We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

L'hotel Island South

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
L\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

578 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for L'hotel Island South
See the most recent reviews
Showing 404: English reviews
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed in a standard room on higher floor, which was OK, no frills/extras, not much of a view, interior somewhat "cheap-looking", although clean. Location is a drawback, can't walk around the hotel, surrounded by ugly construction sites and highways. Driving to the hotel entrance was stressful(we had a car with driver one day), due to detours from construction work...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Myasha I
lhotelislandsouth, Director of Sales & Marketing at L'hotel Island South, responded to this review

Dear Myasha I Thank you for sharing your comments with us on TripAdvisor platform. We apologize for our breakfast selection shortfall, and rest assured that your comments have been shared among our associates for review and future improvement. I agree with you that the building work of the MTR station project does have effects on the outlook of this area....

Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is modern and the rooms are clean and you might have a good view, if you are on upper floors facing Ocean Park. The staff is very friendly and the service is rapid, sometimes even too rapid. The breakfast buffet was quite ok and you could order egg dishes, which were made for you. We once had dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kilkki
lhotelislandsouth, Director of Sales & Marketing at L'hotel Island South, responded to this review

Dear Kilkki Thank you for sharing your comments with us on TripAdvisor platform. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us! I agree with you that the building work of the MTR station project does have effects on the outlook of this area. However, with the extension of the MTR metro system in the...

Shenzhen
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here on April 29th 2013. The room is big, super comfortable bed and a standard bathroom. We had booked a room on the high floors( see their web page) to avoid too much noise from the construction below. We could not hear the construction at night but during the day. The AC however was horribly loud in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelRaoul
lhotelislandsouth, Director of Sales & Marketing at L'hotel Island South, responded to this review

Dear TravelRaoul Thank you for giving us feedback via TripAdvisor platform. We are sorry to learn about your unpleasant experience, and please rest assured that your comments have been shared among our team for review and future improvement. The fact that the building work of the MTR station project does affect the outlook of this area. However, with the extension...

Edinburgh
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Arriving here is a bit unnerving, especially during the present major building work on the new MTR line outside. However, the grim exterior surroundings betray a deceptively stylish establishment. Unfortunately, the architectural term 'form over function' applies to this hotel, as the chic, stylish surroundings mask the lack of practical items (eg heater; drawers and storage). Certainly the staff brought...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EdinburghSky
lhotelislandsouth, Director of Sales & Marketing at L'hotel Island South, responded to this review

Dear EdinburghSky Welcome back to our hotel, and thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor platform! I agree with you that the outlook of the area does get affected by the building work of the MTR station project. However, with the extension of the MTR metro system in the Southern district of Hong Kong, it will definitely bring more...

London
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I have just left L'hotel & I would advise anyone NOT to stay there. Apart from the fact that my room had ants & was dirty (hairs on the floor & in the bed - the bathroom was also filthy, with black hairs all in the bath & the sink was gungy from not being cleaned), the service was diabolical....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Loulabelle2008
lhotelislandsouth, Director of Sales & Marketing at L'hotel Island South, responded to this review

Dear Loulabelle2008 Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor platform. We are sorry to learn about your uncomfortable experience. In order to carry out further investigation and address your concerns accordingly, we would appreciate if you could provide the details of your stay via info@lhotelislandsouth.com . We sincerely hope to be of your service again...

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel came in as a real blessing during my vacation to China & HKG last year. HKG being notorious for its expensive hotels and safety in SE Asian hotels being a cause of concerns, I was left with the daunting task of choosing a safe hotel for my family vacation which wouldn't eat into my travel budget significantly. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Moh_Bhatia
lhotelislandsouth, Director of Sales & Marketing at L'hotel Island South, responded to this review

Dear Moh_Bhatia Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor platform. We are delighted to learn that you and your family have had an enjoyable stay with us, and particularly made great use of our complimentary daily shuttle service travelling to Central! I agree with you that with the extension of the MTR metro...

New York
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Do not judge a book by it's cover. Likewise, don't be misled by the surroundings of L'Hotel Island South, which cannot possibly impress any tourist. In fact, there is nothing of interest or simple pleasure within walking distance of this hotel. L'Hotel Island South is surprisingly modern, clean, comfortable, spacious by Hong Kong standards, a perfectly peaceful and friendly place...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank EWRHKG
lhotelislandsouth, Hotel Manager at L'hotel Island South, responded to this review

Dear EWRHKG Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor platform! We are delighted to hear that you have made the most out of our complimentary daily shuttle bus service that takes our guests directly to the Hong Kong Station situated in Central as well as the Ocean Park Hong Kong, one of the most internationally...

Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have often stayed at this hotel for business - very convenient, good rooms and restaurant&bar is nice. It is really nice every time we get a war welcome by one of the restaurant employees (forgot his name) - almost makes you feel at home!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judith T
lhotelislandsouth, Hotel Manager at L'hotel Island South, responded to this review

Dear Judith T Thank you for your positive comments! It is encouraging to learn that our service has lived up to your expectations. When you plan for a return to Hong Kong, don’t forget to check out our exclusive accommodation and dining offers available at our hotel official website! We look forward to seeing you again soon! Best regards, Jaime...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My son and I loved this hotel. When I lived in Hong Kong I lived in Pok Fu Lam so being away from Central wasn't a problem for me - in fact, the mini bus ride in was half the fun. The beds were really comfortable, as were the pillows which is often a problem for me as I have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ssophie436
lhotelislandsouth, Hotel Manager at L'hotel Island South, responded to this review

Dear Ssophie436 Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor platform and we are glad to hear that you and your son have enjoyed your recent stay with us! The weather here has been quite chilling lately for Spring time. However, on your next visit, don’t forget to visit our pool that is open until the end of November! !...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We're really happy with our stay here. The double beds are much smaller than western double beds, but still comfortable. You're away from the main touristy areas of HK island, but we loved exploring the local markets which were not touristy (it seemed geared more for the local market, so unlike Stanley market/Ladies market, there was a lot of variety...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TubbsMcGee
lhotelislandsouth, Hotel Manager at L'hotel Island South, responded to this review

Dear TubbsMcGee Thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor platform! We are delighted to learn that you and your family have enjoyed your recent stay with us! In addition to easily accessible public transportation, our hotel offers complimentary daily shuttle bus services to/from the Hong Kong Airport Express Station located in Central and the Ocean Park Hong...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

323 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (299)
Viewed
Room/Suite (71)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (154)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour
#60 of 712 in Hong Kong
639 reviews
Ovolo Southside
#36 of 712 in Hong Kong
530 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#116 of 712 in Hong Kong
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsuen Wan
Dorsett Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong
Dorsett Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong
#169 of 712 in Hong Kong
229 reviews
Kwun Tong
L'hotel elan
L'hotel elan
#84 of 712 in Hong Kong
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Uniquely located in the southern district of Hong Kong Island, the contemporary L’hotel Island South is the development of the Chinachem Group. This 37-storey hotel offers 432 spacious and design-led guestrooms and suites that are redefining conventional notions of comfort and style. As a convenience for today's global travelers, L'hotel Island South provides complimentary Wi-Fi internet connection and an array of other advanced technologies, plus superb meeting and banquet venues, a gymnasium and an outdoor pool that offer green vistas, and comprehensive business support. Complementing all of these is an eco-friendly attitude as well as a smart casual service style from our friendly and highly dynamic hotel crew. Whether for business or leisure, guests also enjoy quick and easy access to the territory's prime business, shopping, dining and entertainment hubs as well as a host of nice beaches, nature parks, plus heritage and cultural trails along the southern end of Hong Kong Island. ... more   less 

Additional Information about L'hotel Island South

Address: No.55 Wong Chuk Hang Road, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong
Price Range: $67 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L'hotel Island South 4*
Number of rooms: 432
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your L'hotel Island South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Hotel Island South Hotel Hong Kong
L'Hotel Island South Hong Kong
Hotel Style:
#43 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#107 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from L'hotel Island South staff and other travelers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from L'hotel Island South staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“so easy to get to places, the MTR (mass transit railway is just across the road)”
 of 5 bubbles KathyG23, 2 days ago | Read review
“higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles laitmk, 3 days ago | Read review
“Higher the better, and pray to your gods for a non-noisy chinese family in the room next door.”
 of 5 bubbles 84JR84, 4 days ago | Read review
“Ocean Park View , Family room”
 of 5 bubbles gl0reend, 4 days ago | Read review
“Combined twin beds is perfect to family who are travelling with kids, even for couples, the size is much bigger than the king ”
 of 5 bubbles BunnyRC, 3 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question