We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Hotel Royal Singapore

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Royal Singapore
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

634 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 458: English reviews
Cheras, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This accomodation is reputed to be a classic 3-star old-kid-on-the-block kind of hotel. Old kids have their advantages - situated in leafy neighbourhood, larger boxy rooms and old charm hospitality. The good review stops there. The lobby and decor are a little drab. Rooms are clean although some facilities are rather aged. Bed texture is just passable. The breakfast can... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank WillCheras2015
Hotel_Royal_Sin, General Manager at Hotel Royal Singapore, responded to this review

Dear Mr. WillCheras2015, Thank you first of all for choosing Hotel Royal & thanks for sharing your experience. We take all feedback seriously, regardless of the nature & we will share your thoughts with our team. We do sincerely look forward to serving you again in the near future. Lee Chou Hock General Manager More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Singapore Airline overnight accommodation leaves a lot to be desired. Smoking only outside od hotel inadequate bins only 1 outside hotel very disappointing. Would have booked at my own cost if I knew some other place was available very very disappionting

Helpful?
Thank fionawinkler
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for three nights in early June 2016. The rooms were very comfortable with a decent view across the skyline. I would say, one of the main attractions of this hotel is the location. As far as hotels go; this one was fine, but not hugely different to a lot of others. But it's location is just a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark N
Chou Hock L, General Manager at Hotel Royal Singapore, responded to this review

Dear Mark N, Thank you first of all for choosing Hotel Royal and sharing your experience with us. It is with much pleasure to know that you enjoyed our location & it's easy accessibility. Your comment on the breakfast is well noted and we will share it with our F&B Department. Once again, thank you and we certainly look forward... More 

Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We family of 4 members stayed for 5 nights in June 2016 with family. Rooms was nice, location very good, bus stop in front of hotel, easy access to metro 2 min by bus or 72 in walk. Break fast was repeating and get bored after 2 days. Option to have food from nearby restaurants.

Helpful?
Thank sidh5577
Chou Hock L, General Manager at Hotel Royal Singapore, responded to this review

Dear sidh5577, Thank you first of all for choosing Hotel Royal & sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the nice room, hotel location & its easy accessibility. Your comment on the breakfast is well noted & we will share it with our Team. Once again, thank you & we look forward to serving... More 

Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I actually had second thoughts about writing this review because I wanted to give in to my selfishness and I didn’t want people to know about this hidden gem. It’s not perfect but it definitely has everything you need and is definitely friendly on the pocket. I consider this a gem because it’s relatively cheap for the location and the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank thatborgaguy
Benjamin L, Manager at Hotel Royal Singapore, responded to this review

Dear thatborgaguy, Thank you first of all for choosing Hotel Royal. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our location, quality of rooms and the accessibility, not forgetting the competitive room rate. All of us in Hotel Royal takes feedback seriously and we have conveyed and share your highlighted thoughts to the team. Once again, thank you for sharing... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016

Crowded breakfast hall, actually it was a little small and the breakfast package wasn't so complete but it was well qualified and tasty. the check-in process to me it seemed a little bit slow, while in KL they checked us in actually pretty soon, but generally it's a good and reasonable hotel .

Helpful?
Thank Fatima F
Benjamin L, Manager at Hotel Royal Singapore, responded to this review

Dear Fatima F, Thank you first of all for choosing Hotel Royal and sharing your valuable feedback. We take feedback from our customers seriously and have conveyed and share the highlighted issues with our team. Once again, thank you and we hope to see you again in the future. With Kind Regards, Lee Chou Hock General Manager More 

Dhaka City, Bangladesh
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

Firstly I have complain about. No one turned up at the airport for pick up. You have given me a fake voucher. I paid S$26 from my pocket which should be refunded.. Unless I get the refund, I shall consider it as a case of cheating. Additionally no free WIFI was available though it was indicated in your sales pitch

Review collected in partnership with Asiatravel.com

Helpful?
Thank albertamyn
Benjamin L, General Manager at Hotel Royal Singapore, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you first of all for choosing Hotel Royal and you feedback. Kindly be informed that the package you had chosen through the 3rd party vendor did not include Wifi. Please also be informed that we do not provide airport transfer and it is being handled by the 3rd party vendor which you booked with. You may wish... More 

Greater Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016

Room had a leaking air conditioning system. It was leaking. - The floor was wet and the room felt damp. Even the sheets and bedding felt wet. We rang to inform to see if we could get a room change and we were told no. Additionally there was mould throughout the bathroom - the roof was broken in the bathroom... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank munerz74
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2016

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. We had a very pleasant stay at the hotel. Room is very clean and spacious. Room has iron and ironing board, water boiler, instant coffee and small refrigerator. Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom has toothbrush and shaving razor. Bus is right in front of hotel. To get to MRT, one can take... More 

Helpful?
Thank NTV63
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2016

Room service was efficient, taking little time, and was clearly organized with standardized procedures. The room was great and comfortable, with a lot of space. The only problem was that the air conditioner made abrupt noises throughout the night.

Review collected in partnership with Asiatravel.com

Helpful?
Thank Victorira
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

119 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (103)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Tiong Bahru
Link Hotel
Link Hotel
#135 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
V Hotel Lavender
#168 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 3,085 reviews
Hotel Royal at Queens
#160 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parc Sovereign Hotel - Tyrwhitt
#129 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Royal is strategically located right in the heart of Singapore's most exclusive district and is only minutes away from the renowned shopping and entertainment haven of Orchard Road. The Novena MRT Station is within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. There are 3 major shopping malls namely Novena Square, Velocity and Square 2 are directly above the station. Public transport such as taxis & buses are also easily available from the hotel's main entrance to bring guests to all parts of Singapore. Guests staying in the hotel's newly refurbished 331 spacious guests' rooms and suites will enjoy 'Every Room A Home' feeling as all the rooms & suites are comfortably furnished with shades of beige curtains and bedspreads to blend with a contemporary colored wallpaper to enhance the cosiness of the rooms.Our rooms are among the most spacious in Singapore. For guests' convenience & entertainment, we have added a wireless broadband internet access facility and also additional satellite and cable TV channels linked to all guest rooms & suites, apart from the hotel's present 24 hours in-house movie channels. The hotel's 24 hours Trishaw Coffee House offers mouth-watering local delicacies and irresistible desserts. Room service is also available 24 hours. Weekend Hi-Tea Buffet is very well accepted by local & foreign guests. Other food & beverage dining like the Jade Room Chinese Restaurant offers daily lunch & dinner steamboat buffet and is a fabulous place to dine in comfort, whilst the Japanese restaurant Kandagawa (level 3), is well-appreciated for authentic Japanese cuisine & decor in the restaurant. Newton Food Centre is about 800m away from Hotel Royal where one can enjoy Singapore fabulous local food.The latest added facilities are an in-house Gym for the health-conscious and also a Self-Launderette & Ironing Room for guests who prefers to do their own laundry whilst staying in the hotel.Please come by to Hotel Royal and experience the Traditional Royal Service that we offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Singapore

Address: 36 Newton Road, Singapore 307964, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Price Range: $90 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Royal Singapore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Royal Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Singapore
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay