We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Chestnut House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Chestnut House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

29 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 28: English reviews
new york
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2016 via mobile

We were fortunate to get a last minute reservation for a busy summer weekend. We found the accommodations to be comfortable, reasonable for the price, and located in a very convenient spot for getting around, both by foot and to connect to shuttles. The place is a little quirky but has its charm. It could probably use a refresh but... More 

Helpful?
Thank ellen5181
Management response:

Those cobwebs remind me of a children's book called The Very Busy Spider. We will get to them all! We do have a great location though and thank you for advising folks to call ahead. Emailing works well too. Our website does mention the amenities such as bath toiletries and hair dryers so they can definitely be left at home. More 

plymouth, ma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2016

Location is great, right near everything downtown. However, other travelers noted the 'quaintness' of this place, I found it to be dirty and run down. Our bathroom seemed cleaned, and the sheets smelled fine, however there were cobwebs that seem as if they have been there for quite sometime. They covered the lampshades and extended up to the ceiling, as... More 

Helpful?
Thank harpduke
Management response:

It's a difficult start to the day when one must face the fact that we have done less than our best for a guest who chose Chestnut House but left feeling disappointed. For that you have our apologies. But at the end of the day I would also wish to say thank you for your review because we have been... More 

Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2016

If you are expecting a 4 or 5 star experience, this is not what you want. If you are looking for a reasonably priced option right in the middle of everything(which is pretty much non existent on Nantucket), this is a win-win. While the decor is a bit dated, you actually get the feeling that you are stating in someone's... More 

Helpful?
Thank BHTravelbug
Management response:

Thank you for staying at Chestnut House! You're right about the inn being reasonably priced for the location. So many of our guests have been coming to the island for many years and they appreciate the fact that we continue to offer such an affordable and comfortable accommodation within the Town core district. More 

Chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016 via mobile

I don't usually pan places on TripAdvisor, but this one is an exception, for it would be unconscionable for me not to warn prospective visitors about this place. Luckily, we still got the off-season rate of $100/night in early June, because this place was barely worth that. First of all, we didn't have maid service for the first two days.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank James S
Management response:

Thank you for your review as it affords us greater insight into the experiences had by our guests. The Chestnut House was built in 1850. It is a typical New England house with small rooms and steep stairs. Within these confines, we strive to outfit our rooms with as many modern conveniences as possible. We are NOT a bed and... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

What was great: price, location, it reminded me of grandma's. Not great: no breakfast, outdated (see previous comment), no real amenities. We went with a couple of other couples who stayed at a much fancier place and spent a ton more. Our room was large, clean, and comfortable. It also didn't set us back two months salary. I probably would... More 

Helpful?
Thank alfiemp
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2016

For over twenty years we have been going to the island in April before it gets crazy.About 5 years ago we started staying at Chestnut House.It is very quiet and private. We love this place because the owners are so kind and the decor is unique. The room we stay in on the second floor has a queen size bed... More 

Helpful?
Thank MacTheWife1979
Athol
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2015

very nice room good for a couple of people. close to town. we felt safe walking around near the inn. the walk from the ferry took only 5 minutes. but we had to pull our suitcases on a cobble stone walkway that was a little hard.

Helpful?
Thank Jaja392
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015 via mobile

This is lovely place , I stayed there with my 6 members family , it's good location to easily visit over the Netherlands , it's real house because every single need is available with the kind support of Marya whom replaying usually in minutes ... Clear guide to use the house facilities and surrounded area .. Supermarket is very near... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hamid A
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
207 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

I recently spent two nights at the Chestnut House. We spent the first night losing sleep because a broken Carbon Monoxide detector in the hallway beeped every few seconds all night long. When I returned the next afternoon I asked the manager if had been fixed. She said rudely, "You don't hear it, do you?" She then proceeded to tell... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SeaJay26
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

A quaint and cozy place right in the middle of it all. We were very well taken care of. The suite on the first floor was perfect for the family with privacy for all. The only downside were the vouchers for the coffee shop for breakfast, but otherwise we will come again.

Helpful?
Thank Richard T L
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.3 mi away
Hawthorn House
Hawthorn House
#17 of 42 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Periwinkle B&B
The Periwinkle B&B
#18 of 42 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
0.4 mi away
Centerboard Inn
Centerboard Inn
#3 of 42 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 stars 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Roberts House
The Roberts House
#19 of 42 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pineapple Inn
Pineapple Inn
#30 of 42 in Nantucket
3.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
0.4 mi away
Regatta Inn
Regatta Inn
#1 of 42 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Additional Information about Chestnut House

Address: 3 Chestnut St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3506
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Price Range: $138 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chestnut House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Chestnut House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay