We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Bolivar Oe6-41 y Cuenca, Quito 170150 Ecuador
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Package deal
Booking.com
$397
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$397
View deal
Agoda.com
$301
View deal
Hotels.com$397
Travelocity$397
Priceline$397
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (705)
360
Panoramas (21)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 08/04/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 08/04/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#10 of 192 hotels in Quito
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
4.9
Value
4.6
Travelers' Choice
Situated in a newly-restored historic mansion overlooking Plaza San Francisco, the three-story Casa Gangotena harbours 31 rooms, a showcase of eye-catching style, contemporary design, antiques, fine furnishings, modern technologies and quintessential comfort.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Patio
Walking tours
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Full body massage
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Butler service
Doorperson
Infirmary
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Package deal
955Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 850
  • 74
  • 19
  • 3
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
MrPKI wrote a review Aug 3
Bellevue, Washington933 contributions373 helpful votes
The rooms are SO comfortable and historical luxurious decor with all the modern conveniences. You feel like you are in a mansion, yet you have free Internet wireless at a high speed and fantastic bar/restaurant staff. You are only steps away from the San Francisco square and many other historical landmarks and feel completely safe 24x7.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
GalapagosExperience wrote a review Jul 2022
Quito, Ecuador36 contributions1 helpful vote
la casa gangotena is undoubtedly one of the best hotels that the capital can offer, the attention and service are formidable. The location in the historic center makes it an incredible place surrounded by history and Quito culture. Highly recommended, you won't regret it !
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Relationship Manager, Promocionar at Casa Gangotena
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear GalapagosExperience: Thank you for choosing Casa Gangotena Boutique Hotel and for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We're very grateful for your 5-star review! We look forward to welcoming you once again in the future. Sincerely, Francisco Baca Hotel Manager
Read more
anonofbiggs wrote a review Jul 2022
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom140 contributions99 helpful votes
We spent just one night here. The public rooms are beautiful, and our bedroom was nice - although could have done with two comfy chairs. The service in the restaurant was pretty slow at dinner - and a snail's pace at breakfast which was a problem as we had to leave at a certain time. perhaps a buffet might have helped things along a bit rather than everything being served - it meant we didn't;t get our full breakfast. This is in the same group as Mashpi and Finch Bay, both of which we also stayed in but it fell well behind their standards of service. However like both of these the menu was only available on devices which is a real problem for some people. For something that is in such an iconic building it was a bit disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Ask for a view over the plaza
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Relationship Manager, Promocionar at Casa Gangotena
Responded Jul 7, 2022
Dear Guest: Thank you for choosing Casa Gangotena Boutique Hotel and for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are pleased to read you liked our location. Nevertheless, we're sorry to hear there were some issues with our service at the restaurant. We've addressed this with our team to improve the quality of the experiences we offer. We hold ourselves to the highest standard, and we’re sorry to hear we missed the mark on this occasion. We hold to our reputation as a guest-centered and professional hotel, and we will make every effort to ensure something like this does not occur again. If you ever decide to visit Quito again, I hope you give us a second chance to provide you with a flawless experience. We can't fix the past, but you have my commitment to improving our service. Sincerely, Francisco Baca Hotel Manager
Read more
kathytuzzi wrote a review Jul 2022
San Jose, California42 contributions70 helpful votes
We stayed four nights in a plaza view room. The room had ornate ceiling and wall detail, marble bathroom, very comfortable king bed, and windows opening up to the plaza below. We really enjoyed having this view as there is much going on every day in the plaza. We also had fun sitting on the steps watching the pigeons, people and activity. All staff were friendly and attentive. They served a nice breakfast each day with eggs to order, one morning they had a buffet. Recommend the Cafe Quinteno which was delicious! Another highlight was a half day private city tour with Juan Carlos, who the Concierge arranged for us. Memorable time!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Relationship Manager, Promocionar at Casa Gangotena
Responded Jul 7, 2022
Dear Kathy: Thank you for choosing Casa Gangotena Boutique Hotel and for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We're very grateful for your 5-star review! We are pleased to read you liked our location, and the view from your room. We aim to provide genuinely unforgettable and unique experiences, so we are thrilled to know that we exceeded your expectations. We hope you enjoyed your trip through Ecuador, and we look forward to welcoming you once again in the future. Sincerely, Francisco Baca Hotel Manager
Read more
Rainbow19 wrote a review Jun 2022
Edinburgh, United Kingdom165 contributions155 helpful votes
We had a 3 night stay in a Plaza view room. All the staff from the gentlemen at the door who opened it for us countless times, to reception, the concierge and in the bar and restaurant couldn't have been more welcoming and attentive. Our room on the first floor was immaculate in cleanliness and decor. The step into the bath to use the shower is quite high though for we older guests. Location is on San Francisco plaza in the historical centre of Quito with shops, restaurants and museums nearby. Breakfast is sometimes a buffet with plenty of choice and a selection of a la carte items freshly prepared. One day we ordered a la carte only as there was no buffet set out. We had dinner in the restaurant and the portions were generous and the food nicely presented. We also had the Cafe Quiteno or high tea that was a very pleasant experience complete with a timer to brew your cup of tea for the right amount of time. The garden with the fountain is a lovely, quiet place to sit and watch the doves that frequent it. Displays of roses were on view in various places around the hotel and they are stunning, I never tired of seeing them. We truly appreciated the service we received from all staff who made us feel very welcome.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Relationship Manager, Promocionar at Casa Gangotena
Responded Jun 30, 2022
Dear Guest: Thanks for the fantastic review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We work hard to meet expectations like yours, and we’re happy to hear we hit the mark for you. We hope you enjoyed your trip through Ecuador, and we look forward to welcoming you once again in the future. Sincerely, Francisco Baca Hotel Manager
Read more
Pat C wrote a review Jun 2022
Wendover, United Kingdom8 contributions4 helpful votes
The hotel is in a great location near to all the sights. However we were very disappointed with the service - the staff were very disorganised. We had booked for dinner but they didn’t seem to be aware of it and led us to 3 different tables before finally sitting us in a different, and very cold, restaurant (someone eventually brought in a portable heater). The food was very average, not the usual Relais and Chateau standard. My husbands steak was very tough and chewy, even though it was cooked medium rare. Our room, a Junior Balcony suite, was on the first floor above the kitchen and bar. It was very noisy with doors banging all day and night. On the second night we were woken by banging and hammering and had to phone down to reception to complain. When we checked out the girl was very disinterest in our complaints. We won’t be returning!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Relationship Manager, Marketing at Casa Gangotena
Responded Jun 20, 2022
Dear Guest: First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to bring this unfortunate series of events to our attention. Rest assured, we will use this opportunity to improve our service and renew our commitment to our guests. Please accept my sincerest apologies on behalf of Casa Gangotena. We hold ourselves to the highest standard, and we’re sorry to hear we missed the mark on this occasion. We hold to our reputation as a guest-centered and professional hotel, and we will make every effort to ensure something like this does not occur again. If you ever decide to visit Quito again, I hope you give us a second chance to provide you with a flawless experience. We can't fix the past, but you have my commitment to improving our service. Sincerely, Francisco Baca Hotel Manager
Read more
Touristing wrote a review Jun 2022
Kentfield, California35 contributions16 helpful votes
Gracias! While often stated to us during our stay, we are truly grateful for the service and experience provided by all of the staff. From arrival to departure, every person with whom we interacted was an absolute pleasure. I will write more about our stay, but have to board a plane for our next adventure in the Amazon.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Relationship Manager, Marketing at Casa Gangotena
Responded Jun 20, 2022
Dear guest: Thank you for choosing Hotel Casa Gangotena and for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We're very grateful for your 5-star review! We aim to provide genuinely unforgettable and unique experiences, so we are thrilled to know that we exceeded your expectations. We hope you enjoyed the Amazon and all Ecuador. We look forward to hosting with you again in the future! Sincerely, Francisco Baca Hotel Manager
Read more
Randy B wrote a review Jun 2022
Los Angeles, California59 contributions50 helpful votes
The Casa Gangotena is one of the nicest small boutique hotels I have ever stayed in. First, the Staff are fabulous. No request from Bandages to a Bic lighter, to liquor service on the roof terrace, which overlooks Plaza de San Francisco and, in the distance, the highest peak in the Andes closest to Quito. Quito is at 8,000+ feet, the peak is over 12,000 ft. At 8,000 feet I did not expect altitude sickness ( I had taken Diamox) and had no trouble walking. Think of San Francisco, but with the streets climbing more gradually and the tops of the hills not as high. The room is a nice size with a large bathroom. In order to bathe/shower you need to step over a 2 foot high bathtub side. Room service menu is very small. Best to dine at the restaurant, if you can. Also the hotel is not handicap friendly and the elevators are tiny—3 people only. While we are old, we needed help from the staff going up and down stairs without handrails. The salon did a beautiful job on my pedicure, but did a terrible job blow drying Susan’s short thin hair (although she said it was one of the great head shampoos and scalp massage she had ever had. There are 2 places to smoke cigars, in the back patio garden or on the rooftop terrace. I highly recommend the rooftop if it’s not too cold out rainy (although there is a large umbrella covering 2 of the three tables that are up there and the view cannot be matched. The Restaurant at Casa Gangotena is superb. For more information on the restaurant, see my review on Open Table. The breakfast buffet was disappointing. The fruit was underripe and the juices, other than the Orange were sour or bitter, as if they had been made with not quite ripe fruit. The a la carte has eggs to order and the omelette was good but the Ecuadorian eggs benedict were excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: I believe all of substantially all of the rooms are the same, but, if you can, get a room that...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Relationship Manager, Marketing at Casa Gangotena
Responded Jun 13, 2022
Dear Randy: Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. We greatly appreciate your comments about aspects that need to improve. We hope you enjoyed your trip through Ecuador, and we look forward to welcoming you once again in the future. Sincerely, Francisco Baca Hotel manager
Read more
jan_bae2 wrote a review May 2022
14 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
Beautiful property and in the middle of Old Quito. Staff were very friendly and professional. We had the junior suite, it was very nice. It was on first floor. It had the elegant, colonial feel. Felt like royalty staying in this nice suite. Two things did bother me though- sometimes it smelled like gas from street and it was hot— for me that is. We tried to turn the temp down to keep it cool but it didn’t seem to work. I just sucked it up since it was a beautiful property. You literally can open your front door and you are standing in the garden. Amazing rooftop views and gorgeous staircase. The lounge areas looked like from a page of a magazine. We definitely would stay here again. Great location to all the sightseeing!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: No parking..perfect location for all the sightseeing in Old Quito
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Relationship Manager, Promocionar at Casa Gangotena
Responded Jun 7, 2022
Dear Jan: Thank you for choosing Casa Gangotena Boutique Hotel and for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We're very grateful for your 5-star review! We are pleased to read you liked our location, service, and terrace view. Nevertheless, we're sorry to hear there were some issues with the restaurant in front and the room temperature. We've addressed this with our team to improve the quality of the experiences we offer. We hope you enjoyed your trip through Ecuador, and we look forward to welcoming you once again in the future. Sincerely, Francisco Baca Hotel Manager
Read more
A F wrote a review May 2022
Mexico City, Mexico153 contributions29 helpful votes
We went for cocktails and picadas. Beautifully restored colonial mansion, now an upmarket boutique hotel. Truly excellent service with English speaking staff. Lovely rooftop area with superb views over the historic center of the city. Food was delicious as were the pisco sours. Other cocktails were too boutique for their own good. Although we were treated by a generous colleague of mine, the prices were right up there with the highest you would pay in central London/Manhattan. Ouch.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Relationship Manager, Marketing at Casa Gangotena
Responded May 11, 2022
Dear AF517: Thank you for choosing Hotel Casa Gangotena and for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our cocktails and picadas in our rooftop. Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future. Sincerely, Francisco Baca Hotel Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$367 - $548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
EcuadorPichincha ProvinceQuito
NUMBER OF ROOMS
31
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Casa Gangotena
Which popular attractions are close to Casa Gangotena?
Nearby attractions include Museo Casa del Alabado (0.03 miles), Quito Old Town (0.1 miles), and Iglesia y Convento de San Francisco (0.08 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Casa Gangotena?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Casa Gangotena?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Casa Gangotena?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Casa Gangotena?
Yes, secured parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Casa Gangotena?
Conveniently located restaurants include Casa Gangotena Restaurant, Fabiolita, and La Vid Restaurante.
Does Casa Gangotena have airport transportation?
Yes, Casa Gangotena offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Casa Gangotena located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Quito.
Are any cleaning services offered at Casa Gangotena?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Casa Gangotena offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Casa Gangotena?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.