We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

City Oasis Guest House

Save
Share
Ngau Au Village Tung Chung Lantau Island, Hong Kong China
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (17)
Room & Suite (36)
Dining (1)

About

#21 of 432 B&Bs / Inns in Hong Kong
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We are "City Oasis Guest House" , which is a licensed guesthouse (holiday flat) in Hong Kong. Our license number is H5714. Our house is located at a small village in the outskirts of Tung Chung, 8 minutes from the Hong Kong Airport by taxi and 4 minutes from Tung Chung City by taxi. Our village is situated at the mountain foot and Tung Chung river mouth on Lantau Island, the green fort of Hong Kong. Our property is a three-storey village house with a total of 2800 square feet. At the rooftop and balconies, you can oversee the unique scenery view with the combination of the airport, cable-car, Tung Chung Bay, wetland, Tung Chung City and mountain views. The master room, dining room and kitchen are on the ground floor while the guest rooms are on the first and second floors. Room are clean, tidy, comfortable and homey. Our guests can feel at home as if they were members of the family, but enjoy a high degree of privacy in the rooms upstairs. Surrounded by woodlands, orchards and rivers, wildlife flies. Our place provide you a valuable opportunity to explore the beauty of the nature of Hong Kong and escape from the madness of city life. Within walking distance, many tourists spots (Tung Chung fort, Tung Chung Battery, Hau Wong Temple, Tin Hau Temple, Fu Tei Wan Lime Kiln, Lo Hon Temple, Ma Wan Chung Village...) though not very well-known, can be reached without long and boring rides. Being not well-known could be an advantage: Man Wan Chung is an ancient fishing village like Tai O. But unlike Tai O, it is quiet and not crowded by tourists, you can find the real life of the local people and enjoy the trip peacefully. If you are a nature lover, don't miss the famous hiking trials (from Tung Chung to Tai O / The big Buddha / Mui Wo) nearby. You can have all scenic views you want. Tired of busy life and tight travelling schedule, our place is the only option for you to have a leisurely and relaxing holiday. Free wifi, board games, books, roof terrace upstairs, garden, outdoor coffee tables and chairs, beach chairs, living room and dining room on the ground floor. Rentable bicycles, BBQ stove and clam digging tools.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Clothes rack
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese
27Reviews5Q+A4Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 17
  • 6
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
LeeYip wrote a review Dec 2020
Hong Kong, China110 contributions137 helpful votes
We had a great stay during our Christmas weekend. We actually walked from the MTR and it took us round 35 minutes but we liked it and the weather was not hot. You can take a taxi or the buses. Although you cannot drive into the village, it nonetheless took us less than 10 minutes and it had paving so there was no issues dragging our luggage along. The room was clean, bright and spacious. The roof top is a good size (with great views) and not small at all and they even provide you with a hotpot up there if you wanted to. Terry was a great host. He told us where to eat, take buses, view local sites and hikes. Overall, we would come back again with friends for hikes or even a BBQ!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: The "C" rooms have good views
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Agnyc wrote a review Sep 2020
30 contributions2 helpful votes
Overall not a pleasant experience. Choosing a hostel is always about the flexibility and human touch. But the host is not friendly and strict to rules. With this price, you can pick a decent hotel in the city, with a much better environment and services. if you let me choose again, I would rather pick a hotel. Like some four or five stars hotel in HK costs just half the price during this time. Therefore, the price here is not cheap definitely. The location is not convenient too.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from City Oasis, Innkeeper at City Oasis Guest House
Responded Oct 7, 2020
This lady has never stayed in our Guesthouse. She knew exactly that she were 3 persons and the booking was not refundable before confirming the booking. Unfortunately, she deliberately booked a twin room whose number of guests allowed by law was not more than two and later asked us to let three of them stay at the Guesthouse. Being fully booked, we had to decline her request as it violated the law and imposed a negative effect on the security and epidemic control of our Guesthouse, but proposed her to modify the check in date for free and book one more room for the extra person. However, our proposal was regarded as inflexible and inhuman. She directed us either to accept her request or refund. To stop the endless ‘discussion’ with a person only concerning her self interests and not respecting the booking policy and contractual spirit, we accepted her offer, the cancellation for a not less than 85% refund. We, City Oasis Guesthouse, won’t accept unlawful requests.
Read more
Adamame wrote a review Feb 2020
Hong Kong, China11 contributions2 helpful votes
My wife and I had a fantastic stay at City Oasis. It was peaceful and such a convenient location for accessing some beautiful hiking trails on Lantau. The garden is pretty and we loved sitting on the balcony and eating dinner and breakfast on the rooftop. This is an awesome place to try something a little more unique in Hong Kong and a wonderful opportunity to experience rural Hong Kong. Highly recommended, we will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
FernandoGov wrote a review Nov 2019
Bath, United Kingdom40 contributions16 helpful votes
Very poor service from Manager - very remote location - which is NOT properly explained until AFTER you make the reservation. Long muddy and remote walk from the drop off point by the taxi driver - very very difficult to navigate with suitcases. It was raining and we were soaked to the skin. Awful place - best to avoid
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled on business
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from HongKongCityOasis, General Manager at City Oasis Guest House
Responded Nov 6, 2019
Mr Fernando Governo has never stayed at our Guesthouse. On his arrival day (5 November 2019), we were told that he had missed his flight and requested to waive the cancellation fee. After we had declined his request in accordance with the cancellation policy, he sent us a message threatening that we would pay a high price for not waiving his cancellation fee. We, City Oasis Guesthouse, reserve the right to take any legal action to stop his false and untrue allegation including but not limited to claim all loss and damages as a result of his defamatory and untrue statement.
Read more
Joan T wrote a review Oct 2019
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand108 contributions75 helpful votes
Overnight stay. The host makes this out of the norm guest house worth the off the beaten track visit. No cars can get to the village so you have to walk up the windy concrete path from the drop off point. Don't expect to see a lot of tourists here. However it was good location if you want to go on the cable car to the Tian tan Giant Buddha and the Po Lin Monetary temples you can get there by bus from here. Not a lot of local shops but more a bus ride away. We shopped at one of the local supermarkets for our food. Not a lot of English spoken so would have been hard to get around without the hosts good directions and bus pass. Very basic but clean and drinking water was provided by the host.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Location
Service
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$80 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ChinaHong KongIslands District / New Territories / Lantau Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about City Oasis Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to City Oasis Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Tian Tan Buddha (Big Buddha) (2.1 miles), Lantau island (1.4 miles), and Po Lin (Precious Lotus) Monastery (1.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at City Oasis Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and laundry service.
Is parking available at City Oasis Guest House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to City Oasis Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Pier - Cathay Pacific Lounge, The Gallery, and Triple Lanterns Cafe.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at City Oasis Guest House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Chinese.
Are there any historical sites close to City Oasis Guest House?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Tung Chung (1.3 miles), Tung Chung Fort (0.5 miles), and Tung Chung Battery (0.9 miles).