We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Happy House Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Happy House Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

557 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Happy House Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 237: English reviews
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2016 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here to attend the Lollapalooza Concert. We had not booked and they were able to book us in for 5 nights on the spot which was great. We stayed in a private room with private bathroom. Gorgeous high ceiling and period window with shutters. Breakfast was good, staff lovely and English speaking. Location was great... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda H
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Belinda, We are very happy to have received your feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment. Regarding to the wi fi connection, unfortunately it gets slowly when the hostel is full and most of guests are using it. We have tried to get a better connection from the supplier (Movistar), however and because... More 

Bogota, Colombia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2016

I have stayed in this hostel twice before. The staff, the rooms, the common areas such as the pool and terrace are outstanding and clean. Breakfast is great! It is very conveniently located downtown Santiago, near museums, and all the sites.I would recommend it to anyone going to Santiago.

Helpful?
Thank Santiago S
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Santiago, We are very happy to have received your great feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your third visit :) Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2016

Very spacious accommodation with many communal areas, inside and out. Rooms are huge with high ceilings. Kitchen facilities, swimming pool, games area with table football, pool, table tennis etc, or plenty of room to just sit around and relax. Staff very friendly and helpful. Very good breakfast. All in all good value for money. My second visit here, and would... More 

Helpful?
Thank lizziebarnes123
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Lisa, We are very happy to have received your great feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit :) Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2016

I was surprised to see the superb infrastructure of this place. Terrasse, pool, tables for dining outside, places for games, exterior sofa etc. A happy place :-). This is a huge mansion and there is something very attractive to this place. Like an oasis in this big city. Localisation is alittle bit away but just need a 5 minutes walk... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Marie-Helene G
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Marie Helene, We are very happy to have received your great and honest feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit. Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
331 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2016

On my last few days in Chile, I made the most of the dulce de leche at breakfast (which is often not provided in Chilean hostels). The staff are polite and helpful and made me feel welcome. There is a huge reception area with an ornate skylight which gives you a taste of what the building is like. Travelling solo,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jamescollenette
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear James, We are very happy to have received your great feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit. Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
317 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2016

The Pros - This converted mansion hostel is pretty nice, the rooms are massive and more like hotel rooms than a hostel (we were in a beautiful double room). The shared bathrooms were clean however they were somewhat far from our private room so there was a bit of a trek to and from and the door to the ladies... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jill_Dublin_12
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Jill, We appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and the positive points that you`ve mentioned, however, we we feel confused about the young locals dinking situation, because we don`t allow people from outside to come to the hostel for these purposes. Guests are allow to bring visitors only until 10:30 pm and no more than... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2016

We stayed here at the end of our Dragoman tour from Ushuaia to Santiago and this hostel did not disappoint! Wonderful clean, spacious rooms with fantastic staff who were always happy to help. Will go back one day for sure!

Helpful?
1 Thank Emily W
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Emily, We are very happy to have received your great feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again (hopefully soon). We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit. Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2016

Very nice outdoor areas. Kitchen was clean and equipped okay. I stayed first in a dorm of six. There where lockers big enough to fit in your whole backpack. The bed was comfortable and the room spacious. Also a sink for brushing etc. in the room. The second night I stayed in a double with ensuite bathroom. Again, comfy bed... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Taru Katriina K
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Katriina, We are very happy to have received your detailed feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit. Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel More 

Drumheller, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2016 via mobile

I booked this thinking I'd like to try a new hostel while visiting Santiago on my way home to Canada. I needed to relax after a week of trekking and the idea of a pool was mesmerizing and the pool didn't disappoint. The rooms were clean, though it was odd there weren't enough lockers for the amount of beds in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Elise M
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Elise, We are very happy to have received your feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment. At the same time we`d like to make clear that every single bed in dormitory has a big locker to use. The buffet breakfast we offer is included in almost all our rates, however, you probably booked... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2016

We stayed here twice in 2 different rooms. The ensuites were clean and worked well - good showers and soap provided. The breakfast is nice - eggs, bread, ham and yummy watermelon. We didn't use the pool, but it looked lovely. The only down side was as mentioned by other reviewers - the noisy floor boards. Definitely needed ear plugs,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Simsy22
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Simsy, We are very happy to have received your feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit. Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

344 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (169)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (42)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (175)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (98)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Andes Hostel
Andes Hostel
#81 of 194 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 stars 540 reviews
Matildas Hotel Boutique
#2 of 194 in Santiago
5.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Providencia
H Rado Hostel
H Rado Hostel
#2 of 443 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 stars 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostal Providencia
#5 of 443 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 stars 756 reviews
La Casa Roja Hostel
#8 of 443 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 stars 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Happy House Hostel An Oasis in the heart of Santiago. Located in Moneda Street in the middle of the historic part of the city and just steps from government palace, main square and the main tourist attractions of Santiago. Happy House Hostel offers a high quality service due to obtaining Q seal of quality the S seal of sustainability granted by SERNATUR (National Tourism Service of Chile), besides having an impressive infrastructure, facilities, long market experience and strong commitment of the staff with each of its guests. Our services are: Buffet breakfast, 24 hours of reception, free internet access (Wi Fi and stationary computers), safes in private rooms and lockers in dorms, tourist information and reservations for tours of the season, free luggage storage, laundry, mini bar at reception with 24 hour service of drinks, mineral water and beers, bilingual staff (Spanish - English), recreational and cultural activities (Dancing classes, Chilean BBQ, movie nights, free tours around town, etc.), bike rental, online bus tickets reservations, organization of transport services (only from the hostel to the airport or elsewhere), free national service calls from reception, book exchange, heating in rooms with private bathroom and common areas (winter season), late check out (asking for availability in advance at reception) and a lot more. Our facilities are: Fully equipped kitchen, comfortable and spacious terraces and living rooms, swimming pool, TV rooms with international signal, outside bar, entertainment area (pool table, tennis table, mini football table, chess table and table games), wine cellar with tasting sessions of national strains, BBQ area (including free use of grills) and a lot more. We wait for you :) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Happy House Hostel

Address: Moneda 1829, Santiago 8340493, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Price Range: $18 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Happy House Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Happy House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy House Hotel Santiago
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay