We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Don Santiago Hostel

Certificate of Excellence
Av. Ricardo Cumming 95, Santiago 52252, Chile
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Don Santiago Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

283 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 185: English reviews
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We came back to this hostel on three occasions. Extremely friendly staff, made everything easy and laid back. Easily the best breakfast we've had out of the last 5 countries. Hot showers. Spices in the kitchen. Guitar in the common room. 8 bedroom dorm has a balcony, beds were clean and comfortable. It felt very homey and it was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank dbryson2
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not only is it close to Brasil Neighborhood full of restaurants and bars and old architecture due to its location in Santiago's old quarter, but also the service is outstanding! A small but cozy hostel with a friendly staff! FREE COFFEE & TEA in the morning! and for 4 USD you get an amazing breakfast!! Every time I go to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dres F
Auckland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2016

A charming hotel in a residential part of Santiago. Convenient location with a metro within easy walking distance. Staff were friendly and helpful. Lovely small courtyard for guest use. Few restaurants within walking distance.

Helpful?
Thank SiroAuckland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in Don Santiago a few times while we used Santiago as a base to get to some other destinations on our trip. The hostel is good, beds are comfy and the wifi is pretty decent. The kitchen is small but usable, same goes for the shower cupboard! It's not the quietest hostel in the evenings, but it's a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gillian N
BACKPACKERYOHOO, Manager at Don Santiago Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. However we don´t understand why your rating is so low. =/ Anyhow, hope to see ya again buddy! Alb More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016

I rated it poor because I cannot agree with the previous comments and I would have liked to know the following. In the beginning I thought this was a very nice hostel - Alice in Wonderland Murals in the reception/dining area, all the staff were very very friendly... And there's free wifi, though not a very good one. But: The... More 

Helpful?
Thank aaiana
BACKPACKERYOHOO, Manager at Don Santiago Hostel, responded to this review

Hey there! Sorry about your experience at DSH. Our rates are cheaper than another hostels. Please know that. (11USD-13USD) that´s what you pay per night. Breakfast is not included. However you can have some american coffee or Akbar tea for free. It costs $2500 chilean pesos (3.5 USD) which includes omellette, sauteed mushrooms, tomatoes and zuccini, fresh fruit, bread, natural... More 

Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2016 via mobile

I've stayed in multiple hostels throughout Chile, and Don Santiago is definitely the best one. The people who work there are more like your friends than the staff, and they go out of their way to help, even if it has nothing to do with the hostel. Staying at Don Santiago is like staying at your home away from home;... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bobbi G
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2016 via mobile

The staff is very nice and friendly high class cleaning services have everything you need. Bath with hot water and good wi-fiGood breakfast with eggs, vegetables, fruit breads and a variety of fruit juices

Helpful?
Thank Baravuda
Santiago, Chile
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2016

This hostel is one of the best ones I have stayed at throughout my whole trip. It´s small and the staff is super friendly and always up for a chat. The breakfast is amazing, the beds are good, and the whole ambiance is extremely comfortable. You are at a few blocks from two metro stations. Loved it, would recommend it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisi H
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night in a four bed mixed dorm and thoroughly enjoyed it. Staff were excellent and very helpful. Breakfast, although not included, was delicious and great value. The hostel was very close to two main metro stations so getting around was very easy. Would definitely recommend to others.

Helpful?
Thank KiwiMTP
Timisoara, Romania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2016 via mobile

I stayed at Don Santiago Hostel for a couple of days in the 8 mixed bedroom and it was one of the best experiences a backpacker can have in a hostel. The fact that the hostel receives only around 20 people, gives the place a cosy feel, where everybody gets to know everybody, forming a short term family. With some... More 

Helpful?
Thank LauraUngur
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (36)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Andes Hostel
Andes Hostel
#74 of 192 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 stars 526 reviews
Princesa Insolente Hostel
#11 of 438 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 stars 457 reviews
Happy House Hostel
#7 of 438 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 stars 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chile Lindo Hostel
#15 of 438 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Hostal Providencia
#4 of 438 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
La Casa Roja Hostel
#5 of 438 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hey fellow travellers!Why staying with us?If you check the reviews, most of them point out our staff as the best. Do you know why? Because they love working at Don Santiago, and that happens when the staff feel secure about what they are 'selling' a We know that staying a hostel is sucha a life experience, we know we have hotel style matresses in dorms and double beds. We do provide the best breakfast in Santiago as follows:Brewed coffee, tea, ginger lemonade.Scrambled eggs varieties: oregano, merken (spice smoked chilli with coriander); and ciboulette.Fresh fruit salad with honey. We are a million miles away from the business-like check-'em-in check-'em-out hostels Staff is fantastically friendly and the house feels like staying in a home with friends where you can relax and play music with the guys there, or just listen to them play.Toilets are cleaned everyday, maybe you will have to wait a bit when the house is full, but usually when people is having breakfast, the rest of people is showering, so it works wellWe don`t push people to buy tours, seriously, Santiago is such a safe city, where you can go anywhere (wineries, beach, Valparaiso) by yourself, and we can get you instructions in order to make it cheaper. However, there are tours available, just ask. =)The house is from 1910, wood floors are creaky, and if you are a light sleeper, we do provide earplugs on request. We are not a party hostel though, please know that. Quiet time starts at 01:00There are no rules in Don Santiago, once again, We do appeal to 'travelers common sense'Welcome to Don Santiago!!!!! , Certificate of Excellence TRIPADVISOR 2012'and remember, what happens in Don Santiago, stays at Don Santiago ... more   less 

Additional Information about Don Santiago Hostel

Address: Av. Ricardo Cumming 95, Santiago 52252, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Price Range: $14 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Don Santiago Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HRS, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Don Santiago Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay