We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Club Raro

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Club Raro
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 160: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Resort was ok for the price. Rooms very basic but comfortable. We had all we needed, AC, LCD TV, good bed and some lounge chairs. Plenty of space in room and we got poolside rooms as a bonus. Bathroom/toilet combo bit awkward but the biggest problem was the size of the shower. I am around 63kg and for me it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank our56
SMRES, Public Relations Manager at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia orana from the team at Club Raro, Meitaki maata for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate the advice you give future travelers. If you are intending on coming back to Raro please don't hesitate to contact us on holiday@clubraro.co.ck and we will happily provide you with a great deal. Kia manuia Club Raro

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great place to relax. A few issues that would be easy to fix. Hire a Pool cleaner and keep it sparkling Buy some more recliners Add variety to the breakfast ,same same for 10 days! Teach the front staff that Customers is spelt with a Capital Having got that out of the way the normal staff are great the water...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John F
SMRES, Public Relations Manager at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia orana from the team at Club Raro, Thanks for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate feedback and you have given us some good points to work on, so meitaki maata. We would love to have you stay with us again so please let us know by emailing holiday@clubraro.co.ck and we will happily sort out a great...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Last night our family went for dinner to have the BBQ Buffet (Approx $27 per head), we spent $219 all up for food and drinks but the BBQ Buffet was terrible- Never Again! worst Pina Colada in my life, served to me in 2x small cups because "We don't have any cocktail glasses big enough" and the steak was well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank excelandexalt
SMRES, Public Relations Manager at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia orana from Club Raro, We are very disappointed to hear that this was your experience as we have had many people come to our BBQ buffet and really enjoy the experience. We apologise to you and your family and request that when you return again to Raro you contact us on holidya@clubraro.co.ck and we will happily provide you with...

Masterton, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really enjoyed our stay Very friendly staff, Rooms good though could do with upgrade but bed comfy Swimup bar was great with awesome cocktails Definately stay there again Nice complimentary breakfast Very peaceful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elliegoobs
Warkworth, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

No hot water for the first three days. A pair of underwear in the wardrobe on check in. Two of our three beds were very hard. On one evening the beer at the bar was warm because the pool bar fridge was broken, on another evening there were no cocktails at the pool bar because the blender was broken! I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tomarcelle
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed December 4, 2016

We stayed at Club Raro for 7 nights for our honeymoon on a recommendation from a friend. The resort is definitely a good price - in comparison to other options in Rarotonga - and we had a nice enough time but we wouldn't recommend it, and we won't stay here again. Initially we were in one of the garden rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LittleBitOfLisa
Tokoroa, New Zealand
Reviewed December 2, 2016

My wife, grandson and I stayed 11 days at Club Raro with our school team for the Vaka Eiva festival. Had a great stay at Club Raro and found the staff always helpful and friendly. In particular, Deborah, Louisa and Taz always went the extra mile for us. There were other staff, I can't remember their names, who also went...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tmwtstvr
SMRES, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana from all of us here at Club Raro, We thoroughly enjoyed having your group stay with us so thank you for posting on Trip Advisor to let others know about your stay. We work hard to be a great value for money resort with a team that cares for our guests. We will pass on your review to...

Reviewed November 24, 2016 via mobile

If a swim up bar is what you're looking for then this is the pace for you. Cocktails are $15 each and totally delicious! Pizzas are great too! The pool is of average size but there's also a shallow kids paddling pool right next to it too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalie N
SMRES, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia orana Natalie, We would love to have you come and enjoy the swim up bar again so please let us know if you are ever returning to the Cooks by emailing us on holiday@clubraro.co.ck and we will happily arrange a deal for you. Thanks for reviewing us on Trip Advisor we really appreciate it. Kia manuia Glenda

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed November 21, 2016

My daughter myself and a friend stayed at Club Raro and found it to be exactly what we needed. There was no waiting to get Breakfast, pool is lovely and the 4.00 pm $10.00 Cocktails is perfect to end your relaxing day. We had a full kitchen which was great. The staff are lovely. Would highly recommend this Hotel and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kimking8
SMRES, Public Relations Manager at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia orana from Club Raro, Thank you so much for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate it when our guests take the time to do this. We are so happy that your stay with us was exactly what you needed and hope to see you and you friend and family here again in the future. Please let us...

Muswellbrook, Australia
Reviewed November 8, 2016

We arrived at Club Raro at about 7.30am on the 8th of October to drop our bags off and fill in paperwork, and as we chose not to pay for early check-in, collect the keys when check-in began at 2pm. The woman at the front desk, Louisa, said she believed payment was due at check-in and when I said I...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jendeano14804
SMRES, Public Relations Manager at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia orana from the Management at Club Raro, To say that we are are extremely disappointed is an understatement and please be advised that we are holding a meeting with Heads of Departments to address your review issues. We take delivering a great experience for our guests very seriously and to read this is a definite blow for us and...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

189 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (160)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (24)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avarua
4.4 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
501 reviews
4.2 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
2.0 mi away
The Islander Hotel
The Islander Hotel
#2 of 5 in Avarua
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
4.3 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
4.8 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kia orana from all of us at Club Raro, We love what we do and what our resort offers. From the early 1990's we have been delivering great holidays, weddings and events for our guests and we welcome you to our friendly, sensibly priced resort that suits all who want an excellent value for money experience in the Cook Islands. Our stunning views off the lagoon front, make the ideal setting for a fantastic relaxing point for all meals and cocktails.Conveniently located just 5 minutes from Avarua township, 8 minutes from popular Muri Beach, and 10 minutes from Rarotonga International Airport, Club Raro Resort is a great place to base yourself and explore the island of Rarotonga, or take some time out to relax with a good book, refreshing cocktail and the welcoming friendliness that will have you coming back time and time again. Club Raro is a friendly Resort offering 68 guestrooms ranging from Standard Rooms: Comfortable and tidy these rooms offer great value for money. We can configure these rooms to accommodate a queen bed and 2 single beds or bunks. With a small patio for you, a ceiling fan and air con this room type is a great low cost option. Poolside Rooms Framing our pool these rooms are a popular option with a small patio overlooking the gardens and pool area they are a perfect option for couples, families, and group stays. With ceiling fans and air con these rooms are comfortable and we can configure to accommodate a queen bed and 2 single beds or bunks. Self-Contained Rooms these rooms are limited and fill up quickly. A simple and convenient space again another great value room with air-con a kitchenette and a shared courtyard set in the gardens it really works for our budget savvy guests. We can configure these rooms to accommodate a queen bed and 2 single beds or bunks. Our studio apartments are an excellent option for our guests who want a good deal and are perhaps a larger family or a group of friends or someone who is thinking of staying a little longer. We can configure these rooms to accommodate a queen bed and 2 single beds or bunks and with ceiling fans , air con, and a kitchenette your stay is comfortable and affordable. The premium Lagoon front Rooms with a view of the Pacific Ocean these rooms are our premium and well liked by all. They are a studio style bedroom with a Super King bed, with air-con and a spacious bathroom, a private patio that overlooks the sun decks the Lagoon and the Ocean. Heaven! All rooms are comfortable with an interior decor that reflects a Polynesian, tropical influence. All rooms feature:• Air-conditioning • Ceiling fans • IDD phone • T.V• Refrigerator • Tea/Coffee making facilities• Private bathroom with shower • Daily housemaid servicing Self-Contained rooms feature:• Kitchenette (cook top, microwave) • Daily housemaid servicing. RESTAURANT & FACILITIES We think part of the joy of being on holiday is not having to cook so dining out is something we can make easy for you. Our Chef and kitchen staff are talented and have created great menus that offer excellent choices that incorporate fresh local produce. Couple great food with Happy Hours with great deals on Cocktails, Mocktails and beverages your stay at Club Raro is just what we say it is - an excellent value for money experience in the Cook Islands Our Food is delicious and reasonably priced! We have an a la carte Menu running that offers a brilliant combination of local and international food. You can dine in our Palms restaurant or take a table along our waterfront and poolside areas. We also have a Tapa's menu that RUMBA offers from 4pm - 9pm. Club Raro offers plenty of options for you so if you are one of our in-house guests or just decided to pop in and try and our menu we welcome you. If you're lucky during May to October you may see the humpback whales on their migration through the Pacific, swimming right past Club Raro Resort! Guests of all ages will enjoy the convenience of resort facilities and services which include:• Alfresco dining over looking the lagoon • Happy hour daily from 5-7pm Sunday-Friday and all day Saturday, includes $10 cocktails • Swimming pool with swim-up pool bar • Toddlers pool • Car, Scooter or Bicycle Hire• Tour desk • Pool table & Table tennis• Internet booth • Wi-Fi internet access • Currency exchange• 24 hour security • Guest laundry • Postal service • Free on-site parking Also available:• Snorkeling gear • Reef shoes• Tennis equipment For more details, contact our friendly team. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Club Raro

Address: PO Box 483 | Tupapa, Avarua, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Price Range: $84 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Raro 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Club Raro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Raro Hotel Avarua
Raro Hotel Avarua
Raro Resort Avarua
Club Raro Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Club Raro staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Club Raro staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Don't stay there”
 of 5 bubbles Tomarcelle, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Definitely get a lagoon room, and skip poolside because it's too noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles LittleBitOfLisa, Dec 4, 2016 | Read review
“Choose another resort.”
 of 5 bubbles Jendeano14804, Nov 8, 2016 | Read review
“Def book lagoon room but keep expectations low”
 of 5 bubbles lockvale, Oct 23, 2016 | Read review
“Family apartment was spacious and serviced daily.”
 of 5 bubbles tinagunn2015, Oct 13, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay