We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Club Raro

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Club Raro
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

156 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 155: English reviews
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at Club Raro for 7 nights for our honeymoon on a recommendation from a friend. The resort is definitely a good price - in comparison to other options in Rarotonga - and we had a nice enough time but we wouldn't recommend it, and we won't stay here again. Initially we were in one of the garden rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LittleBitOfLisa
Tokoroa, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife, grandson and I stayed 11 days at Club Raro with our school team for the Vaka Eiva festival. Had a great stay at Club Raro and found the staff always helpful and friendly. In particular, Deborah, Louisa and Taz always went the extra mile for us. There were other staff, I can't remember their names, who also went...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tmwtstvr
SMRES, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana from all of us here at Club Raro, We thoroughly enjoyed having your group stay with us so thank you for posting on Trip Advisor to let others know about your stay. We work hard to be a great value for money resort with a team that cares for our guests. We will pass on your review to...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If a swim up bar is what you're looking for then this is the pace for you. Cocktails are $15 each and totally delicious! Pizzas are great too! The pool is of average size but there's also a shallow kids paddling pool right next to it too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalie N
SMRES, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia orana Natalie, We would love to have you come and enjoy the swim up bar again so please let us know if you are ever returning to the Cooks by emailing us on holiday@clubraro.co.ck and we will happily arrange a deal for you. Thanks for reviewing us on Trip Advisor we really appreciate it. Kia manuia Glenda

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My daughter myself and a friend stayed at Club Raro and found it to be exactly what we needed. There was no waiting to get Breakfast, pool is lovely and the 4.00 pm $10.00 Cocktails is perfect to end your relaxing day. We had a full kitchen which was great. The staff are lovely. Would highly recommend this Hotel and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kimking8
SMRES, Public Relations Manager at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia orana from Club Raro, Thank you so much for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate it when our guests take the time to do this. We are so happy that your stay with us was exactly what you needed and hope to see you and you friend and family here again in the future. Please let us...

Muswellbrook, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived at Club Raro at about 7.30am on the 8th of October to drop our bags off and fill in paperwork, and as we chose not to pay for early check-in, collect the keys when check-in began at 2pm. The woman at the front desk, Louisa, said she believed payment was due at check-in and when I said I...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jendeano14804
SMRES, Public Relations Manager at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia orana from the Management at Club Raro, To say that we are are extremely disappointed is an understatement and please be advised that we are holding a meeting with Heads of Departments to address your review issues. We take delivering a great experience for our guests very seriously and to read this is a definite blow for us and...

Reviewed November 2, 2016 via mobile

My (now) husband and I stayed five nights at club raro. We had decided to elope, bringing just my sister and her husband as wittnesses. The club organised everything for the wedding. The whole day, and infact the whole stay went without a hitch. Whales even went past after the ceramony. The staff were amazing, helpful and friendly. We stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anorris21
SMRES, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia orana from the team at Club Raro, We are so pleased your wedding was everything you wanted and we we loved being able to make that happen for you. Our team here work hard to make sure all our guests have a great time. Mili Wade our Wedding Co-ordinator sends you both a big Kia Orana. Hope to see...

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed October 23, 2016

We recently stayed at Club Raro on a recommendation from a friend. Looking forward to our trip, we arrived at 7AM local time, we had prebooked an early checkin so that we would have our room as soon as we arrived. When we arrived it started with the staff being rude and unhelpful, stating that we hadn't booked this room...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank lizkb
SMRES, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia orana from the Team at Club Raro, This is a disappointing read for us as we have a team here that works hard to provide for our guests. We have taken all your comments on board and are looking into the various areas you mention with immediate action in place. We apologise and would love to have you return...

Reviewed October 23, 2016

On spending a week at Club Raro ( booked 3 rooms) it was nothing short of disappointing. We upgraded to a Lagoon Room ,the room was OK beautiful views,small, very small fridge couldn't stand a bottle of wine up and know side holders. the compendium was so sticky we couldn't pull the pages apart the room needed a good clean...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank lockvale
SMRES, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia orana from the team at Club Raro, This was not what we wanted to read as a management team. Please note we have your feedback form with your comments and will be addressing the issues you raise. The repairs and maintenance team work regularly on all pool and outdoor areas and have been advised of the issues and are...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed October 18, 2016

Raro in general is really expensive, but club Raro is def the bargain pick of the bunch. After staying at a resort for the first few days we had a few days at club raro.. and for the value for money - we should have stayed here the whole time. Good pool, great central location and not far from Muri....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bnabroad
SMRES, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia orana from the team at Club Raro, Thanks so much for posting on TripAdvisor we really appreciate it when our guests take the time to review. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to have you come back anytime. If you are thinking of returning please don't hesitate to contact us on holiday@clubaro.co.ck...

Reviewed October 18, 2016 via mobile

We spent 7 days at the Club Raro Resort, it was Excellent! Rooms were nice, clean, Great service, Warm and helpful staff, and a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere. We had a really early flight so we couldn't check in till 2pm, however Club Raro let us check in earlier. I would recommend this Resort to Friends and Family travelling without...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ToniRavenAlex
SMRES, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia orana from Club Raro, Thank you so much for review we really appreciate it when our guests take the time to provide other travelers with information about their stay with us. We would love to have you come back so please contact us direct on holiday@clubraro.co.ck and we will happily provide you with a great deal. Meitaki maata for...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

186 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (157)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (21)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avarua
4.2 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
4.4 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
496 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Islander Hotel
The Islander Hotel
#3 of 5 in Avarua
173 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
4.0 mi away
Sunset Resort
Sunset Resort
#1 of 5 in Avarua
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kia orana from all of us at Club Raro, We love what we do and what our resort offers. From the early 1990's we have been delivering great holidays, weddings and events for our guests and we welcome you to our friendly, sensibly priced resort that suits all who want an excellent value for money experience in the Cook Islands. Our stunning views off the lagoon front, make the ideal setting for a fantastic relaxing point for all meals and cocktails.Conveniently located just 5 minutes from Avarua township, 8 minutes from popular Muri Beach, and 10 minutes from Rarotonga International Airport, Club Raro Resort is a great place to base yourself and explore the island of Rarotonga, or take some time out to relax with a good book, refreshing cocktail and the welcoming friendliness that will have you coming back time and time again. Club Raro is a friendly Resort offering 68 guestrooms ranging from Standard Rooms: Comfortable and tidy these rooms offer great value for money. We can configure these rooms to accommodate a queen bed and 2 single beds or bunks. With a small patio for you, a ceiling fan and air con this room type is a great low cost option. Poolside Rooms Framing our pool these rooms are a popular option with a small patio overlooking the gardens and pool area they are a perfect option for couples, families, and group stays. With ceiling fans and air con these rooms are comfortable and we can configure to accommodate a queen bed and 2 single beds or bunks. Self-Contained Rooms these rooms are limited and fill up quickly. A simple and convenient space again another great value room with air-con a kitchenette and a shared courtyard set in the gardens it really works for our budget savvy guests. We can configure these rooms to accommodate a queen bed and 2 single beds or bunks. Our studio apartments are an excellent option for our guests who want a good deal and are perhaps a larger family or a group of friends or someone who is thinking of staying a little longer. We can configure these rooms to accommodate a queen bed and 2 single beds or bunks and with ceiling fans , air con, and a kitchenette your stay is comfortable and affordable. The premium Lagoon front Rooms with a view of the Pacific Ocean these rooms are our premium and well liked by all. They are a studio style bedroom with a Super King bed, with air-con and a spacious bathroom, a private patio that overlooks the sun decks the Lagoon and the Ocean. Heaven! All rooms are comfortable with an interior decor that reflects a Polynesian, tropical influence. All rooms feature:• Air-conditioning • Ceiling fans • IDD phone • T.V• Refrigerator • Tea/Coffee making facilities• Private bathroom with shower • Daily housemaid servicing Self-Contained rooms feature:• Kitchenette (cook top, microwave) • Daily housemaid servicing. RESTAURANT & FACILITIES We think part of the joy of being on holiday is not having to cook so dining out is something we can make easy for you. Our Chef and kitchen staff are talented and have created great menus that offer excellent choices that incorporate fresh local produce. Couple great food with Happy Hours with great deals on Cocktails, Mocktails and beverages your stay at Club Raro is just what we say it is - an excellent value for money experience in the Cook Islands Our Food is delicious and reasonably priced! We have an a la carte Menu running that offers a brilliant combination of local and international food. You can dine in our Palms restaurant or take a table along our waterfront and poolside areas. We also have a Tapa's menu that RUMBA offers from 4pm - 9pm. Club Raro offers plenty of options for you so if you are one of our in-house guests or just decided to pop in and try and our menu we welcome you. If you're lucky during May to October you may see the humpback whales on their migration through the Pacific, swimming right past Club Raro Resort! Guests of all ages will enjoy the convenience of resort facilities and services which include:• Alfresco dining over looking the lagoon • Happy hour daily from 5-7pm Sunday-Friday and all day Saturday, includes $10 cocktails • Swimming pool with swim-up pool bar • Toddlers pool • Car, Scooter or Bicycle Hire• Tour desk • Pool table & Table tennis• Internet booth • Wi-Fi internet access • Currency exchange• 24 hour security • Guest laundry • Postal service • Free on-site parking Also available:• Snorkeling gear • Reef shoes• Tennis equipment For more details, contact our friendly team. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Club Raro

Address: PO Box 483 | Tupapa, Avarua, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Price Range: $80 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Raro 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Club Raro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Raro Hotel Avarua
Raro Hotel Avarua
Raro Resort Avarua
Club Raro Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Club Raro staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Club Raro staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Definitely get a lagoon room, and skip poolside because it's too noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles LittleBitOfLisa, 6 days ago | Read review
“Choose another resort.”
 of 5 bubbles Jendeano14804, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Def book lagoon room but keep expectations low”
 of 5 bubbles lockvale, Oct 23, 2016 | Read review
“Family apartment was spacious and serviced daily.”
 of 5 bubbles tinagunn2015, Oct 13, 2016 | Read review
“upgrade to an ocean view room”
 of 5 bubbles MissChe, Sep 28, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay