We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Pirwa Colonial Hostel

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

212 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 63: English reviews
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff easily distracted so service not great. On check in, asked to stay for extra nights. So busy with people checking in and out. Later, confirmed my extra nights stay, then said no rooms available, yet on Hostelworld, there was availability. Chaos! Loud music at night. Difficult to sleep. People smoking weed in communal areas. Laundry service was late. Many... More 

Helpful?
Thank Travellingnurse79
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016 via mobile

Playing too loud music from 8 am to 1 am. Minimum amount of lightning, toilets, showers, tables, chairs and kitchen square meters. Not a proper breakfast and the entire building is extremely cold. Only nice part is the collaboration with the hospital and the volunteering staff.

Helpful?
Thank Petra N
PirwaHostelsTeam, Gerente at Pirwa Colonial Hostel, responded to this review

Good morning Petra, and thank you for reviewing Pirwa Colonial Hostel. We're sorry that you felt cold during your stay. It is currently wintertime in the Andes, and a colonial building like ours can get cold during this time. As a legally protected historical monument, it's very difficult to receive approbation to install a heating system, which is why you... More 

Travelers are raving about these Cusco hotels

Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2016 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here before our trek and were disappointed with this hostel. We were unable to lock our room from the inside. Our first night a guy came barging into our room. The place is very loud and cold. The staff were really nice but after staying at other hostels I wouldn't recommend this place.

Helpful?
Thank Travelling_thailand
PirwaHostelsTeam, Manager at Pirwa Colonial Hostel, responded to this review

Good afternoon, and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We regret that you were disappointed with your stay, although it's nice to know that our staff was an exception for you. As we mentioned in our reply to your companion (the following review), our shared dormitories cannot be locked from the inside or outside because... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2016 via mobile

We had a thankfully short stay here. Our room didn't have a working lock from the inside which allows for unwanted visitors all hours of the night. Bar was super loud and open way too late. Food menu was mediocre. Bathrooms were disgusting by the morning as the water gets turned off at night. Common areas with no roof didn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shaan L
PirwaHostelsTeam, Manager at Pirwa Colonial Hostel, responded to this review

Good afternoon, and thank you for leaving a review for Pirwa Colonial. We didn’t actually turn the water off. For two days last month, the local water company, Sedacusco (our next-door neighbors), only turned on the water in the mornings, and an announcement was made that it was due to maintenance. We have an emergency tank that we use in... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2016 via mobile

The hostel itself was really cool, loads of interesting rooms and really chilled atmosphere. What really set it apart though we're the staff. On my first night I had altitude sickness and passed out. I woke up with 4 or 5 staff members doing everything they could to make sure I was okay, bringing me oxygen, fetching things from my... More 

Helpful?
Thank Oli H
PirwaHostelsTeam, Gerente at Pirwa Colonial Hostel, responded to this review

Good morning Oli, and thank you so much for your review. We're happy that you were pleased with service in the hostel, although it sounds like you went through a lot during your stay in Cusco- we really hope that you had a great trip in spite of the altitude shock, which unfortunately can be quite dangerous for some people,... More 

Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

The shower doesn't even work. It's always so cold in there and I had trouble sleeping for two nights. I advise you to bring an extra blanket. The internet worked fine but not in the rooms. I also advise you to get a global plan for your phone because in case for emergencies and you need to call out of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mary P
PirwaHostelsTeam, Manager at Pirwa Colonial Hostel, responded to this review

Good morning Mary, and thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We’re sorry that you suffered issues with our showers. Because it’s an electrical system (we can’t add pipes to a historical home as it’s protected), it works a little differently than the type of showers you may be used to. We recommend that if anybody... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2015 via mobile

we were so exhausted by the time we reached the room & the second we opened the blankets saw the dirty sheets filled with hair as if no one had changed them for new customers!!! it was very cold and indeed they do provide dirty blankets ( again filled with hair) if you think sleeping with dirty blanket is better... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank KubraRmk
PirwaHostelsTeam, Manager at Pirwa Colonial Hostel, responded to this review

Good morning Kubra, and thank you for your review. We’re sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our hostel. It is true that during the wintertime it can get cold, as we’re located in a historical colonial building made heavily of stone; for this reason we have large heaters in the communal areas, portable heaters in the private... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2015

We recently stayed at the Colonial, were very pleased with our choice. Staff were amazing at this hostel. Super breakfast. Cleanlyness good. All is perfect in this hostel,we like so much. Good kitchen fully equipped to cook. Good wi-fi in the bar. The food in the restaurant is ordinary at best, so I strongly recommend .What a great room, lots... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brando B
PirwaHostelsTeam, General Manager at Pirwa Colonial Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Brandon, and thank you for your comments. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay with us in Pirwa Colonial and hope that your tour to Machu Picchu was unforgettable. We'll be introducing some new food offerings soon that we think will be great- hopefully you can give them a try on your next visit! More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2015

The hostel is very beautiful "colonial architecture". Inside the hostel has a bar, where you have opportunity to meet people from all over the world. The bathrooms are spacious and clean. The Wi-Fi is very good and I really enjoyed my trip at this hostel. The hostel itself is exceptionally clean and the staff are friendly. They helped me a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gary L
PirwaHostelsTeam, Gerente at Pirwa Colonial Hostel, responded to this review

Good morning Gary, and thank you so much for your kind comments- we're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in Pirwa Colonial Hostel, and that our travel agency was able to assist you with services as well. We hope that you had an amazing trip! More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015 via mobile

The hostel building itself is fine but the hostel is cold and one of the dirtiest hostels I have been to. No sheets on the duvet on my bed and the bathrooms are disgusting with overflowing bins and grubby floors. Not as sociable as other hostels we have stayed in either. In a place where there are so many other... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
PirwaHostelsTeam, General Manager at Pirwa Colonial Hostel, responded to this review

Good evening Sarah, and thank you for your feedback. We regret that you were disappointed with your stay. We do what we can to fight the cold (using alpaca blankets and down comforters on each bed, roofing the interior patios, and positioning portable heaters throughout the common areas), but it’s no small task during the Andean winter (June-July-August) in a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

85 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (43)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
2.6 mi away
Pirwa Garcilaso Hostel
Pirwa Garcilaso Hostel
#74 of 335 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 20 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pirwa Hostel Backpackers Familiar, San Blas
0.4 mi away
Pirwa Posada del Corregidor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#4 of 335 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 516 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 335 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kokopelli Hostel
Kokopelli Hostel
#5 of 335 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Pirwa Hostels is a budget hostel chain offering economical lodging in private rooms and shared dormitories, in locations throughout Peru and Bolivia. Pirwa Colonial Hostel is located in Plaza San Francisco, two blocks from the main square of Cusco, Peru. It boasts two interior patios, a TV and game lounge, bar, guest kitchen, and fast food stand. Services include a free continental breakfast, internet + wi-fi, luggage storage, hot water 24/7. There are occasional activities and parties. Reception is on call 24/7 and there are security cameras within and without. There's also security lockers in the shared dorms for your backpacks, and extra, smaller lockers outside of the rooms for any belongings you want to take special care with. There's also an information desk staffed by Pirwa Travel tour & transport specialists. Pirwa Colonial is a one-stop shop for backpackers! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pirwa Colonial Hostel

Address: Plaza San francisco 360, Cusco 000000, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Price Range: $15 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pirwa Colonial Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Pirwa Colonial Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pirwa Hostels Backpackers Hotel Cusco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay