We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Somerset Bencoolen

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Somerset Bencoolen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

201 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Somerset Bencoolen
See the most recent reviews
Showing 182: English reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2017

The hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. Central location to everything. I would definitely stay here again. I would like to praise the staff again for going above and beyond. It made all the difference to us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sen P
Cynthia L, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear Sen P, Greetings from the management of Somerset Bencoolen! We are elated you had a great stay at our serviced residence and for your heartwarming compliments for our team. Kindly be assured we shall be thanking each member of our team for their excellent service and shall be letting them know how much of an impact they made on...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed January 9, 2017

As per other reviews. Pleasantly surprised with the hotel. Nothing fancy but adequate and staff attentive to needs whether that be extra cutlery or taxis. Rooms larger than expected and would fully recommend as indicated if you want an apartment rather than hotel. Very easy to commute from here and will be excellent when road works outside finished although never...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
Cynthia L, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear Paul M, Greetings from your friendly team at Somerset Bencoolen! Thank you for choosing our serviced residence to celebrate the joyous season of Christmas and all of us are delighted you had a great stay with us. We are indeed thrilled to learn you have been impressed with our service and we assure you your kind mention definitely inspires...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed January 2, 2017

We stayed in a two-bedroom apartment, which was more the enough room for our family of four. We had two bathrooms as well, plus a living area and nice, well equipped kitchen. Nothing fancy and pretty basic, but very clean and super-convenient to spread out and relax. Others have mentioned the construction noise and even though our room faced the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MadHatterMom
Cynthia L, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear MadHatterMom, Greetings from the team at Somerset Bencoolen! Thank you for choosing our serviced residence for your family holiday in Singapore over the recent festive season and we are delighted you had a great stay with us. We are indeed thrilled to learn you have been impressed with our roof-top pool and our spacious and well-equipped 2-bedroom apartment was...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed December 19, 2016

The room was spacious and nice. The price was reasonable. Laundry was available. Breakfast choice not great. About 10-15 mins from station, so transport quite handy. Would recommend if you prefer apartment than hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 628avec
Cynthia L, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear 628avec, Greetings! The team at Somerset Bencoolen is delighted you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay with us and have found your stay with us to be of good value. All of us are truly grateful for your heartwarming recommendation for our serviced residence and we sincerely hope you will make Somerset Bencoolen your choice lodging in Singapore. As...

Christchurch
Reviewed December 6, 2016

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment from 21st - 28th November. We can see where some would view the décor as being dated, but we found the use of darker wood in keeping with Asian décor we have had in other hotels, in other Asian countries – one of which was a swanky new hotel on Hong Kong Island,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Travelbugs_Two
Cynthia L, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear Travelbugs_Two, Greetings from your friendly team at Somerset Bencoolen! Thank you for taking time to write such a lovely and detailed review on your recent stay experience at our serviced residence on Tripadvisor. All of us are delighted you had a great stay and you had enjoyed all aspects of you stay with us Thank you for your heartwarming...

Reviewed December 6, 2016 via mobile

We had a good experience at this hotel. Whilst the decor is a little dated it was very clean, had all we needed for a comfortable stay and the staff were very accommodating. It's close to an MRT station and several main bus routes, there are good food options nearby and it was reasonably price for the size of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shane R
Cynthia L, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear Shane R, Greetings! The team at Somerset Bencoolen is delighted your family and you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay at our serviced residence. We are truly heartened to learn you have found our spacious apartment ideal for your family stay and our central location with easy accessibility to economical transport and food options an added value to your...

Singapore
Reviewed November 18, 2016

Stayed there for 3 night. It was quite old building but is relatively well maintained. The room were spacious and quite functional. They provided the free breakfast which was not too bad. Overall fairly satisfactory experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hawkdai007
Cynthia L, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear Hawkdai007, Greetings from the team at Somerset Bencoolen! Thank you for taking time to share your recent stay experience at our serviced residence on Tripadvisor. We are indeed heartened to note you enjoyed your stay with us during your recent business trip and you have found our spacious and fully-equipped apartment ideal for your stay requirements. All of us...

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewed November 16, 2016

The apartments are centrally located and within walking distance to many attractions, as well as only being a few minutes from an MRT station so transportation across Singapore was easy. The facilities in the apartment building were great and the roof top pool is beautiful. They have everything you want from large fridge to oven and even chopsticks and strainer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christinajardan
Cynthia L, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear Christinajardan, Greetings! The team at Somerset Bencoolen sincerely thanks you for taking time to share your recent stay experience at our serviced residence on Tripadvisor. We are delighted you had a wholly enjoyable and comfortable stay with us and you have been impressed with our fully-equipped apartments. All of us are heartened to learn you have been very happy...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed November 10, 2016

The consistency in staff friendliness and helpfulness is very impressive. At our recent stay in Somerset hotel we felt like every staff member made an effort to assist with our enquiries. Having said that, two staff members that stood out with exceptional customer service iwere the Guest Service team member Aslindah and the after hours security man... both of whom...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CertifiedTrainer
Cynthia L, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear CertifiedTrainer, Greetings from your friendly team at Somerset Bencoolen! We sincerely thank you for taking time to write such a heartwarming review on your recent stay at our serviced residence. All of us are delighted your family and you had a wholly enjoyable and comfortable stay with us and that the use of the Handy phone added much value...

Mumbai
Reviewed November 7, 2016

I stayed here for 4 nights. Felt like home. The Apartment was superb. Very spacious and had everything that you need. The staff was courteous and always responsive. The only complaint was breakfast. Being a vegetarian, there was nothing except Cereal and Fruits for me. I wish that they would keep couple of more items for vegetarians. The Pool, Gym...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chirag S
Cynthia L, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear Chirag S, Greetings from your friendly team at Somerset Bencoolen! We are indeed thrilled to learn your family and you had a great stay at our serviced residence and our spacious apartment exceeded your expectations. All of us sincerely thank you for your inspiring compliment for our service and we are delighted we were able to assist you and...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

109 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (89)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Somerset Liang Court Singapore
Strand Hotel
#152 of 308 in Singapore
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
V Hotel Bencoolen
#170 of 308 in Singapore
1,232 reviews
Hotel Kai
#120 of 308 in Singapore
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in Singapore's former civic district, Somerset Bencoolen is strategically and conveniently located. A luxurious escape from the hustle and bustle of city life, it nonetheless puts you just minutes away from every imaginable pursuit. Elegant shopping, fine dining, pulsating nightlife, as well as museum exhibits and world-renowned cultural performances are all within easy reach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Somerset Bencoolen

Address: No. 51 Bencoolen Street, Singapore 189630, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Price Range: $124 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Bencoolen 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Somerset Bencoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Bencoolen Singapore
Hotel Style:
#60 Family Hotel in Singapore
#64 Business Hotel in Singapore
#71 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#94 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Somerset Bencoolen staff and other travelers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Somerset Bencoolen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Choose a room facing Selgie/Princep Street”
 of 5 bubbles sudhirk314, Feb 18, 2017 | Read review
“Ask for higher floors, or floors not facing construction, at least until the MRT construction is complete”
 of 5 bubbles macelim, Jan 16, 2017 | Read review
“A corner room gives plenty of light and is quiet.”
  • Living room
  • Bathroom with opening windows
  • Kitchen with dining area in the foreground
 of 5 bubbles Travelbugs_Two, Dec 6, 2016 | Read review
“If you want to be closer to the Buffet breakfast and gym, they are located on level 5. The swimming pool and spa is rooftop.”
 of 5 bubbles CertifiedTrainer, Nov 10, 2016 | Read review
“We were on the 8th floor - it was fine”
 of 5 bubbles DianeQuilts, Sep 24, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question