We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Calle Jerusalen 606 Cercado Cercado, Arequipa 01 Peru
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (167)
Room & Suite (25)
Pool & Beach (21)

About

#18 of 172 in Arequipa
Location
4.2
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.2
Value
4.3
In Arequipa, "La Ciudad Blanca", only six blocks away from the main square and in an area bigger than 3,500 mts2, lays “La Casa de mi Abuela”. The most traditional and recommended Hotel in Arequipa that for three decades, has welcomed our tourist friends, within enviroments surrounded by gardens, enjoying the twetter of the birds and the peaceful quietness our guests deserve. En la Ciudad Blanca, a solo seis cuadras de la Plaza de Armas y en un área mayor a 3,500 mt2, está “La Casa de mi Abuela”. El Hostal más tradicional y recomendado en Arequipa, que por tres décadas, viene albergando a nuestros amigos turistas, en ambientes rodeados de jardines, gozando con el canto de las aves y disfrutando la paz y tranquilidad, que nuestros huéspedes merecen.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Show more
Room features
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family
432Reviews3Q+A26Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 180
  • 195
  • 40
  • 10
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Merrill wrote a review May 2019
Naples, Florida23 contributions6 helpful votes
Arequipa is the ugliest city on the face of the earth, at least it was in September 2018. We saw it from the air as we landed. It is placed on a baron desolate "MOON SCAPE" with squarlery houses. This hotel's grounds were an oasis of green on the Lunar landscape. Hotel was a nice enough budget hotel but the floor was very dirty, wear your socks from the bed to the bathroom. We had an excellent meal at the "Zig Zag" restaurant a short walk away. The only redeeming value in all of Arequipa. My strong suggestion is fly in and leave for the Colca Canyon IMMEDIATELY! don't spend a day here. We have traveled extensively for many years, we are not delicate snow flakes! Get yourself to the Colca Canyon Hot Springs ASAP. It was our only none budget accommodation and was a highlight.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: leave Arequipa immediately and get to Colca Canyon same day
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
cherryrock1 wrote a review Aug 2018
gloucestershire47 contributions26 helpful votes
The long queue for breakfast felt like being back at school, suggest they revise time of opening for breakfast as many people were already waiting at the start (7:00) Service needs to start earlier with people leaving early for trips. Breakfast was good once you were able to access it. Conversely, supper was a huge disappointment...no wonder we were the only people in the restaurant (the piano badly needed tuning). The games room was good and service at reception excellent,really helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from LCDMA, Administradora at Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela
Responded Aug 26, 2018
Thank you very much for your comments, which will help us improve the service.
Read more
livermagpie wrote a review Aug 2018
Dublin, Ireland88 contributions46 helpful votes
Stayed for 2 nights in this lovely hotel, a day before and after a tour to the Colca Canyon (also stayed in a hotel owned by the same company). The grounds of this hotel are amazing: a swimming pool, library, hammocks and a lot of plants. We stayed in two different rooms and both were very spacious, clean and contained the basic amenities. Breakfast was amazing, probably the best one in Peru, with several sweet and savoury options. The breakfast outdoor restaurant was also very nice. In terms of location, this hotel was around 15 mins walk to the main square. The neighbourhood is very quiet and well secured with a security guard at all times. Definitely a must stay in Arequipa!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from LCDMA, Administradora at Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela
Responded Aug 26, 2018
Thank you very much for your comments, we are very happy that you enjoyed the hotel.
Read more
Dina F wrote a review May 2018
49 contributions19 helpful votes
We stayed here for two nights and enjoyed it immensely. It's easy to walk to the main attractions in Arequipa and the breakfast was excellent. The rooms were good, and the grounds are fabulous. So wonderful to lie in the hammock after a busy day.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from CasademiAbuela, Administradora at Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela
Responded Jun 28, 2018
Thank you very much for your comments
Read more
RandyandJudy12345 wrote a review May 2018
Ottawa, Canada28 contributions8 helpful votes
We really enjoyed our time at this hotel. The grounds/gardens are very well maintained and there is a small pool -- a relaxing oasis to return to after a day of hiking around Arequipa. Really enjoyed breakfast which can be eaten in garden. In addition staff were very helpful. Our room was large, with quality linens making it very comfortable. Can easily recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from CasademiAbuela, Administradora at Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela
Responded Jun 28, 2018
Thank you very much for your comments
Read more
sobobooks wrote a review Jan 2018
South Berwick15 contributions2 helpful votes
This hotel was wonderful. The setting is beautiful. It is close to the center of town, but a quiet oasis. The breakfast was delicious and the setting really nice. The room was simple but clean and nice. I loved it all.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from CasademiAbuela, other at Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela
Responded Jan 26, 2018
Thank you very much for your comments, it makes us very happy that you enjoyed the Hotel.
Read more
StefJax wrote a review Jan 2018
Tampa, Florida2392 contributions309 helpful votes
+1
This is a lovely hotel that surprised me. From the front gate it doesn’t look like much but it’s quite large once you get in and the grounds are gorgeous. Take time to walk around and check it out. They have a nice, if small, pool and a little restaurant that has seats outside. Just like the name of the hotel (Grandmother’s House) the rooms are a bit dated and not decorated in the current style - but it’s comfortable for what you need. One thing my room didn’t have was a phone which was difficult if you needed to call the main office for something or a friend in another room. Would definitely recommend this hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from CasademiAbuela, other at Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela
Responded Jan 26, 2018
Thank you very much for your comments, we will try better the decoration of the rooms. It makes us very happy that you enjoyed the Hotel.
Read more
bgomezgarcia wrote a review Dec 2017
Lima, Peru17 contributions3 helpful votes
Beautiful venue, breakfast is great. The restaurant offers high quality "home-made" food. The rooms are quiet and clean. The newer area is great and security is taken care of. People are kind and offer an excellent quality service. Silvia the general manager is kind and ensures the hosts are having a nice stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Rooms near the pool are quiet.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Nevena V wrote a review Dec 2017
Sofia, Bulgaria17 contributions4 helpful votes
I spent 3 nights in the hotel in November 2017. Yes, the rooms are old-fashioned and you might have to wait for the hot water, but the areas around the hotel are amazing. Even though the hotel is located 5 min away from the city center, it was quite and relaxing. It has a huge green garden, full of different trees and flowers. I spent most of my afternoons laying down on the hammocks located in different places in the garden. The other thing I liked a lot about this hotel was the breakfast. You have several choices of fresh fruits, freshly squeezed juices, cereals, granolas, scrambled eggs, avocado, jellies, ham & cheese, different types of bread and so on. Also, you have an option to leave your luggage in the hotel's locker if you are going on a trip and have to check out.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: great breakfast, amazing garden and pool area, relaxing
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
emme991 wrote a review Nov 2017
Southampton, United Kingdom30 contributions5 helpful votes
We spent 3 nights here in November. Although it is 3 stars it was very disappointing. The rooms was very old fashioned and dated , shower cold on the evening . The pool area and gardens are pretty and breakfast looking onto garden not bad but it could really do with a facelift. Staff were helpful and we left our cases overnight while on a trip to Colca Canyon.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from CasademiAbuela, Administradora at Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela
Responded Mar 15, 2018
We regret that your stay has not been pleasant, and thank you for your comments which will help us improve.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$33 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
PeruArequipa RegionArequipa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
56
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela?
Nearby attractions include Museo de Arte Virreinal (0.3 miles), Mundo Alpaca Arequipa (0.2 miles), and Parque Lambramani (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pasta Canteen, KAFFEEHAUS Coffeeshop Coffeeroastery, and El Fuego de San Antonio.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Arequipa.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Historic Centre of Arequipa (0.5 miles), Molino de Sabandia (4.9 miles), and Iglesia Santo Domingo (0.5 miles).
Does Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.