We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Club Raro Resort

Save
Share
483 Avarua Rarotonga Tupapa Ara Tapu Road, Avarua 0000 Cook Islands
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Snaptravel
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (411)
Pool & Beach (88)
Room & Suite (67)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 04/20/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Club Raro Resort
Updated 04/20/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 6 hotels in Avarua
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located on the Northern Coast of Rarotonga, Club Raro Resort sits on the edge of the Pacific Ocean with spectacular views out to the reef break and beyond. Club Raro Resort is located a short 10-minute drive from Rarotonga International Airport, and just a 5-minute drive from downtown Avarua. We have a selection of room types that will match your needs. From Garden and Poolside family rooms to Adults Only Ocean View rooms and self catering options, we have something for very traveller. Club Raro has one of only two swim-up bars on the island.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Children's television networks
Kids pool
Street parking
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Diving
Hiking
Snorkeling
Aerobics offsite
Billiards
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Airport transportation
Car hire
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English
362Reviews22Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 79
  • 133
  • 79
  • 40
  • 31
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Erica W wrote a review Aug 2021
Auckland, New Zealand12 contributions5 helpful votes
All though it needs a little TLC, the hotel far exceeded our expectations, The staff were all friendly, going out of their way to help you out with whatever you needed, Would ensure that any guest request are meet, they are happy to share their knowledge, Down side was there wasn't too much to do on a rainy sunday The Pool and Bar was located in the perfect position next to the beach where you could watch the whales swim past, No happy hour, instead cocktail of the day which was ever changing which made it refreshing. you get a lot of value for your money here
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Waterfront if possible
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
redstar999 wrote a review Aug 2021
Auckland Central, New Zealand202 contributions114 helpful votes
We stayed at club raro for four days and had a really nice time..nice pool ..beautiful set up nice staff cheap jugs...mmmmm. Nice room with all the things you need and good price. The food was good mmmmm Samoan pizza!! Definitely favorite. The Lil shop just down the road sells yummy donuts ..really good initial place to stay when you get to raro.. the clockwise and counter clockwise bus stops right outside..proto grab the ten trip ticket for 30 dollars. Only issue we had was when we did our washing. We did our washing in the am and then went to dry it and were told we had to wait until 6pm as the staff were doing all the drying for the sheets and towels etc..minor annoyance but yeah.. Oh...and only one TV channel but then magically another one was added so we could watch movies rather than endless sports. Which was good on the rain say we had... Ps go swimming in the sea ...YOU WILL NEED ROCK SHOES ..but it's beautiful. Over all really really good value for money and really nice time!! Mai Taki Club Raro!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Club Raro Resort
Responded Aug 23, 2021
Kia Orana Redstar999, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, it is very important to us. Please be assured we have passed on all your feedback to all relevant departments of the acknowledgement you have provided. It is however, disappointing to hear minor issues during your stay. We have addressed this issue to our departments to avoid any further disappointments to others who will stay with us. We thank you for staying with us and thoroughly enjoyed your company been on our island paradise. Kia Manuia (Kind regards), Club Raro Team
Read more
Kate wrote a review Aug 2021
Wellington, New Zealand577 contributions151 helpful votes
We stopped in here for lunch in the restaurant. The location is stunning, the view from the restaurant is amazing. We ordered the Cajun pizza and two beers and in total it cost $28, a bargain. The medium pizza was perfect for two and cooked and cut very well.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Steve wrote a review Mar 2020
North Sydney, Australia10 contributions2 helpful votes
Very tired hotel. They have stopped serving cooked breakfast even though we paid for it. We showed them the booking with breakfast. They were totally disinterested. Staff were general welcoming. On our arrival, at 7am we were told the room would not be available until 2pm.. They didn't offer a payment to get in early although the room was empty. On that first day we decided to have breakfast ( which we had to pay for) and cost us $52 ($26.00 each ) for the continental breakfast which consisted of toast or weetbix and a few homemade buns. It's cheaper at the Sheraton. Very disappointed. Would not stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from ClubRaroSalesM, Guest Relations Manager at Club Raro Resort
Responded Mar 17, 2020
Kia Orana Steve, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, it is very important to us. It is however, disappointing to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please be assured we have passed on all your feedback to all relevant departments to be reviewed further. While we understand you would not stay with us again, we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us on your most recent trip to Rarotonga. Kia Manuia, The team at Club Raro Resort
Read more
DL2Some wrote a review Mar 2020
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota849 contributions260 helpful votes
We stayed here for three weeks while volunteering on the Island. Our room was in an older part of the resort and could benefit from some updating. Having said that, the food was good and the staff were amazing - helpful, friendly and warm. Located on the north side of the island, it was wonderful to sit on the edge of the ocean and lap up- the sea breeze.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from ClubRaroSalesM, Guest Relations Manager at Club Raro Resort
Responded Mar 17, 2020
Kia Orana DL2Some, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, it is important to us. It is so lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, it was an absolute pleasure having you. We are indeed in a great location on the island where our guests can enjoy the beautiful view of the ocean. And that sea breeze is wonderful on a hot day! It is also wonderful to hear our staff were able to help make your stay that much better. They all do an amazing job and we are very proud of them. We have passed on your feedback regarding the condition of the resort, however we are happy to advise our maintenance team are hard at work renovating all our rooms and we would love for you to come back to see all the improvements. Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you were here doing some amazing work in Rarotonga. We thoroughly enjoyed having all the volunteers stay at our little slice of paradise. Kia Manuia, The team at Club Raro Resort
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$96 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
club raro hotel avarua, raro hotel avarua, raro resort avarua
LOCATION
Cook IslandsSouthern Cook IslandsRarotongaAvarua
NUMBER OF ROOMS
88
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Club Raro Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Club Raro Resort?
Nearby attractions include Tik-e Tours (4.9 miles), Titikaveka Beach (4.8 miles), and Te Rua Manga (The Needle) (3.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Club Raro Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Club Raro Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Club Raro Resort?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Club Raro Resort?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Club Raro Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Mooring Fish Cafe Rarotonga, Tuoro Tapas Bar, and Antipodes.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Club Raro Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Club Raro Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Club Raro Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Club Raro Resort?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Club Raro Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Wreck of the Matai (1.4 miles).
Does Club Raro Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.