We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Joan's Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Joan\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 32: English reviews
Antigua
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2015

A perfect place to stay. Fulfills all requirements travelers have. Located in a very secure area. Friendly staff, clean, hot showers, kitchen facility, free drinking water & coffee, cosy meeting area with a charming little garden! Bus stop 2 mins walk, plenty of cheap & delicious Comedores as well as a big Supermarket closed by. Ana, the owner, exceptional helpful... More 

Helpful?
Thank ggravino
Vancouver
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015

Joan’s Hostel was for me, an inexpensive basic room to stay, in a safe neighborhood when transitioning from one part of El Salvador to another. I stayed here twice when connecting with international buses that go to Nicaragua and Guatemala (PS used El Sol bus line and loved it). This hostel is in the university area so during the day... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank alphabetty2
Boquete, Panama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

Ana and the rest of the staff are ultra sweet. This hostel is located in a very safe part of San Salvador, and if you're worried about what to do, where to go, how to get anywhere, Ana will help. If you only speak English, no problem. Ana's completely fluent. If Ana's not there, the sweet, and majestically named Rigoberto... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank redhandrail
Le Tampon, Reunion Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

It was my first visit to San Salvador after reading so many scary things about the country, I was happy that I had choosen JO'Ans hostel... Good value for your money. You can use the kitchen, the supermarket is nearby and also many vendors. Anna and her staff made me be comfortable from the beginning. I planned to stay there... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marie C
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015 via mobile

We had a great time here, the beds are easily the comfiest in the whole of Central America and the showers are the best too (hot with pressure!!), the wifi works in the bedroom (luxury in my eyes!) Ana is so welcoming and friendly and patiently helped us a lot with planning our onward journey, thank you for everything! The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Wisbey89
Pori, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

I stayed at Joan's for three nights and I can higly recommend it to others. The hostel in very clean with nice rooms and common spaces. There's a kitchen where you can cook your own food but nice restaurants near by aswell. (And big supermarket few minutes walk away). I met the owner, Ana, and she is very welcoming, friendly... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank suska444
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for three days in this hostel and felt at home. It's actually in a house, and can be difficult to find because it's not written hostel anywhere. The location is perfect to go to the malls or anywhere in the new parts of the city, it's close to the bus stop. You have a lot of restaurants around.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ben_RC2013
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I read great reviews for JoAn's before we booked, but honestly I was a bit disappointed. First, we had a really difficult time finding the place, especially since there is no sign anywhere on the outside indicating it was JoAn's. We also did not have a great service. Whoever was working the desk was not helpful or readily available. Though... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jaeriko
analuisa67, Owner at Joan's Hostel, responded to this review

I am really sorry you didn´t find our accomodations to your standards...I would like to explain to you that we decided not to put a sign outside the hostel for your own safety; you are more free to get in and out without people knowing it is a hostel.... When you contact us directly or we receive a reservation, I... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

After a very long bus ride from Nicaragua, we had booked to stay at JoAn's due to the location being near the Zona Rosa area. I had actually booked the wrong night on the hostel website and after I had received a prompt welcome email from Ana I noticed this and requested the change of date which she accomodated straight... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mitz_85
analuisa67, Owner at Joan's Hostel, responded to this review

thank you so much for your comments! we are here to help and to service you! ana More 

NYC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

I really wanted to give a 4 or 5 to this place after I left my passport and they were very helpful in getting it back to me. But ultimately I was not totally satisfied with the hostel largely due to the price. On my first night I paid$13 for a perfectly average dorm that usually should cost $8-10 in... More 

Helpful?
Thank ross w
analuisa67, Owner at Joan's Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Ross, Thank you so much for your comments! we take serious what you have to say about us...and we try to fix what needs to be better. We are all the time trying to keep the hostel clean and service you the best way possible. I am sorry about the misunderstanding it could have happened while your girlfriend came... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Salvador hotels
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn San Salvador
Holiday Inn San Salvador
#11 of 53 in San Salvador
4.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
2.6 mi away
Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall
0.3 mi away
Arbol de Fuego Eco-Hotel
Arbol de Fuego Eco-Hotel
#14 of 53 in San Salvador
4.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Courtyard San Salvador
Courtyard San Salvador
#4 of 53 in San Salvador
4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Las Magnolias
Hotel Las Magnolias
#9 of 53 in San Salvador
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Armonia Hostal
Hotel Armonia Hostal
#17 of 53 in San Salvador
4.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Joan's Hostel

Address: Calle del Mediterraneo 12 | Colonia Jardines de Guadalupe, San Salvador, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Price Range: $15 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Joan's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joan's Hostel El Salvador/San Salvador
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay