We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Traveler (3369)
Room & Suite (888)
Dining (464)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#17 of 258 hotels in Yogyakarta Region
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
This legenderay hotel was initially built as private estate in 1918. Through the ensuing decades, the property changed hands a number of times, until a Dutch caretaker turned it into Pensioner Hotel. The Phoenix name was deliberately chosen by the last proprietor who hoped that it would remain intact forever, believing in the ancient myth of The Phoenix, the sacred fire bird symbolizing regeneration throughout eternity.The Phoenix Hotel is elegantly situated in down town Yogyakarta, the cradle of Javanese civilization. The legendary Malioboro Street is just nearby, while the world herigate Borobudur and Prambanan temples are only an hour drive. Yogyakarta's cultural heritage and picturesque settings emit a distinctive charm that seldom fails its visitors.The 144 beautifully appointed rooms are reflecting the ambiance of bygone era wrapped in modern comfort facilities, enabling its occupant to celebrate a glorious past without losing the beauty of contemporary living.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Free parking
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Airport transportation
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Center with Internet Access
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Outdoor pool
Public Wifi
Show more
Room amenities
Air conditioning
Minibar
Refrigerator in room
Room types
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Romantic
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
3,993Reviews
35Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,426
  • 1,187
  • 289
  • 57
  • 34
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
+1
I was staying only for 1 night with family of 2 rooms. From the arrival up until we leaving the hotel, all team member were so friendly and accommodative. I was touched with the welcome amenity that I love.. aunthentic coffee and the drawing of my 'companion' car.. LoVe it!
Read more
Response from ThePhoenixYogyakarta, Front Office Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Responded 2 days ago
Dear GandhiY82, Thank you for sharing your experience during stay at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. It is our pleasure to have you here as our guest. After we read your review, we are happy to know that you enjoy the service, staff, variety of the breakfast and the hotel building. More, it is a great news knowing that you are pleased with the welcome amenity that specially prepared for you. We are all glad that you can feel our spirit in serving you and we surely look forward to welcome you again soon. Best Regards, Francisca Imas Soraya Front Office Manager
Read more
our room designed was colonial design + java, my kids love the room, staff very nice and polite. but the swimming pool was too small and no slide, the hotel doesn't have children facilities, no playground at all. the breakfast was only so so
Read more
Response from ThePhoenixYogyakarta, Front Office Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Dinda R, Thank you for your positive words mentioning the hotel design, the room and the staff. We are all very happy to read that you really enjoy the stay with us. However we are sad to know that our swimming pool did not reach your expectation. We will share it to the management and we hope to welcome you again for the next future. Best Regards, Francisca Imas Soraya Front Office Manager
Read more
We stated at The Phoenix Hotel for several days. It was in a lovely building, with a lovely pool, but service failed in a number of ways. The main problem was service in the restaurant (which was mostly buffet), where the staff seemed disorganized and unmotivated. When
Read more
Response from ThePhoenixYogyakarta, Front Office Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Responded 5 days ago
Dear nniko, I would first like to thank you for sharing a review of your recent experience during your stay with us. Thank you for the highlights you made on our hotel building and our lovely swimming pool. However, we would like to do apologies for the disappointments that you have felt during your stay. Our restaurant always do Daily Thematic Buffet Dinner which means we will serve different menu on dinner based on the daily theme. Because of there was an Iftar Dinner for our muslim guests during your stay, thus our restaurant will be very busy of the people who are breaking their fast. Your feedback about your dining experience and our service from housekeeping team are really appreciated and we will share it all to the related department to always give better performance in the future. It is our hope to welcome you again whenever your travel brings you to Yogyakarta. Best Regards, Francisca Imas Soraya Front Office Manager
Read more
This hotel stays true to its heritage in every possible way. The outdoor courtyard for dinner, the swimming pool surrounded by hotel rooms... it’s all really really nice. And every night there’s a different buffet theme, so you have plenty of variation.
Read more
Response from ThePhoenixYogyakarta, Front Office Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 1976micha, Thank you for reviewing us. We are so happy to read that you enjoy your stay and appreciate everything that we provide. Your positive words mentioning our hotel and the facilities such as the dining area, swimming pool really boosted the spirit of our team here. More, we are glad to know that you enjoy our Daily Thematic Buffet Dinner at our restaurant. We definitely look forward to welcome you back whenever your travel brings you to Yogyakarta. Best Regards, Francisca Imas Soraya Front Office Manager
Read more
It is a strange hotel. We entered through the front door and after checking in we had to walk through a very busy dining room to reach our rooms on the second floor in a separate but connected building. I had room #252. The room is very nice, with a comfortable chair to relax
Read more
Response from ThePhoenixYogyakarta, Front Office Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Responded 1 week ago
Dear reise-tanta-di, We do thank you for your words related to your experience during stay at The Phoenix Hotel. It is always nice to hear when one of our guests had such an enjoyable trip and mentioning the room and its facilities, the cleanliness, the professional staff, the daily turndown service and as well the sweets. Actually our hotel is the one of heritage building in Yogyakarta that was built in 1918 as a private house, our current restaurant has the same function as the dining area for 100 years and we will keep the originality function of this area. Moreover, during the muslims fast, our dining area was busy because of the iftar dinner thus we are sorry for the inconvenience caused. Again, thank you for recommending our hotel and we surely look forward to welcome you back soon. Best Regards, Francisca Imas Soraya Front Office Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$57 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
phoenix hotel yogyakartayogyakarta phoenix hotel
LOCATION
IndonesiaJavaYogyakarta Region
NUMBER OF ROOMS
144
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing