Alma Historica Boutique Hotel

Alma Historica Boutique Hotel

Traveler (361)
Panorama at the Alma Historica Boutique Hotel
360
Panoramas (8)
View from our room over the gardens of the Palacio Taranco
Room & Suite (125)
What is Travelers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travelers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

5.0
#2 of 87 hotels in Montevideo
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.9
Value
4.6
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to the top 1% of businesses across select categories.
In the heart of the old city of Montevideo. Culture, elegance and comfort. We pay homage to Uruguay's identity since its very beginnings. Welcome to Alma Historica Boutique Hotel. Each room is unique and inspired by characters from Uruguay's culture. Every detail has been considered to create a comfortable and sophisticated space.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Solarium
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Street parking
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Laptop safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, German, Italian and 1 more

Location

Solis 1433 Plaza Zabala, Montevideo 11000 Uruguay
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Carrasco Airport
11.2 mi
See all flights
5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles804 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Alma Historica Boutique Hotel is a gem nestled in the old town, where the cleanliness of its accommodations receives consistent accolades from visitors. While opinions on value vary, the fusion of historical charm with modern convenience is a highlight for many guests. The hotel's staff is often celebrated for their exceptional service and local recommendations. Though some guests find the rooms small, the unique themes and comfortable beds are well-liked. The prime location and thematic atmosphere honoring Uruguayan culture add to its appeal, even as travelers express desires for more consistent access to amenities like the rooftop jacuzzi.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Charming
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Meticulous
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Well-appointed

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveler reviews and learn more about how the site works.
804Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 670
  • 112
  • 13
  • 5
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
ANTONY B wrote a review Mar 2020
Plymouth, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Situated on the corner of a road leading off Zabala Square, one could easily walk past this hotel, with its small entrance and minimal frontage. Our room, one of the 15, was on the 4th floor (the hotel has a lift) and was a bit on the small side but very adequate for a short stay, we even had a view of the river over the roof tops. Our room and the public rooms were full of antiques, old furniture with décor relating to that period. A nice roof terrace with two sunbeds, chairs and a hot tub. The hotel only serves breakfast but the reception lady was very helpful recommending a couple of restaurants that were near and even checking that they were open on a Sunday evening. Their is a lounge with an 'honesty bar'. Breakfast was a buffet affair with some hot food available and served to the table. The crockery, as other people have mentioned, was miss-matched bone china. All members of staff were helpful and pleasant and the hotel, maybe because of the décor, ambiance and quirkiness just felt really nice.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kach Umandap Howe wrote a review Apr 2022
Herceg-Novi, Montenegro
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here last February at the Don Pedro Room. It's a superior room; it's massive, and the bed is one of the nicest I have slept in here in Uruguay. There are also English Channels available on the TV.

The staff was terrific, they were so kind, and they gave me a little tour of this historic hotel; the library was my favorite as I could relax and no other guests were there.

Unfortunately, they only have breakfast available, but the options were outstanding, and it was delicious (and instagrammable). In addition, the hotel has free water, and when I requested hot water, they delivered it to my room.

Location-wise, it's perfect. It's in the center near the restaurants and the promenade. They had good protocols upon my arrival; it's a plus.

Overall, my stay was superb. I highly recommend staying here if you want something cozy, comfortable, and cultural. It's a truly beautiful hotel - in and out.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
Sheffield wrote a review Jan 2023
Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Located in the old city and beautifully decorated in great taste with quirky antiques. Rooms are comfortable and well equipped. A superb breakfast is included, with freshly-made omelettes.

What made this hotel exceptional was the outstanding staff. The Manager could not do enough for me, even going out one evening to get dinner from a local restaurant, as I did not want to go out alone. He offered ideas for restaurants, booked me a hair appointment and drew a map showing the hairdresser location inside a shopping mall. Outstanding service!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alma Historica Boutique, Director General at Alma Historica Boutique Hotel
Responded Mar 18, 2023
Dear Madam, we are so glad and thankful for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Montevideo. Best regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sebastiensh wrote a review Feb 2020
New York City, New York
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I usually don't stay at historical mansions - personally I prefer modern conveniences and atmosphere. The travel agency booked this place for me and promised me this is a great place. And it is completely true. It overlooks one of the prettiest square in old town, has a killer view on the rooftop with a hot tub, and has a gourmet breakfast to gain some kilos for. All the recommendations from the front desk turned out to be right on the spot. I loved the restaurant and coffee place so much I went back again and again. At night they leave out bite size desserts for you to nibble. The last day after checking out I managed to use the roof top's showering facilities before my late flight.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: If you want a view to the plaza, choose the rooms facing the south-east side.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
El_Pelicano wrote a review Feb 2023
New Carrollton, Maryland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Upon arrival at this hotel, we needed assistance booking a day trip to Punta Del Este, and a bus ride to Colonia del Sacramento. Nelson couldn’t have been more helpful, patiently taking the time to call the various transit operators on our behalf. Thanks Nelson!

Our room was super clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. We slept so well!

Breakfast was lovely, with fresh squeezed orange juice and home made eggs. The hotel had fine little touches like bone-china coffee cups, which did not go unnoticed.

The hotel is nicely located halfway between the tourist port and the downtown centro, a twenty minute walk to almost everything in Montevideo.

Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alma Historica Boutique, Director General at Alma Historica Boutique Hotel
Responded Mar 18, 2023
We greatly appreciate your comments. It is our pleasure to assist our guests so that they can enjoy their stay to the fullest. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Montevideo. Best wishes.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David Wildman wrote a review Jan 2024
Manchester, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Was nice enough but I thought it was expensive for what it is. I think there is better value for money available. Our room was ‘Superior’ and was OK but not particularly big. The hotel only offers breakfast and there’s not really a bar, though there is a nice lounge area near reception. There’s a nice roof terrace with a jacuzzi but it would be nice if they offered drinks. It’s in a good location for the old town, but the area is surprisingly quiet for a city of 1.3 million people, especially in the evening. Apparently January is peak holiday season so everyone has gone to the beach. There was a sign in our room which said ‘water is on us’ but they did try to charge us for the bottles in the fridge on checkout, until
I pointed out the sign.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: January is not a good time to visit as the old town is very quiet, apparently December and...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
brooklynchile wrote a review Dec 2023
Atlanta, Georgia
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Alma Histórica for a week and were pleased from beginning to end. The location is walking distance from great restaurants and many sites in Ciudad Vieja, the room (Don Carlos suite) was lovely and comfortable, and everyone we encountered on staff was warm, helpful, and kind. A special thanks to Nelson Dalto, who welcomed us upon arrival and also graciously provided any advice or assistance we needed during our time at this quaint little hotel.

P.S. I loved the beautiful, ornate, mismatched antique tea sets that greeted us each morning at breakfast!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: If you visit the city in Nov, make sure to bring bug repellent. When you're outside, the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Richard D wrote a review Sep 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Gorgeous boutique hotel designed out of an old mansion in the ciudad vieja. Each room is designed with the theme of some prominent Uruguayan (mine was a tribute to a footballer ). The hotel itself is beautiful . The rooms are huge (mine had a balcony overlooking the nearby square). The breakfasts are delicious (the orange juice taste like it was freshly squeezed) . There is a rooftop jacuzzi , which unfortunately was out of service . The hotel staff is lovely and helpful in recommending things to do and restaurants to check out . They booked me a wine tasting tour which was quite nice . The area is historic but a little quiet in the evenings, however , it is the most beautiful part of the city to stay in and Ubers are cheap and plentiful
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alma Historica Boutique, Director General at Alma Historica Boutique Hotel
Responded Sep 20, 2023
Dear Mr. Richard, thank you for your assessment, we appreciate you have taken time to let us know your opinion. We are so glad that you have had a pleasant experience and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit. Best wishes.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tour52621498384 wrote a review Mar 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Boutique hotel with historic touches of Uruguay. Rooms were comfortable and the breakfast each morning offered a wide selection of pastries, fruit, homemade granola, yoghurt and beverages. They will even make you an omelet or scrambled eggs. We enjoyed watching the sunsets on the rooftop patio. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Nelson was especially helpful in giving us suggestions for sightseeing.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alma Historica Boutique, Director General at Alma Historica Boutique Hotel
Responded Mar 18, 2023
We appreciate your comments and are so glad you enjoyed your staying. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Montevideo. Best wishes.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SnowyShasta wrote a review Feb 2024
Portland, Oregon
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for one night in mid-January and found it to be a wonderful location, right in the heart of the old city. We were walking distance to the port, areas of the old town, and many attractions and plazas. The staff was very friendly and happy to answer questions in English, recommending restaurants and sights to see. They were also happy to hold our luggage for us the day we checked out until our afternoon departure.

Each room is apparently unique, and ours was beautiful, with a comfortable bed and an obviously updated bathroom with modern fittings and conveniences. Our room was on the first floor (one above ground level) and we did hear some road noise in the morning as the city started walking, so if you're concerned about noise you may want to request a higher floor. Breakfast was included in our stay and had very good options, both hot and cold.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kenf2697 asked a question Jan 2019
18 contributions10 helpful votes
Is there a restaurant and/or bar in the hotel?
Answer from AlmaHistorica
Montevideo, Uruguay1 contribution
Dear Timothy, good morning from Montevideo! Our hotel offers a very good breakfast which selects some of the most delicious home-made delicatenesses, however, we have lots of good recommendations for guests to enjoy the taste of the Old Quarter, and most of these are only five-minutes walk! If you need further information about our property, you can send us an e-mail, or chat with us through our website, Best regards, Matías Bastarreix
kenf2697 asked a question Jan 2019
18 contributions10 helpful votes
Is there a restaurant and/or bar in the hotel?
Answer from cwlawdog3
Cape Cod, Massachusetts7 contributions
Yes. There is breakfast available and a nice library for cocktails.
350marvin asked a question Jan 2018
Saint Simons Island, Georgia98 contributions68 helpful votes
Is there an elevator?
Answer from Anna S
Albany, California1 contribution
Yes there is an elevator in this magical hotel
Brie G asked a question Mar 2017
4 contributions
Is there a gym at the hotel?
Answer from Emened
London, United Kingdom64 contributions72 helpful votes
No gym. But there is a delightful roof top spa area.
Answer from azoomi
Evanston, Illinois316 contributions177 helpful votes
We took UBER cars all over South America including all over Montevideo. Not only were they extremely reasonable and safe, we enjoyed meeting the drivers who were normal people looking to make extra money. Not too many spoke English but a little polite Spanish can get you pretty far.
182dja wrote a tip Jul 8
Sarasota, Florida117 contributions62 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Visit Art Museum across the street. (free) Walk to the waterfront for lunch. Very good fish. "
Read full review
christopher G wrote a tip Jan 2024
Natick, Massachusetts19 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The room was spacious and amenities were excellent. We walked everywhere and always felt safe and comfortable. Staff was outstanding. "
Read full review
David Wildman wrote a tip Jan 2024
Manchester, United Kingdom21 contributions7 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"January is not a good time to visit as the old town is very quiet, apparently December and February are more vibrant."
Read full review
brooklynchile wrote a tip Dec 2023
Atlanta, Georgia406 contributions40 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you visit the city in Nov, make sure to bring bug repellent. When you're outside, the mosquitoes can come to call! (Don't leave the suite patio door open too long)."
Read full review
Victoria L wrote a tip Nov 2023
Paris, France22 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Only 10 minutes walk from the port market where there are plenty of restaurants (except Monday evening). Local restaurant El Navegante on next corner)"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Montevideo area.
PRICE RANGE
$122 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
UruguayMontevideo DepartmentMontevideoCiudad Vieja
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ALMA HISTORICA BOUTIQUE HOTEL $133 - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Alma Historica Boutique Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Alma Historica Boutique Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Museo El Juguetero (0.1 miles), Montevideo Wine Experience (0.1 miles), and Museo de Artes Decorativas (0.02 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Alma Historica Boutique Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Alma Historica Boutique Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Alma Historica Boutique Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Alma Historica Boutique Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Alma Historica Boutique Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Primuseum, Estrecho, and La Fonda.
Does Alma Historica Boutique Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Alma Historica Boutique Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Alma Historica Boutique Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Alma Historica Boutique Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, Italian, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Alma Historica Boutique Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Avenida 18 de Julio (0.8 miles), Galería de Arte Portón de San Pedro (0.5 miles), and Santuario Beata Francisca Rubatto (3.7 miles).
All Montevideo HotelsMontevideo Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MontevideoHotels near Alma Historica Boutique Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars