We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$355
Travelocity$355
Hotels.com$355
FindHotel$355
Priceline$355
Orbitz.com$355
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (76)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (7)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 12/14/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Martin House Inn
Updated 12/14/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 34 in Nantucket
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.8
Value
4.5
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
The Martin House Inn blends the convenience and comforts of today with the romance and nostalgia of the past. Built in 1803 by a sea captain for his bride and restored to a gracious old-world elegance, the inn combines the charm and romance of a bygone era with all the comforts of home. Its gathering areas, luxurious rooms, working fireplaces, peaceful veranda and serenity gardens (graced with gurgling fountains and a fire-pit, and caressed by the music of gentle breezes and classical piano), all beckon you to return. Watch a sunset from our roof-walk with a glass of wine in hand and savor the panorama of the town and harbor. Enjoy a bountiful continental breakfast, featuring our famous granola and scones, and come home to our homemade afternoon treats! Seven-time winner of the Certificate of Excellence award and located in the heart of Nantucket’s historic district, the inn is a short walk from shops, beaches, theatres, restaurants. 13 rms, A/C, WiFi, insider app for guests, including meditation and yoga (yoga matts, blocks, straps in each room), in-room hotel safes.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Yoga classes
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Breakfast available
Golf course
Bicycle tours
Patio
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Umbrella
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighborhood
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English
511Reviews2Q+A91Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 419
  • 59
  • 21
  • 9
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Emily E wrote a review May 24
Boston, Massachusetts4 contributions2 helpful votes
I look my mom to Nantucket for a belated Mother's Day trip and we loved both the island and our stay at the Martin House. The location is perfect - close enough to town to easily navigate your suitcases from the ferry and a street or two away from the action for tranquility. There's even covered parking for your bikes under the house. An advantage of the Martin House versus what I noticed from other nearby B&Bs when I went to book is that the Martin House has some rooms with twin beds. My mother and I sure appreciated each having our own bed without having to book two rooms. Cindy was wonderful in giving us pointers for the best lobster rolls (Walters!) and quite the baker. Her cinnamon scones one more for breakfast were so delicious that I may have smuggled one onto the evening ferry back to the mainland.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Cindy Carlton, Innkeeper at Martin House Inn
Responded yesterday
Hi Emily, thank you for taking the time to write a review and for the kind words. It was lovely to meet you and your Mom. Glad you were able to enjoy the inn and Nantucket via bicycle and see all the island has to offer. Cindy
Read more
Kathy P wrote a review May 20
Canton, GA77 contributions17 helpful votes
+1
We stayed 3 nights at the Martin House Inn in May 2022. We knew we were staying in an old, historic home, which is part of the charm of Nantucket. So, be aware that steps on staircases are narrow and uneven, the floors creak, windows are hard to open or don't open (air conditioning is in process of being installed but wasn't functioning when we were there). Despite other guests staying at the same time, we rarely heard noises and inside our room was very quiet. The bedding and bathroom linens were all of good quality. What this place needs is an infusion of cash and since it sold over the past 6 months, I hope the new owners plan to do just that. While the furnishings are all period pieces, they are old, worn and in disrepair. The access to the Widow's Walk on the roof is treacherous, at best. I wouldn't recommend anyone going up there. Wood was rotting all over the exterior of the house and I was not at all confident of the safety of the Widow's Walk. Reviews mentioned homemade morning pastries but they are no longer offering that. Our breakfast spread included yogurts, mixed berries, bananas, oranges, a nice granola, bagels, cream cheese, peanut butter, sliced breads and grocery store muffins, sweet bread slices, coffee and orange juice. Nothing special at all. A little "tweaking" here could go a long way! If I were to return to Nantucket, I would definitely consider staying somewhere else. Also, the owners need to hire more staff as one housekeeper and a manager are expected to work ridiculous hours to keep up.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We didn't look at other rooms but photos are available when you book. However, they may not...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Cindy Carlton, Innkeeper at Martin House Inn
Responded 5 days ago
Hi Kathy, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I appreciate the helpful feedback. I enjoyed our conversations about Georgia. So glad you enjoyed your guided nature walk on the beach. My apologies that the homemade muffins were not what you had envisioned. Hope you find that better fit for you on your future visit to Nantucket. Have a great summer! Cindy
Read more
GinnyC13_13 wrote a review May 18
Dallas, Texas6 contributions16 helpful votes
My husband and I spent five nights at the Martin House last week. We've been to Nantucket countless times over the past 30 years, staying in numerous other inns and house rentals on the island, and the Martin House never disappoints! Cindy, the current innkeeper, is wonderful! She is warm and friendly, ready to accommodate your visit in any way. For breakfast, she served a fabulous array of breads, fruit, yogurt, and assorted pastries and muffins. Our room was also clean, comfortable, and cozy. Nantucket is a magical place, and the Martin House is the perfect B&B for your stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Cindy Carlton, Innkeeper at Martin House Inn
Responded 6 days ago
Hi Ginny - it was so lovely meeting you and John and thank you for your kind words. You are both such a delight! The other guests and I were entertained with your stories and really enjoyed your company. So glad you chose to return to Martin House Inn. Enjoy your Summer! Cindy
Read more
dawn g wrote a review May 13
Downingtown, Pennsylvania38 contributions29 helpful votes
What a sweet spot and a great host in Cindy. The Martin House is a lovely place to stay in Nantucket. I recommend renting bikes at Nantucket bike shop and biking to Sconset!! Get a tour by Rick!!! He will share the history and social scene in Sconset. Super interesting.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Cindy Carlton, Innkeeper at Martin House Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Dawn, thank you for taking the time to post a review. It was so nice to meet you and your daughter. I am thrilled that you had the opportunity to take a tour by Rick. So glad you enjoyed the weather, meeting the other guests and Nantucket! Hope to you see you again! Cindy
Read more
JDinBmore wrote a review Apr 2022
9 contributions
Our stay at the Martin House Inn on Nantucket was a bit of an underwhelming experience. We arrived on the last day of Daffodil Festival, which apparently is the starting bell for all the properties to get spiffed up for the coming summer season. Tradespeople everywhere all over town starting around 8am. Some of this work was being done at the Martin House Inn. We had the suite, which we decided was a splurge justified by us doing more walking than we would normally do and needing space to spread out and relax. The house was built in 1803 and many of the doors and passageways still exist, including 3 doors off of the parlor side of the suite. Two of these doors are positioned in the corner, blocked by a large book case. One of these doors was apparently being worked on. I took us a couple of days to discover that the reason we could hear every bit of conversation coming from the kitchen was there was only a piece of plastic taped up over the doorway. This also explained why the sound of power sanders going to town on [whatever] were loud enough that we had to retreat to the bedroom side and pull the pocket doors closed just to have a simple conversation. This obviously defeated the benefit of booking the suite. The next day, more sanding, followed by paint. Anyone who has done their own painting knows that even zero VOC paint has a smell. If you are prepared for doing painting, then you expect the smell and often don’t even notice it. However, if you are not mentally prepared for paint smell, even the zero VOC paint can be borderline overwhelming. I don’t know if the paint being used was zero VOC, only that the smell filled our room and was not terribly enjoyable. Throughout our 4 day stay on Nantucket, there was never any commentary on the construction/maintenance plans from the innkeeper, never any inquiries to see if we were bothered, and never any explanation or apology of why a large portion of the perimeter of our room was taped up plastic sheet, much less for the excessive noise and bothersome smells. We are not the type of people to bang our fists and demand a discount. We are the type to warn other people away, though. A professional in the hospitality business should know how to take care of visitors better than how we were handled. Fresh baked cookies don’t make up for not being able to fully enjoy the room we paid for. There are many places to stay on Nantucket. We will certainly look elsewhere in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Cindy Carlton, Innkeeper at Martin House Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Jeff, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. My apologies that your getaway coincided with our renovations for the upcoming season. Cindy
Read more
Daydream812438 wrote a review Apr 2022
2 contributions
From start to finish the Martin House exceeded all our expectations. The Inn Keeper was so welcoming and accommodating. Breakfast was so delicious every morning with homemade pastries, fruit, yogurt and granola. She even accommodated my gluten allergy! Our room was beautiful and had a working fireplace which we absolutely loved for the chilly April nights. The location of the Inn couldn't be beat. We were within walking distance to everything in town and the ferry. The view of town and the harbor from the widows walk was incredible! We will be returning again for sure!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Cindy Carlton, Innkeeper at Martin House Inn
Responded Apr 20, 2022
Hi Heather, thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. It was really nice to meet you. So glad you enjoyed the inn and your visit to Nantucket. We look forward to welcoming you back! Enjoy Spring, Cindy
Read more
Lorrie M wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions
This beautiful Inn is perfectly located to all things in town, without the chaos. The porch is a perfect place to sit and sip coffee. I also appreciate the nice continental breakfast they put out, with something to please everyone. Rooms are spacious and sunny, very clean and comfy. Oh...and the afternoon cookies delivered to our room were the perfect touch! Would absolutely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Cindy Carlton, Innkeeper at Martin House Inn
Responded Mar 21, 2022
HI Lorrie, Thank you for taking the time to write a review with such kind words. It was lovely to meet you! We hope you enjoyed your stay and visit to Nantucket! Happy Spring! Cindy
Read more
dmgriss86 wrote a review Jan 2022
Springfield, Massachusetts62 contributions16 helpful votes
My wife enjoy traveling to Nantucket during the off-season. The town does a great job decorating for the holidays and there are no crowds. I chose the Martin Inn due to it TripAdvisor score and it’s central town location. It did not disappoint. The house was spotless and tastefully decorated. We stayed in the first floor, room 2 suite, which had plenty of room to spread out, a nice leather sofa, and a beautiful gas fireplace. Thank you Garrison and Nate for helping us have a great 3 day stay. We’ll see you next year.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Garison Beale, General Manager at Martin House Inn
Responded Jan 12, 2022
So nice to connect with you both as well, and glad you had a nice birthday trip to the Martin House! Looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Read more
Denise B wrote a review Dec 2021
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Martin House Inn is warm and inviting! My daughter and I came for the festival of trees and for some holiday fun. Claire gave us an upgraded room and made us feel like we were visiting family. The Inn smells like fresh baked pastries and was decorated beautifully for Christmas. Our room was clean and comfortable and the handmade muffins and scones in the morning were delicious! We’ll definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Claire Theriault, Innkeeper at Martin House Inn
Responded Dec 13, 2021
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your stay! We thoroughly enjoyed hosting you and your daughter, and were happy to upgrade your accommodations. We will look forward to your return stay. Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you and yours!
Read more
Kathryn A wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
I needed to get away for a few days and clear my head after a rough start to the month. I booked all I could afford--a tiny room with a twin bed and a shared bathroom on the top floor of Martin House Inn. When I arrived, I was allowed to check in early, and Claire even upgraded me to a gorgeous room with a four poster bed, sitting area, and private bath since the Inn had room. She took my breakfast request for the next morning at check in, and when I went out to get it the next day it was all laid out on a tray for me to enjoy! She was also able to give me some excellent recommendations for places to eat my other meals, as well as connect me with a sightseeing tour of the island. I wasn't able to do the tour on this trip, but I'm already planning on going back in a few months and staying at Martin House again! I didn't have a single negative experience there, and I really appreciated Claire going above and beyond.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Claire Theriault, Innkeeper at Martin House Inn
Responded Dec 13, 2021
We so enjoyed meeting you and are very thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay! It's nice when we are able to surprise a guest with an upgrade. It's a much a treat for us as it is for you, I think. :-) We will look forward to seeing you again. Meantime, Merry Christmas and Happy, Healthy New Year to you.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$186 - $558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
martin house hotel nantucket
LOCATION
United StatesMassachusettsNantucket
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Martin House Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Martin House Inn?
Nearby attractions include Whaling Museum (0.2 miles), First Congregational Church (0.06 miles), and Oldest House (Jethro Coffin House) and Kitchen Garden (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Martin House Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a golf course.
What food & drink options are available at Martin House Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Martin House Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Juice Bar Homemade Ice Cream, Dune, and Oran Mor.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Martin House Inn?
Yes, guests have access to yoga classes during their stay.
Is Martin House Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Nantucket.
Are there any historical sites close to Martin House Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Oldest House (Jethro Coffin House) and Kitchen Garden (0.2 miles), Greater Light (0.4 miles), and Old Gaol (0.5 miles).