We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Silvermine Beach Resort

Save
Share
D.D.2 Lot 648,Silvermine Bay, Mui Wo, Lantau Island, Hong Kong China
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Snaptravel
$93
$73
View deal
SAVE $20
Booking.com$93
Expedia.com$86
Orbitz.com$86
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (461)
360
Panoramas (11)
Room & Suite (412)

About

#272 of 803 hotels in Hong Kong
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Whether you are looking for an escape from the hectic city life or for replenishing yourself with a relaxing vacation, the Silvermine Beach Resort in Mui Wo on the eastern coast of Lantau Island is just the place for you. Silvermine Beach Resort is a distinctive beachfront property that boasts 128 guest rooms, beautifully landscaped gardens, outdoor swimming pool, gym, sauna, steam room, as well as meeting and event facilities. The Hotel is just ten-minute walking distance from Mui Wo ferry pier, only 30-minute ferry from Central, with public bus routes to Tung Chung and Hong Kong International Airport, is excellent to travelers for both sightseeing and vacation on Lantau island with Ngong Ping, Big Buddha, Tai O and Disneyland etc.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Refrigerator
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
Chinese
524Reviews14Q+A79Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 64
  • 192
  • 146
  • 66
  • 56
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Agnes M wrote a review May 2021
Hong Kong, China10 contributions3 helpful votes
This facing beach iconic hotel sits at Mui Wo for decades, trust brings back many childhood memories as a popular picnic site. We always chose to stay at hotels in the rural areas and this was one of our list, not to mention, they offered good package with breakfast, afternoon tea and recreation coupon. Simple deco standard room as expected since clear official website which fitted what we wanted to spend more time with the beautiful nature nearby. And also, some relaxing moments within the hotel areas. The memorable highlights of the trip was from Mr. Chung, the recreation manager, who offered the most professional pro&pre services where we are able to enjoy all activities which matched our agenda. He followed up with emails before our visit. And upon arrival, before we started each activities, he offered us short yet detailed briefing and safety instructions. We also got close encounter hospitality greetings from him even Mr. Chung was overwhelmed with groups of guests. The restaurant staff also gave us pleasant surprises with their welcome and all rounded services to demanding family groups. Except the manager/owner whom turned us and another group for his no-care manners. In conclusion, I see many good reasons to come back with any age group at this still very busy resort where we sure love to spend more time at the well maintained back garden within this hotel. Because we saw the effort they had put to every corner even it is a easy affordable resort.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Patrick A wrote a review May 2021
Hong Kong, China13 contributions29 helpful votes
This hotel has 1970s charm and clearly nothing has been done to invest in the hotel's interior or facilities since then. Walls, carpets and everything is are worn out and dirty. Towels in our rooms had holes. Bed sheets were stained and stank of smoke. We booked two hotel rooms for our family of four as we were advised that we couldn't stay in a single room. This turned out to be a lie as there were signs all over the place that the maximum occupancy were four people. To add insult to injury, one of our rooms was practically unusable as it stank of cigarette smoke despite supposedly being a non-smoking room. The hotel is clearly favoured by the local population who have overrun the hotel and are shouting at each other all day long. The swimming pool supposedly opens at 9am but there was a long queue of around 20 people waiting for 45 minutes for someone to arrive to actually unlock the gate. Repeat complaints to management/reception were ignored. The staff hardly speak any English, so unless you're a local and enjoy 70s charm, this place is best to be avoided.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
King wrote a review May 2021
3 contributions4 helpful votes
Hello there, I was enjoying my stay at Silvermine Resort but, I realised they forgot to give the breakfast and dinner set vouchers for my second day. I complained within email directly with Silvermine Resort but, they would not give me back for another future check-in date and no one answers the telephone at the resort. I wonder where I can forward my case to the customer representative, manager? Since, I paid money for the extra breakfast and dinner sets and they have not fulfil their service to customer. I would not recommend customers to get the meal sets. The reception lady should pay more attention to the number of vouchers given out to the customers. Or else you will be like me. Paid for nothing. Why bother?
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Chiela P wrote a review May 2021
Hong Kong, China8 contributions2 helpful votes
Room rate too pricey. The pet room cost us $1.4k but it only included pet bowls and a toy which we couldn’t even bring home We requested for late check out so they extended it to 12:30pm for us. At 12:10pm, the front desk called us and said “it’s 12:25 now”... The hotel was empty and not busy at all but we felt very rushed to check out Breakfast was super limited, there was no menu and they only serve 1 dish - which was so dry and bland Anyway the restaurant staff were kind at least! And the swimming pool was pretty :) Overall silvermine could do so much better but we don’t recommend it for people who want to stay at “pet friendly” hotels
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Woodai wrote a review Apr 2021
Hong Kong, China78 contributions161 helpful votes
+1
This is a tired hotel staffed with minimum manpower even when they are fully booked over Easter. 1. Check in took one hour, you must stand in line in the sun to wait your turn. There are no exceptions even if you have a baby (wasn’t us). 2. Air conditioning in room was weak, it was 30 degrees out! 3. Restaurant staff are grumpy, rude and will fight back if you complain. You place your own placemat and utensils then you wait to be served. Everyone gets the same food, no exceptions. 4. Restaurant staff bring out your plated breakfast but they’ll serve people who are near the windows first closer to the kitchen. If you complain because people arrived after you already got served and you are still waiting the restaurant staff (Donna) will tell you it’s impossible you have been waiting. If you complain more restaurant staff (Gloria) will start filming you and tell you she is not only filming you with her phone the CCTV is on. 5. The breakfast toast is extremely chewy, the ham is very pink and looks strange, no seconds allowed. 6. The toilet was blocked twice. 7. Swimming pool was nice but not enough towels. 8. The bathroom was moldy, the glass door to the shower was wobbly, I thought it would fall down. 9. The staff gave me the feeling they hated working there. 10. Bring your own toilet paper, if you run out at night after housekeeping are gone they won’t give you another roll. 11. Floor in room broken, be careful. 12. Shower stall looked like it wasn’t cleaned properly- hair. 13. Downstairs bathroom super stinky with toilet paper all over the floor. Super gross!!! 14. Beautiful sea view, faces the beach, within walking distance to Mui Wo Pier
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Silvermine Beach Resort, 業者 at Silvermine Beach Resort
Responded Apr 9, 2021
Thank you for taking your precious time to share your feedback with us. We are sorry to hear your unpleasant experience in our hotel. 1. According to our record, In fact, check in time is 15:00 but your check in time was 15:07, while our stated check-in time is 15:00, there was a 7 minutes delay. Sorry that were unable to meet with your expectations. 2. There is a temperature controller in each of our guest room, guests can adjust the temperature according to their own need. In some special case, we have fans and heaters available at our Front Office for our guests. As per our record, there was no complaint on the working condition of the temperature controller by the subsequent guest of the same room. 3. We are offering All-day-breakfast set in the morning with free-flow beverage, coffee, tea and juice, etc. In-house guests can purchase at a special price of $30+10% each, regular price at $98+10%. Should customer need other food, we have A La Carte menu, we are more than happy to serve individually. 4. Restaurant order is served on a first come first serve basis, waiter distributes food according to the ticket from chef. There is no bias nor privilege to anyone. We had investigated the filming incident. Kitchen is an restricted area for outsider, anyone not belongs to Restaurant Department is not allowed to enter. There are knives, sharp tools, hots stuffs, It is dangerous for a stranger to go into, especially when everyone inside is working busily. Our staff tried to stop you from entering but in vain, so she took a video to record the case for reporting purpose. The video had been deleted from her mobile after our investigation. 5. The breakfast is served on a set basis, so individually refill is not provided. 6. As per our record, the toiled was blocked because of too many toiled paper inside. We apologies for the inconvenience caused. 7. We have towels provided in swimming pool, each guest should have at least one towel. In this pandemic period, we have restricted the number of guests to enter into swimming pool, therefore, towel should not be a problem. 8. Before we release a room to our guest, all fixtures or appliances have been checked and assured safe under normal usage. 9. Our staff might be too busy to give a smell on their face, especially during the long holiday session. We are sorry to have giving you this impression. 10. Toilet paper is provided in each guest room and will be refilled upon cleaning or on requested. 11. Should you find anything broken or not working properly, our Engineering Department will be available to fix it immediately. We always aim to provide a comfortable experience for our guests. Thank you for your constructive comments, we would not be able to take the necessary action to improve our services and facilities without valuable feedback from our esteemed guests. I do hope that in spite of your experience, your confidence and faith in Silvermine Beach Resort will be restored in due course and I will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$63 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
香港银矿湾酒店, 香港银矿湾, silvermine beach hong kong, hotel silvermine beach, silvermine beach hotel hong kong, silvermine hotel
LOCATION
ChinaHong KongIslands District / New Territories / Lantau Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
129
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Silvermine Beach Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Silvermine Beach Resort?
Nearby attractions include Mui Wo Scenic Resort (0.2 miles), China Bear (0.3 miles), and Friendly Bicycle Shop (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Silvermine Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Silvermine Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Silvermine Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Kitchen, China Beach Club, and Bahce Turkish Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Silvermine Beach Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Silvermine Beach Resort offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Silvermine Beach Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Tung Chung (3.7 miles), Tung Chung Fort (4.0 miles), and Tung Chung Battery (4.2 miles).
Does Silvermine Beach Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.