We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

University Lodge in Amherst

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
University Lodge in Amherst
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

50 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 49: English reviews
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an older hotel, but it was nice and clean, The staff was very friendly and very accommodating. We asked for 2nd floor because of the reviews that the floors were creaky if you stayed on first floor. We enjoyed our stay here, it was close to downtown and would stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Susan0113
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2016

Oh boy!. If you want to sleep, have a few glasses of wine before you hit the sack or get assurances that nobody is in the room above you. The accommodations are good - two beds, plenty of space to move around and sit, but, the floors in the room above us creaked and whined and made all sorts of... More 

Helpful?
Thank EastcoastTrio

Travelers are raving about these Amherst hotels

Hadley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2016

Check in was fine. This is very much the traditional, old time motel arrangement (units lead directly to the outside). It seemed to be a little "worn" but well kept. The location is superior - right in between the town of Amherst and UMass itself - walking distance to most everything. Parking was free and easy, room had a refrigerator... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Steven D
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
643 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2016 via mobile

Location was excellent. Room was fine for our needs. Breakfast Buffett, in all fairness, not a fan of this anywhere. Free parking- terrific. Wi-fi - free and we did not have a problem. Staff - very helpful and friendly. Price- outstanding. Overall, no complaints and at an excellent price.

Helpful?
Thank fiamma11
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2016

This is your basic, no frills motel. As long as you understand what to expect, you should be all set. I understood this when I booked it, so I am not complaining. But, I do want to give management feedback that being on the first floor can be annoying as we could easily hear the squeaks in the ceiling when... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank vrabel84
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2016

The University Lodge in Amherst was exactly what I read in reviews - clean but a little worn down. For me it did the trick!! The two beds were incredibly comfortable, everything was clean, there were plenty of towels, and the toiletries were great. The staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating. And you cannot get a better deal. Even though... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jillian E
Salem, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2015

Location is its best feature, close to UMass and an easy walk to downtown Amherst. Otherwise as others have noted, a bit run-down. I agree. Bathtub barely drains, not one chair to sit outside. But basically suitable for its price. I might stay again for one night, maybe two, to visit UMass because of its location.

Helpful?
1 Thank E1mb
Maylin C, Front Office Manager at University Lodge in Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you found our location suitable for your needs! We are working on updating our rooms and property to better fit our guests, so we always welcome recomendations and feedback to help us in the process! I hope you will come stay with us again! More 

Massapequa, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

This is an old, somewhat rundown, patched up and tired motel. The term "lodge" in the name is undeserved. We rented a room because we came to a last minute graduation ceremony at UMass Amherst and it was the "last room" in town. The location was the best part of the place. The pillows were flat and the mattress was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RogerMS
Maylin C, Front Office Manager at University Lodge in Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am sorry we did not meet your accomodation needs. I am very surprised you did not sleep well on our mattresses, as they are new Serta mattresses that are less than one year old. When we purchased them, we looked for something at a mid-level firmness, as every traveler has... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015 via mobile

If this is the last hotel room available in Amherst, stay in Springfield. Decor is from the 50s as well as the beds. Room was dirty, sheets were worn and carpet was frayed. Worst it was grad weekend so they gouged me 250 per night. If they would have charged a fair rate I still would not have been happy.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan B
Maylin C, Front Office Manager at University Lodge in Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am very sorry you were displeased with our property. I'm very surprised that you did not like out beds, as the mattress in all of our rooms are Serta mattresses that are less than one year old. I hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future, More 

Swansea, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

Stayed one night when visiting our daughter at UMASS. Couldn't be a better location... while I went for a run, my wife walked over to campus. Room was clean, though old. After reading about noise issues in other reviews, we asked to be placed in a quieter room and was given a 2nd floor room (facing E. Pleasant St). It... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank everyman50
Maylin C, Front Office Manager at University Lodge in Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the University Lodge! I'm glad you enjoyed it. Our location is our best selling point. The upper floor is nice and quiet, since it is the highest floor and there is no noise above you! I hope you'll stay with us the next time you visit your daughter! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
0.7 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
4.5 of 5 stars 416 reviews
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
2.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Hadley
Econo Lodge Hadley
#5 of 7 in Hadley
3.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
2.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about University Lodge in Amherst

Address: 345 North Pleasant Street, Amherst, MA 01002
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Price Range: $93 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — University Lodge in Amherst 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your University Lodge in Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Lodge In Amherst Hotel Amherst
University Hotel Amherst
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay