We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
64 Wong Chuk Hang Road, Southside Drop off by car, limo or taxis - use Entrance on Yip Fat Street, Hong Kong China
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$95
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/30/22
Hotels.com
Only 2 left at
$95
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/01/22
Destinia.com
$92
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/30/22
Expedia.com$95
Official Site$102
Prestigia.com$111
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1798)
Room & Suite (689)
Dining (232)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#53 of 799 hotels in Hong Kong
Location
4.0
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.6
Value
4.5
Travelers' Choice
A centrepiece of the Southside region’s booming urban regeneration, Ovolo Southside is Hong Kong’s first New York-style warehouse conversion Design Hotel. Located within a former industrial building, the hotel is an interactive design stage showcasing contemporary art against a backdrop of industrial-inspired interior design. Ovolo Southside currently houses one of Hong Kong’s top restaurants – Komune, and Above by Komune, a sky high oasis with amazing views of Southside. It is now easily accessible by way of Hong Kong’s new speedy South Island MTR Line, making Ovolo Southside an effortless choice.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
Rooftop bar
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Telephone
Bottled water
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese

Location

Full view
64Somewhat walkable
Grade: 64 out of 100
19Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
4Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1779Reviews68Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,285
  • 344
  • 74
  • 39
  • 37
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
kelpy wrote a review Sep 2022
Hong Kong, China3 contributions1 helpful vote
3 day quarantine at the mini queen room. Pros: - Very cozy and very clean room - complete room amenities - Chill vibes - Very thoughtfully designed to make the stay comfy- convenient app that lets you pick your food (many varieties), can order snacks, happy hour drinks, online classes, informative notifications re PCR testing, and we had a surprise card game to keep us entertained! - Responsive and friendly staff. Cons: - small room (but it’s HK) - poor sound isolation from the highway outside - aircon temperature control is not very good. - mini queen room is not designed for more than 2 people to work from home. Overall, we really enjoyed our quarantine here and low key wished we could’ve stayed longer.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Damian F, General Manager at Ovolo Southside
Responded Sep 22, 2022
Hey Kelpytravel, Thank you for rating and feedback, we really appreciate it!! Pleased that you enjoyed your Quarantine with us and we look forward to seeing you next time, hopefully for a staycation!! Cheers Damian General Manager Ovolo Southside
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MabutHK wrote a review Sep 2022
Hong Kong, China58 contributions56 helpful votes
In the past few days, I spent the 3-day mandatory quarantine stay at this hotel, choosing the mini-suite. Only after booking, I got to know that all mini-suites face Wong Chuk Hang Road, a 4-lane road that includes a flyover. I don't blame the hotel for that, and they were very kind to offer me a room on the 21st floor, with an open view. But if you're sensitive to noise, please be aware that this kind of room is noisy, especially noticeable at night and in the early hours, as the traffic is non-stop. My high rating goes to the service - very attentive - and in particular to the food, which is outstanding. My family and I went through various good quarantine hotels before, but the food served at Ovolo is much better than at any other (even 5-star) hotel. It is freshly made, healthy, and it offers interesting choices, including the 'social hour snack' and the daily desserts. I'd like to point out, though, a couple of things that the management should look into: 1) Two out of the three days I spent there, the smell of smoke outside my room was quite bad, and I informed the reception. As I smelled it, anyone from the hotel walking around the floor could, and I was surprised no action was taken even before I arrived besides spraying some deodorant after my complaint. I had no idea if it came from another room (by keeping the toilet window open and the toilet door closed, I believe that it was easy to have a smoke without triggering the fire alarm), or from the emergency exits/stairs located right next to my room. Maybe some staff would smoke there? It was annoying, as it seeped through the entrance door and came in every time I picked up my food. Thankfully, there was an air purifier in the room, but such inconvenience shouldn't happen, especially in good hotels. 2) The other strange thing was that the light in the toilet could not be switched off at any time of the day. The switch was blocked. They told me that it is the Government's mandatory rule to keep the ventilation on at all times (therefore the light on), but this never happened to me or my family - who went through quarantine elsewhere just a couple of weeks before - at any other hotel. I found it a waste of electricity. Other than that, the room is small but functional, nicely designed and well refurbished, and I would go back to Ovolo Southside again (choosing a room facing the greenery this time), especially for the food, highly commandable.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Avoid the mini-suites if you are sensitive to noise
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Damian F, General Manager at Ovolo Southside
Responded Sep 22, 2022
Greetings MabutHK Thank you for your rating and feedback we are very happy that you had a fantastic Quarantine stay with us, very happy that you enjoyed our Ovolo service and Food :D Thank you for your comments on the 2 points that you raised. In regards to the 1st point about smoking, although our Hotel's are smoke free environments, there are occasionally people who unfortunately do not follow this rule and smoke in the rooms. Given we are not allowed to enter any room during the quarantine period, it can be hard to pinpoint which room it maybe coming from, we do however send out messages to the guest rooms if we receive any comments. For the 2nd point about the ventilation in the bathroom running 24 hours per day, your statement is correct, the government in the past few months made it mandatory for the ventilation to be operating 24 hours. We have 2 room types in the building that have independent ventilation systems separate from the centralized system installed in the rooms, this system is operated in conjunction with the bathroom light. We have placed blackout material on the bathroom doors to mitigate any light seepage while sleeping and there is signage in the room explaining why it is on. Hope to see you again next time!! Cheers Damian General Manager Ovolo Southside
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bobby K wrote a review Sep 2022
Bangkok, Thailand25 contributions53 helpful votes
I just had to comment on the exemplery set up and service provided by OVOLO SOUTHSIDE through the many complications of the Govt requirements and paperwork to be done for the quarantine period for all incoming travellers to HK. The numerous portals to register, food service, and so on were made easier by the notifications sent on the hotel app, and I actually enjoyed my solitary confinement for 3 days. Kudos to Ovolo team for this, plus the check in process made me feel welcome .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: corner room is great
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Damian F, General Manager at Ovolo Southside
Responded Sep 22, 2022
Hi Bobby K, Thank you so much for your comment and rating, we really love it!! So happy that you enjoyed your quarantine stay with us, we hope to see you again soon, maybe for a staycation once this is all gone :D Cheers Damian General Manager Ovolo Southside
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Haixue Y wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions
What Ovolo HK has done to me is absolutely UNACCEPTABLE and IRRATIONAL!!! So basically what happens is they charged me for 4 nights, but only allowed me to stay for 3 nights, plus WITHOUT refunding me the rest of one night room fee. I thought HK is a law-based society? Isn't this behaviour a daylight robbery? How come they stole a night (900 HKD) from me???
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Damian F, General Manager at Ovolo Southside
Responded Sep 15, 2022
Greetings haixuey, This does not sound correct and I am happy to look into it for you. Can you please email your details and I will look into this. Kind regards Damian General Manager gm.oss@ovolohotels.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sheree C wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
I had a wonderful 3 night stay at Ovolo Southside. Food was tasty, bed was comfy, and the room was cozy! Hotel was very thoughtful to provide amenities like reusable cutlery and was very responsive with requests. Also love the quirky touches - e.g. funny posters to lift up our spirits during our quarantine (which felt more like a stay cation)!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Damian F, General Manager at Ovolo Southside
Responded Sep 1, 2022
Hey cxh852, Thank you for your AMAZING review and comments, they are really appreciated!! So happy that you enjoyed your Quarantine with us :P We look forward to seeing you again next time Cheers Damian General Manager Ovolo Southside
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
YONNIE K wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
We appreciate the fantastic service provided by Ovolo. Specially we want to give a shout-out to the Sale Manager of Ovolo - Samuel Ho, for his professionalism and responsive service. Hope to always stay with you on future trips!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Damian F, General Manager at Ovolo Southside
Responded Sep 1, 2022
Hey yonniek2022, Thank you so much for your comments and rating, we really appreciate it!! So happy to hear that you had a great Quarantine with us, thank you also for your shout-out to Samuel :D Looking forward to seeing you again next time. Cheers Damian General Manager Ovolo Southside
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pjhmriley wrote a review Aug 2022
Minato, Japan13 contributions9 helpful votes
The service here is terrible. Basically they never answer phone, to the point I had to ring their sister hotel and ask them if they could help. If your thinking about using this for a quarantine hotel- don’t listen to the marketing crap- it’s not good at all. Beds are hard as a rock, they have air conditioning unit noise 24 hours none stop- even when air conditioning switched off. It’s just a bad experience. From what I can tell the place is managed by just 4 people who do not care at all. I just found the experience poor due to the staff. I certainly don’t recommend this place.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Don’t rely on staff
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Damian F, General Manager at Ovolo Southside
Responded Sep 1, 2022
Hi pjhmriley, Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are very sorry that you didn't enjoy your experience with us. We really do pride ourselves in being one the best Quarantine products in Hong Kong and I am sorry that we have missed the mark. We do hope that you will come back again next time you need to Quarantine and we can show you how we have improved. Kind regards Damian General Manager Ovolo Southside
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LoveBirds wrote a review Aug 2022
5 contributions3 helpful votes
We heard such good things about the Ovolo that we felt grateful to get a one-bedroom suite for our mandatory quarantine, even though the price was super high. The actual experience, however, was dismayingly awful. The rooms were small and the furniture is cheap — the plastic desk and chair are uncomfortable for working, the beds and mattress are awful. We had understood from the room description that the suite would come with a sofa bed, but it did not (we were informed that all sofa beds were sold out - this would have been helpful to know before we booked, and also that rollaway beds are available only at a substantial additional charge - the suite isn’t really big enough for a rollaway anyway 😰). The blackout shades are frayed and some are off their tracks The food is bad to average - the theme of mainly vegetarian Indian food got old after day 3 - having the same menu for lunch and dinner shows minimal effort, and we should not have to pay extra for good options with meat. The walking pad in the room sounded great but was lumpy and uneven and the track slipped while walking on it)- which must be very dangerous The staff was sometimes unresponsive - and we never even had the courtesy of a reply to our email to management to raise our concerns during our stay. All of the above were not what we were led to expect, especially paying almost HKD 5,000 per night for the suite. We are both experienced at quarantine and had much better experiences (with 21 days quarantines at different hotels) last year, at a much lower price. The Kerry, for example; is miles better in terms of value and quality and luxury of the experience. This one felt less like a staycation and more like an ordeal to endure. None of us want to be in quarantine, but this one added insult to injury
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid the over-priced one-bedroom suite - not worth it under any circumstances
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Damian F, General Manager at Ovolo Southside
Responded Aug 9, 2022
Hi baz852 Thank you for taking the time to write us this review, it is disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Being a Quarantine Hotel there are some limitations placed upon us by the Department of Health, we of course would prefer not to have a plastic chair at the working desk, however due to infection control we are not allowed to have anything with cushions, floor rugs, ordainments etc in the guest rooms. We do explain this on the documents we provide. We do have some rooms with sofa beds in them and these can be booked at the time of booking. Our food menu is very extensive and we have a very good offering of food, you are correct that we have vegetarian or vegan options available on the menu as well as meat options as we do need to cater for different dietary requirements, however we do not charge for any meat options. We do work with some external restaurants who you are able to order from through us as well, however this is separate and on top of our daily menu. Apologies if our team were sometimes unresponsive, during your stay we were transitioning into our new App and the chat functions did have some teething problems which have now been rectified. We can not locate any email that you may have sent to us, apologies if we have missed it. Again we are very sorry that you Quarantine was not what you expected, we really do try hard to make sure that every guest has a fantastic stay with is and we are sorry that we missed the mark. Kind regards Damian General Manager Ovolo Southside gm.oss@ovolohotels.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Col1885 wrote a review Aug 2022
Hong Kong, China14 contributions20 helpful votes
A genuine review here! We spent our mandatory 7 night stay at the hotel. The experience was great from them thinking about things you would need (cutlery sets, filled minibar, additional toiletries) through to great variety in the food every day (some of the curries are delicious) and an app that made ordering extras or getting advice really easy. They even threw in some surprise treats throughout the week that made us smile. We had a walking pad (recommended!) and microwave (hangover from when q was 3 weeks) in the room, which made the space a little bit tighter but that was our choice. The corner room had large windows that let in loads of sunlight and gave good views of Wong Chuk Hang. If we have to continue to go through quarantine then this place is where I would choose to do it. 5stars all round.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Space is limited so think about how much baggage you need to bring with you
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Damian F, General Manager at Ovolo Southside
Responded Sep 1, 2022
Hey Col1885 Wow, we love your review and comments!! Thank you so much!! Very happy that you enjoyed your Staycation with us, we are pleased that you enjoyed everything!! Looking forward to seeing you again next time! Cheers Damian General Manager Ovolo Southside
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Priya Samtani wrote a review Aug 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Great hospitality and service of the staff at Ovolo Southside! Comfortable room with good views of the mountain and Aberdeen. Peaceful and quiet neighbourhood. Good variety of food and menus and prompt delivery of the meals. Useful messaging app to the staff who were ready to help with our needs. It's been a smooth and comfortable quarantine stay!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Damian F, General Manager at Ovolo Southside
Responded Sep 1, 2022
Hey priya85200, Amazing rating and comments, thank you so very much :D We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, and that everything was smooth and comfortable!! Hope to see you again next time Cheers Damian General Manager Ovolo Southside
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$105 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ChinaHong KongHong Kong Island / Southern District / Wong Chuk Hang
NUMBER OF ROOMS
160
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

OVOLO SOUTHSIDE $92 ($̶1̶1̶1̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Hotel Reviews - Hong Kong

Frequently Asked Questions about Ovolo Southside
Which popular attractions are close to Ovolo Southside?
Nearby attractions include Retykle (0.2 miles), artjamming (0.10 miles), and Axel Vervoordt Gallery (0.02 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ovolo Southside?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Ovolo Southside?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Ovolo Southside?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Ovolo Southside?
Conveniently located restaurants include Komune, GCX Aberdeen, and Beef & Liberty - Wong Chuk Hang.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ovolo Southside?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ovolo Southside?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Ovolo Southside offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ovolo Southside?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Chinese.
Are there any historical sites close to Ovolo Southside?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Tai Kwun - Centre for Heritage and Arts (2.4 miles), PMQ (2.6 miles), and Former Kowloon-Canton Railway Clock Tower (3.0 miles).
Does Ovolo Southside have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.