We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sunset Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sunset Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

608 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 598: English reviews
Start your review of Sunset Resort
 Click to rate
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

this is an excellent place to relax on the beach and watch the sunsets. there are two swimming pools and a restaurant. We went in March and the beaches were very quiet. we used the free snorkel equipment to watch the fish just in front of the resort.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PennySlevinsky
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We'd booked online back in January but unknown to us our booking had been 'hijacked' to another cheaper resort. We discovered this when I tried to arrange airport transfers and Collen phoned me to explain. Colleen was marvellous, booked us in to her resort explained how we could get a refund from the other booking service. When we landed the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank potblak
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Sunset Resort was a great place to stay when we were in Rarotonga. The resort is situated on the west side of the island, near the airport and the main town of Avarua. The island bus can pick you up right in front of the resort and we had no trouble getting around from where we were located. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheila M
ParadiseRarotonga, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this review

Kia orana Thank you for taking the time to write a very detailed review of our property. We value all feedback as it enables us to continue to improve our guest experience. We can understand your frustrations regarding a late check out and it is good to read that you understood that we were not able to accommodate your request...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for a week and it was perfect. Everything was perfect minus the few mosquitos that followed us into our room. Just know though that there is no free wifi and only 1 tv channel if you plan on staying in for a bit of R&R. But that is true everywhere on the island. It was convenient that we...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Elaine S
ParadiseRarotonga, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this review

Kia Orana Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I did smile when you mentioned that you felt our beach was the best. You took the opportunity to look around the Island which we do encourage our guest to do as our piece of paradise offers so much beauty for international guest. We do hope to see...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wow. Where to begin : first the first contact with the driver at the airport was so friendly after a 16 hour flight not forgetting the flower necklace on arrival! Friendly and helpful staff all aroud : at the reception, the roomkeepers, even the gardeners were waving at us every morning before breakfast. The food at the Anchorage restaurant was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Steffsteff14
Arizona
Reviewed February 20, 2017

We spent 7 days, 6 nights at this wonderful resort earlier this month (Feb 2017). GREAT staff throughout!! Our beachfront room was exquisite!! Daily maid service was great, performed by friendly women. We know they were friendly because it rained 6 of the seven days we were there, so we spent a lot of time in the room watching the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank nuikahakai
ParadiseRarotonga, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this review

Kia Orana, Wow this is a very comprehensive review and I want to thank you for taking the time to offer a review with so much detail. We do value all feedback as it is a way for us to consider how we can improve our guest experience. You have mentioned the staff on a number of occasions and I...

Burpengary, Australia
Reviewed February 11, 2017

We came here on our honeymoon from Australia. We stayed in a beachfront bungalow which was great! It had a lively little deck and a short walk across the grass and we were on the beach!. Rarotonga is a lovely, friendly down to earth place where the locals are friendly and happy. The sunset resort was perfect for us as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacquie H
Reviewed February 10, 2017

My fiancé and I arrived in Rarotonga very early on New Year’s Day. We were met at the airport and taken to the resort to begin our vacation. But first we had a nap.... Upon waking up we began our adventure in the Cook Islands. Unfortunately nearly everything in town was closed for three more days as it was the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dubya80
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed January 23, 2017

The Sunset Resort was a great place to stay. Beautiful beach. Nice helpful people. The entire island of Rarotonga had a peaceful feel. It was east to go everywhere on the bus but we had a rental car for 2 days which helped us to know the island better. Drive around it in less than an hour. Our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank debims83250
Umina Beach, Australia
Reviewed January 13, 2017

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 13 nights. There was us and another couple. We had a poolside room and it was great. The room was clean and modern and well equipped with everything we needed the kitchen was small but enough for us. The air conditioning was great. The resort has 2 beautiful pools and the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kerry r
ParadiseRarotonga, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this review

Kia orana Thank you for taking the time write your review. Its a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the resort and everything that our little piece of paradise was able to offer. We would love to see you back again soon. Please email our front office staff at welcome@thesunsetresort.com to ensure you receive our quarterly newsletter on whats happening...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

398 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (392)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (86)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (73)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (141)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avarua
7.0 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
6.9 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
4.4 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
0.4 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sunset Resort is a 3.5 star property and is idyllically situated on the sheltered western side of the island only minutes from Avarua township. The secluded beachfront location provides guests with an unspoilt view of Rarotonga's crystal clear aqua blue lagoon and breathtaking sunsets. This personally managed, privately owned resort has an intimate atmosphere that will make every guest feel welcome and ensure they experience the magic of Rarotonga and its people. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunset Resort

Address: Ara Tapu | Nikao, Avarua, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Price Range: $201 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunset Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunset Hotel Arorangi
Sunset Hotel Arorangi
Sunset Resort Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Sunset Resort staff and other travelers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Sunset Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Only advice, don't book rooms that back on to the main road as they are noisy and the dogs barked a lot at night.”
  • view from our room
 of 5 bubbles PennySlevinsky, 4 days ago | Read review
“Near one of the pools, upstairs for the view and tranquility.”
 of 5 bubbles Steffsteff14, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Beach front rooms are well worth the extra cost!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles nuikahakai, Feb 20, 2017 | Read review
“Beachfront was lovely and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 690jacquieh, Feb 11, 2017 | Read review
“Ocean view is the way to go”
 of 5 bubbles Dubya80, Feb 10, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question