We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Green Track Hostel

Visit hotel website
Traveler (13)
Room & Suite (3)
Dining (1)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Green Track Hostel NOW MOVED TO THREE DOORS AWAY in the heart of Iquitos, Peru, located in a nice residential area. It is seven blocks from the Plaza de Armas, the main square of Iquitos, and also walking distance to Belen market, a popular tourist attraction. We have private rooms as well as air conditioned dormitories, and a private courtyard and ROOF TERRACE. We invite our guests to use our extra large kitchen for food preparation during their stay. Wifi internet and a BRAZILIAN breakfast is included to all our guests. We are the gateway to the Tapiche Reserve.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Budget
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
122Reviews
28Photos
0Q+A
13Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 62
  • 27
  • 10
  • 7
  • 16
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Don't come here for luxery, but for the cosy ambiance, lovely volunteers and maybe interesting conversations with the exentric owner. The breakfast is quite good, although the portions were remarkebly bigger and more sufficient when the owner is not around than when he is
Read more
Response from GreenTrackHostel, Front Office Manager at Green Track Hostel
Responded Dec 7, 2018
Hello Dear guest, Thank you for the review, I would like to respond in some points, The is the same every day, we change only the fruits on daily basis, but still the same,we are the only hostel in Iquitos to serve fresh Moka coffee, 4 types of fruits, boiled egg, Ciabata Bread, Butter, jam, Tea (several flavors to chose). I get the owner is eccentric , he is the most active hostel owner in Iquitos, not many people do that most of the time he is at the Tapiche Reserve really deep in the jungle trying to protect the jungle and animals from logger and poachers and he doesn't like smoking ( !). In general he goes out of his way to help guest or any other person. NO one makes comments how many times he goes to police/ doctors and asking his personal connections to help clients or any other person that needs help. And honestly we would help the hostel also (if you had intention) if you have told us that the bed is noise. We have done it, and we have also changed the mattresses. We have the best available in Iquitos . Green Track hostel provides Environmental friendly information, we do not comp-actuated with other places that take advantages of uninformed clients we don't agree with business that have animals in captivity or domestic conditions and we do not promote attraction that have such attitude. We have a relaxing atmosphere, we don't sell anything in the hostel, and we try to give the best information to our clients how to see Iquitos and the jungle. Thank you for your review we have take notice and we are improving Mirna Saavedra Perez
Read more
Amazing rooftop with hammocks overlooking the city. Nice clean Hostel with good rooms. The kitchen is great and has a fridge. Showers are good. The staff are really nice and helpful offering the best places to go in Iquitos.
Read more
The Green Track is a great place to stay if you're looking at doing a trip into the Amazon. The staff are very knowledgeable, and the manager Ana will be happy to recommend a few excursion options depending on what you're looking for. A friend and I stayed for only a single
Read more
Response from Murilo R, Owner at Green Track Hostel
Responded Feb 17, 2018
Thank you for the positive review. We will pass the word to Miguel and your gratitude. At the Green Track hostel we are very proud that we informe and help our guest on the way around Iquitos, giving honest information . But at the end people like you that chose to get out of the way to support the Miguel family is what makes the difference. Thank you
Read more
6 months in South America, around 50 different hostels across the continent and Green Track Hostel will go down in history as one of my worst hostel experiences. My girlfriend and I stayed 2 weeks in Iquitos in different hostels. We spend 3 nights in Green Track then went on a
Read more
Response from Murilo R, Owner at Green Track Hostel
Responded Feb 19, 2018
You are becoming a expert on negative tripadvisor review. Yes you had booked a night and yes I gave to other. You are wright. Our latest check in time is 20: 00 ( unless late arrival adviced) Many times we stay later than middnight waiting for guest that have adviced late arrival. And some times we also attend people without reservation if we have space even if late night like 22:00. YOU paid for your beds on the Ac dorm. Not a private room,, I had told you before you went away, that we had no private room for that night. Along the day we reject several clients because we were keeping the 2 beds for you. At 22:00 some people nock at the door, I was already sleeping amd let them in and gave the beds you had reserved( BUt never told me you were coming almost midnight ) . My mistake, We must have mad a really bad impression on you. You were here 3 days, you seemed very happy, we always provided all information we could when you asked, when you left for your jungle trip you asked about the private room I told you we didnt have space ( cuase we had reservation) and you said ( I gues out of desperation as you mention in your review ) " Oh give us any bed we just want to stay in this hostel" My mistake,And I kept you bed untill 22:00, way after the check in time. You arrived 23:00 (no late arrival adviced) I returned you money and gave you a bed in a different dorm than you had reserved. My mistake, I was embarassed for many reasons. 1- I had you 2 as good clients and I should had kept the beds for you regardless you didnt come , regardless you didnt mention you were coming late night , regardless I had to wake up at 05:00 the next day. My mistake because I should have been waiting for you all night and be submessive and acept all sort of argument that ONLY suitable to you. 2 - My mistake that I always trying to satisfy everyone that nock on our door and 4 clients asking for bed at 22:00 almost begging cause was late and they didnt want to be walking around the town with they luggage. Yes My mistake I should have told them the same I have had done the entire day . " I have empty beds but they are reserved" even it was 22:00 and NOBODY ever come form a jungle trip after midninght. 3 -Yes my mistake, We do jungle trips too. BTW we never arrive back to Iquitos later than 1800 on the last day, and my mistake assume that you werent coming because ALSO all others visitor that go to the jungle with other companies NEVER arrive after 1800. Seriously. I realy try to understand your frustrastion, for you and your girl friend go around writing reviews EVERYWHERE you can, trying to destroy a legitm business builted with hard and honest work just because we didnt suit your travel plans. After you travel for so long and so many hostel we provided you the very worse experience in your travels. You were here 3 days and kept on moving rooms because we had reservation for the day after and you had all the chances to go elsewhere, Also after your jungle trip you didnt need to stay here if the hostel is so bad as you mention . but you want to bere here on your way back even we are a dirty hostel How dirty does it has to be so you go away on the next day??? Im sorry we made you suffer and had such a terrible experience that you will carry for life time. Fortunately there are many other that keep the hostel full and happy and we try to understand the human nature as we try to understand you and try to do better next time.. But Im sure like normal humans just like you we will comit more mistakes Thank you for a trecherous review, believe we will do better, learn from this and trow this terrible page to the past Katoo
Read more
My boyfriend and I spend a couple of nights at Green Track hostel. The first night we stayed in a Double with AC - which was nice. The following day we reserved a dorm with AC, but we were told we had to move to the fan dorm, since the people in the AC room didn't leave, so we
Read more
Response from Murilo R, Owner at Green Track Hostel
Responded Feb 17, 2018
Well. If hostel is so dirty and so terrible why did you want to come back. you stayed here for several nights and on your way out to your camping trip you asked to reserve the room for your resturn.This review is just your version. I have send away several couples during the day because I was holding the room for you. I assumed you werent coming anymore and somenthing changed in your plans. as it happens very often. Even when people pay in advance. You had paid for the room yes, I held the room for you untill 22:00,and before you atrrived, our check in time is not later than 19:00 hrs but we hold reservation if we are advice of lare arrival. As you mention yes I was holding a another room for a couple that Advice they late arrival at 23:30 and I was holding their room. If you had advice/ told you were coming late night I would have held it for you as I did for the others. , you came was 22:30 . I understand your frustration, Its also frustrating for us too
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Family and Play Areas
dorm with A/C
Photo provided by managementGreen Track Hostel
6 bed dorm room (air conditioned)
Photo provided by managementGreen Track Hostel
roof terrace view
"If you're with 2 people and want to have a good night sleep don't take the room with the bunk bed (unless they improved it by now?)"
"Family rooms on the top floor"
"Dorm is quite good enough."
"The A/C dorm downstairs has the best wifi, some street noise, but not bad."
"5bd dorm fan - big and spacious with large windows so you get a lot of natural light"
PreviousNext
123
PRICE RANGE
$14 - $18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
PeruLoreto RegionIquitos
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing