We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Somerset Bencoolen

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Somerset Bencoolen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Somerset Bencoolen
See the most recent reviews
Showing 157: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

The Somerset on Bencoolen is an older but well maintained serviced apartment complex. My wife and I stayed at this apartment complex for 9 days and overall, have thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This apartment complex is not unlike a lot of other buildings throughout South East Asia, whereby it is looking tired and is in need of a makeover. Putting... More 

Helpful?
Thank RtjL
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear RtjL, Thank you for taking time to write this heartwarming review of your stay experience at Somerset Bencoolen Singapore. The team is delighted to note that your wife and you had a very very enjoyable stay with us and you would revisit us when you return to Singapore. You cannot imagine how much cheer you have brought to all... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

First of all be warned there is MRT construction work directly outside this hotel and work continues through the night, secondly MRT access currently isn't the nest as the nearest station is a circle line station so requires you to change trains to get almost everywhere although this will change when the new station is completed. It's important to note... More 

Helpful?
Thank walnutroof657
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear walnutroof657, Thank you for taking time to write this review. The team at Somerset Bencoolen Singapore is gratified to note that despite the current MRT construction works, you had a relaxing and comfortable stay in our serviced residence. We are very appreciative and encouraged by your positive comments for our apartments, services and facilities. The team enjoyed hosting your... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

Right in the heart of the city whereby you have Plaza Singapura and Bugis Junction by walking 10 mins away. Hundreds of other things in between. Hungry at night 2 am? No problem - just wake up to Indian Chinese supper joints. If you are from abroad, this is truly the place. Staff and service is great too!

Helpful?
Thank NickNick888
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear NickNick888, Greetings from the team at Somerset Bencoolen Singapore! We are delighted that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. Our heartfelt thanks for your wonderful recommendation for our serviced residence as it assures us that our services, facilities and products have exceeded your expectations. The team truly enjoyed being of service to you recently and sincerely... More 

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

Room was brilliant and facilities are very good but breakfast was not good. There are only sausages, scramble, conflakes, yoghurt and bread.Hotel is not in a good location for anybody who wants to go out exploring.

Helpful?
Thank earth_sarawat
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear earth_sarawat, Thank you for taking time to write this review. All of us are greatly encouraged by your compliments for our spacious apartments and facilities. We thank you for your honest feedback and sincerely regret that you did not enjoy our Continental Breakfast selection and our location was not ideal for your recent holiday in Singapore. Kindly allow us... More 

Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

We stayed on the 9th floor in a 2 bed apartment for a week in early November with our 4 year old daughter.The hotel is conveniently located to MRT stations and around a 15 minute walk to plaza singapura shopping centre on orchard road.The hotel is very kid friendly with its rooftop pool,kids pool,playground as well as kids playroom on... More 

Helpful?
Thank thrilos
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear thrilos, The team at Somerset Bencoolen Singapore is indeed delighted that your family and you have enjoyed your stay at our service residence and have found our facilities to be kid friendly. We sincerely appreciate your wonderful compliments for our convenient location, Continental Breakfast selection and friendly service, as our residents’ stay satisfaction matters a lot to us. All... More 

Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nite. Friendly staffs. Comfy & cosy for couple. Nothing to complaint. Easy access to mrt and town area also easy to find eatery places.... its worth staying here... we will be back again for sure!

Helpful?
Thank 诺拉 盛
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear 诺拉 盛, Thank you for writing such a lovely review on your stay experience at Somerset Bencoolen Singapore. All are us are truly elated that you had a superb stay with us. It has been a great pleasure hosting your recent stay and your generous compliments for our service convenient location and facilities are very much appreciated. All of... More 

Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
557 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

We had a two bedroom apartment and were very pleased with the rooms, bathrooms and kitchen. The staff was very helpful with directions to everything we needed and a great map. They printed for us and mailed a few items for us, saving us a lot of time. Someone is available to help immediately should there be a need. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AdventurePhiles
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear AdventurePhiles, The team at Somerset Bencoolen is indeed heartened to know that you had a memorable and enjoyable stay with us. Your kind compliments for our Continental Breakfast, facilities and apartments are much appreciated and have inspired all of us to continuously work towards providing the best in our industry. Thank you for your special mention for our team’s... More 

Ghaziabad, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

During my travels to Singapore for work, I stayed at Somerset for 3-4 times and every time it was a pleasant experience. The rooms are spacious with tiny kitchens ( which is the the case for most Singapore apartments, as its called kitchenette in Singapore). The hospitality and the friendly staff makes your stay more comfortable, the property is at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mohit G
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear Mohit9683, Thank you for writing this wonderful review and the team at Somerset Bencoolen is delighted that you have always enjoyed your stays with us. It is indeed gratifying to know that despite your busy work schedule, our rooftop pool with its panoramic views of the city has provided you with some relaxation and great times with your friends.... More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Somerset Bencoolen for a total of 6 weeks as part of my relocation to Singapore. Upon arrival, I was suspicious at first because of ongoing construction works on Bencoolen Street (due to end in 2017 Fyi), I couldn't see the entrance or reception. The driver had to drop me off on the 2nd floor of the parking... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dexter K
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear Dexter K, Thank you for taking time to write about your home away home stay experience at Somerset Bencoolen. The team is very happy that you had a thoroughly enjoyable and comfortable 6 weeks’ stay with us and that our spacious 2-bedroom apartment was ideal for your family when they visited. Your positive feedback for our central location, apartments,... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014 via mobile

Affordable, clean, spacious, modern and close to everything. This hotel is a great find for the champagne on a beer budget family holiday, breakfast room is a little poor but you can cook in your kitchen or go out to the many food courts nearby. Great facilities: well equipped gym, 3x pools on the rooftop, laundry room with dryer or... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tina D
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear Tina D, Thank you for taking time to write this wonderful review and for sharing your enjoyable stay experience at Somerset Bencoolen Singapore. All of us are truly heartened to note that you have described your recent stay, our service, facilities and fully equipped apartments as a sparkling find for the champagne on a beer budget family holiday. We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (76)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Somerset Liang Court Singapore
Fraser Suites Singapore
#63 of 304 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
V Hotel Bencoolen
#170 of 304 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 1,136 reviews
The Quays
Fraser Place Robertson Walk, Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in Singapore's former civic district, Somerset Bencoolen is strategically and conveniently located. A luxurious escape from the hustle and bustle of city life, it nonetheless puts you just minutes away from every imaginable pursuit. Elegant shopping, fine dining, pulsating nightlife, as well as museum exhibits and world-renowned cultural performances are all within easy reach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Somerset Bencoolen

Address: No. 51 Bencoolen Street Bencoolen Residences, Singapore 189630, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Price Range: $125 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Bencoolen 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your Somerset Bencoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Bencoolen Singapore
Hotel Style:
#60 Family Hotel in Singapore
#64 Business Hotel in Singapore
#71 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#91 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay