We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Club Raro

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Club Raro
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 167: English reviews
Start your review of Club Raro
 Click to rate
Parramatta, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed in the Lagoon suite for our week stay. We were welcomed with the up most respect from all staff, no hassle signing in for our stay. We were given a tour around the resort and time table for activities/restaurant/bar/bus present at the resort. Our room was extremely clean and housemaid service was on hand everyday...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arden83
Sydney Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It was nice enough in the room we had which was a Lagoon room. Thee front office was very good as was all the cleaning staff. However, even though it was a tropical breakfast it was the same everyday and boring. The menu was not enticing and that was proven by no-one eating there. I would stay somewhere else next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Franko5
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is such a good place to stay! We were here for 7 nights and had a really good view! It is in a good location- half way between town and Muri Beach. One thing we have to mention first is the amazing service provided by staff member Lindsey. She was so friendly and knowledgeable and it was always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amyamy17
SMRES, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana Amy, Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We really appreciate it. We agree Lindsey is a great addition to our team on front desk and I will pass on your comments. Apologies about the confusion on the phone call costs yes telecommunications here in the Cooks can be pricey! Our team here...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Friendly and Helpful Staff. Clean accomodation. Only problem we had was that our couches were of poor quality but I would rather relax outside by the pool then inside anyway :) Stayed at Club Raro for 7 days.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abbey H
SMRES, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia orana Abbey Thanks so much for your review and we will conduct an inspection on our couches to see if we need to upgrade. We would love to have you come and stay again so please do not hesitate to contact us on holiday@clubraro.co.ck and we will happily provide you with a great deal. Kia Manuia The team at...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We found club raro to have everything we needed. Beds were a bit too hard but we had air conditioning which was a must. Great pool just a little small. Mostly staff were friendly. Only negative was a 45 minute wait for a drink - lost our order which was disappointing. But great cocktails and we enjoyed the tropical breakfast....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sonya S
SMRES, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia orana Sonya Meitaki maata for your review. We really appreciate it when our guests take the time to review us. We apologise for the delay you had with our F&B service and we have had a chat with the team to make sure they are on top of timings for orders. We work hard to make sure our guests...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just visited Club Raro with a family of 7, as we had a voucher for 10% off. Decided to sit at a table overlooking the sea which unfortunately hadn't been cleaned properly and had old lettuce all over it being attacked by spiders. The waitress was friendly enough however had no idea what the fish of the day was (and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Nickeden
SMRES, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia orana All we can do here is apologise for the service standards that you received and advise you that your review prompted meetings with our Food and Beverage team to discuss what and why our standard of customer service and product slipped. Please contact me directly if you are considering dinning with us again and the Operations Manager and...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights in an apartment. The apartments seem like an after thought and like you are staying in staff accommodation out the back. We asked to move as ours very tired. Second one better but little natural light. Resort as a whole was ok and pool nice. Not luxury but not bargain basement. If you want plush go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
SMRES, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia orana Louise, Thanks for taking the time to review Club Raro. Feedback is an essential way for our resort to grow and improve so all your comments are useful. If you are ever intending on returning to Rarotonga we would love to have you stay with us again so please do not hesitate to contact us on holiday@clubraro.co.ck and...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed January 6, 2017

Resort was ok for the price. Rooms very basic but comfortable. We had all we needed, AC, LCD TV, good bed and some lounge chairs. Plenty of space in room and we got poolside rooms as a bonus. Bathroom/toilet combo bit awkward but the biggest problem was the size of the shower. I am around 63kg and for me it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank our56
SMRES, Public Relations Manager at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia orana from the team at Club Raro, Meitaki maata for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate the advice you give future travelers. If you are intending on coming back to Raro please don't hesitate to contact us on holiday@clubraro.co.ck and we will happily provide you with a great deal. Kia manuia Club Raro

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed January 4, 2017 via mobile

Great place to relax. A few issues that would be easy to fix. Hire a Pool cleaner and keep it sparkling Buy some more recliners Add variety to the breakfast ,same same for 10 days! Teach the front staff that Customers is spelt with a Capital Having got that out of the way the normal staff are great the water...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank John F
SMRES, Public Relations Manager at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia orana from the team at Club Raro, Thanks for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate feedback and you have given us some good points to work on, so meitaki maata. We would love to have you stay with us again so please let us know by emailing holiday@clubraro.co.ck and we will happily sort out a great...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed January 2, 2017

Last night our family went for dinner to have the BBQ Buffet (Approx $27 per head), we spent $219 all up for food and drinks but the BBQ Buffet was terrible- Never Again! worst Pina Colada in my life, served to me in 2x small cups because "We don't have any cocktail glasses big enough" and the steak was well...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank excelandexalt
SMRES, Public Relations Manager at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia orana from Club Raro, We are very disappointed to hear that this was your experience as we have had many people come to our BBQ buffet and really enjoy the experience. We apologise to you and your family and request that when you return again to Raro you contact us on holidya@clubraro.co.ck and we will happily provide you with...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

189 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (160)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (24)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avarua
4.4 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
506 reviews
4.2 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
4.8 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
4.3 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
4.8 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kia orana from all of us at Club Raro, We love what we do and what our resort offers. From the early 1990's we have been delivering great holidays, weddings and events for our guests and we welcome you to our friendly, sensibly priced resort that suits all who want an excellent value for money experience in the Cook Islands. Our stunning views off the lagoon front, make the ideal setting for a fantastic relaxing point for all meals and cocktails.Conveniently located just 5 minutes from Avarua township, 8 minutes from popular Muri Beach, and 10 minutes from Rarotonga International Airport, Club Raro Resort is a great place to base yourself and explore the island of Rarotonga, or take some time out to relax with a good book, refreshing cocktail and the welcoming friendliness that will have you coming back time and time again. Club Raro is a friendly Resort offering 68 guestrooms ranging from Standard Rooms: Comfortable and tidy these rooms offer great value for money. We can configure these rooms to accommodate a queen bed and 2 single beds or bunks. With a small patio for you, a ceiling fan and air con this room type is a great low cost option. Poolside Rooms Framing our pool these rooms are a popular option with a small patio overlooking the gardens and pool area they are a perfect option for couples, families, and group stays. With ceiling fans and air con these rooms are comfortable and we can configure to accommodate a queen bed and 2 single beds or bunks. Self-Contained Rooms these rooms are limited and fill up quickly. A simple and convenient space again another great value room with air-con a kitchenette and a shared courtyard set in the gardens it really works for our budget savvy guests. We can configure these rooms to accommodate a queen bed and 2 single beds or bunks. Our studio apartments are an excellent option for our guests who want a good deal and are perhaps a larger family or a group of friends or someone who is thinking of staying a little longer. We can configure these rooms to accommodate a queen bed and 2 single beds or bunks and with ceiling fans , air con, and a kitchenette your stay is comfortable and affordable. The premium Lagoon front Rooms with a view of the Pacific Ocean these rooms are our premium and well liked by all. They are a studio style bedroom with a Super King bed, with air-con and a spacious bathroom, a private patio that overlooks the sun decks the Lagoon and the Ocean. Heaven! All rooms are comfortable with an interior decor that reflects a Polynesian, tropical influence. All rooms feature:• Air-conditioning • Ceiling fans • IDD phone • T.V• Refrigerator • Tea/Coffee making facilities• Private bathroom with shower • Daily housemaid servicing Self-Contained rooms feature:• Kitchenette (cook top, microwave) • Daily housemaid servicing. RESTAURANT & FACILITIES We think part of the joy of being on holiday is not having to cook so dining out is something we can make easy for you. Our Chef and kitchen staff are talented and have created great menus that offer excellent choices that incorporate fresh local produce. Couple great food with Happy Hours with great deals on Cocktails, Mocktails and beverages your stay at Club Raro is just what we say it is - an excellent value for money experience in the Cook Islands Our Food is delicious and reasonably priced! We have an a la carte Menu running that offers a brilliant combination of local and international food. You can dine in our Palms restaurant or take a table along our waterfront and poolside areas. We also have a Tapa's menu that RUMBA offers from 4pm - 9pm. Club Raro offers plenty of options for you so if you are one of our in-house guests or just decided to pop in and try and our menu we welcome you. If you're lucky during May to October you may see the humpback whales on their migration through the Pacific, swimming right past Club Raro Resort! Guests of all ages will enjoy the convenience of resort facilities and services which include:• Alfresco dining over looking the lagoon • Happy hour daily from 5-7pm Sunday-Friday and all day Saturday, includes $10 cocktails • Swimming pool with swim-up pool bar • Toddlers pool • Car, Scooter or Bicycle Hire• Tour desk • Pool table & Table tennis• Internet booth • Wi-Fi internet access • Currency exchange• 24 hour security • Guest laundry • Postal service • Free on-site parking Also available:• Snorkeling gear • Reef shoes• Tennis equipment For more details, contact our friendly team. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Club Raro

Address: PO Box 483 | Tupapa, Avarua, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Price Range: $92 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Raro 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Club Raro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Raro Hotel Avarua
Raro Hotel Avarua
Raro Resort Avarua
Club Raro Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Club Raro staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Club Raro staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Lagoon front prefer for best sleep and amazing morning views as well as sunset and sunrise.”
 of 5 bubbles Arden83, 2 days ago | Read review
“All lagoon rooms face the ocean.”
 of 5 bubbles Franko5, 6 days ago | Read review
“Don't stay there”
 of 5 bubbles Tomarcelle, Dec 19, 2016 | Read review
“Definitely get a lagoon room, and skip poolside because it's too noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles LittleBitOfLisa, Dec 4, 2016 | Read review
“Choose another resort.”
 of 5 bubbles Jendeano14804, Nov 8, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question