Silka Seaview Hotel

Silka Seaview Hotel

No.268 Shanghai Street, Yaumatei, Kowloon Yau Ma Tei, Hong Kong China
Hotel
Traveler (632)
Panorama at the Silka Seaview Hotel
360
Panoramas (20)
冷蔵庫
Room & Suite (252)

View prices for your travel dates

$57
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#198 of 605 hotels in Hong Kong
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
3.8
Service
3.3
Value
3.6
Silka Seaview, Hong Kong is situated in Yau Ma Tei, one of the most vibrant districts of Hong Kong. The hotel has 268 well-designed guest rooms to provide all the comforts of home. Just a footstep away from Yau Ma Tei MTR Station and right next to the Temple Street Market and Jade Market, the hotel's prime location provides unrivaled access to the busy commercial and entertainment life of the city. Complimentary in-town shuttle bus service is available, and the hotel offers the best value for money and a perfect accommodation for travellers on a budget.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Free shuttle or taxi services
Shuttle bus service
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Breakfast buffet
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars

Location

No.268 Shanghai Street, Yaumatei, Kowloon Yau Ma Tei, Hong Kong China
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 92 out of 100
92
Hong Kong Intl Airport
Shenzhen Airport
32.2 mi
See all flights
Jordan
9 minMass Transit Railway (MTR)
1,004Review52Q+A89Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 95
  • 422
  • 340
  • 89
  • 58
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Menno d wrote a review Jan 2020
Western Cape, South Africa76 contributions53 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Slap bang in the middle of Hong Kong, Hong Kong this budget hotel is a great place to tour from in Hong Kong. Price was really very affordable and it was easy walking distance to lots of attractions. The room whilst small is adequate, quiet and very clean. The staff helpful and friendly. Go to the Jade Market, Temple Night Market and Walking Market or take the tram to the top of Victoria Peak, about a 20 minute walk from the hotel A HK$24 taxi ride to the ferry terminal and off to Macau for the day.
The Hong Kong Underground is easy to use.
A very big plus in Hong Kong is how friendly and helpful the people are. Step to the side and stare at your map and people will stop to ask how they can assist you. This happened time and again, a great experience. Do yourself a favour and travel Cathy Pacific to Hong Kong, a super stop over.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shannon wrote a review Jun 2023
Suva, Fiji1,142 contribution272 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
For check-in you will require a cash deposit, but counter service thoughtout was always quite quick. The Standard Room was small as expected but was clean to a good degree. The room minibar was stacked and coffee/tea items were replaced daily. The bed however was quite small and not ideal for two adults, we were two slim adults. If you are a big person you'll have real issues. The surprising thing was noticing the hotel had cheap set meal deals during breakfast and lunch. Worth the stay if you're on a tight budget.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Choose two Twin beds over one double
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gerardo F wrote a review Mar 2022
8 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
First, I have been staying in this hotel many times. Yes, the rooms are small but you are out most of the time so its okay. Basic room amenities are provided. Our room was cleaned everyday. The breakfast was ok better than Mcdonalds. Location was perfect as it is near restaurants and the Temple St., Night market, Nathan Road and near the MTR station. Its walking distance to Mongkok where shopping is awesome. All in all, I rate the hotel 3.5 from a scale of 1 to 5 where 5 is highest.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
vicky t wrote a review Feb 2023
18 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Small tiny room. Location is good, near Yau Ma Tei MTR station exit C. And near airport bus stop.
Check in and check out process was very quick. The staff can speak English.
They provide bathroom amenities and hotel slipper. They have separate floor for smoking and non smoking room so no cigarette smell in my room.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: If travel with friend better to chose Twin bed. Their double is so tiny size, not even a Queen...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adventurer17151 wrote a review Mar 2005
Vancouver, BC3 contributions46 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is only a few blocks from the subway & night market. The room itself is clean but small with outdated furnishings, especially the bathroom. Housekeeper is quite stingy with toilet paper as sometimes we'd only get half a roll. We requested for a Non-Smoking room, but all room reeks of smoke. In terms of the hotel's breakfast buffet, the food is not impressive. What's worse, the coffee shop is small & it allows smoking, so every morning while eating breakfast, we'd have to deal with smokers right on the next table. Most of the clients of this hotel are people from mainland China who smokes like chimney, so I'd suggest to get your breakfast elsewhere.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dylan15046 wrote a review Oct 2005
North Lawrence, New York87 contributions177 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We chose the Dorsett Seaview because the price was right and our last minute trip to Hong Kong during October's Canton Trade Show left few options. I liked the fact that it was a distance from the craziness of Tsim Sha Tsui but, being only two subway stops away, was close enough to the Star Ferry and other services. Its proximity to the Jade Market and Temple Street Night Market interested me.

But the hotel is really very bad. Rooms are extremely small, and I'm used to small European hotel rooms. Carpeting and drapes should have been replaced years ago. There is no closet, just a bar on the wall to hang your clothes. We paid an extra (100 HKD/night) for a "deluxe" room which based on the photos from their website has a small desk/sitting area. The room we got had nothing of the sort, and when we asked at the desk we were told that the rooms were all the same and that "deluxe" meant you were on a higher floor than the standard rooms. So either their website misrepresents the rooms or the staff was not honest.

On the plus side, the top (19th) floor has an inexpensive breakfast buffet (55 HKD) with a good view of the area, Yau Ma Tei subway stop is two blocks away, and one gets a local perspective of Hong Kong while being only two stops from Tsim Sha Tsui chaos.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ray_9476 wrote a review Jan 2006
Singapore, Singapore128 contributions35 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at Dorsett Seaview Hotel for 5 nights last week. (Jan 06)

I have no choice but to stay there because all the other hotels are fully booked. Read the reviews and was expecting a bad experience.

What i experience was worse. Very small rooms.. smelly carpets, small toilets. Rude reception.

Radio and Phone in room not working, no cupboard, small TV, re-used bedsheets and uncomfortable beds. Basically one should stay there if only all the other hotels in Hongkong is fully book.

The original room given to be was the last room along the floor as i have requested for a double bed. To my amazement, the room is so small that the bed take up 3/4 if the space.

Called the recept and requested for a deluxe room, the recept (by the name of Ken) simply declared in a rude tone that "All room same size" and hung up.

My girlfriend called and requested for two single bed room. Luckily there is still one available and it is slightly bigger. Thus do not take the last room along the corridor as it will be smaller.

To get away from the unpleasant hotel, i simply leave the room early in the hotel and get back at nights.

But given the rate of the hotel, i should have expected this. However be prepared.

See attached photos.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2006
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fidel P wrote a review Sep 2013
Manila65 contributions48 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
After reading some of the reviews on the hotel I would have to say I was a bit hesitant in checking in this hotel but given our budget for our trip I would have to say this hotel has exceeded my expectations.

First off I read that the service can be quite bad. Not true at all. The staff was very helpful when we got to the hotel at 12:00 pm after an exhausting flight we were expecting to wait for a few hours until check in time at 2:00 pm but the staff at check in counter was able to put us in a room on the 3rd floor right away. A big plus so we could unwind before heading out to the malls. The following day we were going to Disneyland with the kids and had to meet the bus in a few minutes. We were met in the hallway by Mr. Chung a staff member at Silka and he offered us to use the service elevator instead of the regular elevator since there were a lot of people using it. My hats off to you Mr. Chung excellent service once again. Also before we left for the airport they allowed us to leave our baggage after checking out at 12:00 pm to do some last minute shopping. The staff isn't all smiles but that doesn't bother me they are quick efficient and get the job done and they go the extra mile to help out if necessary.

The room, yes it is small but we got a room on the 3rd floor which is a plus for me since with two kids so if anything untoward happened we would be on the lower floors. The noise of the traffic outside was bearable if not non existent. It was quite, relaxing and cozy. Sometimes the noise of the other bathroom could be heard but only if you were in the bathroom as well. The only noise that could be heard in the bedroom would be noise in the hallway, while we were there a lady was laughing so loudly at 8:00 am good thing they didn't stay long waiting for the elevator. So as a tip to all who stay, please make sure to keep your noise levels down until you get into the elevator or outside the hotel.

The view, being on the third floor all we could see is another building and an alley but that didn't bother me. I would have rather gotten the lower floors since we had kids. If you want a great view you could always go up to the 19th floor restaurant.

Breakfast is good. You have a choice of white and whole wheat breads, jams and butter, sausages, hard boiled eggs, fried noodles, fried spring rolls, coffee and orange juice and salad. Enough to keep you satisfied till lunch.

Wifi, we were near the elevators and the wifi was excellent, strong and reliable, also free. My son loves to watch Disney cars on youtube before he goes to bed so definitely a big plus. Also I'm a netizen and always have to resort to the internet for assisting in finding good places to shop and eat so this was a big help having connectivity at the comfort of my room.

The location is wonderful. Close to the Yuamatei station about a 10 minute walk so you can just take the MTR to the Tsim Sha Tsui station and the malls in that area. Just make sure to avoid rush hour. Temple street is just downstairs around the corner and becomes a night market to eat out doors or buy inexpensive gifts for your self and family. It opens at around 8:00 pm and starts to close by 11:00 pm Just a word of advise don't touch the merchandise unless you are really going to buy it. Across the street there is a rest garden and the Tin Hau temple where you can enjoy sitting around relaxing in the open air. Nathan street is also nearby where you can find a 711, Mc Donalds, Yoshinoya, and little shops that sell clothes. There is also a Watson's and Sasa there. So location is beyond excellent. It's close to everything.

Cleanliness, well the hotel has surely seen some better days but not completely old and run down like other budget hotels or motels that I've seen. To be honest some 5 star hotels are not that clean either. Overall I would say the rooms were clean enough, especially the beds. If you are worried about bed bugs bring along some Tanic Acid (completely natural) to spray on the sheets. Also some rubber flip flops to use in the bathroom.

To wrap up if staying in a plush hotel is a must for your vacation then spend that money on higher priced hotels. But if you are going to Hong Kong for shopping, eating, malling and Disneyland and you will be out most of the time anyways. If you just need a nice place to rest your weary body after a long day then this is the hotel for you. You can save up those dollars and use it for buying yourself something nice. Personally speaking though, since it is Hong Kong it doesn't make sense to stay in your room the whole time.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from DorsettIntl, Director of MarCom, Dorsett Hospitality International at Silka Seaview Hotel
Responded Sep 27, 2013
Dear Fidel P I must say that your compliments in regard to your recent stay with us certainly make my team very happy indeed; in particular Mr Cheung. I am indeed very proud of my team for 'going the extra mile' to ensure guest satisfaction and rest assured, your comments shall be shared with all my team members as this will motivate them to strive further to maintain if not to raise the standards of service excellence. We look forward to welcoming you and your family members back at our hotel on your next visit soon. Regards Richard Kwong General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
brendalogy wrote a review Jul 2006
Singapore6 contributions21 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at Dorsett Seaview along with a group of three other friends from the 11th-13th July and from 14th-18th July. (The night of the 13th, we spent in China.) (:

Location (5/5)

The location was excellent. There was a night market (Temple Street Night Market) practically at our doorstep, plus several other eateries such as Hui Lau Shan, Mc'Donalds and other smaller outlets around the hotel. Yau Ma Tei MRT Station was only two streets away, hence making travelling around Hong Kong a breeze. Mongkok (Ladies Street Night Market) was also within 10-15 minutes walking distance.

Cleanliness (4/5)
The carpets were mostly clean, the sheets were white, and the blankets were stain-less. The bathroom was dry and clean when we first entered the room as well.

A heating flask and a metallic flask for storing hot water that was provided in each room wasn't that clean, though. My friend had to scrub the heating flask a few times before it was reasonably clean enough for storing water. Whereas the metallic flask was rusty, hence we avoided using it.

Room Amenities (3/5)
There was a small television set in the corner, but it didn't work. (Either that, or we didn't know how to operate it.) The room we (my friend and I) stayed in for the initial half of our trip had wooden blinds that were rather difficult to use. Just shutting the blinds at night took us almost ten minutes because it was constantly getting jammed. Likewise, it was tough to raise the blinds in the morning because the whole thing just kept falling back down. Thankfully, the room we stayed in for the second half of the trip had curtains instead of blinds.

The bathroom was tiny, but I didn't really mind since I don't take up much space anyway. Although it was hard to enter the bathroom and shut the door without getting my toe caught in between the bathroom floor and the base of the door.

Room itself was small as well. However, it wasn't small to the extent of inducing claustrophobia because there was somehow a rather cosy feeling about it. Nicely furnished. Quite 'zen-like', in my frank opinion.

Cups and free sachet drinks were provided in the rooms - but no teaspoons. So we had to swirl the cup like a conical flask in a chemistry lab just to ensure that the powdered drinks dissolved properly in the hot water.

Free Breakfast (3.5/5)
Food was so-so, I guess. Perhaps it is because I am easily satisfied. At least it is edible, not like some flea-infested cafeterias we can find on the streets.

However, there wasn't much variety in the food. The same old pancakes, bacon, ham, sausages, porridge and cornflakes every single day - for six days we stayed there. The pancakes had a rather rubbery texture, so at times I was unsure whether I was biting into a deflated tyre or a pancake. Otherwise, the rest of the food was average.

Reception (5/5)
VERY friendly. Always ready to serve with a smile, and a tone that puts you at ease almost immediately. They were well versed in English as well, so I didn't really have any trouble communicating with them while checking-in and checking out. The process of checking in and out was also a relatively fast procedure, seeing how efficient most of the staff was.

IN A NUTSHELL
For the price, and considering that this is merely a 2-3 star hotel, I was pleasantly surprised for the most part. I've refered to some of the reviews regarding this hotel on this site prior to my departure and was bracing myself for the worst upon checking in, but the worst never came. Perhaps I was just lucky.

Either way, I'll definitely stay at this hotel again - should I return to Hong Kong in the near future. (:
Read more
Date of stay: July 2006
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesCheck in / front desk
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesBusiness service (e.g., internet access)
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Victor H wrote a review Jun 2014
Pasay, Philippines3 contributions13 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I used my credit card to pay deposit upon check-in. The night shift front desk (two men) asked me to sign the charge slip so I abide with trust. The next day upon check out, the lady front desk asked me again my credit card and told me to sign another charge slip. I was hesitant and telling her I already signed the night I checked-in. She told me that the first one was already cancelled (with a rude response). She insists and not listening to my explanation (while entertaining other customers checking in). Without putting myself into arguing, I signed again hoping that she is telling the truth. To end my story short, I received a credit card statement with a hongkong disneyland transaction but I never went there. My bank told me that is was a legit transaction as it matches my signature. :(
Guys, be careful with this hotel, some of their staff are robbers. Forgot to mention that we also got a room with bad smell bathroom. Really disappointing experience...
Read more
Date of stay: January 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from DorsettIntl, Director of Marketing & Communications at Silka Seaview Hotel
Responded Jun 25, 2014
Dear Victor First and foremost, we do apologise over the incident which you have experienced while staying with us. However, we would like to offer some clarity into the issues raised by you. We have carried out a thorough investigation into the matter and noted that your reservation was made and paid online prior to arrival. In accordance to acceptable industry practices, we would require a deposit upon check-in to cover any incidental/miscellaneous charges which may be incurred throughout the stay period. Since this was guaranteed through a credit card, we would require guest to sign a transaction slip. This will then be withheld up to the day of check-out; and if there are no further charges incurred at this point, this transaction slip will be nulled and void. If charges were incurred upon check out (other than the room charges which have already been paid for online in this instance), then a new transaction slip would be issued with the actual amount reflected. For each transaction slip printed out from the credit card terminal, there will be an approval code and a unique merchant ID number. In addressing your concern, we would like to reiterate that each merchant have their own unique ID merchant which is associated to the respective establishment and we have our assurance that in any way a Disneyland charge which would be payable to HK Disneyland can be captured and paid for via our hotel's credit card terminal. I do hope the above explanation clarifies the incident. However, should you have further queries, please do not hesitate to contact us for further clarification or email us at: barry.lo@silkahotels.com Rest assured, as an operator in the hospitality industry, we take extreme pride in serving our guests with utmost transparency and warm hospitality; and would not breach our code of service. Warm regards Richard Kwong General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from alanisrb
Hong Kong, China12 contributions39 helpful votes
$300 HKD in cash or credit card
Answer from dys
Singapore, Singapore452 contributions124 helpful votes
They held 1000HKD on my credit card.
Amirrah Z asked a question Oct 2018
Singapore39 contributions6 helpful votes
Can the deposit be made by card or it has to be cash
Answer from _glbetrkkr_
New York City, New York1,277 contribution340 helpful votes
It can be made by card.
Shannon wrote a tip Jun 2023
Suva, Fiji1,142 contribution272 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose two Twin beds over one double"
Read full review
vicky t wrote a tip Feb 2023
18 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If travel with friend better to chose Twin bed. Their double is so tiny size, not even a Queen size bed. "
Read full review
our56 wrote a tip May 2019
Melbourne, Australia520 contributions152 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Basic room tiny and 2 star at best"
Read full review
Adventurer176486 wrote a tip Apr 2019
Manila, Philippines4 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"You can easily get to the airport by bus, Mtr, cab or hotel transport. Easy walk to night market and all kinds of places close to eat."
Read full review
Peter_allen70 wrote a tip Jan 2019
Brisbane, Australia34 contributions20 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a higher floor for less road noise,"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hong Kong area.
PRICE RANGE
$40 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
香港帝豪海景酒店, dorsett seaview hong kong, hotel dorsett seaview
LOCATION
ChinaHong KongKowloon / Yau Tsim Mong District / Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
NUMBER OF ROOMS
268
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SILKA SEAVIEW HOTEL $41 ($̶6̶3̶)

Frequently Asked Questions about Silka Seaview Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Silka Seaview Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Tin Hau Temple (0.04 miles), Yaumatei (0.2 miles), and Yau Ma Tei Fruit Market (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Silka Seaview Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, breakfast buffet, and dry cleaning.
What food & drink options are available at Silka Seaview Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Silka Seaview Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Manakamana Nepali Restaurant, Kai Kai Dessert (Jordan), and Tai Ping Koon Restaurant (Mau Lam Street).
Are any cleaning services offered at Silka Seaview Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Silka Seaview Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Tai Kwun (2.2 miles), Sik Sik Yuen Wong Tai Sin Temple (2.7 miles), and PMQ (2.2 miles).
All Hong Kong HotelsHong Kong Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Hong KongHotels near Silka Seaview Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars