We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Best Western River Cities

Travelocity$105*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Best Western River Cities
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

179 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 179: English reviews
Start your review of Best Western River Cities
 Click to rate
Olympia, Washington
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Scott, the Front desk person was so warm and welcoming. Rooms very clean and roomy, nice towels and very comfy bed! Great find on the road especially after a 10 hour drive for a very good price. Stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
MParlin228, General Manager at Best Western River Cities, responded to this review

I'm so pleased that we were able to make your stay here a great one. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Scott. He is a wonderful person. I'm glad you were able to rest after such a long drive. Hope to see you here at Best Western River Cities soon.

Beaumont, Texas
HOTEL’S FAVORITE REVIEW
Reviewed March 14, 2017

This hotel has the best cost/ value ratio in Ashland. Booked through my company's travel agent for additional savings. Rooms are comfortable, include a sleeper sofa and recliner, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker. Has a small but adequate exercise room (elliptical, treadmill, weight machine), and a small business center with printer so that you can print boarding passes. Offers full breakfast,...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Randy3385
About Hotel's Favorite Review
MParlin228, General Manager at Best Western River Cities, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us here at Best Western River Cities. I appreciate all of your feedback. We will be installing new road signs before the end of the year that will make us even more visible to guests. I hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff was extremely accommodating and the room was clean. Loved the recliner in the room which was great for resting. The only problem was that the internet connection kept dropping my phone. Loved the industrial look of the old steel mill across the street! It made for some great photo ops.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mickey R
MParlin228, General Manager at Best Western River Cities, responded to this review

I'm so pleased that your stay with us was a great one. I will be sure to pass on your kind words. I have contacted our internet provider and they have made a work order to come and check out what the problem may be. I know that next time you stay with us you won't have this same problem.

New York
Reviewed April 20, 2017

The best part of the hotel is the staff. Jim, who checked greeted us, the breakfast staff, folks that answered the telephone and the gentleman working the desk in the morning were all upbeat and professional. Sadly, the hotel is pretty low budget and unappealing. The bed linens, towels and toilet were clean, but I noticed dirt in corners and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan O
MParlin228, General Manager at Best Western River Cities, responded to this review

Dear Susan O, Thank you for taking the time to fill out the survey about your recent stay with us. I am so sorry that your stay with us didn't live up to your standards. I appreciate you letting me know where it fell short so that I may address it immediately so that neither you nor any other guest...

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed April 17, 2017

The location was perfect for where we had to go. There were plenty of places in the area to eat, see a movie etc. Check in was quick & easy. I traveled with my handicap grandmother so I requested a room close to the front door. They accommodated us with no problem. The room was decent. 2 queens, flat screen,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank raybachman74
MParlin228, General Manager at Best Western River Cities, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill out the survey about your stay here. I so please that our staff was able to make your stay a pleasant one. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to them. I would also like to thank you for bringing to my attention the dust you found in your...

Hollywood
Reviewed April 14, 2017

A room is a room and its the little things that make a great stay and this little gem was a great stay. The staff is friendly and caring, the breakfast was fresh and hot each day and yes it was clean and neat. I appreciated the staff saying hello or how's your day each day. Rates were good for...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stan F
MParlin228, General Manager at Best Western River Cities, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill out the review for Best Western River Cities. I'm so pleased that our staff was able to make your stay a great one and I will be sure to pass on your kind words. It's always wonderful to hear that they helped make your stay live up to your standards. If there...

Norton Shores, Michigan
Reviewed February 27, 2017

I always stay here. Best hotel breakfast going. Good location for Ashland/Ironton/Russell area. Clean rooms and recently remodeled. Plenty of restaurants and shopping around. Just a slam dunk of a stay.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Don W
MParlin228, General Manager at Best Western River Cities, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come...

Richmond, United States
Reviewed February 24, 2017

nice hotel in area where not much to select from. happy to stay there, as working overnight in area. clean, quiet, helpful staff. near restaurants, shopping. good internet service, especially for area.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank H5423NJbarbarah
MParlin228, General Manager at Best Western River Cities, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding you recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come...

Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewed February 19, 2017

Room was very clean and comfortable. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Will stay again when in the area. Excellent value. I travel a lot for business and was very pleasantly surprised at how comfortable the bed was.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank j11smith
MParlin228, General Manager at Best Western River Cities, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come...

Tarpon Springs, Florida
Reviewed February 17, 2017

I selected Best Western due to its proximity to my work site, but have cancelled for future weeks of my project in the area, and prefer staying 30-minutes away. Overall I found the property, accommodations, staff, and breakfast to be sub-par. On the cusp of assigning a "poor" rating.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jfgaff
MParlin228, General Manager at Best Western River Cities, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you have us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future....

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (15)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Ashland
Hampton Inn Ashland
#1 of 10 in Ashland
351 reviews
7.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ashland
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ironton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Days Inn Ashland
Days Inn Ashland
#5 of 10 in Ashland
257 reviews
8.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ashland
8.6 mi away
Ramada Limited Catlettsburg/Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to BEST WESTERN River Cities! Situated off Country Music Highway US 23, the BEST WESTERN River Cities is an affordable and comfortable Ashland hotel for business and leisure travel, plus it offers convenient access to AK Steel, Our Lady of Bellefonte Hospital, Russell Railroad Days and more. Guests of the BEST WESTERN River Cities will find that each well-appointed guestroom comes complete with all the comforts of home, including cable satellite television with HBO(R) and free high-speed Internet access. For a great start to the day, a complimentary deluxe hot breakfast is served to hotel guests every morning, and for a great end to the evening, a "cookie break" is offered each night. The on-site outdoor heated swimming pool is a great way to relax and the fully equipped fitness center is the perfect way to get a workout in while traveling on the road. Business and corporate travelers will also enjoy this Ashland hotel's on-site business center, meeting and banquet space that can accommodate up to 100 people, complimentary airport and train station shuttle service and close proximity to area businesses and medical centers, including AK Steel, Our Lady of Bellefonte Hospital, Kings Daughters Medical Center and CSX. Just outside this hotel in Ashland, guests will find plenty of things to do and experience, including downtown Ashland, the Paramount Arts Center and more. In addition, Ashland is also home to popular festivals and events, including the Greenup County Horse Show, Russell Railroad Days, Greenbo Antique Show and Poage Landing Days. Greenup County is also the only county that has two Congressional Medal of Honor winners. No matter what you're traveling to or through Ashland, Kentucky for, the BEST WESTERN River Cities will make your stay truly memorable and enjoyable. Book a stay online and save today on a hotel that features real Southern hospitality, comfortable accommodations and affordable rates. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Best Western River Cities

Address: 31 Russell Plaza Dr, Ashland, KY 41101
Location: United States > Kentucky > Ashland
Price Range: $105 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western River Cities 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Best Western, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western River Cities reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ashland
Ashland Best Western
Best Western Hotel Ashland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Best Western River Cities staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
8 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Best Western River Cities staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All rooms are good. They have an elevator”
912lorib, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Avoid the hideous industrial view and select an odd numbered room.”
  • River View
jfgaff, Feb 17, 2017 | Read review
“I chose a ground floor room with easy access from pool entrance--this was due to lobby being torn up for remodel”
BRIANF352, Aug 17, 2016 | Read review
“more than one story if you have a problem not being ground level”
Boeschy, Jun 6, 2016 | Read review
“Odd numbered rooms face the rear and MAY be slightly less noisy.”
J3571BTmikem, May 25, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Travelocity
$105* /night
View Deal
HotelQuickly$141
Hotels.com$105
Orbitz.com$105
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates