We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
10 Gay St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3650
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotel direct offer!2021 Discount Ferry
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Official Site
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (44)
Room & Suite (17)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 10/30/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sherburne Inn Nantucket
Updated 10/30/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Convenient, one block from the heart of downtown, but on a quiet side street. Offering 8 spacious rooms each with ensuite private bathroom/shower. Central AC, Wifi, cable TV, fantastic continental breakfast, and wine social hour (peak season). We are known for personalized concierge service - just check our reviews! We have also won awards for our spotless housekeeping, and attention to detail. Our rates are highly competitive and we offer 2 night stays even in peak season. Book direct for the lowest pricing and best room selection. The inn is non-smoking, and offers ample common space (2 parlors with fireplaces) and outdoor seating (sun deck and gardens). Bike rack, beach chairs, towels and bags are just some of our amenities. We specialize in couples, but also offer the perfect stay for those traveling solo, or for business. No children under 12 please and unfortunately no pets. Let us make your trip to Nantucket the best!
Read more
Room & Suite (17)17
Full view
Property amenities
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Boating
Taxi service
Adults only
Baggage storage
Wifi
Breakfast available
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Golf course
Hiking
Bicycle tours
Fishing
Patio
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Seating area
Wardrobe / closet
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Historic Hotel
Hotel links
Special Offer:2021 Discount Ferry
394Reviews1Q+A73Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 333
  • 36
  • 18
  • 4
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
LaurenKeathley wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
My stay at the Sherburne Inn was fantastic! I stayed there for my wedding weekend 09/2020. Karen was extremely attentive and polite. The quality of the room and the service was unmatched. The inn made sure to put out umbrellas in the lobby for guests to use if it rained. Additionally, coffee and water available in the lobby all day. Karen made sure to connect with me before our stay to define what we needed in our room in order to make our stay as best as possible. Many have concerns about traveling during COVID-19, but I can assure you that this inn took all of the necessary precautions to keep themselves and their guests safe. Check in was contactless and easy. I will definitely be coming back soon. Thank you Karen & Sharon for the amazing wedding weekend!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Karen Macumber, Owner at Sherburne Inn Nantucket
Responded Oct 7, 2020
You were so beautiful and it was so much fun to be a tiny part of your special weekend. We expect to see you for the anniversaries now!
Read more
Angela S wrote a review Jul 2020
5 contributions
Property's Favorite Review
Our 35th wedding anniversary trip to Nantucket and The Sherburne Inn was absolutely wonderful! The location was within walking distance to the town, yet in a quiet area. Karen was so helpful in providing us with a list of restaurants along with a brief description of each one and assisting us in making our dinner reservations in advance, to ensure we had a pleasurable dining experience each night. She booked our ferry tickets to and from Hyannis Portland and arranged for taxis when we needed transportation on the island. Even though there were Covid restrictions, she and Sharon did everything possible to make our stay at the Sherburne Inn enjoyable and comfortable. They were very attentive to our needs. I will definitely try to stay here again and also recommend this bed and breakfast to my friends looking to travel to Nantucket.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Karen Macumber, Owner at Sherburne Inn Nantucket
Responded Jul 27, 2020
Angie (and Tina) we loved having you four with us. So much fun and I am so happy you had a great experience.
Read more
Elizabethlidd wrote a review Oct 2020
Boston, Massachusetts1 contribution
This was our second summer staying at the Sherburne Inn, and once again we had absolutely no complaints! Karen is so sweet and focused on the happiness of her guests, and the location is perfect on a quiet little street in town. Despite the countless Covid restrictions she went out of our way to make sure our experience was great. We will definitely be back next summer. Thanks Karen!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Karen Macumber, Owner at Sherburne Inn Nantucket
Responded Oct 3, 2020
Thank you, and we look forward to hosting you for many more stays!
Read more
esther7707 wrote a review Sep 2020
Los Angeles, California3 contributions
We stayed there over the Memorial Day weekend. Although the property looks nice, the walls are paper thin and all noises from the hallway and adjacent parlor room are very disturbing. In addition, the owner is not accommodating at all. There is no room service at all. It is very difficult to reach any help at all times. We tried to reach her to complain about the party going on in the parlor room after 9:00pm, but she did not respond to our text or voice mail. The is no personal on premisses the evening. In addition, the checkout is 11:00 am. Who we asked for an additional one hour we were refused. There is no storage to store your luggage after the checkout. The owner offers to leave the luggage in the detached garage on the street that does not have a lock. Overall we felt that the owner is extremely unaccommodating and that this old hotel does not justifies the fees requested. One would feel unwelcome in this hotel. I would not recommend it to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Karen Macumber, Owner at Sherburne Inn Nantucket
Responded Sep 28, 2020
I will make sure accurate information is provided. There is always someone on property - Sharon lives there - and as discussed with social distancing guidelines we cannot have a front desk in the entryway. You are provided with my personal cell number (owner) as well as my home number for overnight emergencies. You called me at least ten times during your stay and I answered - once to fix a window shade which was simply stuck in the window frame - and once to fix a light bulb which was fine - you had unplugged the lamp. And the evening incidence was not a party, but two guests in the parlor talking at a normal level. We are clear that bag storage this year is temporary (the garage) and you were offered locked storage at the bag valet downtown as an option. We could not offer late checkout but did actually check you in 4 hours before the normal check in when the room was ready. Our $400 per night price over Labor Day is considered moderate - which still does not mean we don't provide excellent service even during Covid times - we we do as is evidenced by nearly all other reviews.
Read more
Vlove197 wrote a review Sep 2020
East Haddam, Connecticut1 contribution
Although a very nice Inn, and very close to town, I was disappointed by the lack of service. In times of COVID, things are tricky I’m sure. But I had the impression that we would have a continental breakfast and that’s part of what I paid for. But upon arriving, the inn keeper said, due to Covid that it wasn’t available. They did give us coupons for a limited selection of tasteless food down the street, which wasn’t worth it. So in the end, I felt like I didn’t get what I paid for. Otherwise it was tidy, quiet and safe.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Karen Macumber, Owner at Sherburne Inn Nantucket
Responded Sep 14, 2020
I am sorry you were disappointed by the Culinary Center cafe. Most guests have loved their selection. Rules prohibit us from doing a continental breakfast buffet this year, so the only option would be to leave you one baked good at your door, with no selection, so instead we felt this was a nicer option. We have individual keurigs in each room and pre-stock with your preference for beverages. Please understand most of what you pay for is the room and the staff/service which is still very much there.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$191 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sherburne inn, nantucket hotel nantucket
LOCATION
United StatesMassachusettsNantucket
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sherburne Inn Nantucket
Which popular attractions are close to Sherburne Inn Nantucket?
Nearby attractions include Whaling Museum (0.2 miles), First Congregational Church (0.09 miles), and Oldest House (Jethro Coffin House) and Kitchen Garden (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sherburne Inn Nantucket?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a golf course.
Which room amenities are available at Sherburne Inn Nantucket?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Sherburne Inn Nantucket?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Sherburne Inn Nantucket?
Yes, street parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sherburne Inn Nantucket?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ships Inn Restaurant, The Juice Bar Homemade Ice Cream, and Dune.
Is Sherburne Inn Nantucket located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Nantucket.
Are there any historical sites close to Sherburne Inn Nantucket?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Oldest House (Jethro Coffin House) and Kitchen Garden (0.3 miles), Greater Light (0.2 miles), and Old Gaol (0.4 miles).