We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Shophouse The Social Hostel

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Shophouse The Social Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

220 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 158: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The whole district is full of great hipster cafes and restaurants. There's a really cool burger joint downstairs which residents get 20% off, as well as a cool hangout on the rooftop. Rooms and Bathrooms were on the small side but were clean enough. Aircon was fine. Breakfast was toast. Staff were amongst the best. Price was ok for Singapore... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matt D
ShophouseHostel, Front Office Manager at Shophouse The Social Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Matt, How are ya? Nice to see ya the other day and glad to hear you had a pleasant stay with us. Hope to see you again soon! Cheers! More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nightmare! The bed got bug, totally cannot sleep at all and also there is no washing machine can use, not really near the mrt station, the price not worth it at all, need to change another hostel and pay more. Although the staff are nice but i more concert the room cleanness

Helpful?
1 Thank Tenco_teh
ShophouseHostel, Manager at Shophouse The Social Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Tenco, We thank you for your feedback. We do have laundry services in our hostel. The Bugis MRT station is about 10 minutes walk. We do have a regular preventative pest control maintenance done throughout our hostel on a regular basis. We also have procedures in place in case something like this was to happen. Thank you for letting... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

i have been visit this hotel in the first of march 2016. the staff is helpful, sometimes i got a trouble with their singlish but it is fine at all. the room was not wide, and the ventilation is poor. because i just spent a little hours in the room, so it is not bad to go bed with this... More 

Helpful?
Thank nafisachintan
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

If you're staying in Singapore I wouldn't stay anywhere else! Shopshouse is perfect and super cheap for Singapore! Nice and clean with excellent facilities. Staff are super friendly and helpful. Restaurant downstairs serves delicious food at a discounted rate for people staying in the hostel. The rooftop terrace is awesome and a pretty darn lovely place to enjoy your free... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beth_Douglas
ShophouseHostel, Manager at Shophouse The Social Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Beth, Thanks for your review! I really hope that you enjoyed your stay at our hostel. You can check out our Facebook and Instagram for updates and upgrades in the hostel. Hope to see you soon and maybe you can introduce the hostel to your friends as well. Cheers, Shaik More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'm on my budget trip to Singapore for 2 nights, so I chose female dorm in this hostel. Room is a bit crowded, there are 12 of us in the dorm. In term of safety, it was good because the only way you can enter the building and the room was by access card provided by the hostel. So outsider... More 

Helpful?
Thank ummusaadahzubir
ShophouseHostel, Manager at Shophouse The Social Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Ummu, Thanks for the feedback. Hope that you really enjoyed your stay here. And really hope that we fulfill the requirements made for you. Hope that you will tell your friends about the hostel. See you soon! Cheers, Shaik More 

Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016

Location is strategies , you can find the hallal food anywhere with cheap prise. Very close with mosque, MRT, mall, Bugis Street. The staffs is very friendly and helpful, it was amazing! I stayed 2 nights, in female dorm. And the facilities are awesome. You can play video games, watch movie, read books, internet, etc just for free! Even the... More 

Helpful?
Thank nabilatsaniya
ShophouseHostel, Front Office Manager at Shophouse The Social Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there Nabilah! Thank you for staying with Shophouse. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay here. Also, thank you for your feedback regarding the late check ins. We will try to make it easy for everyone to understand the instructions Hope to see you again! Cheers! More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016 via mobile

Staffs are attentive and friendly. Special thanks to the lady who assisted me during my stay , I posted her picture here *sorry I forgot the name. Moreover, I will recommend the place to all my friends around the globe. Thanks guys

Helpful?
Thank Nerites V
ShophouseHostel, Front Office Manager at Shophouse The Social Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there! Thank you for leaving us a review. I'm glad that our staff managed to make your stay an enjoyable one. We will pass on this message to Iffa and thank you for telling your friends! Always great to meet more of them. We hope to see you again in Singapore soon! Cheers! More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2016 via mobile

Fairly cheap considering the general prices of everything in Singapore, comfy beds and good A/C. There's a nice social area in the roof where you can see a lot of the city. Staff are very helpful with everything you need. There doesn't seem to be a lot to do in This area of town, but the trains are really good... More 

Helpful?
Thank April R
ShophouseHostel, Front Office Manager at Shophouse The Social Hostel, responded to this review

Hi April, Thank you for your kind rating and review! We are glad you had a great time with us and in Singapore. Looking forward to host you again the next time you return to Singapore! :D Cheers! More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
133 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2016 via mobile

Alright location. Dirty hostel. No air condition except in dorm room except everyone keeps Door open some reason. Reception has weird hours but no issue for late check in. First night is ok but then we had a group of 10 in our room. Came at 11 (after 10 supposed to be quiet time) turned all lights on and talk/... More 

Helpful?
Thank jadk001
ShophouseHostel, Manager at Shophouse The Social Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Jordan, We are really sorry that we weren't able to provide you with a good night's sleep and we appreciate your feedback. We will do our best to remind all guests to be considerate but do understand that as we do not have a 24 hours reception, we are unable to check on the rooms in the middle of... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2016

The pictures of this hostel are very good- well done to the photographer as I as was a little disappointed with the reality. We arrived at 1:40pm and were told we couldn't check in until 2. Get a grip it's 20 minutes! The chairs in the communal room were very uncomfortable and the slats under the bed moved! All that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mullen89
ShophouseHostel, Manager at Shophouse The Social Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, We appreciate your feedback and we do normally allow guests to check-in earlier than the check-in time. However, there are occasions where we are unable to do so due to unforeseen circumstances beyond our control. As for the chairs and the beds, we have looked into them and rest assured, when you return, everything would be better than... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

119 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (97)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Kampong Glam
Green Kiwi Backpacker Hostel - Bugis
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#28 of 215 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
Kampong Glam
The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plush Pods Hostel
#84 of 215 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 361 reviews
Kampong Glam
5footway.inn Project Bugis
5footway.inn Project Bugis
#87 of 215 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
Kampong Glam
Superb Hostel
Superb Hostel
#128 of 215 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Kampong Glam

Neighborhood Profile
Kampong Glam
This traditionally Malay enclave of Singapore offers an alluring array of shops, cafes, and bars. A walk down Haji Lane offers quirky shopping, while one block over, Arab Street is a treasure trove of brightly colored fabrics, clothing, and Turkish rugs. Stop for a leisurely coffee or cocktail and watch local kids play traditional games along the lane. Also home to the Malay Heritage Center and one of Singapore’s most prominent mosques (Sultan Mosque), Kampong Glam is a must-visit for a tantalizing taste of Malay life in this city.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Singapore's first indie boutique hostel, the newly opened Shophouse The Social Hostel puts up clean, refurbished rooms housed in a beautiful conservation building that is unique to South-East Asia. Shophouse lies along Arab Street, an area famous for its heady mix of culture, arts, dining and fashion.We offer 6, 8, 12 and 16 bed mixed dorms as well as 8 and 12 bed female-only dorms which lie on an exclusively ladies-only floor.Guests who stay with Shophouse enjoy:Fully Air-Conditioned RoomsFree All-Day BreakfastFree Wi-Fi and Computer TerminalsPersonal Reading Lights and Electrical SocketsIndividual LockersHigh Quality Foam Mattress and BedsheetsFirm Fibre Pillows and Comfortable QuiltsFree Ear PlugsFree Hair & Body ShampooLuggage StorageCCTV Security and Room Key Card AccessDiscounted Tour and Sightseeing Tickets ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shophouse The Social Hostel

Address: 48 Arab Street, Singapore 199745, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Kampong Glam
Price Range: $14 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Shophouse The Social Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Shophouse The Social Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shophouse The Social Hostel Singapore
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay