We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Cityview Hong Kong

Show Prices
#98 of 699 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,812 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Cityview Hong Kong
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,310: English reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed 4 nights at The Cityview Hotel. Hotel is now undergoing renovations, therefore have to walk a longer way from the Yau Ma Tei MTR Exit A2. Was rather disappointed with the Family room as it is rather small. The water flow in the room toilet is weak. Overall, the staff are friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
2 Thank sllim2015
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review

Dear sllim2015, Thank you for staying with The Cityview and taking the time to post your review. We are sorry for the disappointment you had experienced. To cater for guests with different requirements and expectations, our hotel offers a diverse range of accommodations in terms of room size, amenities, design and fittings, etc. Please feel free to visit our hotel... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed in the newly renovated premium room. It was beautiful and very cosy. The room is clean and bed is comfortable. The pillows were a little too soft and we have asked for extra pillows. Hotel staffs are helpful. Breakfast is of international standard. Food is nice. FOC handyphones which allows me to call back to Singapore for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank yuner85
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review

Dear Yuner85, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience and comment with us. It gave us great pleasure knowing that you have enjoyed your stay thoroughly and we should share your review with our management for continuous improvement. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back and offer you a most pleasant stay... More 

burnett Heads
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went on our annual Holiday ,and this year Hong Kong was calling.Stayed at The City View Hotel for a week, lovely stay , people were very friendly and not far from the train station.We travelled by train everywhere it was fantastic. The trains are so easy to catch and go all over Hong Kong.If you miss one train the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jan V
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review

Dear Jan V, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate your nice compliments as a motivation for us to continue to strive for excellent service. Once again, thank you for choosing The Cityview and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future More 

Switzerland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

first time here. was surprised at how clean and modern the hotel is. it just went through a renovation. I read previous reviews that people liked the 'premium' rooms compared to the normal rooms as newer. So I booked a premium room and was not disappointed. new, clean, modern. I have stayed in 5* hotels and this hotel can definitely... More 

Helpful?
Thank swooshmac
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review

Dear our valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate your nice compliments as a motivation for us to continue to strive for excellent service. Once again, thank you for choosing The Cityview and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

not a very new hotel but well maintained, room is clean room is big, king size bed can squeeze in 3 adults and still have space for 3 luggage location is good, 5 minutes walk to train station the porridge shop opposite the hotel is a MUST to try

Helpful?
1 Thank sandytls
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review

Dear Sandytls, Thank you for taking the time to share your comment with us. We appreciate your nice compliments and we are glad that our location and room size have left a lasting impression on you. We all look forward to welcome you back in the near future. More 

Level Contributor
163 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were aware of the very small size room so we book the Premium Room. King Size bed and bigger space. However, toilet space is pretty much limited, small tub and poor quality shower gel / shampoo. For the price, I probably can get a better place but location is what it was! The hotel is still undergoing renovation and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Desmondcheng
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review

Dear our valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We were most concerned to hear of your stay was not yet up to your expectation and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and disappointment caused to you and we will share with our management for review and further improvement. We hope we will... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is the first time I stay in this hotel. Is really convenient as seen from all the reviews before I booked. Going back to airport is also very convenient by the shuttle bus in front of the hotel to kowloon station, then by the express train. Hotel staffs are all very friendly & helpful though I asked for higher... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review

Dear our valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your comment and nice compliments with us. We are most thankful for your comments which are indeed most constructive for our review. At the same time, we are very regretful that we were unfortunately not able to offer you a free upgrade due to the room type full... More 

Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed 3 nights here with a friend. Had booked the 2nd night on ctrip, when I decided to extend my holiday by one day before and a day after. Wrote to the hotel to ask if they could provide a quote for the two additional nights and if I could be allocated the same room, with two separate beds. Hotel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Northern_Rock
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review

Dear our valued guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience and comment with us. It gave us great pleasure knowing that you have enjoyed your stay thoroughly and we should share your review with our management for continuous improvement. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back and offer you a most... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I'm staying at room 1282 currently which I've paid for a n upgrade to premier room... As it was raining, I've requested umbrella from the staffs but the counter staff told me to take from my room.. when I went up my room, I saw only one umbrella, I told the staff that I need 2 as I'm with my... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Linda N
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review

Dear Linda N, Thank you for sharing your comment with us. We deeply regret that you had an unpleasant experience and not satisfied with our staff performance and service and we really sorry that we left you a poor impression. We take your comment seriously and therefore have reminded our team the importance of professional service and attitude and we... More 

Melbourne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very modern, clean, comfortable and quiet. The room and bathroom were very spacious. The location is excellent, close to the airport bus, Temple Street night market, Nathan Road, and MTR (train) stations. The staff were very nice and very professional. It seemed like a very slick and professional operation.

Helpful?
1 Thank RMVPTravel
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review

Dear our valued guest, Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. It was our honour to provide you a comfortable stay during your visit. Nothing pleases us more than hearing your nice compliments about our service and convenience location. We wish to have the opportunity to extend our warmest welcome to you and provide you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,256 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (738)
Viewed
Room/Suite (216)
Viewed
Bathroom (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (62)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
View from Room (54)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (316)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (493)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (61)
Viewed
Deluxe Suite (79)
Viewed
Premier Double Room (61)
Viewed
Premier Suite (88)
Viewed
Premier Twin Room (66)
Viewed
Dining (70)
Viewed
The Hotel (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#68 of 699 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 3,058 reviews
Mong Kok
Lodgewood by L'hotel Mongkok Hong Kong
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Shamrock Hotel
Shamrock Hotel
#83 of 699 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Metropark Park Hotel Kowloon
Metropark Park Hotel Kowloon
#102 of 699 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 1,560 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
#120 of 699 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
#119 of 699 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Jordan / Yau Ma Tei

Neighborhood Profile
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Jordan and Yau Ma Tei neighborhood is where you will find some of the more authentic areas of Hong Kong. Not as glamorous or busy as its neighbors Mong Kok to the north or Tsim Sha Tsui to the south, Yau Ma Tei is often mistakenly overlooked by visitors on their trips to Hong Kong. Exploring parts of this area makes you feel like you’ve been transported back in time. A large part of the neighborhood draws from the rich history of Temple Street, stretching from Jordan to Yau Ma Tei, where a mix of dai pai dongs (outdoor restaurants), market stalls, fortune tellers and old karaoke bars bring out the history and culture of the area. The neighborhood is a showcase of diversity – different ethnicities, cultures, and a mix of old and new.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Book direct with promotion code "CVLP" to enjoy extra discount. Ideally situated in downtown Kowloon adjacent to the bustling Nathan Road, The Cityview is right at the heart of the territory's transport hub to all destinations. It's a 45-minute drive from the Hong Kong International Airport and just a minute walk away from the Yau Ma Tei MTR station with a host of popular chain stores and great dining outlets nearby for you to enjoy. Also, just 10 minutes away on foot are some of the most famous tourist and commercial attractions like the Ladies' Market, Jade Market, Temple Street Night Market and many others, making The Cityview the ideal destination for both business and leisure travellers. The Cityview does many things to help protect the environment. We conserve energy and water, reduce waste, and operate in a sustainable manner. Recently, the environmental performance of The Cityview has been recognised by EarthCheck; the travel and tourism industry's leading environmental management, benchmarking and certification company. Based on the benchmarking assessment report from EarthCheck, in addition to having a Sustainability Policy in place, the indicators on Energy Consumption, Greenhouse Gas Emissions, Portable Water Consumption and Waste Sent to Landfill of the property are at or above the best practice level, which is an achievement to be highly commended. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cityview Hong Kong

Address: No.23 Waterloo Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Price Range: $91 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cityview Hong Kong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 422
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your The Cityview Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cityview Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hong Kong
Hotel Style:
#57 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#71 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#90 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#90 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay