We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jared Coffin House

Save
Share
29 Broad St, Nantucket, MA 02554-6116
Lowest prices for your stay
$325
View Deal
Official Hotel
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Expedia.com$325
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (58)
Room & Suite (46)
Dining (9)

About

#10 of 12 hotels in Nantucket
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Main House of this historic hotel dates back to 1845 and was the home of an affluent whaling captain. Today, this historic hotel welcomes guests to the Main House and directly next door, to the Daniel Webster House. Guests will find modern amenities with the newly refurbished library/parlor--where complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning. All rooms are air-conditioned. Free Wi-Fi is available in the rooms and throughout the hotel. Guest rooms have been updated with stunning traditional-style furniture. With the hotel's superb location, just steps from boutiques and excellent restaurants, guests enjoy wandering the cobblestone streets or visiting the many nearby museums and beaches.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Restaurant
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Classic
299Reviews3Q+A64Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 123
  • 97
  • 41
  • 23
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
christina b wrote a review Sep 2020
Waterville, New York27 contributions4 helpful votes
Check in and check out was wonderful. Very helpful staff. Perks: beach chairs, towels, water and free parking. Room was perfect for us. Soft bed, quiet, VERY clean. COVID protocol was followed. Centrally located, everything in walking distance.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Curtis, General Manager at Jared Coffin House
Responded Sep 17, 2020
Dear christina b, Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back to the Jared Coffin House soon. Sincerely, Jason Curtis General Manager
Read more
Cathleen F wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
No privacy, bad service, unhelpful on every aspect. Most of the products put out for the free breakfast had expired dates. When I informed them about it the manager just shrugged her shoulders. Don't count on peace and quiet in your room anywhere (main house or Daniel Webster) at night, both buildings very old even after renovation. The walls are thin you can hear other rooms conversations, the doors are not insulated letting all noise coming from hallway in. As people come in at 1am, 2am, 3am and start leaving at 5am, 6am, 7am.....all we heard were doors opening, closing, footsteps in the hall, footsteps on the ceilings, water running from the adjoining rooms. This information is from three completely separate rooms in two different buildings. One of these rooms was the newest that was just built. It was an awful vacation at the Jared Coffin House and Daniel Webster building.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Curtis, General Manager at Jared Coffin House
Responded Aug 24, 2020
Dear 683cathleenf, Thank you for providing us with feedback regarding your recent stay. I was sorry to hear that you feel that your experience was below standard. We are always focused on providing the best possible guest experience and I will be addressing your concerns with our team. In regards to our breakfast, we did have to adapt to new regulations surrounding Covid-19 this season and our usually expanded offerings have been replaced by pre-packaged items for 2020. We plan to return to our freshly-baked muffins, bagels, coffee cake and other breakfast treats as soon as it is safe to do so. I do hope that you would give us another oportunity to show you the amazing service we provide should you return to Nantucket in the future. Sincerely, Jason Curtis General Manager
Read more
Boston dad wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
Compare to the White Elephant, the price was reasonable. We spent about $400 for a Saturday night, though, so it wasn't cheap. We were not in the main building, but in the house next door. Location is right smack in the middle of town, so that part is great. Wifi worked reasonably well, and the room was fine, though non-descript, and with only a single chair. Bathroom was fine, no complaints. But it was somewhat noisy. The plumbing was part of the problem, and we were on the first floor, which didn't help. Access to the building requires walking past some tables at the restaurant, so that's awkward. Breakfast was dismal. The gluten-free plain bagel was genuinely the worst bagel I've ever tried. I threw it away after one bite. The blueberry bagel, wrapped in plastic, was at least edible. They did have a few yogurts and apples and oranges, so it's better than nothing. While this would not be my first choice for another stay in Nantucket, it was certainly adequate.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Curtis, General Manager at Jared Coffin House
Responded Aug 24, 2020
Dear oldwormjhf, I appreciate you providing feedback on your most recent stay at the Jared Coffin House. While I am happy that you found our location to be a plus, I was disappointed to hear that you did not feel that the rest of your stay was up to our usual high standards. While we understand that you did experience some ambient noise issues during your stay, please note that this is an isolated plumbing issue and we have already rectified this problem. In regards to our breakfast, we did have to adapt to new regulations surrounding Covid-19 this season and our usually expanded offerings have been replaced by pre-packaged items for 2020. We plan to return to our freshly-baked muffins, bagels, coffee cake and other breakfast treats as soon as it is safe to do so. Sincerely, Jason Curtis General Manager
Read more
travel471982 wrote a review Jul 2020
Boston, Massachusetts48 contributions34 helpful votes
Whatever you do, if you stay here, do not spend extra money to stay in the corner room (room 401) - it’s paper thin walls, and a thin door to the neighboring room - cheap cheap cheap. The people who stayed next door came home drunk at midnight and after multiple calls to the front desk to ask them to keep it down, they were up and loud for more than three hours, slamming doors, talking, continuing to drink... The management didn’t do anything to address it except call and ask them to keep it down, which they promptly ignored. We thought we were staying at a reputable hotel, we were wrong!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Curtis, General Manager at Jared Coffin House
Responded Aug 24, 2020
Dear travel471982, Thank you for providing us with feedback on your recent stay. I would like to apologize for the noise issues you experienced during your time at the hotel, and for bringing this issue to our attention. I can assure you that we are looking into this issue further and will take the necessary steps to ensure that it does not happen again. We appreciate your business and we hope that you will consider returning to the Jared Coffin House in the future. I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you personally regarding your experience, should you wish to discuss your stay further. I can be reached at 508-638-5451. Sincerely, Jason Curtis General Manager
Read more
ozomer8 wrote a review Jul 2020
Boston, Massachusetts12 contributions3 helpful votes
Stayed there 4 people, 2 rooms one night 7/27/20 Sunday. We were all happy with our choice. Interior was very attractive. They provide transportation to the beach, as well as towels, umbrellas and beach chairs. They have a very good restaurant as well. Overall, very good location, clean and friendly service. Strongly recommend it!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Curtis, General Manager at Jared Coffin House
Responded Aug 24, 2020
Dear ozomer8, Thank you for your review and I am glad to hear that you had such a positive experience. We appreciate your business and hope to see you back at the Jared Coffin House soon. Sincerely, Jason Curtis General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$165 - $1,116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
jared coffin house hotel nantucket
LOCATION
United StatesMassachusettsNantucket
NUMBER OF ROOMS
43
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Jared Coffin House
Which popular attractions are close to Jared Coffin House?
Nearby attractions include Whaling Museum (0.1 miles), First Congregational Church (0.09 miles), and Aunt Leah's Fudge (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Jared Coffin House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and baggage storage.
What food & drink options are available at Jared Coffin House?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Jared Coffin House?
Yes, free public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Jared Coffin House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ships Inn Restaurant, The Juice Bar Homemade Ice Cream, and Dune.
Is Jared Coffin House located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Nantucket.
Are there any historical sites close to Jared Coffin House?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Oldest House (Jethro Coffin House) and Kitchen Garden (0.3 miles), Greater Light (0.3 miles), and Old Gaol (0.4 miles).