We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Masaya Hostel Quito

Save
Share
Calle Venezuela OE3 - 85 con Calle Rocafuerte, Quito 170150 Ecuador
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 9 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (137)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (15)

About

#10 of 419 Specialty lodging in Quito
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Between modern facilities and colonial architecture, Masaya Hostel Quito perfectly mixes the spirit of a hostel and the comfort of a hotel. In a 2,000 square meters colonial house located in the heart of historical center of Quito, the most preserved of all Latin America and declared USNESCO World Heritage in 1978, Masaya Hostel features dorms, private rooms, a bar, a restaurant, a movie room and a large open-air garden. Masaya also offers cultural activities & events to immerge their guests in the local Ecuadorian culture.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Game room
Billiards
Indoor play area for children
Airport transportation
Solarium
Baggage storage
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Darts
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Concierge
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
295Reviews0Q+A24Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 225
  • 47
  • 10
  • 5
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Devika R wrote a review Apr 2021
5 contributions
Hey there! Masaya Hostel is not only cheap, but great. My friend and I stayed there in March 2021 during the pandemic. The staff is friendly and always ready to help. They gave us a lot of information about Quito and many Tours and also organized a free walking tour for us. They also offer breakfast and have a restaurant with really good food (also vegetarian). The hostel is huge and very clean. We felt very comfortable there and extended our stay. The beds were very comfortable as well. There's also a big garden and a terrace. I'd recommend you to take a lock with you although they also sell them at the hostel for 3 Dollars. I'd surely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Masaya Quito, Otro at Masaya Hostel Quito
Responded Apr 13, 2021
Hi Devika Thank you for leaving us your comment, we are happy that you stayed with us, you enjoyed and had a great experience, it was a pleasure to serve you. I hope to see you here soon. A hug from a distance...
Read more
adamreebel wrote a review Feb 2021
Cleveland, Ohio134 contributions68 helpful votes
I stayed here solo in January 2021 during covid and it was incredible. Pod rooms shared with a few travelers and the price is unbeatable! Awesome outdoor secure space to hang out in and historic building to walk around in. Limited dinner options, but food they had was good. Be careful in surrounding neighborhoods and streets just like anywhere in Quito!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicolas Goronflot, Director General at Masaya Hostel Quito
Responded Feb 14, 2021
Thank you so much Adam, it was a pleasure to have you with us, hope that you can visit us again sometime.
Read more
Wayfaring_1 wrote a review Jan 2021
Augusta, Georgia6 contributions1 helpful vote
I booked a last minute stay at Masaya hostel, Quito and when I arrived, the place was super clean and everyone was very COVID conscious. The staff were friendly and helped me with planning some of my trip and allowed me to leave my luggage with them for 2 weeks while I traveled to the Galapagos Islands. The hostel rooms are beautiful (I stayed in a private room) and the hostel itself is perfectly situated in downtown Quito and within walking distance of all of the major tourist sights. I decided to book more nights with them on my return to Quito as I enjoyed my previous stay so much.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicolas Goronflot, General Manager at Masaya Hostel Quito
Responded Feb 1, 2021
Dear Wayfaring, a pleasure to read you and so happy you had a nice experience with us here at Masaya Quito. Thanks a lot for sharing your local experience and hope to welcome soon back in another masaya destination. All the best!
Read more
Pablo V wrote a review Jan 2021
Nayon, Ecuador1 contribution
Great room, great service and experience. This hotel location is very close to el Panecillo, Plaza Grande, Plaza de Santo Domingo, plaza de San Francisco and another Quito’s downtown interest sites. The hotel is a restored beautiful colonial house with and amazing garden inside. Totally recommended
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicolas Goronflot, General Manager at Masaya Hostel Quito
Responded Jan 7, 2021
Dear Pablov A pleasure to read you and happy you had a nice experiewnce here with us at Masaya Quito. Thanks a lot for feedback and support. We hope to welcome soon back downtown here in Quito Historic UNESCO Center this 2021. All the best
Read more
travellover5704 wrote a review Sep 2020
Oakland, California99 contributions93 helpful votes
I was very disappointed in my stay here. 1.The location is very dangerous. I witnessed drug deals and saw a guy with a knife rob a guy on a bike in broad daylight. 2. I stayed there 6 nights and my room was never cleaned. I had to ask for clean towels. 3. They charged me twice on my credit card and wouldn't reverse the charges (I'm disputing it right now) 4. Breakfast is disgusting 5. It took 3 days to get my laundry back. They left the wet clothes in the washer and I didn't get them back until 10:30 the night before I left. DONT STAY HERE!!! Their web site totally misrepresents this place!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicolas Goronflot, Director General at Masaya Hostel Quito
Responded Oct 3, 2020
Dear guest, First of all we apologize for the issues that you've experienced. We have tried to communicate with you via phone and email to address these issues but unfortunately you have not shown interest in trying to resolve any of these. We admit that some of the things went wrong but it was a genuine mistake regarding the payments which is why we wanted to get in touch with you so that it could be resolved. Regarding the security, we cannot take responsibility for what is happening outside the hotel, we do however warn all our guests to leave there belongings inside and to take all their precautions. Still hoping that we could talk in person and help you with anything we can. Wishing you all the best. Masaya staff
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$40 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
EcuadorPichincha ProvinceQuito
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Masaya Hostel Quito
Which popular attractions are close to Masaya Hostel Quito?
Nearby attractions include Museo Casa del Alabado (0.2 miles), Quito Old Town (0.2 miles), and Iglesia y Convento de San Francisco (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Masaya Hostel Quito?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Masaya Hostel Quito?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Masaya Hostel Quito?
Conveniently located restaurants include Casa Gangotena Restaurant, Fabiolita, and Casa Los Geranios.
Does Masaya Hostel Quito have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Masaya Hostel Quito offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Masaya Hostel Quito located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Quito.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Masaya Hostel Quito?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Masaya Hostel Quito?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Sombreros Humacatama (0.4 miles), Arco de la Reina (0.7 miles), and Molinos El Censo (0.6 miles).