Hotel Arqueólogo - Casa Peralta - Exclusive Selection

Calle Pumacurco 408 3 Blocks From Main Square, Cusco 08000 Peru
Traveler (385)
360
Panoramas (11)
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#54 of 256 hotels in Cusco
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.2
Value
4.0
The Hotel Arqueologo is situated just a five-minute walk from Cusco's Main Square "Plaza de Armas", in the traditional San Cristobal neighborhood, with its narrow streets and Inca walls, colonial-era balconies and baroque churches. During the Inca period, our street was one of the main avenues of the imperial capital, connecting the center of the city with the great fortress of Saqsaywaman.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free internet
Free breakfast
Bicycle tours
Patio
Taxi service
Massage
Baggage storage
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Walking tours
Umbrella
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
672Reviews24Q+A83Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 369
  • 199
  • 50
  • 32
  • 22
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Becky S wrote a review Jul 2023
Portland, Maine3 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
This was a no-nonsense hotel that fit our needs! It was close to everything, the owner and staff were very accommodating. Despite being some of the only guests, we were treated so well. Comfy beds and hot, clean showers. They are very accommodating with our baby!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from joel EVRARD, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Hotel Arqueólogo - Casa Peralta - Exclusive Selection
Responded Sep 15, 2023
Gracias por sus comentarios. Es Asi que tenemos una cuna gratuita que se puede colocar en las habitaciones suite o design. Joel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rachelle M wrote a review Jan 2020
Guatemala City, Guatemala6 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel Arqueologo was located in the perfect spot only 2 blocks away from the main square and the San Blas neighborhood. The gardens are beautiful and there is a lot of space. Everything is very tastefully decorated. I felt like I was staying at a high end hotel but paid a very reasonable price for a beautiful private room. The hotel does not use any single-use plastic and conserves electricity. I would definitely stay here again. Highly recommend.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel_Arqueologo_Cus, Propietario at Hotel Arqueólogo - Casa Peralta - Exclusive Selection
Responded Feb 9, 2020
How nice that they realize all the details that make this hotel a nice place. Also the effort we make to try to be the most respectful of the environment. It is a country where the concern for the issue is null, and the effort on our part goes directly to employees, suppliers and our customers. Thank you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Janine W wrote a review Sep 2023
Chicago, Illinois284 contributions136 helpful votes
This is a challenging review to write, because the team working in the hotel are so pleasant and the facility has so much character and potential. The hotel has (or at one time had) plenty to offer, yet the degree to which certain aspects of the hotel are or are not available depend on what is important to you. We stayed 8 nights and here is our experience:
The pictures of the room we had was accurate to what we received. The room/bath was very clean. The bed/pillows were exceptionally comfortable. The towels were like sandpaper. As for housekeeping: the amenities (soap, coffee, tea) were never replenished.
Filtered water is available in the central area (this is a really nice benefit in a country where you shouldn’t drink from the tap).
Housekeeping: Our room was cleaned daily. The coffee/tea in the room was never replaced, I had to ask for more at breakfast each day. The towels are thin and in some cases shredding.
Internet: The internet was spotty at best for the first few days, and then it was only after I asked that I was told it was down. Interestingly, at the end of day 3 I received a WhatsApp message supposedly from the hotel offering the application as the communication vehicle so that I could ask them any questions and they could help me “as soon as possible”. I inquired about the internet, observed confirmation that my message was read, but I never received any response.
The layout/structure of the building is stunning: there is a central courtyard sheltered from the elements. There is a restaurant and a separate bar located on the first floor. (However, neither were open during our stay.) This was disappointing because the promotional descriptions and pictures provide beautiful pictures of these facilities and speak to the fact that they are onsite.
For breakfast: eggs, yogurt, breads and cereal are provided along with coffee/tea/orange juice. If you’re not fluent in Spanish, try to ask for the egg menu what gives you the 4 options for their preparation in multiple languages.
There is no “front desk”. You ring the door to be allowed in for check-in, and thereafter you have a key that allows you access to the hotel. And anytime you need to ask a question of someone, there is a bell you need to ring to get their attention. They are always attentive to the ring.
