We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Club Raro

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Club Raro
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

178 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Club Raro
See the most recent reviews
Showing 177: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed May 17, 2015

Really enjoyed my stay here with my girlfriend. We got an oceanside room - nice clean and basic with a good shower and u get to wake up to the beautiful blue pacific ocean outside. Staff are absolutely lovely, prices were good and so was the food we ordered there. Nice pool to cool off in as well. It's not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ollycodz
Charleen H, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana ollycodz, Thank you for your comments. Yay! you had a great time. The lagoonfront rooms are one of a greatest highlights and its lovely to hear it made your holiday. As a departing guest, you get access to return guests bonuses. Recommend a friend and be in the draw to win your a 5 night holiday back to...

nz
Reviewed May 3, 2015

if you are on a budget then this is the place for you. Rooms basic but were clean. did not eat here as we were always out. We had a garden room at the back which was quite. We rented a car which we needed as when to other side of island to snorkel and not much to do at...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank leighNz
Charleen H, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana leightNz, Club Raro is a great base to stay if you are around and about most of the time. We offer rental cars and scooters at reception which is just a call away from booking. The location of Club Raro gives that advantage of being is great places within minutes.... Muri Beach - 7 mins and Town, 3...

auckland
Reviewed April 26, 2015

Who hasn't heard of Club Raro? Well I would never had checked in here but my bookings were muddled! So I checked into the nearest place. The service was not particularly friendly in the first instance. The evening staff much nicer. However, as time went on and they recognised me, it thawed. Room 15 was an upgrade. I'd hate to...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank jen101Auckland
Charleen H, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana jen101Auckland, Thank you for your comments and honest feedback. The Manager has personally taken your comments on board and is working with the housekeeping staff to better the service which is standard internationally. Our goal is always to improve and rectify our service downfalls. We thank you for your comments as this will help to improve us. Our...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed April 19, 2015

Club Raro is motel-style accommodation at best, definitely not a resort (some of the locals referred to it as a backpackers). Thankfully our stay there was for a business trip, so we didn't have to spend any time there, or foot the bill. The place is very run down. The pool was dirty and surrounded by uneven and cracked tiling,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sagittariustravels
Charleen H, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana SagitariusTravel, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you have given us honest feedback and will take these issues on board. We are a basic hotel which caters to budget conscious that want a resort & room with basic needs, restaurant & bar, pool, amazing views and lovely staff. Our product serves its purpose well, but we...

Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewed April 14, 2015

Nice place, not too busy as it is not a huge commercial Hotel like some on the island. You would be hard pressed to complain. A swimming pool with swim up bar and nobody in it. I loved it. Would rather a place like this in Raro than a busy noisy bustling place. If you want flash and expensive, this...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Surpha
Charleen H, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana, Im glad you enjoyed you stay in our basic holiday hotel. We tick to box for basic holiday and that is our specialty. Location is perfect, close to town and muri beach! Our breakfast is basic, but you can take advantage of asking the chef to do something different for you. They can do that on request. Check...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed April 13, 2015 via mobile

"Arrive as a guest, leave as a friend" - very true! I stayed here for a week, two years ago. Loved the place! There is a lot of ants, but they are not limited to Club Raro. The staff were very friendly throughout my stay. The rooms were very tidy and comfortable. The food and drinks were delish! This time...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Te-Hirata
Charleen H, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana Te-Hirata, Thank you for returning. We are glad you came back and it was lovely to see you again. Our product has improved hugely from what we had a couple of years ago and we are going around, doing more to make it better. Im so glad you loved your stay again and hope to see you back!...

Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Reviewed April 7, 2015 via mobile

A friend and I stayed here for 6 weeks while on a student placement. We had one of the studio apartments which fitted us and suited is well. Whenever we had any questions or if something was missing or broken, it was quick to be replaced or fixed. Loved the swim up bar, which is a special feature of the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank oliviasian
Charleen H, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana oliviasian, Glad you had a perfect holiday. As a return guest you now have access to return guest bonuses when you come for another holiday with Club Raro. contact Mili in reservations and she will hook you up with that. We look forward to having you visit again Regards Charleen Heather

Reviewed April 5, 2015

We have not long returned from our stay at Club Raro and all I can say....it was perfect for us. The food you could not fault, definitely got your moneys worth there. Happy hour at the pool bar...love it. Cocktails were yummy especially the pissed parrot. As for swimming in the ocean at the resort, we spent an afternoon snorkelling...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank chrissyaw
Charleen H, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana chrissyaw, What better place to be than at Club Raro Resort?? Wow! I love your comments and its great to hear you love our food and famous PISSED PARROT!!! Its our signature cocktail which everyone loves. Club Raro is great for kids and I know they will love it. Take advantage of the 5 night packages with children...

Tammisaari, Finland
Reviewed April 3, 2015

After staying 5 nights at Aitutaki, Paradise Cove, this was a real "hotel". Upgraded myself to beachfront room, that was my luck! The rooms by the pool are without air,hot, locals were celebrating Valentine's Day. Pool was a mess! Went in just do try diving gear. The beach is not for swimming--when you reserve, read carefully what you get- Chessi!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kaisanuppu
Charleen H, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana kaisanuppu, Thank you for your comments. We have taken it on board. We hope you will return to the charms of Rarotonga again as it is unique to itself with its culture and people, different to Mexico or Maldives. Embracing the culture and seeing the real beauty we have to offer in the Cook Islands, is what will...

Queensland
Reviewed March 29, 2015

Luckily we only booked to stay here for 2 nights, our first and last night. To put it bluntly this place is a dump! Very old and run down, horrible atmosphere and just plain awful really. Reception area is very unappealing, breakfast was dismal, not a nice beach and pool very small and unappealing. We stayed in 2 different garden...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Chezzi
Charleen H, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana Chezzi, Thank you for your comment. Let me apologize for your stay. Like all disappointments, we encourage our guests to approach the Manager to discuss this as it is important that your stay is comfortable and satisfying. We have an open door policy with our guests and encourage this. With that note in mind, we have taken all...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

197 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (168)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (25)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (83)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avarua
4.8 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
4.4 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
513 reviews
4.2 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Islander Hotel
The Islander Hotel
#2 of 5 in Avarua
185 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
4.8 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kia orana from all of us at Club Raro, We love what we do and what our resort offers. From the early 1990's we have been delivering great holidays, weddings and events for our guests and we welcome you to our friendly, sensibly priced resort that suits all who want an excellent value for money experience in the Cook Islands. Our stunning views off the lagoon front, make the ideal setting for a fantastic relaxing point for all meals and cocktails.Conveniently located just 5 minutes from Avarua township, 8 minutes from popular Muri Beach, and 10 minutes from Rarotonga International Airport, Club Raro Resort is a great place to base yourself and explore the island of Rarotonga, or take some time out to relax with a good book, refreshing cocktail and the welcoming friendliness that will have you coming back time and time again. Club Raro is a friendly Resort offering 68 guestrooms ranging from Standard Rooms: Comfortable and tidy these rooms offer great value for money. We can configure these rooms to accommodate a queen bed and 2 single beds or bunks. With a small patio for you, a ceiling fan and air con this room type is a great low cost option. Poolside Rooms Framing our pool these rooms are a popular option with a small patio overlooking the gardens and pool area they are a perfect option for couples, families, and group stays. With ceiling fans and air con these rooms are comfortable and we can configure to accommodate a queen bed and 2 single beds or bunks. Self-Contained Rooms these rooms are limited and fill up quickly. A simple and convenient space again another great value room with air-con a kitchenette and a shared courtyard set in the gardens it really works for our budget savvy guests. We can configure these rooms to accommodate a queen bed and 2 single beds or bunks. Our studio apartments are an excellent option for our guests who want a good deal and are perhaps a larger family or a group of friends or someone who is thinking of staying a little longer. We can configure these rooms to accommodate a queen bed and 2 single beds or bunks and with ceiling fans , air con, and a kitchenette your stay is comfortable and affordable. The premium Lagoon front Rooms with a view of the Pacific Ocean these rooms are our premium and well liked by all. They are a studio style bedroom with a Super King bed, with air-con and a spacious bathroom, a private patio that overlooks the sun decks the Lagoon and the Ocean. Heaven! All rooms are comfortable with an interior decor that reflects a Polynesian, tropical influence. All rooms feature:• Air-conditioning • Ceiling fans • IDD phone • T.V• Refrigerator • Tea/Coffee making facilities• Private bathroom with shower • Daily housemaid servicing Self-Contained rooms feature:• Kitchenette (cook top, microwave) • Daily housemaid servicing. RESTAURANT & FACILITIES We think part of the joy of being on holiday is not having to cook so dining out is something we can make easy for you. Our Chef and kitchen staff are talented and have created great menus that offer excellent choices that incorporate fresh local produce. Couple great food with Happy Hours with great deals on Cocktails, Mocktails and beverages your stay at Club Raro is just what we say it is - an excellent value for money experience in the Cook Islands Our Food is delicious and reasonably priced! We have an a la carte Menu running that offers a brilliant combination of local and international food. You can dine in our Palms restaurant or take a table along our waterfront and poolside areas. We also have a Tapa's menu that RUMBA offers from 4pm - 9pm. Club Raro offers plenty of options for you so if you are one of our in-house guests or just decided to pop in and try and our menu we welcome you. If you're lucky during May to October you may see the humpback whales on their migration through the Pacific, swimming right past Club Raro Resort! Guests of all ages will enjoy the convenience of resort facilities and services which include:• Alfresco dining over looking the lagoon • Happy hour daily from 5-7pm Sunday-Friday and all day Saturday, includes $10 cocktails • Swimming pool with swim-up pool bar • Toddlers pool • Car, Scooter or Bicycle Hire• Tour desk • Pool table & Table tennis• Internet booth • Wi-Fi internet access • Currency exchange• 24 hour security • Guest laundry • Postal service • Free on-site parking Also available:• Snorkeling gear • Reef shoes• Tennis equipment For more details, contact our friendly team. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Club Raro

Address: PO Box 483 | Tupapa, Avarua, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Price Range: $90 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Raro 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Club Raro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Raro Hotel Avarua
Raro Hotel Avarua
Raro Resort Avarua
Club Raro Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Club Raro staff and other travelers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Club Raro staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Pool view or lagoon view.”
  • Bathroom was dirty.
  • Refrigerator
 of 5 bubbles 348gails, 4 days ago | Read review
“You can choose whatever room you prefer, they are all one storey with different views, gardens, pool, overlooking the ocean.”
 of 5 bubbles , 1 week ago | Read review
“The area where we stayed, was in the room number 50's. Very peaceful and private”
 of 5 bubbles SouthSideKiwi, 1 week ago | Read review
“Ask for the house 😀”
 of 5 bubbles agape2000, 1 week ago | Read review
“Lagoon or Poolside rooms as the Garden rooms are tucked away somewhat.”
 of 5 bubbles Foster25, 3 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question