We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Friends Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Friends Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

95 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 74: English reviews
Start your review of Friends Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed November 23, 2016

I'm John from the USA, I was just here.and I loved it here. Very very nice hostel. i enjoyed my stay here,Felt like home, Made great friends. I will miss you all. Very clean, and very helpful to make my stay wonderful. Love you all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John R
Vera D, Owner at Friends Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you, John! We love you too. :)

Reviewed September 19, 2016 via mobile

Friends Hostel is located only a few minutes walking from Gara de Nord, so it's in a bit of a sketchy area, but the place is still great. It was really easy to meet people there, and it has a very homey vibe. Like it is not perfect, but there's just something about the place that makes you want to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emilie C
Vera D, Owner at Friends Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you!

Katowice, Poland
Reviewed August 20, 2016 via mobile

Friends hostel is like any other hostel. Nothing really special, but everything what you basically need. Unfortunately the thing I don't really like it's its location. Despite based 10minut walking distance from the railway station the neighbourhood is really danger (full of hookers and other people you can be afraid). There is a bus 123 and 133, which takes you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Przemysław Z
Vera D, Manager at Friends Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our place and for giving me the chance to offer more information about the subject of our neighborhood! Yes, there are some prostitutes sometimes, farther on the street, but they (or their friends) never harmed or forced anyone with anything. :) However, it's not necessary to walk the street in their direction for going to the...

Reviewed July 23, 2016

We chose this hostel because it's cheap. That's it. I didn't have high expectations. The internet connection was good was really good and that was a nice surprise. But the hostel was a little bit dirty, especially the toilet and the bathroom and really noisy. I understand that when there are a lot of people in a hostel there would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maria A
Vera D, Manager at Friends Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback, we took care of the issues you mentioned. The respective receptionist was an isolate case. The cleaning could be sometime hard to maintain, but we're always trying our best, as most of the reviews are saying. As for the location - it is In the center, in a historical area, just not in the pedestrian...

Sonthofen, Germany
Reviewed June 30, 2016

Great Place! Clean, cosy and very comfortable. sad i had only time for one night. Beside rooms Friends Hostel offers a reception, a well equipped and organized kitchen, a common roum (both in the basement, so quite cool when usual 40degrees outside) yard with chairs outside and a cosy and big attick (but i didnt use, very hot under the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Petzold
Vera D, Owner at Friends Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your thoughts! We hope next time you have more time and you check-out the back-yard garden also - during summer it's a better option than the lounge in the attic (although there is air-con, in case we want to get together there) :)

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed June 22, 2016

I only stayed at Friends Hostel for one night, arriving pretty late and leaving early but it was a good stay. It is extremely convenient if you are coming from the train station. The rooms were clean and the guy that worked at the front desk was very friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole T
Vera D, Manager at Friends Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks a lot! We hope to see you again!

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 3, 2016 via mobile

We paid 5 nights in this hostel but only stayed 1. We were put in the first dorm next to the reception and the main entrance. We were not given a key for any door as everything is open all the time, even the dorm rooms. The locker is very small to fit all your valuables in so your belongings...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Braddybaer
Vera D, Owner at Friends Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guests, first of all, I am very sorry for any inconvenience you may have had during your stay in our hostel. Our hostel is quite small and compact and indeed the ground floor has the main entrance leading to the reception, which is like a hub for other 3 rooms. This is rather appreciated by guests, since it's very...

Reviewed April 18, 2016

The staff here are terrific and love chatting with you about your travel experiences and to give you recommendations. I got extremely ill my second day in Romania, and thankfully this hostel was clam and quiet which allowed me to rest up and get better. It is not in the best location, as a walk to the city center will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chasthetraveller
Vera D, Owner at Friends Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your thoughts! Just to add this - we are a 20 to 30min walk to the old town area, but we are also in a central area of the city and only 7 minutes walk to Gara de Nord - the main train station and airport bus station.

Baia Mare, Romania
Reviewed February 5, 2016 via mobile

The hotel is very clean and people are much friendly.It's an unforgettable experience for young people but for people who like fun. I srayed there 3 days and I was very pleased the conditions in which we stayed. The room was very clean , the kitchen was clean and there you can cook anytime.Receptionists are very nice and help with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andreka S
Vera D, Manager at Friends Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you! <3

Reviewed December 29, 2015 via mobile

Friends hostel really easy to be reached. Literally less than 10 minutes from Gara De Nord and I didn't get lost at all. The staffs are very helpfull, close to main attraction, and good atmosphere. I enjoy my stay in Friends Hostel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Endang A
Vera D, Owner at Friends Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you!

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.5 mi away
Hello Hotel
Hello Hotel
#38 of 171 in Bucharest
388 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#1 of 171 in Bucharest
1,064 reviews
1.4 mi away
Little Bucharest Old Town Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Antique Hostel
Antique Hostel
#3 of 131 in Bucharest
258 reviews
1.8 mi away
X Hostel Bucharest
X Hostel Bucharest
#10 of 131 in Bucharest
201 reviews
1.0 mi away
Umbrella Hostel
Umbrella Hostel
#1 of 131 in Bucharest
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With a 24hr reception, centrally located and only a 7 minute walk from Gara de Nord train station, we at Friends Hostel are here to ensure that you get the most out of our lovely city. We make it our mission to provide our guest with the all the tools necessary to discover the hidden gem that is our home, with free maps, directions and insightful advice on anything and everything Bucharest and Romania. As we are located close to the student area and provide some of the best rates in town, keeping to that all important budget should be easy as you discover the nearby cheap bars (€1.20 Beers), restaurants (€2.20 Lunch menu with traditional food), clubs and the city's coolest attractions all within walking distance. Come see and feel the charm of our friendly house, recently renovated to ensure you feel right at home. Chill in our lounge and interact with other travelers, play games or even put a movie on the cinema projector and relax. We also boast a spacious kitchen with everything you need to whip up something delicious, hot showers, free WIFI, towels, air-conditioned rooms, computers, lockers in the rooms, coffee and tea all day. Please note, very important: *Payment accepted in cash & local currency (lei= ron =Romanian currency) *check-in 1:00 p.M. *Check-out 11:00 a.M ... more   less 

Additional Information about Friends Hostel

Address: Mircea Vulcanescu 114 | Corp A, Bucharest 10818, Romania
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Price Range: $11 - $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Friends Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Friends Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Very good hostel”
 of 5 bubbles johnrE2624OG, Nov 23, 2016 | Read review
“It's a very noisy hostel”
 of 5 bubbles , Jul 23, 2016 | Read review
“I've stayed in a shared room in the first floor, next to the reception. It was a comfortable dorm, with 8 bunk beds and a lot of space.”
 of 5 bubbles PatyTAS, Jul 10, 2014 | Read review
“There are three rooms to choose. These on left side have windows on a street, so can be a bit louder. Do wyboru są trzy pokoje. Dwa po lewej mają okna wychodzące na ulicę, więc może być nieco głośniej.”
 of 5 bubbles vulpes11, Apr 14, 2014 | Read review
“Take the six-bed dorm. That's the most spacey.”
 of 5 bubbles Lemjur, Mar 10, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question