Overall: our stay was pleasant. We were disappointed by the absence of the restaurant and bar, and we always felt alone entering the hotel given that no one was around. But the evenings were silent which made for nice sleeping, and the location is close enough to the main square without being so close as to hear the noise.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: If onsite bar/restaurant are important to you, ask if they are open.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ronan D wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We had a terrible experience with this hotel. After booking a room with 2 doubles and a sofa bed for 4 people we arrived late at night to be told that the room only had 3 single beds. We showed reception our booking and payment confirmation from Agoda and the description confirming the number of beds. He suggested that my husband and I share a single bed, which we were reluctant to do particularly as my husband was unwell. He also said that we would be charged another $10USD which was surprising as we had already paid $116 for a room which was advertised as $59 on the hotel website. We understand that mistakes happen and asked to speak with the manager. The receptionist was unaware that my husband speaks Spanish and we realised after listening to the receptionist on the phone that they had no intention of helping us. The manager was present in the hotel, but didn’t come and speak with us. We had paid upfront and asked for a refund so we could look for another hotel, even though it was after 9.30pm and we had now been there over an hour. He said he hadn’t received payment and asked us to call our bank in Australia. We showed him the payment confirmation again which was non refundable. We were now really exhausted after travelling since 5am. We begged him to put another bed in the room and after a 15 minute wait he agreed. However he said that we would have to pay for the room again as he couldn’t see the payment. After 1.5 hours of trying to check in, he showed us a print out of our booking which included our credit card details - he actually did have payment. We now just wanted to leave and he said we would be charged as a no show. After this experience, we just couldn’t stay. We left to find another hotel at 10.30pm. I don’t know yet whether he charged us for the room. The hotel looks ok, but has the worst customer service I have ever experienced. Our situation could have been easily resolved- the hotel was empty. Good luck if you decide to book.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel_Arqueologo_Cus, Gerente at Hotel Arqueólogo - Casa Peralta - Exclusive Selection
Responded Feb 9, 2020
We apologize for the inconvenience and want to give you explanations. The problem is with the booking company AGODA. This Company has been purchased by another booking company. You have put wrong hotel data online. For example, we accept 4 additional children up to 19 years old? They will understand that this is not possible. We also have no rooms with 6 beds. We confirm that nothing has been charged, you must know that booking never charges. Sorry for not reacting better because you as a client had no responsibility. The problem is internal between the hotel and Booking company.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kevin K wrote a review Mar 2020
Port Elgin, Canada21 contributions24 helpful votes
If you are a history lover and enjoy an artsy mix of new and old, this is a great place. Located just a short walk from the historic centre of town, there is so much to see and do here. The owner Joel and his friendly staff really helped us out with information and taxis, etc. Great breakfast too with lots of variety. Joel is very environmentally minded and supplies free purified water so you don't have to buy bottled water! Joel also treated us to a do-it-yourself Pisco Sour night at the bar, so that was a lot of fun too!
Highly recommended, thanks for a great experience in Cusco!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Les C wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
The rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast was good. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The garden is a good place to recover from climbing the streets of hilly and high-elevation Cusco. Price was fair but not cheap for the level of accommodation.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gaétan L wrote a review Oct 2023
8 contributions2 helpful votes
A beautiful hotel, just a few minutes away from Cusco's main square and all the historical sites in the Centro. The neighborhood feels safe. The owner and the staff were welcoming and attentive to our needs. (Love that they have potable water and a reasonably priced, quick laundry service!) They were very accomodating, letting us leave our luggage for a few days while we were trecking in the region. Rooms are spacious, clean, very confortable and breakfast was perfect to start the day. We'll definitely stay here again when we come back to Cusco!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leslie B wrote a review Jan 2020
Portland, Oregon1 contribution
Very well-located in Cusco. Great variety at breakfast. Breakfast room and patio are sun-filled in the morning. Nice rooms. Nice property. Very helpful staff. We learned how to make Pisco Sours in the bar!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel_Arqueologo_Cus, Propietario at Hotel Arqueólogo - Casa Peralta - Exclusive Selection
Responded Feb 9, 2020
With all my heart, thank you for being rewarded for your comments. It corresponds to the work of more than 30 years in this beautiful colonial house that I have reopened with many love.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Igodoy@gmail.com wrote a review Nov 2023
4 contributions
Excellent, relaxing and friendly environment. Rooms and bathrooms are very spacious and and clean. Great location, walking distance to downtown and main tourist attractions.
I spent 5 the best five vacation days with my family and we have not complain. Highly recommend it. We'll definitely come back.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Breakfast is very casual
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RhondaMarie wrote a review Nov 2005
Siem Reap, Cambodia98 contributions25 helpful votes
I really cant say enough about this hotel. The staff are very helpful with all aspects of your stay. The rooms were clean and well kept, however there are no phones or televisions in the rooms. My first 3 nights were in a standard room with 2 twin size beds and private bath. The hotel held my extra bags while I was away at Machu picchu and upon my return my room was upgraded to a suite. The new room was very nice, with a queen sized canopy bed and a loft with a full size futon.

The only drawback that I found was the location. The hotel is only 2 blocks from the main plaza, however its located at the top of a very steep street. I found it easiest to walk in the morning and then taxi back to the hotel. (taxi´s are always cheap and easy to find)

There is a continental breakfast every morning with fresh fruit, bread and eggs made to order.

The lobby has a very nice fire place and bar, and coco tea is served to you upon arrival to help acclimate.

There is internet service available at no charge and there is massage and very efficient laundry services available and minimal cost.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2005
Value
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from RockyMtnsCO
Monument, Colorado249 contributions76 helpful votes
No problems when we were there in October. We stayed in one of the “Design Suites” on the 2nd floor.
Show all answers
Ajpsingh asked a question Feb 2019
New York City, New York2 contributions1 helpful vote
Does this hotel offer early check-ins?
Answer from Pierre M
Sun City West, Arizona369 contributions146 helpful votes
Do not know
Show all answers
Sandra G asked a question Dec 2018
New York City, New York6 contributions2 helpful votes
Does this hotel offer free breakfast?
Cusco Region, Peru
Here at the Hotel Arqueologo we believe in a good start to the day, which is why here The Buffet Breakfast it is included. You can enjoy a buffet breakfast of wholesome, good quality food which will give you a nutritious boost, to enjoy your day outdoors with just the right amount of energy. In Our buffet breakfast we offer hot beverages like coffee, milk and tea, as well as fruit juice, some freshly squeezed. You can accompany your favorite drink with, biscuits, homemade cake, jam, fresh bread and cereal, prepared just how you like them at our buffet. Local produce like cold cuts and cheese, are served alongside fresh bread, fruit, juice and hot vegetables. You will enjoy of a great view of the San Blas barrio at our breakfast place.
Show all answers
Answer from Lil P
Poinciana, Florida385 contributions112 helpful votes
Hello, We never had any problem with the water being turned off.
Show all answers
Singapore, Singapore105 contributions70 helpful votes
There are a number of tour companies offering Machu Picchu & the sacred valley. I haven't used the hotel service, but I guess they would be ok, or probably have a tie up with a tour company themselves. I've gone with perutrek4good; they were professional and very nice.
Show all answers
Igodoy@gmail.com wrote a tip Nov 2023
4 contributions
"Breakfast is very casual "
Read full review
Janine W wrote a tip Sep 2023
Chicago, Illinois284 contributions136 helpful votes
"If onsite bar/restaurant are important to you, ask if they are open. "
Read full review
fritzmuehlethaler wrote a tip Dec 2019
Mancora, Peru7 contributions2 helpful votes
"Room with garden view on the ground floor."
Read full review
radhikaa18 wrote a tip Dec 2019
Chicago, Illinois6 contributions
"Upgrade to the Design room - it's lovely."
Read full review
anash302257 wrote a tip Oct 2019
Puerto Galera, Philippines1 contribution
"All good on the room."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cusco area.
PRICE RANGE
$72 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
arqueologo exclusive selection cusco, arqueologo exclusive selection hotel
LOCATION
PeruCusco RegionCusco
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL ARQUEÓLOGO - CASA PERALTA - EXCLUSIVE SELECTION - Prices & Reviews (Cusco, Peru)

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Arqueólogo - Casa Peralta - Exclusive Selection
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Arqueólogo - Casa Peralta - Exclusive Selection?
Nearby attractions include Centro Historico De Cusco (0.2 miles), La Chupiteria The Shot Bar (0.2 miles), and Ekekos - Arte & Colores (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Arqueólogo - Casa Peralta - Exclusive Selection?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a lounge, and room service.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Arqueólogo - Casa Peralta - Exclusive Selection?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and extra long beds.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Arqueólogo - Casa Peralta - Exclusive Selection?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Arqueólogo - Casa Peralta - Exclusive Selection?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Arqueólogo - Casa Peralta - Exclusive Selection?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kusykay Peruvian Craft Food, Ofrenda Peruvian Healthy Food, and Rucula Cusco.
Is Hotel Arqueólogo - Casa Peralta - Exclusive Selection located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Cusco.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Arqueólogo - Casa Peralta - Exclusive Selection?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Arqueólogo - Casa Peralta - Exclusive Selection?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Sacsayhuaman (0.3 miles), Waliki Tours Peru (0.3 miles), and Choquequirao (4.7 miles).
Does Hotel Arqueólogo - Casa Peralta - Exclusive Selection have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.