We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all Specialty Lodging in Santiago

Happy House Hostel

772 reviews
Save
Traveler (200)
Room & Suite (51)
Storyboard
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good34%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“los heroes”(20 reviews)
“barrio brasil”(19 reviews)
“swimming pool”(27 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Poolside Bar
Multilingual Staff
2.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Offers from Happy House Hostel
Offers & Announcements: Free breakfast with your stay
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (772)Write a Review
Filter reviews
329 results
Traveler rating
158
121
32
11
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
158
121
32
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslos heroesbarrio brasilswimming pooltable tennisbeautiful buildingcommon areasold mansionprivate roomlarge kitchenfew blockswooden floorsairport buschilishared bathroomfirst floorthe ground floortea and coffee
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 329 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2017

Very nice, clean hotel conveniently located in Santiago. Nicolas and Erik at the front desk were quite helpful. Both spoke excellent English. The building itself is really cool. I will stay here again on my next trip to Chile.More

Thank richardsmt
Response from Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House HostelResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Richard, Thank you very much for your excellent review. We are very happy to know you´ve enjoyed the hostel. We are glad to know as well that our receptionists were helpful during your stay :) I´d be our pleasure to have you back on...More

Property's Favorite Review
Reviewed April 23, 2017

This was an ideal location. It is very convenient for bus, metro and links to airport. It is quite close to the city centre and all the things a tripper would want to see. It's clean, the staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfast...More

Thank stephen h
Response from Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House HostelResponded April 24, 2017

Dear Stephen, Thanks a lot for your great evaluation aqnd kind comments. We are glad to know you´ve enjoyed our services and facilities. Thanks for the recommendation too. We can´t wait for your return. You´ll be very welcome at your home in Santiago. Greetings from...More

Reviewed December 4, 2017

Going through the reviews I see that noise has been an issue for around 3 years or so??? So Happy House why don't you fix this. Or don't you care??? We arrived after a 12 hour drive in an overland truck and stayed two nights...More

Thank Alan C
Response from Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House HostelResponded December 7, 2017

Alan Cooke, Again the same review that your partner made here with a different account and the same review you´ve already made on Facebook. We never have choosen to do anything about these kind of problems (which aren´t frecuent like you describe by the way),...More

Reviewed December 4, 2017

The overlanding company we travelled with ended their trip here. Foolishly we decided to keep life simple and pay the significant extra costs of staying on at the hostel for our last night in Santiago to try and ensure a comfortable and good nights sleep...More

Thank Jen-2266
Response from Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House HostelResponded December 5, 2017

Dear Jennifer, We are sorry to get this review from you. On our side things are very different, especially when we´ve made a lot of efforts to ensure a good night´s sleep for everyone. We are the ones who have to deal with people who...More

Reviewed December 2, 2017

The Wifi does not work properly. The included breakfast offers sausage and sweet stuff, but no cheese or a healthy bread. The whole atmosphere is more like a hotel than a hostal, so young people may miss a vivid atmosphere...More

Thank kimkim444
Response from Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House HostelResponded December 4, 2017

Dear Kim, We are very sorry to get this evaluation from you. We really don´t understand the critic here, but if you were expecting parties all the time, you were staying at the wrong place definitely. We provide several activities for our guests to have...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345666
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Pool
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Self-Serve Laundry
Things to do
Pool
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
$21 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
$21 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (200)
Room & Suite (51)
Pool & Beach (47)
Dining (32)
Hotel & Grounds (224)
Family and Play Areas (12)
Bathroom (9)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Happy House Hostel staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Room Tips
"Try somewhere else"
Read review
"i didn't ask for a special room and it was nice :))"
Read review
"A room with an ensuite bathroom definitely recommended as there is no female toilet on the top floor."
Read review
"The downstairs double with ensuite bathroom was much larger and more comfortable than the double with shared..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite