18 of 42 in Nantucket
105 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Roberts House
The Roberts House
#20 of 42 in Nantucket
111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Regatta Inn
Regatta Inn
#1 of 42 in Nantucket
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Periwinkle B&B
The Periwinkle B&B
#19 of 42 in Nantucket
78 reviews
0.4 mi away
Martin House Inn
Martin House Inn
#13 of 42 in Nantucket
255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Centerboard Inn
Centerboard Inn
#2 of 42 in Nantucket
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

In your room
  • Air Conditioning

Additional Information about Chestnut House

Address: 3 Chestnut St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3506
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Price Range: $138 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chestnut House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Chestnut House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chestnut House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Top floors have interesting views of Nantucket rooftops, and are very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Whaler007, Nov 2, 2016 | Read review
“NOT room #2...cobwebs!”
 of 5 bubbles harpduke, Aug 16, 2016 | Read review
“The second floor has a view of the cute garden.”
 of 5 bubbles MacTheWife1979, Feb 16, 2016 | Read review
“Any of them are nice - Back of the house and you may not hear the back-up beeps from the delivery trucks in the morning.”
 of 5 bubbles Jujuinfla, Jun 15, 2012 | Read review
4 of 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay