We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
30 Boltwood Ave, Amherst, MA 01002-2344
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
LordJefferyInn.com
$299
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
$254
Free cancellation until 12/08/22
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (84)
Room & Suite (23)
Dining (7)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Amherst
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.6
Value
4.2
Travelers' Choice
Located on Amherst College campus, the historic Inn is completely updated to offer modern amenities including wireless Internet and fitness center. Each room includes LCD HD TV & private baths. Local farm-to-table cuisine is featured at our full service 3 meal a day restaurant and bar, 30Boltwood. The library, rooftop terrace and exterior gardens offer unique settings for relaxing or socializing. Ample function space can accommodate 2 to 200. The Inn is dedicated to environmental sustainability.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Safe
Seating area
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
667Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 478
  • 111
  • 44
  • 17
  • 17
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
A Tripadvisor Member wrote a review Nov 6
I arrived late, but they held my room, and the front desk attendant was helpful and kind. I also left some items in the room by accident and they held them and had them ready for me. My room was huge!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Deborah Hermance, General Manager at Inn on Boltwood
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing the Inn for your recent trip, and for your gracious comments. We hope to see you back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
katewillem wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
Wonderful staff and environment. A calm and peaceful environment. 30Boltwood more like a small town bar where the staff knew the locals by name. Which I appreciated. My guest room was quiet, peaceful, and charming.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Deborah Hermance, General Manager at Inn on Boltwood
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing the Inn and for your review. We hope to see you back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A Tripadvisor Member wrote a review Oct 2022
My husband and I recently attended a wedding in Montague and decided to extend our visit to the area with 2 night stay at the Inn on Boltwood. The Inn is well-situated and has quaint common rooms and a nice outdoor patio with fit pits for relaxing. While the service was what you'd expect for the price tag, the hotel itself and room we stayed in were a bit outdated, especially for the rather high price. It would be nice if they could perhaps include breakfast. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but it did look nice. Rather we chose to venture out and had a nice dinner at nearby Osteria Vespa.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Deborah Hermance, General Manager at Inn on Boltwood
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing the Inn on your recent trip to the area. We have some great deals on the horizon - including breakfast! We hope to see you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Caroline H wrote a review Sep 2022
Campton, New Hampshire33 contributions5 helpful votes
This is a two part review: One for my actual stay at the Inn (including dining at 30 Boltwood), the other for my wedding. The Inn: What a charming place. If you're seeking a classy New England Inn, look no further. The building is gorgeous from the moment you walk in. There is a cozy, yet spacious, library with a fireplace, and welcoming staff. The gardens on the exterior of the building are gorgeous. The rooms are a bit pricey, but in my opinion you are paying for the amenities of the inn along with the actual cost of the room. We stayed in one of the Suites, and found it comfortable and large enough. Every morning, they have fresh pastries (and throughout the day), along with fresh fruit (apples/bananas) and snack/protein bars. Breakfast isn't included in your stay, but 30 Boltwood serves a delicious brunch and it is attached to the Inn. We were there on a weekend in the summer, and so we had the pleasure of visiting the farmer's market that takes place on Saturdays right across the street. The gym is awesome (for a hotel gym, especially one in an older inn), with nice treadmills and weights. Lastly, the staff are SO wonderful. The gentleman who was working at the front desk during our stay was so helpful. I wish I remembered his name, because several people at brunch after our wedding mentioned how nice and accommodating he was (especially when me and my friends got back from the bar in the early hours of the morning after my wedding searching for snacks...he found us some pastries). August 27, 2022 Wedding: My husband and I got married here last month. I had been searching for a venue that would allow me and my bridesmaids/wedding party/family to stay at a venue (i.e. an Inn or hotel) without having to travel. I must have searched and combed through 50 different venues before landing on the Inn on Boltwood. We visited a small handful previously, and were disappointed each time. However, as soon as we visited, I knew it was the place. The venue is gorgeous, with plenty of opportunities for beautiful photos. There was ample room for our guests and wedding party who wished to stay over (I think they have at least 40 rooms). Plus, the location is easy for others who have to travel out of town as there are a plethora of other hotels near by. Catherine (I believe she is one of the wedding coordinators or in sales) helped with all the planning and was outstanding - she is so kind and patient. They have a great vendor recommendation list, which is crucial when planning a wedding (see below for who we went with). Catherine was super helpful and ensured that we had the right spaces booked (i.e., hair and makeup in one of the meeting rooms). I was nervous about not hiring a wedding planner separately, but the venue (with the help of Catherine and Corey the banquet manager) executed the event flawlessly. Unfortunately, we didn't get to each much of our food on our actual wedding day. Catherine & Corey DID make sure that us and our wedding party had food and drink immediately after the ceremony and prior to taking photos. This was awesome because I've been in weddings where you miss out on the cocktail hour food/drink because you're stuck taking photos. I had a few of the passed appetizers and OMG they were just delicious. Catherine worked with the chef to help create some customized items on the menu for me, and everyone who had special food requests/allergies had their needs met. I loved that we could choose FOUR entrees, as well. Lastly, I found that the Inn's pricing of the wedding package was incredibly fair, and the final invoice did not have any "surprises" or "hidden fees." Vendors: Photography: Greg Moss Photography Hair & Makeup: Crystal Vasquez & Co. DJ: TC's Disc Jockey Flowers: Willow & Moss Dress: Persnickety Bride (CT) Cake: Greggorys Pastry **all of our vendors were spectacular and highly recommended!!)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Book early! They will fill up fast!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Deborah Hermance, General Manager at Inn on Boltwood
Responded Oct 7, 2022
Congratulations on your marriage. Thank you for sharing your special day with us and for your kind words. It was a pleasure to serve you and your guests. Hope to see you back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mc0m0 wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
This Inn charges too much for what they offer. My reservations were not fulfilled as the inn overbooked and I was not given what was I had initially reserved. A pull out sofa is not the same as a queen bed.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Deborah Hermance, General Manager at Inn on Boltwood
Responded Oct 7, 2022
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit. We apologize that we were not able to meet your specifically requested accommodation needs due to some unforeseen circumstances. While we were hoping the steps we took to improve your experience following your initial interaction were sufficient, it appears we fell short of meeting your expectations. We do hope that you will give us an opportunity to show you our traditional New England hospitality on a future date.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A Tripadvisor Member wrote a review Aug 2022
The Inn on Boltwood is one of the classiest places I have stayed in a long time. Everything about it is comfortable and nice. The employees are extremely knowledgeable (especially Steve) and the location can't be beat. I wish every hotel stay I had was like my experience at Boltwood.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Deborah Hermance, General Manager at Inn on Boltwood
Responded Oct 7, 2022
Thank you for choosing the Inn for your trip to Amherst, and for your kind words. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to see you back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A Tripadvisor Member wrote a review Aug 2022
We stayed here for one night on our way to northern Vermont. This historic hotel has unfortunately changed very little in the last 5o years, apart from the perspex dividers they seem to have erected during Covid and not bothered to remove yet. Not sure it's due to being overly cautious - more likely they just couldn't be bothered. Like they couldn't be bothered to offer any breakfast, or hot water for tea, or a mini fridge in the room, or shower gel!! Shower gel!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Deborah Hermance, General Manager at Inn on Boltwood
Responded Aug 19, 2022
Thank you for choosing the Inn and for your comments regarding your recent stay. The Inn was fully renovated in 2012. Our deepest apologies that you were not able to find something for breakfast among the array of complimentary offerings. The Inn will be reintroducing breakfast to our signature restaurant in September. Hot tea is available in the lobby each morning, and in your room with tea pods among the standard Keurig pod selections. Shower gel is standard in our amenity line, however the item was on temporary backorder, and extra bars of soap were supplemented in the interim. The clear dividers are a reflection of the recent Covid-19 Pandemic. They remain only in 2 select locations for the health and safety of our guests and associates. We remain cautious in specific areas and have received many appreciative comments. Lastly, refrigerators are available at no charge, upon request. The service team is available 24 hours a day to address any guest concerns. Wishing you safe travels to and from VT.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
L7619IQ wrote a review Jul 2022
Lakewood, Ohio58 contributions15 helpful votes
This 1920s inn is on a quiet New England town green. It has been nicely maintained and updated. There is parking right out front for drop-off, and an elevator for getting to the upper floor. We only had an overnight stay, so we didn't use the inn's amenities. Our upper floor room had vintage appeal, which was great. This is no hotel at an interchange.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Deborah Hermance, General Manager at Inn on Boltwood
Responded Aug 19, 2022
Thank you for choosing the Inn and for taking time to review. Your comments are much appreciated. We hope to see you back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
emilystone916 wrote a review Jul 2022
Gainesville, Florida1 contribution
My friend and I had a wonderful stay at the Inn on Boltwood! Staff was friendly, our room was so cute, and the restaurant was fantastic. The outside portion of the bar and restaurant is so great for casual drinks/apps, and has such a nice ambience. We will definitely return!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Deborah Hermance, General Manager at Inn on Boltwood
Responded Aug 19, 2022
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to provide a review. Wishing you safe travels, and hope to see you back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
chelosstgo wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Lovely place, well kept, near lots of places to eat within walking distance. Is not your average cookie cutter place. Plenty of area to relax and have a good time with family. Parking is a little odd but not an issue.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Deborah Hermance, General Manager at Inn on Boltwood
Responded Aug 19, 2022
Thank you for choosing the Inn for your recent trip. Hope to see you back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$233 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lord jeffery hotel amherst, lord jeffery inn amherst
LOCATION
United StatesMassachusettsHampshire CountyAmherst
NUMBER OF ROOMS
49
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

INN ON BOLTWOOD - Updated 2022 Prices & B&B Reviews (Amherst, MA)

Frequently Asked Questions about Inn on Boltwood
Which popular attractions are close to Inn on Boltwood?
Nearby attractions include Emily Dickinson Museum (0.3 miles), Amherst College Museum of Natural History (0.3 miles), and Amherst Cinema Arts Center (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Inn on Boltwood?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Inn on Boltwood?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Inn on Boltwood?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Inn on Boltwood?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Inn on Boltwood?
Conveniently located restaurants include Antonio's Pizza, Pita Pockets, and Johnny's Tavern.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Inn on Boltwood?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is Inn on Boltwood located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the center of Amherst.
Are any cleaning services offered at Inn on Boltwood?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Inn on Boltwood offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Inn on Boltwood?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Emily Dickinson Museum (0.3 miles).