We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

InterContinental Bucharest

Bulevardul Balcescu Nicolae 4, Bucharest 010051 Romania
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
SAVE $42
Reserve now, pay at stay
View deal
SAVE $41
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1425)
Panoramas (30)
Room & Suite (575)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 11/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from InterContinental Bucharest
Updated 11/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#14 of 206 hotels in Bucharest
Travelers' Choice
Towering above the city skyline, InterContinental Bucharest is one of the city's favourite international high-rise hotels, a distinction owed to its ideal location, fine appointments and impeccable service. Experience the Club InterContinental Lounge on the 21st floor of the hotel for a memorable stay in a relaxing, private and elegant setting designed to fulfil the expectations of the business travellers. Immerse yourself in the beautifully designed pool, with panoramic city vistas on the 22nd floor. Dine at Corso Brasserie, offering a contemporary Romanian menu and glass walls overlooking Bucharest. For a fine dining experience, try Modigliani, one of the top Italian restaurants in Bucharest. The Old City Center, the Romanian Athenaeum Concert Hall and Cismigiu Gardens are just a few minutes away from the hotel. You’re also within walking distance of Bucharest’s business and shopping districts. Start your Bucharest's itinerary with the amazing city view from your room balcony!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Car hire
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Steam room
Rooftop terrace
Butler service
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Room service
VIP room facilities
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Great View
Languages Spoken


Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
124Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
57Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1808Reviews28Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,032
  • 578
  • 145
  • 32
  • 21
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
ffay005 wrote a review Jun 8
Helsinki, Finland166 contributions145 helpful votes
The Intercontinental is a landmark. You’ll see it from far away, and staying here, you’re in the middle of it all, a short walk from the old town. It’s a huge concrete behemoth, and old school luxury hotel, which has been kept in good condition although the interior might give you the feel that you have time-travelled back a few decades. In the evening, my ride from the airport took 25 minutes and during the morning rush hour the ride back was about 35 minutes. There is a 24/7 currency exchange office (OK Exchange House) only a minute away, with average rates and reliable service, and the kiosks next door sell drinks and snacks 24/7. I received a friendly welcome by Sebastian, who checked me in quickly and briefed me on what the hotel was offering at the moment. Sadly, the pool area was closed due to covid, as was the Italian restaurant, but the Corso Brasserie served a limited menu every day until 10 pm and room service was available 24/7. My room was clean and reasonably large, but not huge. It was decorated in classical Eastern European style, and while it definitely felt more classical than modern, everything was in good working order and the room did not show wear and tear. From the 11th floor, I had a great view of Piața Universității. The balcony, while great, was not furnished. There was a 500 ML bottle of water, replenished daily, as well as a safe, a minibar and good airconditioning. The bed consisted of two single beds pushed together, which is always a bit inconvenient, and it was a bit too soft to my liking. The desk was large enough for working. There was also a sitting area with two comfortable armchairs and a coffee table. Daily housekeeping was available on request during covid, so when I went out, I called the front desk and they arranged the room to be cleaned while I was out. The bathroom was not very big. It came with a combined bathtub and shower. The tub filled quickly. The wall-mounted as well as the handheld shower both had good water pressure and ample hot water. L’Occitane en Provence amenities were provided in minibottles, which I like, as this is more hygienic than the large containers some hotels place on the walls. A bathrobe and slippers were provided. The internet connection was somewhat unreliable. Usually, it worked fast, but at times, it turned superslow or didn’t work at all, so you had to change between networks. It didn’t bother me too much, but would be inconvenient for conference calls, for instance. Breakfast was served in the Corso Brasserie from 7 to 11. It was a self-service buffet. While the hot chocolate from the coffee machine was simply awful and watered down, the spread was otherwise okay. Not extraordinary, but it got you a good start of the day. Omelettes and eggs were provided on request. Other than that, there were a few basic hot items as well as fresh fruit and vegetables, yoghurt, cereals, cold cuts, cheeses and breads etc. I had both lunch and dinner at the Corso Brasserie. The menu felt limited, which is probably due to covid, as there were not many customers. However, it included classical items such as pizza, hamburgers, sandwiches etc as well as salads, soups and main courses and a few desserts. The food was expensive by local standards but comparing to Western Europe, the prices were okay. Service was genuine and friendly, and each time, the food arrived quickly. The vegetable soup was excellent, and the local amandine cake, too! What I don’t really understand is why they need to vacuum clean the restaurant during lunch hour, obviously this is an inconvenience and should be done when the place is closed. The same menu is available for room service. I ordered room service a few times, and it was quickly delivered. One of the best club sandwiches I’ve had! The hotel does, in my opinion, fill all five-star criteria, although perhaps at the lower end of the spectrum. The prices are very moderate, I paid 77 EUR / night, so I would consider it good value for money. I was happy with my stay, and since I liked Bucharest a lot, I will most likely come again, both to Bucharest and to the Intercontinental.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Sleep Quality
Response from Marius Costescu, Owner at InterContinental Bucharest
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your excellent review and for taking the time to share your experience with us and with the TripAdvisor Community. My team and I are very happy to hear that you really appreciated our central location in the middle of everywhere and also the spacious and comfortable rooms that can offer amazing views over the city. Thank you once again for recommending our excellent breakfast that can offer healthy and fresh assortments of food. Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in InterContinental Bucharest! Warm regards, Marius Costescu Director of Operations
Read more
Ciprian D wrote a review Jun 4
Brasov, Romania57 contributions13 helpful votes
I have recently returned to the Intercontinental for a 4-nights stay. Well, I was delighted. Everything is perfect. As an IHG Platinum Elite member & Intercontinental Ambassador, I was treated with a nice upgrade towards a Suite. Very comfortable, great bed, with a spacious balcony that offer a magnificent view of Bucharest. The buffet breakfast if back! With a rich variety of food and beverages. The Benedict-style Eggs are very tasty. I can only recommend the hotel as one of the best in Bucharest. Special thanks to Ms. Melania K., who arranged a perfect stay for me. Will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Sleep Quality
Response from Marius Costescu, Owner at InterContinental Bucharest
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, As an IHG® Rewards Club Member, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and with the TripAdvisor Community and for considering InterContinental Bucharest a great hotel with a helpful staff. My team and I are happy to see that you enjoyed a pleasant stay at our hotel and you appreciated the clean and comfortable room and the quality of the services offered by our staff. It’s lovely to hear that you appreciated also our excellent breakfast. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to InterContinental Bucharest. Kind regards, Marius Costescu Director of Operations
Read more
Simon T wrote a review May 2021
Essex, United Kingdom9 contributions7 helpful votes
we have stayed in many Intercontinental Hotels around the world, and are Gold Club members, so when deciding to visit Bucharest - this hotel was the natural choice. Booked a stay & paid in full. Sadly, the trip could not go ahead due to the Pandemic. Hotel agreed to give a refund, but could we wait a month or 2 due to the cashflow. Of course I was sympathetic and allowed 5 months before chasing up, to be told, we will refund next week. This has been going on and on and keep being promised email updates which do not arrive. Keep getting fobbed off on the phone, and promises made by central reservations, This has gone on for another 3 months. If this is how regulars (Gold club members) are treated then it is a pretty poor show
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Room Tip: Poor Customer service
See more room tips
Response from Marius Costescu, Owner at InterContinental Bucharest
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, First of all I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your loyalty as an IHG® Rewards Club Member and for taking the time to complete this review and to share your feedback with us. It came to my attention from your review that you were confronted with some unpleasant issues. In this respect, I would like to inform you that we took the incident very seriously and we had an internal investigation regarding the matters you have described to us. I thank you once again for your feedback and please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience and disappointment caused. My team and I really do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on another occasion so that we may restore your faith in our hospitality and services. Sincerely yours, Marius Costescu Director of Operations
Read more
KY L wrote a review Jan 2021
New York City, New York280 contributions81 helpful votes
This was my first ever Romania trip and I picked the Intercontinental brand. My room was in a classic style, which wasn't my preference (which would be contemporary) but the room was nice and clean which was important. The best experience was the view from the room and the hotel area given the height of the building. I would keep this hotel in my shortlist for my next Bucharest trip.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
2 Helpful votes
Response from Marius Costescu, Owner at InterContinental Bucharest
Responded Jan 31, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us in Bucharest and for taking the time to share your experience at InterContinental Bucharest with the TripAdvisor Community. My team and I are very happy to hear that you really appreciated our central location and also the elegant and spacious rooms with the amazing views of the city. Once again, thank you for recommending our hotel and I do hope that we can welcome you back for another memorable stay. Kind regards, Marius Costescu Director of Operations
Read more
gptraveller2011 wrote a review Dec 2020
Southeast Romania, Romania2 contributions1 helpful vote
From a tourist point of view, Intercontinental is the best choice when vising Bucharest: the most central location, direct connection with the public transportation, and to the airport express bus 783, and close to all interesting places in Old Town. Moreover, the quality standards are kept at a high level and no one can be disappointed while staying here. The views of the city from higher floors are so nice to admire from a large balcony (the only one hotel of this luxury level in the central area that has balconies). Yes, the hotel is almost half a century old, but the rooms are renovated and they still have that touch of luxury at a very affordable price. The breakfast is, due to covid restrictions, a la carte, but with a good variety and quality. I recommend to pay a little more for a Club room, and to have also a minibar included - replenished daily with soft drinks, water, wines and hard liquor, and a daily allowance for any other expenses. The teams in all areas of the hotel are very eager to help and accommodate all the needs, while working hard to cope with all the challenges of the present situation. They deserve a kind appreciation for all this efforts.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Room Tip: High floor Club rooms are the best value for money
See more room tips
Response from Marius Costescu, Owner at InterContinental Bucharest
Responded Jan 3, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at InterContinental Bucharest with us and with the TripAdvisor Community. I am pleased to read that you appreciated our central location, the attitude of the members of the team and the clean and comfortable rooms. It is rewarding to know that you had a nice experience while in our care. We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to InterContinental Bucharest! Kind regards, Marius Costescu Director of Operations
Read more
$92 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
intercontinental bucharest hotel bucharest, bucharest intercontinental
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about InterContinental Bucharest
Which popular attractions are close to InterContinental Bucharest?
Nearby attractions include TROLL Escape Rooms (0.07 miles), Biserica Kretzulescu (0.3 miles), and Trapped (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at InterContinental Bucharest?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at InterContinental Bucharest?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at InterContinental Bucharest?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to InterContinental Bucharest?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kane, Stadio, and Bellini.
Are there opportunities to exercise at InterContinental Bucharest?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does InterContinental Bucharest have an airport shuttle?
Yes, InterContinental Bucharest offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is InterContinental Bucharest located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Bucharest.
Are any cleaning services offered at InterContinental Bucharest?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does InterContinental Bucharest offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to InterContinental Bucharest?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Stavropoleos Monastery (0.4 miles), Piața Revoluției (0.3 miles), and National Theatre Ion Luca Caragiale (Teatrul Național Ion Luca Caragiale) (0.5 miles).