We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel

Show Prices
#27 of 91 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 47: English reviews
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at La Casona De Jerusalen for 2 nights and really enjoyed my time. For only 30soles/night you can get a single room with access to a clean/warm shower. The wifi works incredibly well and the Hostal owner/workers are lovely. I would certainly recommend staying here!

Helpful?
Thank makeeley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016 via mobile

I was promised a double room if a friend of mine arrived, if not i would stay in a single one. They not only didn't have the double available, but they charged full single room because i left there the bags for 1 hour. (I had to search another place for me and my friend)

Helpful?
Thank Jose Pedro P
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
229 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2016

I had a couple of reservations with this TA-recommended place. I'd originally booked through Hostelbookers, the man who checked me in insisted on charging me the deposit I'd already paid (he spoke no English) and he put me in a small, dank, musty room that was most unpleasant. I was across the courtyard from the bathroom, which, every time I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julia H
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016 via mobile

Location is also good I should add although I would check out other budget accommodations closer to the plaza. The beds were very, very uncomfortable, lamp didn't work and zero ventilation in the room. I have stayed here before and the room was fine - perhaps be sure you can have a room with its own wc.

Helpful?
Thank Michelle J
Eduardo S, Gerente at La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for your review, it only helps us get better. We have checked the beds and have decided that even though that is not a common request or complain, we will get better beds for that room. The lamp that you mention was working fine before your arrival, so we wonder what exactly happened to the lamp during... More 

Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015 via mobile

First,like many hostels in the historical district, the rooms above the street are quite noisy. Traffic noise can start as early as 4am and continue quite late. If you're looking for peace and quiet avoid these above street rooms. . The second problem I have with La Casona is the advertising of free breakfast on the Tripadvisor web site. After... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jbbowron
Eduardo S, Gerente at La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest We must inform everyone that what you are saying is not true because: 1st We do not advertise -free breakfast- as we don`t even have a premium profile on trip advisor to do that, only paying profiles get description and so on. So you are mistaken one of more than 3 hostels that have copied our name. 2nd... More 

Düsseldorf
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here one night to explore arequipa. Very charming place located close to the Plaza del Armas - ca. 7 mins of walking. We stayed in a double room with private bath for 110 soles per night. After check out at 10 am we had the possibility to store our backpacks and to spend the night waiting there until... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fin H
Toronto
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2015

We got a room with 2 twin beds and private bathroom on the first night and then they moved us to a room with 2 twin beds but shared bathroom on the second night (because thats what we originally paid for). The rooms and bathrooms were clean, no heating but it wasn't that cold. The staff there were very kind.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ayelet S
Stoke Newington, London
Level Contributor
81 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015 via mobile

We really like this place. We stayed here for 3 nights in a twin room with shared bathroom - at a very reasonable rate. The room (#9) was basic, but very clean and comfortable; giving us one of our best night's sleeps here. The staff are nice, wifi is very good and there's decent hot water. Breakfast is charged as... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsTuck
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015 via mobile

The hostel is in calm place, near from the plaza, the utilities stores. But the problem is there is no hot water and the weather in Arequipa is pretty cold in these days. Be careful. And there is not free breakfast. The break fast has the additional cost of 7 soles.

Helpful?
Thank Alicia K
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

We had a brief 3 days stay at this Hostel. It was a quite calm and pleasant accomodation. Staff are quite understanding but lack of communication in English was a great handicap at this nice hostel. The rooms are nicely arranged in balcony style - with rare plants in pots - making this a really pleasant one. Breakfast was quite... More 

Helpful?
Thank Parameswaraiyer A
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (31)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riviera Arequipa
Hotel Riviera Arequipa
#57 of 91 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Balcones de Moral y Santa Catalina
0.3 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#5 of 91 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#3 of 91 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Wayra River
Hostal Wayra River
#24 of 151 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Orkkowasi Casa de Montana
Orkkowasi Casa de Montana
#45 of 91 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Concierge
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We have THE BEST AND SAFEST LOCATION in Arequipa, just 3 blocks to the Plaza de Armas and in front of the Tourism Police.La Casona de Jerusalen is at the center of Arequipa at very short walking distances to the most important touristic places of the White City!We are a very CLEAN and QUIET Hostel which goal is for you to be happy here. We have all the great things the great hostels have, plus you feeling actually like a GUEST surrounded by friends. ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel

Address: Jerusalen Street, 306-A, 2nd Floor | Downtown, Arequipa AQP, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Price Range: $15 - $18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Arequipa
#16 Romantic Hotel in Arequipa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay