We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Gloria Palace - Holiday Village Diplomat

Save
Share
bul.Nikola Petkov 51 Gorna Bania, Sofia 1619 Bulgaria
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (24)
Room & Suite (9)
Pool & Beach (2)

About

#99 of 152 hotels in Sofia
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The hotel "Gloria Palace" is perfectly located overlooking Vitosha Mountain. It offers not only peace and quiet, but ensures quick access to the city as it is only 15-20 minute drive to the centre. Both the holiday village and the hotel are part of Gloria Palace Diplomatic Club and its park of 2.5 ha. The hotel has 6 rooms and 2 suites and the holiday village has got 10 villas, each one with own patio. The interior design of the rooms offers unique comfort and coziness. The decoration, furniture and service meet the needs of the guests and guarantee a pleasant and comfortable stay. Our guests will enjoy a perfect holiday in the best way possible in "Gloria Palace", spending time in the park, restaurants and cafes, or by the pool, refreshing in the gym, relaxing with a massage, playing tennis and paddle and so forth. Furthermore, we offer and organise conferences and other events, such as wedding parties, baptism and christening reception parties and many others. Each villa has two floors. On the first floor there is a living room with TV, mini bar and a bathroom with a shower cabin. The second floor of the villa has two bedrooms with an option for double or single beds, and a bathroom. Each villa is equipped with air conditioning system for cooling and heating. In addition to the atmosphere, the villas have own patios. There is an Internet connection available in the whole area of Diplomatic club "Gloria Palace".
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Special diet menus
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Minibar
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Bulgarian
34Reviews1Q+A4Room tips

Reviews

Earn 100 points towards your next badge level for every review you write
Traveler rating
  • 8
  • 10
  • 6
  • 3
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
grann wrote a review Apr 2019
Sofia, Bulgaria2 contributions
Firstly, I haven't stayed at this hotel - and there's a reason for that. I arrived early evening with my young daughter on foot, after parking up outside - we got to the gate and an exceptionally rude security guard basically wouldn't let us in: "Gloria Palace?" "NO", "i'm' pretty sure it is" "NO" etc. So we never got to reception even. I'm with my young family, i'm not in the mood to argue with someone that the hotel seems to position as the first person you meet ... so i just went elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Shira S wrote a review Jul 2017
Vancouver, Canada181 contributions31 helpful votes
I booked this hotel specifically because of the pool as both myself and my daughter are crazy about pools and water activity. It is not in the centre of town so you need to take a very efficient bus in and out which was not really an issue for us.. We were given a huge space with a living room, bedroom and huge bathroom. The sides of the bath tub were falling apart but we just chuckled as this didn't really affect us. We still got good use out of it. Anyway, my big beef about this place is when my daughter and I went to the pool the first day to go for a dip. We were approached by this lifeguard/guardian/money-collecting lady who asked if we were hotel guests. I assumed that non guests had to pay, but then she asked for 10 leva. I argued with her saying it was included in the price and was on the website so then her manager came and told me that the hotel was managed separately and guests had to pay for the pool. I did not have enough Bulgarian money with me having spent most of it on a taxi that ripped us off, was hot and in desperate need to cool off in the pool and begged him to give us a break that the false advertising was not our fault. He would not relent, so then I got really mad and pointed out an area which had broken, sharp lose tiles on the patio. I picked up one of these tiles and dropped it, breaking it more saying, "You call this professional?!? Someone could trip on these and have a bad accident!" He thanked me for pointing out the work that was needed but also warned me not to break things or I would have to pay for them then told me that today we could enjoy the pool for free. Of course a bunch of local Bulgarian tourists were looking at me and I was a bit embarrassed for making this scene, but at least I made my point. They really need to get their act together about this misleading advertising and understand that if they keep charging hotel guests this will not improve their reputation. I also want to mention that the fee is only 10 leva to enter the magnificent spa pools at Separeva Banya which is about an hours drive out of Sofia!!! So this price is scandalous if you compare it to the entrance price of other pools that are 20 times better than this one. There is another enormous pool complex on the outskirts of Sofia (Diana pool) where professional divers go to practice, and the entrance fee there is also 10 leva. So my message to Hotel Gloria Palace Diplomat is to CANCEL YOUR RIDICULOUS POOL FEE FOR HOTEL GUESTS!!!! Work it out between yourselves and at least make your guests happy!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Get s room with an enclosed bathtub and shower
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
satell1te wrote a review Jul 2017
Leicester, United Kingdom35 contributions46 helpful votes
This place is an absolute disgrace. Almost everything it says is included is charged for. Situated in the middle of a run down dirty, industrial area - miles from anywhere. The room was filthy when we arrived - other that clean sheets I don't think they had bothered to clean it, feet were black after walking on the floor for a few minutes, and made horrendously worse by the used condom we found in the bedside draw. So much so that my 13 yr old Son refused to sleep in the room and decided instead he would be sleeping on the sofa. We decided to go to the pool area, and first thing we noticed were breasts everywhere. I'm no prude but my poor Son didn't known where to look. Worse cause there are kids everywhere! So anyway, after putting our bags down on a side table (as we were told all of the sunbeds were reserved) we went for a dip into the pool. Next thing is we are called over and being told by the dolly bird "life-guard/debt collector that we have to PAY to go in the pool. 10 Lev per person per day (just work that out if you've booked for 2 weeks). She got her manager who said that the pool and restaurant are not owned by the hotel so cost more to use. I argued about it as I had already paid for this hotel months ago and bookings.com advertised and sold it under the pretense of it having the pool and gym included. BTW- NO GYM here at all. which really annoyed my Son as that was one reason we booked here!!!! Eventually after playing hell I'm told our room cost includes the pool use, but by then everyone is staring at us and we felt VERY uncomfortable. There is also NO free breakfast despite it stating that there was. We had taken a bottle of water and a carton of OJ with us down to the pool and were then told you are not allowed to have anything here you have not bought from their OVER-PRICED bar. The restaurant is also over priced compared to the previous hotel we stayed in last week and the choice of food is pants. They hype the prices as you have no option but to eat here, starve, or get a taxi into the City. The final moan is the waiting staff's implicit assumption that whenever the bill is given whatever you put in the wallet over and above the actual (over) priced bill, even if you have no change, is theirs. Be it the equivalent of a £1-00 to what equated to £9-00 one evening! Felt like I had been robbed blind! Gloria Palace?? I think not. More like the Gloria rip off, P taking, disgusting hell hole. I will NEVER go there again. DO NOT STAY HERE!!  The ONLY positives were the pretty gardens, but had we dared to walk around them I'm sure we would have been charged extra for that too!!!! Not worth the stress, the hassle or the money! 
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
BaiIvan wrote a review May 2017
Sofia, Bulgaria954 contributions59 helpful votes
Attended a wedding here. The garden restaurant was pathetic, the food was tasteless and of cheap quality, the restrooms were disgusting. The whole place looked in bad shape, including the pool with its dirty water and dead leaves and the surroundings. Some Hillbillies and mobsters at the far end of the restaurant didn't make matters better. A pity for the wasted potential of a tranquil, secluded location, but still not far from the city center. We didn't stay at the hotel and I wouldn't dare.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Ina B, Owner at Hotel Gloria Palace - Holiday Village Diplomat
Responded May 3, 2017
Dear Ivan, We are really sorry that you had such an unpleasant experience. Could you please let us know when was this wedding reception because we had changes in the management of the restaurant so that we can try to fix the problems that you've displayed. Thank you in advance With regards, Ina Bozhinova
Read more
Nathanananan wrote a review Apr 2017
Tring, United Kingdom13 contributions3 helpful votes
Gloria Palace is a somewhat tired hotel in an industrial area that is rather less pleasant and rural than its pictures suggest. The staff were delightful, made us very welcome and were extremely helpful. We were given a 2 bedroom house rather than a room which was nice but had a strong smell of smoking in all areas which was horrid. The spiral staircase was broken away from the wall and was probably dangerous. Beds were twin but very comfortable. Sofia has a large number of stray dogs and these communicate loudly with each other ALL NIGHT so sleep was limited. The restaurant in the hotel was fantastic, great staff and stunning food. The pool was not in use and was full of black water. Overal it was slightly disappointing but I have to accept that we paid peanuts and it was great value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$37 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday village diplomat sofia
LOCATION
BulgariaSofia RegionSofia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Gloria Palace - Holiday Village Diplomat
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Gloria Palace - Holiday Village Diplomat?
Nearby attractions include Teorema Rooms (4.7 miles), Tempus Vini Wine Point (3.8 miles), and Escapeway.Bg (3.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Gloria Palace - Holiday Village Diplomat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Gloria Palace - Holiday Village Diplomat?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Gloria Palace - Holiday Village Diplomat?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Gloria Palace - Holiday Village Diplomat?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tables, Tenebris, and SKAPTO-ISKAR 11A.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Gloria Palace - Holiday Village Diplomat?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Gloria Palace - Holiday Village Diplomat?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Gloria Palace - Holiday Village Diplomat?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Gloria Palace - Holiday Village Diplomat offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Gloria Palace - Holiday Village Diplomat?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Bulgarian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Gloria Palace - Holiday Village Diplomat?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Catedral de Sveta-Nedelya (4.0 miles), The Rotunda Church of St George (4.2 miles), and Amphitheatre of Serdica (4.4 miles).